We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunny Shores Inn & Suites

Traveler (32)
Room & Suite (69)
Bathroom (4)

About

#3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Lauderdale-By-The-Sea
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located steps away from the sand, restaurants, shopping & nightlife that has put Lauderdale-By-The-Sea on the Map. 1, 2 & 4 bedroom suites & efficiencies. Free WiFi-high speed internet and parking. On-site laundry facility cable tv, a/c.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free internet
Wifi
Public wifi
Beach
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Internet
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Centrally Located

Location

Full view
84Good for walkers
Grade: 84 out of 100
33Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
6Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
50Reviews
0Q+A
8Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 32
  • 12
  • 5
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
GREAT location across the street from the beach! Room was small but very beach cozy, clean, and comfortable for the 2 of us. Our only minor complaint was the small double bed, as we're used to a king. But it was comfortable enough! Would definitely stay here again in the future!
Read more
My family and I had stayed at Sunny Shores for years. It was wonderful, however when new ownership took over a few years ago they removed the carpet on the suite above, which is the length of the entire building, meaning that all rooms are below the suite above and roof deck. That said, I had to sleep at night with ear plugs. I’m in my mid 30’s and I can tolerate a lot, but the moving of the kitchen chairs, heels, kids running, conversations, heavy walkers, etc kept me and my family up all night, every night for a week. My advice to help the current owner; get more area rugs or put a rug in. Easy fix! Pros: the manager was very nice and the place was clean and nicely decorated.
Read more
Background: We visited two years in a row (summer of 2017 & 2018, a week or so each time, first ground floor suite facing El Mar Drive). We had a great experience in '17, not so much in '18. Pros: (1) Great location, stone's throw from the beach. Nice & quiet neighborhood. (2) Generally clean, cute decor, has a (small) kitchen. (3) If you need anything, the management is generally responsive. Cons: (1) In 2018, after checking in - the first thing we noticed is the AC unit in bedroom was leaking water into the closet. The only other AC unit (in the kitchen area) wasn't blowing any cold air. However, they fixed both issues right away. (2) This was during Hurricane Alberto in 2018 - the bedroom ceiling leaks water (on to the bed, no less) after prolonged rains. On two nights we were woken up by water leaking on to our faces as we were sleeping. We did not mention anything to the management till we checked out, because: (a) we were leaving in two days (b) Not sure how they could fix the issue quickly enough without inconveniencing us. Later on, management said they were unaware of the situation. Regardless, this is certainly the first time in my life that I have faced leaky ceilings in a hotel. (3) As others have mentioned, the walls & ceilings are paper thin. They rent out the upper floor to large groups, and I believe they have a lounging area on top of the unit we were staying in, as a result there can be a lot of noise coming from above. During our last visit, there was a large group of two families with multiple kids, and we woke up several times from the noise (3 AM & 4 AM in the morning!). Of course, you might get lucky and have no one staying above you (as was our case in 2017). YMMV. (4) General upkeep problems. For instance the stopper was missing from the bathroom sink. As a result we were stuck looking at the insides of the disgusting drain pipe while using the sink, not to mention I almost lost my toothbrush when it slipped off of my hands. Oddly enough the bathroom sink didn't have hot water (but the kitchen sink did). As it stands, this place is just OK. It could be a lot better with some routine maintenance.
Read more
If your looking for some place quite, Sunny Shores Inn & Suites is not the place to stay! The walls are paper thin- I heard children running upstairs and adults arguing next door! The room was clean, but arranging for housekeeping was very difficult. Due to work commitments, I requested and was told I could have my room cleaned first. Did not happen! Dealing with the office personnel was impossible! I was sleeping late from a long trip and someone bang on my door for a long time only to have me sign a paper that was my employers responsibility. Later, I went to the office to complain and all I heard were problems that this person had with another staff Member! On a positive note, upon entering the room was clean and in a good location. ( Also, had to stay out off my room for 2 hours one evening due to an upstairs fire from someone leaving hotdogs on the stove!)
Read more
Response from Ocean954Mgmt, Owner at Sunny Shores Inn & Suites
Responded May 1, 2018
Hi Shelly thanks for taking the time to review and we are sorry you had the experience you did. Thank you however for mentioning the clean rooms etc- we do pride ourselves in that. As far as the kids and the noise we do have quiet hours and make sure that everyone follows this- accordingly people are allowed to roam around freely between the hours of 7am and 11pm and we do ask for everyone to be considerate outside of these hours and have never had any problems. The registration form we needed you to sign needed to be signed by you and not your employer since you're the one staying with us and it's for your safety and ours. I'm sorry that was an inconvenience- we gladly allowed you to check in quietly after hours in exchange that we obtain the registration form the next day- we did have to follow up with you a couple of times due to conflicting schedules and we apologize. As far as housekeeping we do try our best but our staff is on property between 10-3pm and we always do our best to accommodate a guest however as you stated you wanted to sleep in so our notes reflected you did not want to be done first thing in the morning and tried to honor that. Regarding the conversation you heard we will definitely take it up with the staff as we do agree this is not what we strive for in our properties. And we thank you for your patience during the fire alarm. We are thankful no damage was done and no one was hurt and thank you for cooperating.
Read more
We stayed in Suite #1. The hotel staff was awesome with communication and accommodations The room and amenities were clean an comfortable. They kept the room stocked well with fresh towels and supplies as needed. The unit has a cute, beachy vibe. The beach chairs left a bit to be desired, they were older and not tri-fold, but overall we dealt with them just fine. The area is great, there are plenty of stores and restaurants in the area. The strip is good for a walk or jog.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$101 - $475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaLauderdale-By-The-Sea
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing