We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
4520 N Ocean Dr, Lauderdale-By-The-Sea, FL 33308-3611
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Priceline
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (162)
Pool & Beach (51)
Room & Suite (38)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#11 of 27 hotels in Lauderdale-By-The-Sea
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.5
Value
4.5
Travelers' Choice
Located in the town of Lauderdale-by-the-sea, this hotel is a 2 minute walk from the beach with many restaurants, eateries and shopping. It features an outdoor swimming pool and Wi-Fi in all areas. A microwave and refrigerator come standard in each room at Castle by the Sea. Select rooms feature fully equipped kitchens. A flat-screen TV is included. Beach towels and sand chairs are available to guests at Castle by the Sea. Guests will be 5.4 miles from Pompano Beach Municipal Golf Course, 20 minutes from Fort Lauderdale Airport and Port Everglades and only 30 minutes from Miami Beach.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Pool / beach towels
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Express check-in / check-out
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
240Reviews6Q+A33Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 161
  • 48
  • 16
  • 7
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Chassie B wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
My partner and I stayed at this wonderful motel. I know when we hear the word motel we get nervous. But let me tell you! This place is amazing! The rooms we very clean, the beds we comfortable! The staff were amazing. You are within walking distance to great restaurants and bars! We will be coming back forsure!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Renee Allison, General Manager at Castle by the Sea
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to give us the wonderful review. It was our pleasure having you guys. We shall see you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bruce F wrote a review Aug 2022
Detroit, Michigan62 contributions15 helpful votes
Whenever I’m back home I always stay at the Castle by The Sea…. Always good… no surprises… Nice clean and neat room… and could mattresses!…as always Renee, The hotel manager… who’s been there a long time, is on top of every detail… always helpful and has a wealth of information about Fort Lauderdale…. Knows about the good places to go and also the places to avoid… every time I come back it’s just always a good experience… just like old times!…
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Renee Allison, General Manager at Castle by the Sea
Responded Aug 15, 2022
You are awesome. Thank you so much. See you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kat B wrote a review Aug 2022
London, United Kingdom31 contributions19 helpful votes
We stayed here for 7 nights. We had one of the bedrooms on the bottom floor, with 2 double beds, a little fridge, a microwave and a coffee machine. The air-conditioning works very well and its quiet. It was a nice room and big enough for the 3 of us. The pool is nice and we never felt it was too crowded. The location is great. Very close to the beach, shops and restaurants. Renee is very nice and all of the earlier reviews raving about her are 100% true. She is very nice and helpful. Motel provides beach umbrella and chairs which so nice. I would have stayed here again and recommend to others.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Room Tip: room no 2-noone above
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Renee Allison, General Manager at Castle by the Sea
Responded Aug 13, 2022
Thank you so much for your review. We do our best to make everyone feel comfortable. We really appreciate you. Thanks again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mjmorgan12031991 wrote a review Aug 2022
Hollywood, Florida1 contribution
Castle by the sea was a really great experience. I would highly recommend to those visiting Lauderdale by the sea. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The pool was great and the rooms are very nice. Very comfortable beds. Will stay there again when I come back to visit. 5 stars!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Renee Allison, General Manager at Castle by the Sea
Responded Aug 12, 2022
Thank you so much for staying we really appreciate you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bricky0104 wrote a review Jul 2022
pa13 contributions
When I checked in, I was told that the bathroom sink needed caulking, but they didn’t get to it. At about 10:45, everyone in bed, we hear a loud crashing noise from the bathroom. The sink had detached from the wall and was on the floor. Water all over. Called the emergency number, was told that nothing could be done until the next day at 11am!! We were unable to shower, brush teeth, anything to do with the bathroom. At 10:50 the next morning, I was at the office door, could see someone in there and she refused to open the door or answer the phone until about 11:30 am. She actually tried to blame us, that we already knew something was wrong with it when we checked in. Why did she provide a room that was a danger!!!! If that sink had fallen in someone foot, then what?!!!! Do not stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Renee Allison, General Manager at Castle by the Sea
Responded Aug 8, 2022
Hello. Thank you for staying. When you checked in you over heard employees speaking of updating some of the rooms (your room on the list). The office also had a sign on the door stating the office will not open until 11am due to employee training/meeting. This you are aware of prior to the morning you are speaking of. You were told that the housekeeper could help you until staff was available. The fact that you could not shower or use the toilet had nothing to do with the sink so this is false. When the sink was evaluated it was stated someone had to put pressure on it. There were no soaked towels or evidence of water everywhere. The bathroom was usable as someone did brush their teeth; the water was not shut off. I am sorry to say a sink just doesn't fall in the middle of the night. I am sorry we did not met your expectation as we offer great service to our guests.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Erica wrote a review Jun 2022
3 contributions
This was our first time in Fort Lauderdale and staying at this hotel made it better. The staff was very friendly and helpful. But note they are only in from 10-6 each day! They provided beach chairs, beach towels and an umbrella for our time on the beach. Because of staffing you have to ask for things or your room to be cleaned but the staff was prompt and did a really good job. It is about 3 blocks from the beach and so much cheaper! The only negative I have is that the shower took a while to warm up and would go back and forth between hot and cold. Because it is a smaller hotel, it was very quiet and the pool area was so nice. It's a great place to eat, relax or watch the sun set. I highly recommend staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Walking distance to the beach
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Renee Allison, General Manager at Castle by the Sea
Responded Jun 10, 2022
Thank you for staying with us. Hope to see you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alyssa G wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
This hotel is in a perfect located, right across the street from police station and walking distance to the beach, pier, restaurants, and coffee shops. They provided beach towels and chairs and even had pool noodles and floats to play with. Only thing that threw me off was it was not the cleanest by the pool and had to keep asking for my room to be cleaned and to get more towels. Iguanas by the pool were so freaking cool!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Renee Allison, General Manager at Castle by the Sea
Responded May 27, 2022
Thank you for staying. You may have been here just before we pressure washed and painted. We are not sure what you mean by not the cleanest around the pool. We go to the pool area daily and clean up. Upon your check in you are informed that housekeeping services are upon request. We inform you that if there is anything you need to see us & we will take care of it for you right away. I am sorry you did not see us in the office so we could get a better opportunity to service you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CarlaSh3915 wrote a review May 2022
High Point, North Carolina5 contributions3 helpful votes
I chose this property because of the many raving reviews about Renee (manager) at this charming motel and she certainly didn't fall short. She stored my luggage until the room was ready and even carried my luggage up to my room. It's centrally located in such a great safe area (across the street from Police Station) that was within walking distance to the beach, pier, restaurants, bars and grocery store. The rooms and pool were clean and updated and they provided beach towels & chairs and even had floats and boogie boards at the pool. I will definitely return to this GEM. Thank you Renee for a pleasant stay.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Renee Allison, General Manager at Castle by the Sea
Responded May 17, 2022
Thank you so very much for staying. It was my pleasure.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Glenda S wrote a review May 2022
Garland, Texas5 contributions1 helpful vote
This is the third time I have stayed at Castle By the Se in a little over a year! It’s 1/2 block from the beach and clean! Renee is the manager and very helpful! Renee is the reason I don’t look for other lodging!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Renee Allison, General Manager at Castle by the Sea
Responded May 17, 2022
Thank you so much for staying, it was fun. Hope to see you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kara O wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
Met Renee on my visit over Valentine's weekend! She could not be more accommodating. She assisted me in moving my room that was a little on the smaller side into a larger room with a kitchen. She could not have been nicer to make our stay more enjoyable. Always available for fresh towels, the beach chairs and a fresh clean room! She does it all such a hard worker. I loved it and her hospitality so much I have just booked another stay coming up at the end of the month. Cant wait to go back! Thanks Renee for all you do to make our stay with you an enjoyable and comfortable one. You rock!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Renee Allison, General Manager at Castle by the Sea
Responded Mar 25, 2022
Thank you so much for the kind words and amazing review. See you soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$111 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaBroward CountyLauderdale-By-The-SeaLauderdale-by-the-Sea
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Castle by the Sea
Which popular attractions are close to Castle by the Sea?
Nearby attractions include Coast Boutique (0.2 miles), Anglins Fishing Pier (0.3 miles), and El Prado Park (0.05 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Castle by the Sea?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Castle by the Sea?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
Is parking available at Castle by the Sea?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Castle by the Sea?
Conveniently located restaurants include Jan's Homemade Candies, El Mar Cafe, and Kilwin's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Castle by the Sea?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Castle by the Sea located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Lauderdale-By-The-Sea.
Are there any historical sites close to Castle by the Sea?
Many travelers enjoy visiting History Fort Lauderdale (6.0 miles) and Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum (5.9 miles).