We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sombrero Resort & Marina

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sombrero Resort & Marina
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

336 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 277: English reviews
Cape Coral, Florida
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Had a very nice and modern room at this place and would recommend for people staying in the Marathon area. Has a nice bar at the pool area and is located across the street from a golf course. Very reasonable rates for what you get. Located near a lot of restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sfochy
Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Just returning from spending 2 nights at the Sombrero Resort, I having nothing but good and positive things to say about my stay at this resort. The entire staff was courteous and extremely helpful, including the bartenders who also pour a great drink, and the refurbished rooms are exceptional, They are beautifully and comfortably decorated and suited all our needs....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lplegalmom
Shelton, Connecticut
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The proprietor and staff are exceedingly helpful and friendly! Original plans were to stay here, and so a package was arranged to arrive here for pickup. However, the plans changed, but the package was still delivered and sat there for a few days. The office was very kind and went out of their way to ensure the package was waiting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sedona124
Jeff V, General Manager at Sombrero Resort & Marina, responded to this review

Thank for the kind remarks regarding our staff here at the Sombrero Resort and Marina. I will pass the comments onto the staff at the front desk. If you ever find yourself needing accommodations in the Florida Keys, I hope you will decide to stay with us.

Burke, VA
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not exactly what I was expecting, the front door was a sliding glass door, so I felt I didn't have much privacy. I was warned there was construction/remodeling going on, so it was ok, only between 9am - 6pm which is reasonable. Room was a little small for my liking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daveman71
Jeff V, General Manager at Sombrero Resort & Marina, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on your recent stay. I am sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your accommodations. As you may have noticed during your stay the property is currently undergoing major renovations. I hope that if you are ever back in the Florida Keys that you will stop by and see...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Blinds were broke allowing people to see into our room. Toiled backed up. One cabinet was broken and bolted shut! Floors were filthy and your feet and socks were black after a little while. Sliding doors in closet wouldn't move. Don't stay here! The price is ridiculous for what you get!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beth F
Jeff V, General Manager at Sombrero Resort & Marina, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on your recent stay. I am sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your accommodations. As you may have noticed during your stay the property is currently undergoing major renovations. I hope that if you are ever back in the Florida Keys that you will stop by and see...

jeannesir
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My friend and I drove down to Marathon from Port St Lucie. We were not familiar with the area so took a chance on the Sombrero. We were so very pleased to be given a newly refurbished deluxe suite which was so nice. It was beautiful and very clean and the bed was very comfortable. The room had a kitchen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeannesir
Jeff V, General Manager at Sombrero Resort & Marina, responded to this review

Happy Holidays from Sombrero Resort and Marina. Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I am happy that you enjoyed staying in one our newly renovated suite, we tried to furnish the suites to meet everyone's needs. We look forward to having you back the next time you are in the Florida Keys.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed there with my cousin for one night. The first room they gave us was a small old room the entrance was a sliding glass door. It felt very unsafe to sleep in the room, we called the from desk around midnight and the lady was able to give us one of the condo that were just remodeled. When...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy J
Jeff V, General Manager at Sombrero Resort & Marina, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us here at Sombrero Resort and Marina. I am glad to hear that you received one of our newly renovated suites. As you mentioned we are still currently undergoing renovations and hope to be completed in the next 30 days. If your ever back in...

Marathon, Florida
Reviewed December 8, 2016

Very nice room. New everything. Had a little fridge. Nice Shower, Bed was a comfy king size. Two porches with sliding doors and a table with 2 chairs. Had sofa and chair in the living area, actually a very nice size room and less expensive that other hotels in Marathon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tackleboxdave
Jeff V, General Manager at Sombrero Resort & Marina, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review on your stay here with us at Sombrero Resort. We are very proud of our new rooms and we continue to make improvements to the property. We look forward to you returning and seeing all the new improvements.

Middletown, New Jersey
Reviewed December 5, 2016 via mobile

We just stayed here due to the proximity of the motel (that's what I would call it rather than a resort). The marina space is convenient (separate party sells space @ $2/ft/nt) and you can't beat the price last minute in the peak season. Surprisingly cleaner than expected and the staff do a great job accommodating to your needs. Overall,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sean C
Jeff V, General Manager at Sombrero Resort & Marina, responded to this review

Thank you for you review in regards to your recent stay with us. As you could see during your stay we are in the middle of a major renovation project and hope that once we are complete that you will return. Thank you for your compliments on our accommodations and staff.

Reviewed November 27, 2016 via mobile

Currently staying here and surprised that happy hour in the poolside bar is ridiculously expensive compared to others I have frequented in Florida... €3.50 for a beer ( not 2 for one or half price) will find a happy hour which Is what it says. Room lovely but object to listening to conversations and cooking in the adjoining room. Soundproofing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank June M
Jeff V, General Manager at Sombrero Resort & Marina, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us here at the Sombrero Resort. I am sorry that you found our Happy Hour prices out of line. We offer $3.00 well drinks, $3.00 domestic beer, $4.00 import and $2.00 draft beer and try and stay competitive in the market. We continue to look for way...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

213 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (189)
Viewed
Room/Suite (59)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marathon hotels
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
4.1 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#9 of 16 in Marathon
249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
1.2 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access

Additional Information about Sombrero Resort & Marina

Address: 19 Sombrero Boulevard, Marathon, FL 33050 (Formerly Sombrero)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Price Range: $144 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sombrero Resort & Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sombrero Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boatman_s Sombrero Resort & Marina Hotel Marathon
Boatman_s Sombrero Resort And Marina
Marathon Key Sombrero Hotel
Marathon Key Sombrero Resort & Lighthouse Marina
Sombrero Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Sombrero Resort & Marina staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Sombrero Resort & Marina staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Make sure you ask for a renovated room!!”
 of 5 bubbles lplegalmom, 4 days ago | Read review
“Don't get any rooms in the 100s, I had room 11x.”
 of 5 bubbles daveman71, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Ask for a refurbished room and a deluxe suite”
 of 5 bubbles jeannesir, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Ask for a newly remodeled room.”
 of 5 bubbles Tackleboxdave, Dec 8, 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors have better views.”
 of 5 bubbles L7876AYcarolc, Nov 1, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay