We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sombrero Resort & Marina

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sombrero Resort & Marina
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

340 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 281: English reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Great suits! Ours was room #221 and it was like a one-bedroom apartment. There was a large living room with kitchen, big glass table for 4 AND the cooking utensils! Yes! Including glasses, ceramic plates&bowls, silver, even wine and can opener. Yay! The restroom was outstanding - well-designed shower and very nice soap too. There was a balcony looking out...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tamara K
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The updated room was gorgeous, clean, and location was perfect, balcony view was amazing. one bedroom suite, We got a deal on this room, must have been a flash sale so for the price paid it was a great anniversary trip.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle p
Jeff V, General Manager at Sombrero Resort & Marina, responded to this review

Good afternoon. Thank you for taking the time to submit your review on your recent stay here at the resort. As you mentioned the room you were in was just totally renovated. As part of the process to to try ensure that the rooms had all the conveniences of home. If you are ever back in the Florida Keys, I...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for two nights. It was very nice. Room was big and fairly comfortable. The bed however was extra firm so we woke up tired each day. The AC was loud and took a little tweaking... it kept vibrating loudly but after fiddling with it we finally got it to stop! All in all it was nice and would visit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trista F
Jeff V, General Manager at Sombrero Resort & Marina, responded to this review

Good morning Trista, Thank you for your review of our resort and I am glad that you enjoyed one of our newly renovated suites. I am sorry that you encountered a few problems during your stay, we are still working making a few tweaks in the suites. I hope that if you are every in the Florida Keys again that...

Brandon, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Friendly & efficient Reception staff, un-secured but paved parking lot, landscaping consists of scattered piles of dirt, weak/questionable lock on sliding patio door entrance, floors covered in dust, no privacy because venetian blinds wouldn't close properly, only two covered/hidden electrical plugs in bedroom, inadequate sound-proofing because (a) TV & conversation audible from adjacent room and (b) party sounds from a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SuperDave47
Jeff V, General Manager at Sombrero Resort & Marina, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of your recent stay here at Sombrero Resort and Marina. I am sorry the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. I you might have noticed we are in the process of renovating and unfortunately the room type you requested is in an area that is currently being worked...

Cape Coral, Florida
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a very nice and modern room at this place and would recommend for people staying in the Marathon area. Has a nice bar at the pool area and is located across the street from a golf course. Very reasonable rates for what you get. Located near a lot of restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sfochy
Jeff V, General Manager at Sombrero Resort & Marina, responded to this review

Good afternoon, thank you for taking the time to submit your review on your recent stay here at Sombrero Resort and Marina. I am glad you enjoyed one of newly renovated suites, we have tried to make this your home away from home. I hope that if you are every back in our area that you will visit us. Regards,

Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just returning from spending 2 nights at the Sombrero Resort, I having nothing but good and positive things to say about my stay at this resort. The entire staff was courteous and extremely helpful, including the bartenders who also pour a great drink, and the refurbished rooms are exceptional, They are beautifully and comfortably decorated and suited all our needs....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lplegalmom
Jeff V, General Manager at Sombrero Resort & Marina, responded to this review

Good afternoon, thank you for taking the time to submit your review on your recent stay here with us. I am happy to see you received one of our newly renovated suites and found that they met all your travel needs. As you mentioned the staff is very proud of the progress we have made over the last couple of...

Shelton, Connecticut
Reviewed December 31, 2016

The proprietor and staff are exceedingly helpful and friendly! Original plans were to stay here, and so a package was arranged to arrive here for pickup. However, the plans changed, but the package was still delivered and sat there for a few days. The office was very kind and went out of their way to ensure the package was waiting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sedona124
Jeff V, General Manager at Sombrero Resort & Marina, responded to this review

Thank for the kind remarks regarding our staff here at the Sombrero Resort and Marina. I will pass the comments onto the staff at the front desk. If you ever find yourself needing accommodations in the Florida Keys, I hope you will decide to stay with us.

Burke, VA
Reviewed December 29, 2016

Not exactly what I was expecting, the front door was a sliding glass door, so I felt I didn't have much privacy. I was warned there was construction/remodeling going on, so it was ok, only between 9am - 6pm which is reasonable. Room was a little small for my liking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daveman71
Jeff V, General Manager at Sombrero Resort & Marina, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on your recent stay. I am sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your accommodations. As you may have noticed during your stay the property is currently undergoing major renovations. I hope that if you are ever back in the Florida Keys that you will stop by and see...

Reviewed December 29, 2016 via mobile

Blinds were broke allowing people to see into our room. Toiled backed up. One cabinet was broken and bolted shut! Floors were filthy and your feet and socks were black after a little while. Sliding doors in closet wouldn't move. Don't stay here! The price is ridiculous for what you get!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beth F
Jeff V, General Manager at Sombrero Resort & Marina, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on your recent stay. I am sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your accommodations. As you may have noticed during your stay the property is currently undergoing major renovations. I hope that if you are ever back in the Florida Keys that you will stop by and see...

jeannesir
Reviewed December 23, 2016

My friend and I drove down to Marathon from Port St Lucie. We were not familiar with the area so took a chance on the Sombrero. We were so very pleased to be given a newly refurbished deluxe suite which was so nice. It was beautiful and very clean and the bed was very comfortable. The room had a kitchen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeannesir
Jeff V, General Manager at Sombrero Resort & Marina, responded to this review

Happy Holidays from Sombrero Resort and Marina. Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I am happy that you enjoyed staying in one our newly renovated suite, we tried to furnish the suites to meet everyone's needs. We look forward to having you back the next time you are in the Florida Keys.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

215 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (191)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
4.1 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#9 of 16 in Marathon
252 reviews
4.2 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
681 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Sombrero Resort & Marina

Address: 19 Sombrero Boulevard, Marathon, FL 33050 (Formerly Sombrero)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Price Range: $175 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sombrero Resort & Marina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sombrero Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boatman_s Sombrero Resort And Marina
Boatman_s Sombrero Resort & Marina Hotel Marathon
Marathon Key Sombrero Hotel
Marathon Key Sombrero Resort & Lighthouse Marina
Sombrero Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Sombrero Resort & Marina staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Sombrero Resort & Marina staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Wait until they finish the landscaping and the promised room renovations.”
 of 5 bubbles SuperDave47, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Make sure you ask for a renovated room!!”
 of 5 bubbles lplegalmom, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Don't get any rooms in the 100s, I had room 11x.”
 of 5 bubbles daveman71, Dec 29, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a refurbished room and a deluxe suite”
 of 5 bubbles jeannesir, Dec 23, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a newly remodeled room.”
 of 5 bubbles Tackleboxdave, Dec 8, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question