We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Gulf View Waterfront Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marathon
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Expert photos
Gulf View Waterfront Resort
Gulf View Waterfront Resort
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

432 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 427: English reviews
Athens, Greece
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

be aware that the beds are very old and extremely soft. the people that own it are super nice and I feel bad writing this review but I was very disappointed.. it's in a nice location though you can go canoe. But me and me colleagues couldn't sleep well these past 3 days...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Achilles L
GulfViewResort, Operations Manager at Gulf View Waterfront Resort, responded to this review

Dear Achilles, We are glad that you enjoyed going kayaking and the location. We regret to learn that you and your colleagues did not fully enjoy your stay due to the beds. We would like to clarify that the beds are of top quality. They are firm with a soft top. I did inspect all the beds, but did not...

Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We checked in for a week on Christmas eve. It is a stunning setting; beautiful grounds & the pool was heated The apartments are clean, have everything you need and the beds are so so comfy! Apparently the resort was fully booked but it was so so quiet. A family owned resort providing a true taste of old Florida; not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LJ2609
GulfViewResort, Operations Manager at Gulf View Waterfront Resort, responded to this review

Dear Lena, Thank you for highly recommending us. We are happy that you enjoyed the grounds. We hope to welcome you back soon! Best regards, The Gulf View Waterfront Resort

Bayfield, Colorado
Reviewed 1 week ago

Clean, quiet, affordable, with a great location on the Gulf. We stayed a week in one apartment with our son, daughter in law and 2 year old granddaughter next door. Each of our units were clean, with their own kitchens, air conditioning, and patios outside with BBQ grills. Very homey and nice. The owners Mike and Stephanie (who lived on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoTraveler052
GulfViewResort, Operations Manager at Gulf View Waterfront Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are happy to hear that your family enjoyed their Christmas vacation at the Gulf View. We are thankful that you appreciated the hospitality you received during your stay. We hope to welcome you back soon! Best regards, The Gulf View Waterfront Resort

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have been to the Florida Keys several times, witnessing the ups and downs of seasonal prices for motels, resorts, and even camping sites. We just happened upon the Gulf View Waterfront Resort after looking around in the area of Grassy key for a decent place to stay. What we found instead was a hidden piece of paradise. We traveled...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Li D
GulfViewResort, Operations Manager at Gulf View Waterfront Resort, responded to this review

Dear Lili & Family, We are so glad that you found us by chance and that you enjoyed your time here. We are thankful for your appreciation and can't wait to welcome you back. Best regards, The Gulf View Waterfront Resort

Jersey Shore
Reviewed December 1, 2016

This is the second year in a row and I hope to be back next year-this is "Old Florida"-clean, quiet and beautiful. There is no swimming beach, but a beautiful free municipal beach on the Atlantic is about ten minutes away-in the mean-time, the property has a fantastic pool with a view of the Gulf. The owners live on the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jill W
GulfViewResort, Operations Manager at Gulf View Waterfront Resort, responded to this review

Dear Jill, It is our pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your second stay. We look forward to welcoming you back next year! Best regards until then, The Gulf View Waterfront Resort

Reviewed November 30, 2016

While searching for a wedding venue in the Keys, we stumbled upon this resort. Having been to the Keys more times than I can count in my lifetime, my family and I were surprised we had never heard of Gulfview Waterfront Resort. After speaking with Mike on the phone we knew this was the perfect place for our wedding. Not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eric H
GulfViewResort, Operations Manager at Gulf View Waterfront Resort, responded to this review

Dear Eric, Ashley & Kyra, We are so happy that you chose the Gulf View for your special day. We enjoyed being a part of the celebration. We wish you both many years of happiness, and can't wait to welcome you back soon! Kind regards, Mike & Stephanie

Stuart, Florida
Reviewed November 26, 2016

I just can't express enough how wonderful a stay we had at the Gulf View Resort. My husband and I stayed 8 nights. This is a small quiet resort on the gulf side that I thankfully happened upon while searching for a place to have our son's wedding. We enjoyed several days of quiet relaxation before the weekend guests began...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hinsonmichelle
GulfViewResort, Operations Manager at Gulf View Waterfront Resort, responded to this review

Dear Michelle & Family, It was our pleasure to be a part of the celebration. We are happy that you & your family enjoyed the Gulf View. If we could rate our guests we would give you 5 stars. We look forward to welcoming you all back in the future. Kind regards, Mike & Stephanie

Reviewed November 9, 2016

One of the things people don't often speak of when traveling is the generosity and philanthropy that that so many perform. That is the case with the Gulfview when they a four night stay was donated on Biddingforgood.com. I was the lucky winner and looked forward to this stay. Sometimes an organization won't upgrade or do their best but that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
GulfViewResort, Operations Manager at Gulf View Waterfront Resort, responded to this review

Dear Christine & Family, It is wonderful to know that your family enjoyed their stay here at the Gulf View. We are happy that you were able to enjoy the hammocks and the peacefulness of the Gulf. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Best regards, The Gulf View Waterfront Resort

Reviewed October 25, 2016

Thanks Mike & family, We had a great vacation. The place is always nice to come to & very clean. My kids love the pool & the birds & tortoises. The pool & hammocks are always so nice & relaxing. The sunsets are fabulous! Look forward to the next trip back! Thanks again, The Austin Family, Shawn, Melissa, Lily,& Chase

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa A
GulfViewResort, Operations Manager at Gulf View Waterfront Resort, responded to this review

Dear Austin Family, We are so happy to hear that your children love the birds and tortoises. We can't wait to welcome your family back soon! Best regards, The Gulf View Waterfront Resort

Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Reviewed October 21, 2016 via mobile

The Gulfview is a fabulous place to stay. Great accommodations and the grounds are beautiful. The owners are friendly, helpful, and welcoming. This was our second visit and we highly recommend it. We were able to get units next to each so we could gather together in front of our units. They have kayak, canoes, and pedal boats that are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JanicePVB
GulfViewResort, Operations Manager at Gulf View Waterfront Resort, responded to this review

Dear Long Family, We are so glad that you enjoyed your family reunion here at The Gulf View. It is wonderful to hear that you were able to go out on the kayaks and explore. We look forward to welcoming your family back soon! Best regards, The Gulf View Waterfront Resort

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

733 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (255)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (71)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (84)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (470)
Viewed
Amenities (49)
Viewed
Beach (7)
Viewed
Guest Room (65)
Viewed
One Bedroom Apartment (76)
Viewed
Pool (37)
Viewed
Queen Double Efficiency Room (69)
Viewed
The Hotel (69)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Apartment (98)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
10.5 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
10.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.0 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#9 of 16 in Marathon
249 reviews
5.2 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
670 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Hammocks at Marathon
The Hammocks at Marathon
#8 of 16 in Marathon
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our small, private and charming property is located at the North end of Marathon on Grassy Key. We offer 11 exceptional units ranging from guest rooms with refrigerators and microwave ovens to efficiencies and one and two bedroom apartments with full kitchens - an accommodation to meet your needs. (We even allow your family pets!) Enjoy the heated pool, one of the largest in the middle keys or go out on our complimentary kayaks, canoes or paddle boats. We provide free WIFI, daily maid service and complimentary coffee and tea each morning. We also have a boat ramp and dockage available.The Gulf View Waterfront Resort has been family owned and operated since 1995. Come stay with us and discover our little piece of paradise.Susan, Mike, Stephanie, Jack & Casey Thank you for your interest in the Gulf View. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gulf View Waterfront Resort

Address: 58743 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-6021
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Price Range: $113 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Gulf View Waterfront Hotel Marathon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Gulf View Waterfront Resort staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Gulf View Waterfront Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“air condition is too loud and the beds are bad...”
 of 5 bubbles 609achillesl, 3 days ago | Read review
“there are no elevators”
 of 5 bubbles JillW356, Dec 1, 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are amazing”
 of 5 bubbles H7436OCerich, Nov 30, 2016 | Read review
“You are asssigned a suite based on the # of bedrooms needed.”
  • Each room has a different designator - much nicer than a #
 of 5 bubbles C8156PEchristineh, Nov 9, 2016 | Read review
“Get an upstairs room”
 of 5 bubbles CWMH, Jul 4, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question