We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Captain Pips at Knights Key Inn

40 Kyle Way W Checkin at 1410 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-2019
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (80)
Room & Suite (21)
Pool & Beach (4)
Certificate of Excellence


#6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Captain Pips at Knights Key Inn is the sister resort to Captain Pips Marina & Hideaway. This resort has been remodeled from top to bottom. Brand new everything. Most rooms have sunsetviews, kitchenettes, 2 flat screan tvs, dining area and private balcony. New resufaced pool with an ocean view. We have two full beds or 1 king bed in each room. We have one 2 bedroom apartment with murphy bed that will accommodate 6. CHECKIN IS AT CAPTAIN PIPS MARINA & HIDEAWAY 1410 OVERSEAS HWY. We will give you a site map for a short drive down the road to new resort.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool / beach towels
Bicycle rental
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Outdoor furniture
Show more
Good to know
Great View
91Reviews6Q+A8Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 49
  • 31
  • 5
  • 2
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Hotels closed due to pandemic. Captain Pips says they staying open, “operations as usual”. No refund. How can this be allowed?! I didn’t cancel. The world cancelled my vacation. That’s a LOT of $$ I’m not getting back. But I had to pay it! Upfront. 🤬
Read more
Response from Captain Pips, General Manager at Captain Pips at Knights Key Inn
Responded 1 week ago
Tammy, Please give us a call at 305-743-4403. We have shut down all rentals and are not staying open until Monroe County and the state clears everyone. We have issued refunds to all of our guests due to the virus.
Read more
Favorite place we stayed on our trip to see Tommy Emmanuel play in Key West (2 night stay). Off the highway a block or so. Large room with King Bed, sofa, recliner, dining table and kitchen. Spotlessly clean. We had room #101 which was perfect with parking right by the door. There's additional parking around the back which is only a few steps as there are only 12 or 16 rooms in the building. Water pressure is good in the shower. The bathroom is very small but adequate. WIFI worked OK. Several eating places close by and very little traffic on the road. The ocean is right across the road. Remote check in was easy at Captain Pip's Marina about 1/2 mile east and there's a dropbox for your keys at the bldg when you leave. At 25-33% of what we would have paid in Key West, it's a great value!
Read more
Response from Captain Pips, General Manager at Captain Pips at Knights Key Inn
Responded Feb 23, 2020
Jim, Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We really appreciate your feedback! Please let us know what we can do to earn 5 stars next time! Thank you, Captain Pips
Read more
Our 2nd-floor Walk-up room made getting luggage into the room a bit uncomfortable. There were no designated parking spots so after settling in on the first night I was not sure why someone was pounding on my front door (there was no way to see out who was there without opening the front door)---it turns out that a 5th car needed to be parked in the lot below when it appeared that there were only 4 units in the structure. I had to run out and move the car at a pretty inconvenient time. Our undersized air-conditioner unit was not working properly and displayed an E06 error code---no one on staff could figure out how to make it work properly. To top it off the Ceiling fan in the room did not work AND the Side window was sealed shut. The back window worked BUT there was a group from the next unit out there on THEIR DECK and the noise from their voices would have kept us awake. There was NO way to get any air circulation in the room. The bathroom was adequate but the tiled walk-in shower floor was slippery when wet and there was nothing in the shower to grab onto making shower taking a dangerous endeavor. One good point was the location---in Marathon----And it was walking distance to a decent restaurant. (Porkeys). For the cost of a place to stay----I know we could have done better by sticking with a more well-known brand of hotel even though we went to Marathon in Mid-January.
Read more
Response from CaptainPips, Owner at Captain Pips at Knights Key Inn
Responded Jan 15, 2020
AIR0114, We are sorry your air conditioning wasn't working. We cannot control how other guests choose to spend their vacation. All other hotels would have the same issue. Next time if it is after curfew then give us a call and we will politely ask them to keep the noise down. Thank you, Captain Pips
Read more
The room was nice. The beds were a bit smaller than in other places we stayed. The airconditioning quite noisy. There was a Christmas tree in the room, nice! Unfortunately the pool was closed for all days we were at the hotel ( 3 nights). That was really disappointing travelling with children. Towels weren’t changed during our stay, that would have been appreciated. The views on the 7 Mile bridge were great!
Read more
Response from CaptainPips, Owner at Captain Pips at Knights Key Inn
Responded Jan 8, 2020
Joep, Thank you for the feedback. We are sorry the pool was closed during your stay. If you need towels, please call down and housekeeping will bring them! Thank you, Captain Pips
Read more
There is no reception at this place and after 17.00h you have to collect your key from a key box in front of a container unit which is situated about a mile away from the inn. We got a basic but spacious room with a small kitchen on the second floor. The bathroom was somewhat outdated and quite small but still worked fine for two nights. There was a small balcony at the back side of the rooms which for us was a plus. Both the room and the bathroom could use a modernization. They said it was just renovated but everything still looked a bit old-fashioned and outdated. The couch for example was really out of it’s life cycle. We chose this inn because it’s cheaper than the hotels in Key West and not that far away from there (about one hour drive). Next time we will definitely look for something else, mainly because of the lack of atmosphere and the outdated furniture.
Read more
Response from CaptainPips, Owner at Captain Pips at Knights Key Inn
Responded Jan 5, 2020
CorTT, Thank you for your feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve! Have a good day, Captain Pips
Read more
$123 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
knights key hotel marathon
United StatesFloridaFlorida KeysMarathon
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Captain Pips at Knights Key Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Captain Pips at Knights Key Inn?
Nearby attractions include The Turtle Hospital (1.4 miles), Old Seven Mile Bridge (2.5 miles), and Crane Point Museum & Nature Center (3.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Captain Pips at Knights Key Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Captain Pips at Knights Key Inn?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Captain Pips at Knights Key Inn?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Captain Pips at Knights Key Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Captain Pips at Knights Key Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Florida Keys Steak and Lobster House, Island Time Diner, and Food for Thought.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Captain Pips at Knights Key Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.