We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway

1410 Overseas Hwy Look for the Big Blue Chair and the American Flag, Marathon, FL 33050-2117
Visit hotel website
E-mail hotel
4 people are viewing this hotel
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$75
View Deal
Orbitz.com$75
Travelocity$75
Hotwire.com$75
Expedia.com$75
Agoda.com$75
eDreams$75
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (486)
360
Panoramas (34)
Videos (1)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Enjoy clean, comfortable fully renovated accommodations, with a brand new waterfront pool. Choose from motel-style guest rooms, efficiencies or one- & two-bedroom apartments with either open-water or tropical garden views. When you stay with us you can receive up to 30% off your boat rental. We also rent kayaks, & Bikes.1/2 mile from the 7 mile bridge. World-class fishing & diving are only minutes from your door in the beautiful Florida Keys. We also now have daily snorkel trips to Sombrero Reef or Pirate's Cove onboard the Spirit Power Catamaran. It's like swimming in an aquarium!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free internet
Wifi
Internet
Pool
Outdoor pool
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Marina View
Ocean View
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
700Reviews10Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 392
  • 193
  • 48
  • 24
  • 43
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
+1
We stayed at Captain Pips when the previous owners had it. It was a small resort, great location, & a boat came with the room. We stayed there about 6 years in a row for our vacation & loved every minute of it. One year a hurricane was threatening & we had to leave 2 days early to take care of our property & they gladly refunded us. It was very family oriented & a pleasure to stay there. After moving & life getting in the way, we finally were able to get back down there. I knew it was sold & was hoping for the same atmosphere, but I was UN-pleasantly surprised. 1), The boat... We reserved the 19' Parker a month in advance which is pictured & looked really nice... I wanted the flip seat because we fish more off the back of the boat while anchored & thought it would be very convenient. when they took us to the boat to go over it, the flip seat back rest was broke off (gone) & seats were torn. I was told the reason for the condition was the boat was 4 years old & a rental... I said if this boat was pictured on your websight I would not have reserved it. So we got another boat in better condition, but not the type I wanted. 2) we reserved the same efficiency we rented in the past, & the refrigerator was not full size like it was in our past visits... we barely had room for bait & our catch plus could not store ice because the freezer was to small. 3) They put 18" wall tile on the floor on the shower, so yes, I slipped & cut my arm on the soap dispenser. 4) If you want to grill & don't smoke, bring matches or a lighter. We had to go across the street & buy matched to light the grill. 5) We we forced to leave a day early because of Hurricane Dorian. At that time the storm was predicted to hit Florida as a cat 4 & all of Florida was in the cone. Our property is in NE Florida so we had to get home to prepare. We left before check out time Friday (Our actual check out was Saturday) & we received NO refund for the 1 day early departure because of a Hurricane. I was very disappointed that this place, we really loved, grew larger, more crowded, & went corporate. The compassion is gone...We will never stay there again & will be searching for a new place like the old Captain Pips. The guy (Todd I believe) that helped us with the boat was very helpful & nice. The new docks were great too... Pool was a little to chilly for me but was a nice addition. You will probably love it if this is your first time staying there. We very much preferred the way it was.
Read more
Response from CaptainPips, Owner at Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway
Responded 1 week ago
Stay289242, We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay.. We always have an overwhelming amount of positive feedback. Of course things are going to change from 7 years ago. The more guests that stay, the more recommendations we receive and the busier we become. We strive to make every guest feel comfortable and welcome. We went through a Category 5 hurricane just 2 years ago which left a lot of businesses with utter devastation. As it states on our website, "With 30 days notice your 50% deposit is fully refundable, if less than 30 day notice, deposits are nonrefundable." We cannot control the Hurricanes (hence devastation from Irma) so we are unable to refund you the last day just because a hurricane was coming.. We hope that you were able to secure your home and didn't have too much damage. We are not corporate, we are family owned. Hopefully you can find a resort that is similar to 7 years ago.. Captain Pips
Read more
Property's Favorite Review
We love to stay at Captain Pips. We visited the week before the hurricane and enjoyed a relaxing time here. They have renovated everything nicely after the hurricane. Will be returning again next summer.
Read more
Response from Captain P, Manager at Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway
Responded Aug 8, 2019
Thank you, it was a hard comeback, but we are back stronger than ever. We appreciate your business and your rating of 5.
Read more
Booked a night as a layover between tampa and key west before planning to head up to Miami the next evening. However, once we arrived we were so in awe of the location we booked a second night there and then and changed our plans. The location is perfect looking out over the water and the backdrop was the famous 7 mile bridge. The sunset was just beautiful from the balcony. The room was extremely clean and well up to date with everything you need if you wish to home cook, in addition to a lovely shower room and good decorated main sleeping area. All newly refurbished. There is a lovely folder in the room with local amenities in, and a history of the premises and the owner. It is obvious this small business has the customer at the heart of their ethos. We were running late so couldn’t get to the office to check in so I phoned ahead and they couldn’t have been more helpful, giving instructions on where the keys would be. There is a Publix nearby as well as ample food establishments. I recommend the turtle hospital half a mile down the road for a visit, as well as being only an hour from key west which made this location a perfect spot 2/3rds the way down the keys. As and when we return to the keys we have already decided we will be staying here again.
Read more
Response from CaptainPips, Owner at Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway
Responded 1 week ago
Eastbournestew, Thank you for taking the time to write such an awesome, detailed review! We welcome and appreciate all feedback! When will you be back? Please like us on Facebook and follow us Instagtam @CaptPips Do you mind writing a google review as well? Thank you, Captain Pips
Read more
Not fancy if that is what you are looking for. This is old FL at it's best. Clean and extremely courteous. Because of the hurricane we got an waterfront view room at a great price. Can't wait to come down again next year!!!
Read more
Response from CaptainPips, Owner at Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway
Responded 2 weeks ago
Travgatr, Thank you for giving us a shot and taking the time to write such an awesome review! We are thrilled to hear you had a great time! When are you coming back next year? Please like us on Facebook and follow us on Instagram @CaptPips #CaptPips Thank you, Captain Pips
Read more
Had a great stay here, room was clean, spacious, and had everything we needed. Staff were extremely helpful after we left our passports behind by posting them straight to us at our next hotel. Thanks for all your help and for a great stay in the keys!
Read more
Response from CaptainPips, Owner at Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway
Responded 2 weeks ago
Lauren, Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are happy that you had such a great stay! We really pride ourselves on our guest services and being as helpful as possible to our guests! When are you coming back? Please like us on Facebook and follow us on Instagram @CaptPips #CaptPips Thank you, Captain Pips
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$81 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
captain pip`s marina & hideaway hotel marathon, captain pip`s marina and hideaway
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaFlorida KeysMarathon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing