We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pelican Cove Resort & Marina

Save
Share
84457 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036
Hotels.com
Booking.com
travelup.com
FindHotel
Priceline
Etrip
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1104)
360
Panoramas (10)
Room & Suite (407)

About

#9 of 21 hotels in Islamorada
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.2
Value
3.9
Pelican Cove Resort and Marina typifies the relaxed lifestyle of the Florida Keys. With its 63 rooms and suites on the water, pool, saltwater lagoon, cabana bar and café, marina, water sports and fishing charters, the resort transports visitors into a tropical paradise the minute they check-in. The myriad of activities, both on property and throughout the nearby islands, provide visitors with as much activity as they want with the laid-back atmosphere of a secluded luxury destination. With plenty of palms trees and shade to escape to, Pelican Cove Resort is the "Key" place to relax and change your latitude as well as your attitude. So if you like hanging around under a tropical sun staring at the sparkling blue waters of the Atlantic Ocean, Pelican Cove Resort is the place you want to be!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Wifi
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Baggage storage
Parking
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Outdoor dining area
Vending machine
Poolside bar
Bicycles available
Diving
Fishing
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
1140Reviews48Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 579
  • 324
  • 114
  • 74
  • 49
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
RSH42 wrote a review Sep 18
Collinsville, Illinois17 contributions5 helpful votes
Actually never got to check in to a room since the computers were down. No front desk at the resort. One has to go to a neighboring resort to check in. Tried to charge us a cancellation fee even though they couldn’t give us a room 5 hours after check in time.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for letting us know about your experience. We're sorry to hear about the issues you encountered at check-in. While computer troubles are certainly difficult to circumvent, we appreciate your patience as our team did their best to get you settled in a timely manner. Rest assured, we are working to ensure our policies for issues like this are properly communicated amongst our team and to our guests, and we hope for another chance to impress you in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alisa Kremer-Parrott wrote a review Aug 2022
West Sayville, New York138 contributions8 helpful votes
+1
Very disappointing stay this time around since we had an exceptional experience here last year. The check in experience was poor right from the start. We had to check in at the Postcard Inn since the office at Pelican was taken over by a jet ski rental company. The girls behind the desk were not very knowledgeable about the resort. They never shared the WiFi info. or anything else about the resort. We checked into our room and it was in a noisier area over the pool which we didn't want. We called the front desk back at the Postcard Inn and I was put on hold for a while. I had to call 3 different times to request a different room. Eventually this request was honored, but it took 1.5 hrs to rectify our new room change. Our new room had no couch to sit on, and there were hardly any toiletries for our family (an individual came by later to drop off a bag of supplies). There was a crack by the front door which could present a problem with unwanted guests (we don't mind the geckos, but didn't want palmetto bugs, etc.) The lid to the toilet was coming off, and the lighting in the room was very dim. This was not the same place we recalled from last year - plus, we had breakfast included which our daughters enjoyed. The bar was rarely open & shut down early. We then decided to visit the other pool at the Postcard Inn and realized it hadn't been cleaned in a while - we saw scum on the sides of the pool and a film of oil and debris from the trees floating on top. We decided we were better off at Pelican's pool instead. The family beneath our room ignored the smoking ban, and proceeded to smoke cigarettes morning and night. We didn't see any security on the premises, and there wasn't anyone to enforce the smoking rules, etc. We ran into other guests who had questions about the resort, and were frustrated that no one was on site to address their concerns or questions. The game area had worn, old equipment (ping pong paddles, chess pieces, etc.) and the lighting was extremely dim. There definitely should be an on site office with a manager! It's clear that they are understaffed and tried to cram all the guests in the same area. We had one good experience when we went paddle boarding and ate at some nice restaurants during our stay. We will not be returning to any of these "sister resorts" again. It's clear that they ALL need to be managed individually, and hire more staff to be attentive to resort repairs, updates and guests.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Definitely know the season when you're visiting so you can make necessary restaurant reservations...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Responded 4 weeks ago
We appreciate you taking the time to reach out and share your concerns regarding your recent experience. It greatly saddens us to hear we failed to deliver the positive experience we provided last year and you found your stay unsatisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies if you found your room not maintained to our usual high standards and for any lapse in service you encountered. We will address all the issues you raised regarding your visit internally and work with our team to review where changes need to be made. We consider your feedback an essential opportunity to see where we need to be doing better.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Erin P wrote a review Aug 2022
West Sayville, New York5 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
This was our second time staying here and we were excited because we had a great time last time. We love that the hotel has its own private beach with fun activities that were included like paddle boarding; we had a blast and the water was super clean and clear. It also had a nice pool, and it is nice that it has other sister resorts that you can go to to use their amenities too. It’s also a short drive to many restaurants which is good. The only reasons that I did not put 5 stars is because from the last time we came, the management has went downhill. They used to have breakfast but they got rid of that, and they only have room service every other day. Their office is also not even at the resort, you had to check in at a sister resort which is kind of far away. Other than the management, I did enjoy this resort, and would want to go back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Erin, It is always a pleasure to welcome back familiar faces, and we are thrilled that our plethora of fun activities and fantastic location managed to impress you once again. That being said, we are sorry to hear of any aspects of your visit that you may have found less than ideal, and you can be confident that we will review all of your concerns internally as we continue to improve. Thank you for your insights, and we would be honored to welcome you back for another exceptional stay soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Eric D wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
We love visiting Islamorada and have enjoyed staying at Pelican cove in the past and also at Amara Cay. we booked two rooms at Pelican cove a few weeks ago and were really excited about staying there again. We were told check in was at four we got there around 3:30 since Pelican cove has no lobby you have to walk over to Postcard Inn to check in no biggie one room was ready, they said they would call when the second room was ready. around 4:45 we walked back over and asked the front desk staff if our room was ready, they said no and they would call us when we said check in was at 4, they could not have cared less and told us it was not 4 but 4ish. we left again to return around 5:45 to find a group of customers all still waiting for their rooms and demanding to see the manager who finally came out and told us it will be a little longer and if we didn’t like it we could get our money back and go home. Her tone then changed, and she was very apologetic telling us she would take care of us we finally got our room about 6:20. Couldn’t wait to take a shower but there was no hot water so we called the front desk they said the would send someone to take care of it. We went to dinner and came back to no hot water called the front desk several times with no answer so once again walk back over to the lobby and back to the room about 10 min later a man comes and checks something in the bathroom he says he has to go get a screwdriver and he will be back. About 15 min later another man comes and looks around in the bathroom then says he has to go get his coworker and he will be right back. Neither man ever came back or even called to inform us that wouldn’t be back which to me is straight up disrespectful. The following morning, we went to check out and the manager gave us a refund for one room even though neither room had hot water. The refund was nice but what we really wanted was to have a nice time in Islamorada at a place we used to love going to. The manager whose name I believe is Sarah was the only member of the staff we interacted with who even seemed like she cared at all the rest were just plain rude to us and other customers as well. I cant believe I’m going to say this because we really loved previous experiences at Pelican Cove and Amara Cay ,But if you want a stress free vacation in paradise you should probably avoid Pelican Cove, Amara Cay and Postcard
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Responded Aug 19, 2022
All comments are welcome, and we value your input. We strive to provide our guests with friendly service, comfortable and enjoyable accommodations, and a timely and easy check-in process, and we are very sorry to hear about your experience. We will certainly review this matter with our team as we work to uphold our standards. Thank you, and we wish you safe and happy travels ahead.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joel137 wrote a review Aug 2022
Delray Beach, Florida462 contributions223 helpful votes
We really like the Pelican Cove Resort but they need to improve things. The staff at the front desk, specifically, Natasha and the front desk manager, Sarah are truly wonderful. They are helpful, friendly and accommodating. The cleaning crews seem to work non-stop as do the landscapers. Since last year, the Pelican has closed their breakfast option. Big mistake. It was not gourmet but simply a great start with muffins, hard-boiled eggs, toast, yogurt and juices. Bring it back. The elevators need to be replaced…rusted, pitted doors make them appear unsafe. They also should have fans installed. We could never obtain pool towels. They were always out and we got tired of waiting each day. Our shower controls did not control the temp of the water and the water would spill 9 to the floor every shower, causing us to sop up the water with the room towels. There are areas where chunks of concrete are missing where people walk…an accident waiting to happen. The rooms need updating. The outside decks are nice. The free kayaks and paddle boards are great. The small beach area is perfect and the pool is kept clean. The wristband/door key combo…genius and convenient! The Pelican needs a strong infusion of dollars to bring it up to par. In spite of this, we would come back for a third visit but at a discounted rate. Joel & Rosalie…Delray Beach, FL
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Responded Aug 7, 2022
Dear Joel, Thank you for offering thoughtful feedback about your recent stay at our resort. We're glad you enjoyed your time with us and our lovely location, excellent amenities such as the kayaks and paddle boards, and the friendly and helpful service of our staff. You can be sure your kind words will be shared with Natasha, Sarah, and the rest of our team. Your comments are important to us, and we will use them as we continually work to improve our facility. It's a pleasure to have you return to visit with us, and we'll look forward to seeing you in the future in beautiful Islamorada. Kind regards and safe travels.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
darrell72 wrote a review Jul 2022
Cedar Bluff, Virginia21 contributions2 helpful votes
Second time staying here. It’s getting worse. No lobby on property, have to go to Postcard Inn to check in and out. Elevator didn’t work, low water pressure, stairs leading to rooms dirty. Floors not clean. The view and amenities are the best things going for the resort. It’s not worth the price you pay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Avoid the 2 day mini lobster season. Traffic was terrible. There are several good restaurants...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Responded Aug 2, 2022
Dear Darrell, We appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to share your thoughts. While we're glad you enjoyed the beautiful views, we apologize for any concerns about cleanliness and for any issues with the elevator. We'll pass your comments along to the appropriate staff members, and we hope you'll consider staying with us again should you be back in the area.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Erin N wrote a review Jul 2022
Chicago, Illinois64 contributions29 helpful votes
We stayed at a few different resorts on our way through the Keys. This was the lowest price but had the best view of all of the rooms. Because of how the resort is set up, it seems like all rooms would have a great ocean view. The resort could use a few tweaks to make it better though. It was lacking signs so we had to carry luggage up the stairs as we couldn't find the elevator location at first; we also wandered all over looking for the ice and pool bathoom. The biggest thing that could be improved was the water pressure in the shower. It was low and not consistent in temperature either.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Responded Jul 30, 2022
Dear Erin, Thank you for the excellent rating of your recent stay at Pelican Cove Resort & Marina. We're glad you enjoyed your visit with us and our lovely views and exceptional value. Your comments are appreciated, and we will use them as we continually work to improve our guests' experience. Please allow us to host you again should your travels bring you back to Islamorada. Familiar faces are a welcome sight, so come back soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pedro C wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Horrible place, we couldn’t check in til 6pm “cause the room wasn’t ready” and the treatment was really bad they didn’t seemed to care. Not recommendable at all. I’m a regular at the Florida keys and definitely will never come back to this establishment.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Responded Jul 28, 2022
Dear Pedrillo, We hope you will accept our apologies for not providing the exceptional stay you should always receive from us. Our goal is to give genuine, thoughtful service to all of our guests, and we regret that this was not your experience. We appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention, and we will address your feedback appropriately. We would be honored to have you revisit to restore your confidence in us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jbyrne723 wrote a review Jul 2022
Ridley Park, Pennsylvania31 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Starting with a 2… we checked in yesterday. Somehow we happen to be put in the same room we had last year. If you look back at all the notes I shared last year, NOTHING changed, other then I had to change a lightbulb for one of the only 2 light sources. And we have a bedside outlet which doesn’t work. Also some additions to this year is the AC comes on and goes off obnoxiously loud. Woke up today to a broken elevator. Wanted to leave, but was talked into staying by my wife, the views, beach and pool are still amazing. Not worth a return. Here until Sunday(ish)
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Responded Jul 23, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are incredibly sorry to see that your stay with us was not perfect. The things you have mentioned are not acceptable and will be addressed with diligence. We expect the rest of your visit will be much improved.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rhonda333781 wrote a review Jul 2022
New Haven, Connecticut2 contributions1 helpful vote
I don’t even know where to start. This got great reviews so we were excited to stay here. I don’t know if the management company changed or what happened but DO NOT STAY HERE AT ANY PRICE. ZERO amenities -we are talking towels, not anything fancy. We were told “they are being washed” but a couple we met at the pool said they’ve been “being washed” for days. ZERO service. . ZERO housekeeping due to “short staffing”. I personally do not want to take the trash out on my vacation. And the kicker, a 2 inch LIVE ROACH ( excuse me-palmetto bug) scampered across our room. DO NOT STAY HERE
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Responded Jul 21, 2022
Dear Rhonda, We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We strive to provide a perfect experience for all of our guests and apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. As a result, we have notified our staff of your comments to ensure they do not happen again in the future. Additionally, we're very concerned about your comments regarding pests and have been working with our team to investigate your accommodations as this is not a common experience at our hotel. We will use your remarks to continue improving and wish you safe travels on your next adventure.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$213 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
pelican cove hotel marina islamorada, pelican cove resort marina islamorada, pelican cove resort islamorada
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Pelican Cove
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaFlorida KeysIslamorada
NUMBER OF ROOMS
63
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Which popular attractions are close to Pelican Cove Resort & Marina?
Nearby attractions include The OceanView Motel and Sports Pub (0.3 miles), Whale Harbor Marina (0.7 miles), and Island Dreamz (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Pelican Cove Resort & Marina?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Pelican Cove Resort & Marina?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Pelican Cove Resort & Marina?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Pelican Cove Resort & Marina?
Yes, paid public parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Pelican Cove Resort & Marina?
Conveniently located restaurants include Wahoo's Bar and Grill, Ciao Hound, and Whale Harbor Seafood Feast (Buffet).
Are there opportunities to exercise at Pelican Cove Resort & Marina?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Pelican Cove Resort & Marina?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Pelican Cove Resort & Marina?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Indian Key State Historic Site (3.3 miles) and Pasta Pantaleo Signature Gallery (2.9 miles).
Does Pelican Cove Resort & Marina have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.
Is Pelican Cove Resort & Marina accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.