We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Drop Anchor Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Expert photos
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

609 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Drop Anchor Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 563: English reviews
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2015 via mobile

Very nice, cute and clean rooms. We loved that when we booked we got to see a picture on the website to see what the available rooms looked like. We loved our room and deck! Much better in person than in the picture. The staff was very nice and helpful! We would stay here again. My only con is no... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shea S
Drop_Anchor_Resort, Manager at Drop Anchor Resort, responded to this review

We cannot tell you how much your wonderful review means to us. Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. Maintaining our rooms and grounds are also a top priority for us. I will pass along your words of praise to our hard working staff. We look forward to the opportunity to have you as our guest again... More 

Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015

This hotel has the classic Florida Keys feel. Our room was ocean front with a king bed, kitchenette, & patio with adirondack chairs & a picnic table, which we enjoyed breakfast & dinner at. Their tall coconut palms and colorful buildings made us feel like we were in paradise. The property is beautifully lit at night with lots of spots... More 

Helpful?
Thank MrsMartin2011
Drop_Anchor_Resort, General Manager at Drop Anchor Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our Resort. It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We do pride ourselves in the maintenance of the grounds and rooms. We possess a quaint, hidden charm because we are a smaller resort which has been in Islamorada for over 50 years. It is important to us to try to... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2015

I found the whole of the Florida Keys to be misleading, including this motel. The management pics show white sands next to the ocean but this is not a beach! It's a man-made area which is next to the pool and next to the man-made channel which goes through mangrove swamps (that you can smell as soon as you arrive)... More 

Helpful?
Thank Melissa C
Drop_Anchor_Resort, General Manager at Drop Anchor Resort, responded to this review

First I would like to thank you for reviewing our resort. I welcome guests’ comments regarding anything here that they are unhappy with or that possibly needs to be corrected. During my due diligence, I very carefully reviewed our “Management Pictures” on Trip Advisor. There are NO pictures which depict our property as possessing a sandy beach leading directly into... More 

Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2015 via mobile

After looking at many reviews of hotels in Islamorada on trip advisor, we decided to stay at the drop anchor resort. We are so pleased we did! The property is absolutely beautiful. Behind the motel is white sandy beaches that are beautifully groomed, a heated pool, and plenty of places to relax and look at the view: Hammocks, Adirondack chairs,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christine M
Drop_Anchor_Resort, Manager at Drop Anchor Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our Resort. It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We love having an atmosphere that all families can enjoy. We hope your stay was as relaxing and as comfortable as possible. We will pass along your kind words to the rest of our staff here at Drop Anchor Resort &... More 

Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015

We stayed at Drop Anchor for a last minute trip to the Keys and it was fabulous. Room 8 was great, kitchenette, balcony, clean, quiet, cozy and terrific view!!! Everyone was so friendly, helpful and accommodating. I would highly recommend and hope to get back again!

Helpful?
Thank Karyn F
Drop_Anchor_Resort, Manager at Drop Anchor Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our Resort. It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We do pride ourselves in the maintenance of the grounds and rooms. We do have a quaint, hidden charm because we are a smaller resort which has been in Islamorada for over 50 years. Though all of our amenities are current... More 

Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

Have stayed several times over the past few years here. Always found it to be exceptionally beautiful and clean. Don't let the outside décor fool you. Rooms are highly decorated and super comfortable. Grounds really set up nice. I'd suggest oceanview if you can get one..you won't regret it. Owner and staff went out of their way to make us... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael M
Drop_Anchor_Resort, Manager at Drop Anchor Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We were happy to help in any way that we could. We want our guests to feel as if they are staying with family when they are here at the Drop Anchor. Our staff works very hard to keep our rooms and grounds as clean and maintained as possible. This... More 

Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

We stayed at Drop Anchor Inn 21 and 22 July 2015. The night prior we had stayed at a newer resort down the beach. Of the two resorts where we stayed, I'd have to rate Drop Anchor Resort #1. The room was large and well laid out with a kitchenette, though there is so much great and reasonably priced food... More 

Helpful?
Thank TonyD_from_NC
Drop_Anchor_Resort, Manager at Drop Anchor Resort, responded to this review

We cannot tell you how much your wonderful review means to us. Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We were happy to help in any way that we could. We want our guests to feel at home when they are here at the Drop Anchor. You were a delight to have here and we hope to... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015 via mobile

Charming and beautiful little corner. And the nicest welcome with great advice. Stayed on the converted trailer. Nice and comfortable, very well kept. The only downside is the noisy AC. The pool is small but very nice. And the entire grounds are charmingly arranged and well kept.

Helpful?
Thank MN, Lisbon
Drop_Anchor_Resort, Manager at Drop Anchor Resort, responded to this review

We cannot tell you how much your wonderful review means to us. Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. Maintaining our rooms and grounds are also a top priority for us. The Oceanfront trailer is a hidden gem! I will pass along your words of praise to our hard working staff. We look forward to the opportunity... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015 via mobile

I never stayed in Islamorada until a friend recommended this to my wife and I. Beautiful place, very clean and wonderful staff. Great location and area. Local restaurants are a must visit also. Very comforting environment, stayed for 3 days and can't wait to go back!

Helpful?
Thank Downbythewater2
Drop_Anchor_Resort, Manager at Drop Anchor Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our Resort. It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We do pride ourselves in the maintenance of the grounds and rooms. We aspire to bring our guests the relaxed Keys' atmosphere while also providing amenities for their comfort and peace of mind. I appreciate your kind words and will pass... More 

Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015

I chose this hotel because of the good reviews on Tripadvisor. It was a huge disappointment. The rooms are clean but overall this is a less than average hotel. We stayed only two nights but we couldn't wait to leave.

Helpful?
Thank VSH69
Drop_Anchor_Resort, Owner at Drop Anchor Resort, responded to this review

I don't know who these people are however we are sorry they were not happy with are property. You just can't please all the people all the time.If they had a problem we were not informed about it.They obviously prefer a larger resort environment.Our staff and myself as owner try to help any customer with any problem they have.Best Regards,Stephen More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

742 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (467)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (127)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (64)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (186)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (203)
Viewed
Beach (17)
Viewed
House Cottage (54)
Viewed
House Cottage Oceanfront Pool View (25)
Viewed
Oceanfront Suite (41)
Viewed
Pool (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (72)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (57)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
5.0 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 stars 1,110 reviews
2.8 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 stars 804 reviews
0.8 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 stars 476 reviews
3.3 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 stars 2,782 reviews
3.8 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Drop Anchor Resort

Address: 84959 Overseas Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Price Range: $132 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Drop Anchor Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Drop Anchor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drop Anchor Hotel Islamorada
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Islamorada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay