We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
80001 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036-3802
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
10 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Book Early, Save 17%!
Hotels.com
$277
$169
View Deal
SAVE $108
Free cancellation until 12/13/20
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
$188
View Deal
Free cancellation until 12/12/20
lovevacations
$277
View Deal
Expedia.com$169
eDreams$188
Travelocity$169
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1211)
360
Panoramas (7)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 07/13/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Amara Cay Resort
Updated 07/13/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#7 of 19 hotels in Islamorada
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Amara Cay Resort is anchored in the laid-back style and carefree atmosphere that makes Islamorada the Sport Fishing Capital of the World. Reflecting the easy tranquility of the Upper Keys, Amara Cay Resort seamlessly blends recreation with relaxation. Hammocks dot the sandy shoreline, palm trees sway in the breeze and a shimmering oceanfront pool beckons early risers. It's no wonder Amara Cay was named the winner of the 2015 Sandi Design award for Design Excellence Hospitality by the International Interior Design Association, which recognized our expert balance of relaxed atmosphere and luxurious style.
Read more
Room & Suite (309)309
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycles available
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Canoeing
Table tennis
Shuttle bus service
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Bottled water
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Iron
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Early, Save 17%!
1,857Reviews67Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 966
  • 558
  • 193
  • 77
  • 63
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
rmare1013 wrote a review Sep 15
Fort Lauderdale, Florida36 contributions22 helpful votes
We went to this resort on the recommendation of co-workers. We were told that it was a great getaway during COVID because they were following guidelines closely. We were a bit disappointed. The check in experience was lacking. The front desk was very busy and the girl that checked us in was stressed. Our room was not ready and she was very brisk in letting us know that we'd have to wait. She took my cell phone and said she'd call when ready. I wound up having to go back up to the desk an hour or so later and the room was ready...she just forgot to let me know. The entire time, she had her mask on, but below her chin. It was not a good sign. The room was beautiful and felt clean, although we thoroughly cleaned it ourselves anyway, just to be sure. We had a partial ocean view room with pleasant decor, a comfortable bed and AC that worked great. There was no housekeeping services provided (which we knew prior to booking) but we were still a bit surprised that they wouldn't put some additional towels, toilet paper, water, etc. in the room, knowing there was housekeeping service provided. We wound up tracking down housekeeping and getting fresh towels when we needed them. Speaking of towels, they were strict about giving out pool towels. You could only have 2. No more than 2, yet the pool towel provided was not large enough to cover the lounge chairs. In a COVID world, they should have let you have more towels to cover your chair!! Luckily, we brought some towels of our own. Our rate included breakfast and the first morning, we went to the dining room and it was packed - with only ONE person working. This poor girl had to hostess, take orders, serve food and bus the tables all by herself. And the ENTIRE time, she did not wear a mask...not even while serving food. We were very nervous about eating indoors and kept our masks on the entire time, except while chewing. The other mornings, same thing - only one server on duty, so we got breakfast to go and sat outside at the closed bar area to eat. We felt much safer eating outdoors. The first morning, the pool was gross. It had an oily film from all the suntan lotion floating on top and was in desperate need of vacuuming. There were dirty towels on all the lounges and the chairs were all in disarray. We complained to the front desk and were told they had "an outside company" taking care of the pool. By late morning the towels were cleared away, but the pool remained dirty until the next day. We came very close to checking out and going elsewhere, but our time was limited and we would lose an entire day moving to another resort, so we decided to stay and it turned out alright, once we lowered our expectations. I did wind up getting an ear infection, requiring antibiotics, after swimming in the pool. First ear infection in my adult life. There was no outdoor attendant and no staff member ever came into the pool area during our entire stay. I'm not sure how this resort was/is in a non-COVID era, but they did not do a great job during our stay. The resort was severely understaffed and there was no real enforcement of COVID policies on cleanliness. No one enforced masks and we never saw anyone wipe down a single public area the entire 3 days we were there. Not the best, but we made the best of it. I'm positive we will try a different resort on our next keys trip though.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Miguel Waldo, General Manager at Amara Cay Resort
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Rmare1013, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your comments. I'm sorry that you were disappointed during your stay. The safety and well being of both our guests and employees is our number one priority. The hotel is following all CDC and Monroe County guidelines during these time. Daily sanitizing is done throughout the day and is done during times that cause the least disruption to our guests. All rooms are sanitized prior to guests arrival and then are sealed for your protection. We hope that if you are ever in the Keys you give us another opportunity. Sincerely, Miguel Waldo General Manager Amara Cay Resort
Read more
Msepu wrote a review Sep 11
8 contributions
+1
I checked in on June 14, and three hours later, I was out. I could not stay there. The room and hallways were dirty; the front desk agent was not wearing a mask and was coughing. Within my three-hours stay, I visited the tiki bar, where the staff was unfriendly and rude. When I finally found another hotel, I went to check out, and I explained my reasons to the front desk manager. I showed him pictures and told him I understood they opened a few weeks before that day and they were probably not prepared for how busy they were. He gave his word that the deposit would be refunded, along with the tiki bar bill, which was only about $50 (I have a receipt signed by him, committing to the full refund). To this day, I am still dealing with their accounting team. They took so long to process the refund that I had to dispute the charge (I was emailing with the GM back then, and I told him I needed a copy of the credit applied to my card. Otherwise I would have to open a dispute claim... never heard from him, so I did it). When they responded to the dispute, they did a partial refund, they charged me for the tiki bar bill. I emailed their accounting team, and their manager replied: "Please be advise I was not aware that you were promised a refund for the Tiki Bar charges, unfortunately because you decided to open a credit card dispute with your credit card company I am obligated to reply to the dispute with supporting documentation" ...Really??? this was already a month later and their General Manager had all the information since day 1. I honestly gave them opportunities to make it better and remedy the situation, but I assume they don't care. Oh, and forget about calling their office or the hotel, noboby answers the phone.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: I don't recommend
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Rob70 wrote a review Sep 4
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Back at this resort after a few years! Love the decor and getting a real nice island feeling until you go to the tiki bar and have to look at some tv screens that make you feel more like you in a sports bar then on vacation. The staff at he bar is still as unfriendly as it was a few years ago and the foot is not anything I would ever serve anyone I know. It saddens me to see that it hasn’t changed at all since my last visit even though I love everything else about this place! Hopefully this finds someone in charge and the management will make the improvements in that area to elevate this resort to the level it can be.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Miguel Waldo, General Manager at Amara Cay Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Luckrob, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your review. I take your comments quite seriously and have shared them with my executive team. We try to make sure that all of our guests have a pleasant time and I apologize regarding your experience at the Tiki Bar. We hope that if you are in Islamorada again you give us the opportunity to show you the level of hospitality that you expect and deserve. Sincerely, Miguel Waldo General Manager Amara Cay Resort
Read more
Nena L wrote a review Sep 4
2 contributions
We stayed two nights this week and had a fantastic time! The staff could not have been more accommodating and friendly. Our breakfast each morning was excellent!!! The rooms were super clean and sanitized. This is a beautiful property and a wonderful place to escape to. I would highly recommend Amara Cay Resort to anyone! The manager, Miguel Waldo is wonderful! Thank you Miguel for helping us with all of our special requests for allergy accommodations! We will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Rooms on south side have a view of the pool
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Miguel Waldo, General Manager at Amara Cay Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Nena L, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your wonderful Five Star Review. It was a pleasure meeting you and your niece. I'm glad that we were able to make your stay what you expected and deserved. We hope to see you guys back, often and soon. Sincerely, Miguel Waldo General Manager Amara Cay Resort
Read more
SofiaLlosa wrote a review Sep 2
12 contributions
+1
Nothing but good things to say, our front ocean room was amazing, interior design throughout the hotel was so pretty, every detail was well thought. The staff was very friendly, drinks by the pool were delicious, our breakfast was not included but worth every penny. This was our first family trip to Florida and we are definitely coming back, if not Amara Cay, we’ll do a hotel from their chain (they’re all beautiful and you can go to any during your stay).
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Miguel Waldo, General Manager at Amara Cay Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Sofia Llosa, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your wonderful 5 Star Comments. I'm glad you had such a fantastic experience and you enjoyed your room and were able to experience the friendliness provided by the team. Making sure we meet and exceed your expectations is our number one priority. We hope to see you back, often and soon. Sincerely, Miguel Waldo General Manager Amara Cay Resort
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$224 - $514 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hampton inn and suites islamorada hotel islamorada, hampton inn islamorada, islamorada hampton inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Islamorada Resort
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaFlorida KeysIslamorada
NUMBER OF ROOMS
110
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Amara Cay Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Amara Cay Resort?
Nearby attractions include History of Diving Museum (3.0 miles), Alligator Reef Light House (4.0 miles), and Lobster Trap Art Gift Shop and Gallery (2.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Amara Cay Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Amara Cay Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Amara Cay Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Amara Cay Resort?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Amara Cay Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mangrove Mike's Cafe, Bayside Gourmet, and Midway Cafe & Coffee Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Amara Cay Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Amara Cay Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Amara Cay Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Amara Cay Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Amara Cay Resort?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Indian Key State Historic Site (1.1 miles) and Pasta Pantaleo Signature Gallery (1.5 miles).