We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Moorings Village

Save
Share
123 Beach Rd, Islamorada, FL 33036-3768
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lol.travel
StayForLong
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (535)
360
Panoramas (40)
Room & Suite (254)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 09/28/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Moorings Village
Updated 09/28/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 19 hotels in Islamorada
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Midway between Miami and Key West, the Moorings is home to an 18-acre beachfront oasis in Islamorada. Tropical, tranquil and untouched, the former coconut plantation boasts over 800 palms, swimming pool, tennis court, and fitness center.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Beach
Bicycles available
Kids stay free
Taxi service
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Boating
Diving
Snorkeling
Tennis court
Windsurfing
Bicycle tours
Fishing
Couples massage
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
First aid kit
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Hidden Gem
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
371Reviews36Q+A84Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 321
  • 32
  • 9
  • 3
  • 6
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
jenjmurray wrote a review Nov 2020
Rockton, Illinois127 contributions42 helpful votes
+1
This was as close to heaven as One can get. There isn’t much more to write about the beauty of this place that hasn’t been said in all the previous the reviews, however, the staff is worth noting. I had planned a surprise vow renewal on the beach at the Moorings since February of last year. Emily was fabulous. She and all the other ladies helped me with everything right down to the very last minutes of the surprise. Without them it never would have been a success. Nothing is overlooked here. Thank you ladies. You are amazing. Can’t wait to see you all again next fall
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Lindsey Ekblom, Guest Services / Front Office at The Moorings Village
Responded Dec 1, 2020
Mr. & Mrs. Murry, We are so thankful that we were apart of such a special surprise. This is what we love about our jobs at The Moorings, being able to help our guests create these types of everlasting memories. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in the Lodge North cottage and we are looking forward to seeing you again. All the best, The Moorings Family
Read more
Jacob Duvall wrote a review Nov 2020
9 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
This resort is nothing short of paradise on earth! It is the most beautiful and peaceful place we have ever visited + the staff make you feel very special, as if you are a friend or neighbor. The private beach makes you feel as if you are living in a postcard! I pray we have many more opportunities to return + make memories for years to come!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Lindsey Ekblom, Guest Services / Front Office at The Moorings Village
Responded Dec 1, 2020
Mr. & Mrs. Duvall, It was wonderful to meet you both. We are thankful you had a memorable stay and felt so at home. We love getting to know our guests and growing our Moorings family. We look forward to having you and your family stay with us again in the future. All the best, The Moorings Family
Read more
CLMama wrote a review Oct 2020
United States31 contributions27 helpful votes
This makes me sad to have to write this review. We were previously going to stay at Checca, but decided with COVID that The Moorings would be a better choice. Pros: The grounds were fantastic! Everything about them was beautiful! Cons: We stated in North Lodge cottage. We usually stay in a king bed, but because of the beautiful grounds and the reviews we felt that a queen would be fine. After all it was a couples get away. The bed was awful! If you are going to do a queen bed at least make it a good one. The mattress was old and creaked at every move. Management if you are reading this by all means spend some money and update this bed! Secondly, the bathroom was the smallest thing I have EVER seen. You literally hit your head on the sink when you go to pull up your pants from using the bathroom. I am not a big person (5 ft. 3) and it was ridiculously small to me. So for my husband who is 6 ft 2 I felt very bad for him. It was like living in a little person house. Because of the tiny bathroom there was little space to get ready. I actually took a mirror off the wall and made a little vanity so we could get around. Thirdly, the air conditioning was fair. While it cooled us the noise of turning on and turning off over and over again was disruptive. And lastly, for anyone staying in the south lodge (adjoining the north), you can hear everything! I mean everything. Every moan, bathroom visit, creak in the bed when you move. This made for our intimate get away to be humorous at times. Especially when we saw the other couple in the morning. We appreciated the chocolates left for us in the refrigerator, but a few waters would have been equally appreciated! Final thoughts: Stay here, but by all means do not stay in this cottage! We actually left a day early due to the terrible sleeping experience and overall design of this cottage. It definitely left a bad taste for us with this location and we wanted to love it. I felt mislead that this was going to be a luxury visit. This room defilingly was not worth it at all. Let me finish that we stay in lots of luxury places. We would have stayed in other rooms, but this was the only available. There is a reason for that and I wish I had known that before the visit.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Do not stay in North Lodge!!!! See review! Probably no South Lodge either!
See more room tips
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Lindsey Ekblom, Guest Services / Front Office at The Moorings Village
Responded Nov 15, 2020
We truly appreciate our guests feedback about the resort and our accommodations. We are sorry to hear that the Lodge North Cottage was not what you expected. However, we do have the description of the cottage stating that it is a half duplex, the square footage, as well as pictures on our website. We never want our guests to feel misled and we would love to have you stay with us again in one of our stand alone cottages.
Read more
katyykat89 wrote a review Oct 2020
Cleveland, Ohio307 contributions93 helpful votes
+1
I've been home for 3 weeks after my trip and had to work up the energy to write this review because of all the wonderful things I could say about it!! My husband and I couldn't have picked a better place to elope and kick-off our honeymoon! We arrived early to check-in after spending our first night at Cheeca (last minute add-on to our trip) and it felt like we were being welcomed home. Everyone we encountered in the reception office was so kind and friendly! They let us store our luggage and wedding gown/tux, as well as have full use of the property until our room was ready. The attached boutique to the office has some seriously cute gifts too! After being at a larger resort the night before, the Moorings was a breath of fresh air. Quiet, serene, absolutely stunning between the ocean and all the trees, flowers, and plants. It's a small, boutique style resort which is our favorite = better service and less people. We only saw two other couples during our entire 4-day stay, and often had the whole beach and pool to ourselves. If you want seclusion, privacy, and to relax with a stunning view, this is your place! We booked the Maroni House, 1 bedroom oceanfront cottage and it was amazing! Nice spacious living room, full kitchen, bathroom with double sinks and huge soaking tub, several large windows/doors for incredible views in every room, and a wrap-around veranda. I would also like to say it was uniquely decorated. We loved all the cool art, photographs, and furniture around the house. The bed was so comfortable and the kitchen had everything you could need! We also liked the Bose sound-system that we could connect to our phones to play music. Upon arrival, we opened the fridge to find a bottle of sparkling Rosé and fine chocolates as well as a handwritten note congratulating us! Plus the most divine candle burning in the house when we entered! This is the kind of special touch you don't always find with larger resorts. Not only did we buy a second candle from their boutique, but we ordered 3 more online plus two spa robes when we got home lol We spent countless hours sipping drinks on the veranda while staring at the ocean, and enjoyed the free paddleboards and kayaks that were available to use at any time. We had a reserved parking spot directly outside of our unit which was nice, and we enjoyed walking around the property looking at the orchids hanging from the trees and seeing the Rayburn House. The location was excellent with several fine restaurants and breweries very close by. One thing to note, there is not a restaurant/bar on the property, but with a full kitchen you can stock your fridge with whatever drinks/snacks you would like! We spent 2 weeks total hopping around the Keys, and this was by far our favorite place! I know the Keys aren't known for beaches, but The Moorings was absolutely beautiful and you won't find a better beach in all of the Keys. We had a private wedding ceremony directly in front of the Maroni House and it was everything we could have dreamed of! We actually changed plans at our hotel in Key West to try and come back to The Moorings at the end of our trip but sadly they were fully booked. The Moorings is a true gem and oasis, and we haven't stopped talking about it since we got back. Yes, it's pricey. But it's so worth it!! Thank you for the most amazing memories, we can't wait to come back!!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Maroni House!
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Lindsey Ekblom, Guest Services / Front Office at The Moorings Village
Responded Nov 15, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review about your stay at The Moorings. We are so happy you chose our little oasis for your elopement. We aspire to personally connect with our guests and truly make it feel like a home away from home. We are looking forward to having you stay with us again and to celebrate anniversaries for years to come!
Read more
DAWGS737 wrote a review Sep 2020
Morgantown, West Virginia7 contributions8 helpful votes
If you are looking for a place to escape the world with peace and quiet then look no further. In the heart of Islamorada but off the path enough to provide you a small oasis. It’s hard to describe really, you just have to experience it!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Lindsey Ekblom, Guest Services / Front Office at The Moorings Village
Responded Sep 15, 2020
Hello, thank you for this positive review. We are so thankful you were able to relax and enjoy our little piece of paradise. We hope to have you back soon! All of the best Moorings Reservation Team
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$620 - $3,636 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the moorings village hotel islamorada, moorings islamorada
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaFlorida KeysIslamorada
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Moorings Village
Which popular attractions are close to The Moorings Village?
Nearby attractions include Bass Pro Shops (0.2 miles), Library Beach Park (0.2 miles), and Pasta Pantaleo Signature Gallery (0.09 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Moorings Village?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a fitness center.
Which room amenities are available at The Moorings Village?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Moorings Village?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at The Moorings Village?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Moorings Village?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chef Michael's, Kaiyo Grill & Sushi Bar, and Bob's Bunz.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Moorings Village?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Moorings Village?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Moorings Village?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Are there any historical sites close to The Moorings Village?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Indian Key State Historic Site (0.5 miles) and Pasta Pantaleo Signature Gallery (0.09 miles).
Does The Moorings Village have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.