We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
123 Beach Rd, Islamorada, FL 33036-3768
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (542)
360
Panoramas (40)
Room & Suite (258)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 09/28/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Moorings Village
Updated 09/28/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 20 in Islamorada
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.7
Value
4.4
Midway between Miami and Key West, the Moorings is home to an 11-acre beachfront oasis in Islamorada. Tropical, tranquil and untouched, the former coconut plantation boasts over 700 palms, swimming pool, tennis court, and fitness center.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Beach
Bicycles available
Kids stay free
Taxi service
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Boating
Diving
Snorkeling
Tennis court
Windsurfing
Bicycle tours
Fishing
Couples massage
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
First aid kit
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
378Reviews40Q+A84Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 327
  • 32
  • 9
  • 3
  • 7
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Sara P wrote a review Apr 2022
Charlotte, North Carolina107 contributions83 helpful votes
If you are going to Islamorada and seeking a lovely, private, quiet location, do not hesitate to stay here. We just returned from a 3 night stay (about the perfect amount of time). We were traveling with one of our children (14) and while I would say this is mostly for couples, it was fine for an older child. Our villa/cottage was Orchid and it was perfect for us. Good views of the beach from the front porch and stocked with every amenity you could need (including a W/D and Tide Pods). We loved having a small kitchen and stopped by the Publix down the road for some groceries (there is no food or beverage service on site). The front office staff (especially Lindsey) was great at helping us book dinner reservations (would highly recommend the Beach Cafe at Morada Bay - casual dining - amazing setting and Chef Michael's) both within walking distance. We also enjoyed a fishing charter and did a kayak trip out of Robbie's Marina. Unfortunately it was too windy for snorkeling. They are in the process of building a brand new pool so there was some construction noise that we were warned about ahead of time and the management felt so badly that they we were adequately "compensated" us for any inconvenience. Moorings guests currently have pool privileges next door at Cheeca - a very quick walk - and the new pool is expected to be complete some time in May. Fitness facility at the Moorings was top notch. We basically had the beach to ourselves, including reserved beach chairs. Kayaks, paddle boards, hammocks and bikes at your disposal. Lovely palm trees so plenty of shade. Check out the beer garden at Florida Keys Brewing around the corner. If you are looking to rest and recharge, this is the place to do it and we would definitely stay here again if we return to the area.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from Lindsey Ekblom, Guest Services / Front Office at The Moorings Village
Responded Apr 16, 2022
Thank you for the amazing review. It was truly a pleasure having you and your family stay with us. We are very excited to report that our pool is scheduled to be completed the beginning of May. The Orchid Cottage is one of our favorites, although it's not right on the beach, the views from front the front porch of the green grass against the aqua blues of the ocean is stunning. Morada Bay sunsets never disappoint and Chef Michael's food and service are always on the mark. The brewery's beer garden is a great local spot to relax and listen to some live music, plus it's only a 3 minute walk from our cottages. We are looking forward to having you stay with us again and enjoy our new pool. Again thank you for the great review!
Read more
Clas N wrote a review Mar 2022
Gothenburg, Sweden3 contributions1 helpful vote
We had a wonderful stay at The Moorings. A beautiful cottage with a stunning view of the white beach and, beyond, the blue sea. We spent our days on the beach, with a lot af space just for us, and reading on the porch. The staff was very accomodating and helpful. Our only problem was construction noise one day from the new pool currently being built, but that was swiftly and generously compensated. A few ideas on how this beautiful resort could be further improved: perhaps a bread basket being delivered to the cottage in the morning. Access to drinking water at the pool. One or two small jettys from the beach to get to deeper water (the bottom is auite shallow and a bit muddy close to the beach). We would very much like to return to The Moorings!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Lindsey Ekblom, Guest Services / Front Office at The Moorings Village
Responded Apr 7, 2022
Thank you for your generous feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to having you relax at the new pool when you return.
Read more
Dean G wrote a review Jul 2021
Rumson, New Jersey81 contributions31 helpful votes
There's nothing we could imagine to improve on our entirely too short stay here. Everything and everyone was fantastic. Quiet and private, with a stunning beachfront on which the view of the water is rivaled by the beautiful palms throwing dappled sun across the sand. The cottage was immaculate and spacious. The staff, from housekeeping to the front desk were unobtrusive yet always available. I had arranged several "surprises" for my wife and thanks to Baye everything was flawless and easy to arrange. What a place; what a team!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Lindsey Ekblom, Guest Services / Front Office at The Moorings Village
Responded Aug 3, 2021
Hello Mr. Garfinkel, It was such a pleasure meeting you and your lovely wife. When you spoke with Baye and made your reservation we knew that you wanted to make your stay with us extra special. One of our favorite parts about working at The Moorings is being able to help create memorable experiences and surprises for our guests. It was more then our pleasure helping coordinate the surprises for your lovely wife. Thank you for the warmhearted review about the grounds and staff. We hope to see you both in the (very) near future!
Read more
Jack H wrote a review Jun 2021
8 contributions4 helpful votes
There’s a dilemma when writing about your favorite vacation destination: by writing about something, can you ruin it? My wife and I stayed at The Moorings for a week, to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. It was the perfect spot for us to do as little or as much as we wanted to do. The landscaping is lush and maintained on a daily basis by a dedicated crew. We had the honeymoon cottage, which has a lovely view of the ocean, about 50 yards from the beach. Very quiet at night. We slept 9-10 hours every night, which we never do back home. Service by the folks in reception is responsive and pleasant. They delivered the New York Times to our cottage every morning. Across the road is a wonderful place, the Morada Bay Beach Cafe, to have dinner and watch the sunset. We recommend driving south about 15 minutes to Habanos for a Cuban sandwich, rice and black beans, and of course key lime pie. Islamorada is an interesting island with a variety if textures. There are very few chain restaurants or retail stores. The Moorings is a perfect place for a couple to get away and reconnect.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Lindsey Ekblom, Guest Services / Front Office at The Moorings Village
Responded Aug 3, 2021
Hello Mr. & Mrs. Hardwood, Thank you for the gracious review about the resort and the staff. Most of our guests have the same thoughts and want to keep this little slice of paradise a secret! We are grateful that you chose The Moorings to celebrate your 20th wedding anniversary, such a wonderful milestone! We strive for our guests to have the most relaxing and memorable experience during their stay and from your kind words, it looks like you and your wife were able to achieve that. We hope to see you again for your 21st wedding anniversary. P.S. Next trip to Habanos you should try the cracked conch, it's our favorite!
Read more
L. Strauss wrote a review May 2021
5 contributions
My husband and I visited The Moorings last week and couldn’t have had a more enjoyable stay. The beach was stunning so peaceful and relaxing. The weather was windy but it was nice to lay on the beach and read a book in one of the beach hammocks with the breeze. One of the days we were there we noticed there was some build up of seaweed on the beach with the wind at its high speeds coming off the ocean, this seaweed was to be expected. We drove around to some of the local spots on the island and saw that it was showing up everywhere, seemed par for the course that it would be on The Moorings Beach too. However, The staff was on the beach all day picking up the large amounts of seaweed making sure we had unobstructed views of the ocean and could get into the water. By the end of the week seaweed was all cleared. All part of the ‘island life’ we cherish so much when visiting. Great experience. Great people. Highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Lindsey Ekblom, Guest Services / Front Office at The Moorings Village
Responded Jun 6, 2021
Thank you for your thoughtful review and feedback! The hammocks on the beach are definitely one of our staples, and we are so glad you enjoyed relaxing on the beach. Unfortunately, sometimes if the wind direction and sargassum blooms are heavy it can build up onshore this time of year. Mother nature is the only one who can control it, but our grounds and beach crew do an amazing job raking the beach and keeping it as free of seaweed as possible. Thank you for recognizing their hard work! We hope to have you stay with us again very soon!
Read more
clairesdaughter wrote a review May 2021
Darien, Connecticut6 contributions8 helpful votes
We prepaid $6000 and were not able to use the beach or swim because of six feet of seaweed thatThe ownership was aware that they were experiencing a severe problem with seaweed (about six feet deep at the edge of the beach). It was impossible to enter the water for the three days we were there. If the owner hadn't admitted to me that he should have notified us about the seaweed, I would say that it was an act of nature. But, not only did he know about the severity of the seaweed, he complained to me about how big a problem it was to him. We were not made aware. We prepaid $6,000 with the main goal of being able to sit on the beach and swim. We could not do either. No concession was offered to us. I think we should have been given a choice.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
6 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Lindsey Ekblom, Guest Services / Front Office at The Moorings Village
Responded Aug 3, 2021
We are truly sorry for your negative experience. In regards to the seaweed it is somewhat unpredictable and unfortunately it is a phenom affecting the entire Caribbean and the majority of the East coastline. We understand your frustration, however, our grounds team works diligently throughout the day to maintain our beach for our guests. During your stay we were able to pick up the majority of the seaweed and received no other complaints from our guests. Again, we are sorry you had an unfavorable experience. We wish you all the best.
Read more
Claire760 wrote a review Feb 2021
Minneapolis14 contributions14 helpful votes
It certainly is a beautiful piece of property. From the details, you can tell the quality: the sheets are soft, the toiletry is high end, the towels are soft, and the service is great. That beach is just so very peaceful. It is the type of place you wanna be if you don’t want a pool party every night, just you and the beach. However, (there are two of us and we were in the south lodge), all the issues previously said in another review are true- the bed is old, we had a king size bed in the south lodge, but it is clearly old, very soft and not supportive around lower back. The bathroom is very small, there is no pic online. But if you sit on the toilet your elbow can easily touch the sink. You can definitely hear your neighbors. But we really didn’t mind having neighbors, we met both groups and even went out to dinner with one of the couples! we had a great time. There is no restaurant or spa onsite, but all the recommended locations were great. There is a great little brewery right around the corner, we were there 4 out of the 7 nights! We look forward to coming back when all the remodeling is done next year!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Traveled
5 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Lindsey Ekblom, Guest Services / Front Office at The Moorings Village
Responded May 24, 2021
Thank you for your kind words and feedback. It is our goal to make sure our guests are comfortable in every aspect of their stay. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our peaceful property, guest services, and amenities. We truly appreciate your feedback as we do get to experience the cottages the way the guests do. We value all reviews from our guests and we do take in consideration every detail to help us improve. Regarding the review about the Lodge North Cottage mattress we took immediate action and replaced. Again, we thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you in the future!
Read more
jenjmurray wrote a review Nov 2020
Rockton, Illinois133 contributions67 helpful votes
+1
This was as close to heaven as One can get. There isn’t much more to write about the beauty of this place that hasn’t been said in all the previous the reviews, however, the staff is worth noting. I had planned a surprise vow renewal on the beach at the Moorings since February of last year. Emily was fabulous. She and all the other ladies helped me with everything right down to the very last minutes of the surprise. Without them it never would have been a success. Nothing is overlooked here. Thank you ladies. You are amazing. Can’t wait to see you all again next fall
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Lindsey Ekblom, Guest Services / Front Office at The Moorings Village
Responded Dec 1, 2020
Mr. & Mrs. Murry, We are so thankful that we were apart of such a special surprise. This is what we love about our jobs at The Moorings, being able to help our guests create these types of everlasting memories. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in the Lodge North cottage and we are looking forward to seeing you again. All the best, The Moorings Family
Read more
Jacob Duvall wrote a review Nov 2020
9 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
This resort is nothing short of paradise on earth! It is the most beautiful and peaceful place we have ever visited + the staff make you feel very special, as if you are a friend or neighbor. The private beach makes you feel as if you are living in a postcard! I pray we have many more opportunities to return + make memories for years to come!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Lindsey Ekblom, Guest Services / Front Office at The Moorings Village
Responded Dec 1, 2020
Mr. & Mrs. Duvall, It was wonderful to meet you both. We are thankful you had a memorable stay and felt so at home. We love getting to know our guests and growing our Moorings family. We look forward to having you and your family stay with us again in the future. All the best, The Moorings Family
Read more
CLMama wrote a review Oct 2020
United States32 contributions32 helpful votes
This makes me sad to have to write this review. We were previously going to stay at Checca, but decided with COVID that The Moorings would be a better choice. Pros: The grounds were fantastic! Everything about them was beautiful! Cons: We stated in North Lodge cottage. We usually stay in a king bed, but because of the beautiful grounds and the reviews we felt that a queen would be fine. After all it was a couples get away. The bed was awful! If you are going to do a queen bed at least make it a good one. The mattress was old and creaked at every move. Management if you are reading this by all means spend some money and update this bed! Secondly, the bathroom was the smallest thing I have EVER seen. You literally hit your head on the sink when you go to pull up your pants from using the bathroom. I am not a big person (5 ft. 3) and it was ridiculously small to me. So for my husband who is 6 ft 2 I felt very bad for him. It was like living in a little person house. Because of the tiny bathroom there was little space to get ready. I actually took a mirror off the wall and made a little vanity so we could get around. Thirdly, the air conditioning was fair. While it cooled us the noise of turning on and turning off over and over again was disruptive. And lastly, for anyone staying in the south lodge (adjoining the north), you can hear everything! I mean everything. Every moan, bathroom visit, creak in the bed when you move. This made for our intimate get away to be humorous at times. Especially when we saw the other couple in the morning. We appreciated the chocolates left for us in the refrigerator, but a few waters would have been equally appreciated! Final thoughts: Stay here, but by all means do not stay in this cottage! We actually left a day early due to the terrible sleeping experience and overall design of this cottage. It definitely left a bad taste for us with this location and we wanted to love it. I felt mislead that this was going to be a luxury visit. This room defilingly was not worth it at all. Let me finish that we stay in lots of luxury places. We would have stayed in other rooms, but this was the only available. There is a reason for that and I wish I had known that before the visit.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Do not stay in North Lodge!!!! See review! Probably no South Lodge either!
See more room tips
8 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Lindsey Ekblom, Guest Services / Front Office at The Moorings Village
Responded Nov 15, 2020
We truly appreciate our guests feedback about the resort and our accommodations. We are sorry to hear that the Lodge North Cottage was not what you expected. However, we do have the description of the cottage stating that it is a half duplex, the square footage, as well as pictures on our website. We never want our guests to feel misled and we would love to have you stay with us again in one of our stand alone cottages.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$48 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the moorings village hotel islamorada, moorings islamorada
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaFlorida KeysIslamorada
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Moorings Village
Which popular attractions are close to The Moorings Village?
Nearby attractions include Bass Pro Shops (0.2 miles), Library Beach Park (0.2 miles), and Gallery Morada (0.09 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Moorings Village?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a fitness center.
Which room amenities are available at The Moorings Village?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Moorings Village?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at The Moorings Village?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Moorings Village?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chef Michael's, Kaiyo Grill & Sushi Bar, and Bob's Bunz.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Moorings Village?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Moorings Village?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Moorings Village?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Are there any historical sites close to The Moorings Village?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Indian Key State Historic Site (0.5 miles) and Pasta Pantaleo Signature Gallery (0.09 miles).
Does The Moorings Village have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.