We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Caribbean House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Caribbean House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

232 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 164: English reviews
Toledo, OH
Reviewed yesterday NEW

First and foremost, let us understand what the Caribbean House is. It is a budget friendly option for travelers looking for a bed to sleep in. It is in a great location, walking distance from anything and everything you may want to experience in Key West. My wife and I were already paying to stay somewhere else but didn't want...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rswartz68
Mount Dora, Florida
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Caribbean House proved to be a fortunate choice: reasonably priced and right in the middle of things in Key West. The room was very small, but we were in Key West: we only needed to sleep there. The house itself is in good condition and has a very charming appearance. We were just across the street from enjoyable bars...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WCCaine
Bunker Hill, West Virginia, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Parking is too tight. Must be within inches of the next car in front of the house or the owner will micromanage your parking. 57 degrees outside and they have AC blowing. NO control of room temp, its in office. + The light stays on AC unit all night. Bed is horrible and noisy. Noisy guest. I dont recommend this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MsHorizons A
MINOU226, Owner at Caribbean House, responded to this review

I am very happy that this person write, I can give my side of the incident. I understand that we cannot please everybody, we are a little guesthouse, we NEVER said that we have big rooms and it is why we have low prices too This is how it start ! Our parking has the normal sized parking, but this...

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 30, 2016

We stayed for 3 nights and wished we had longer. Our room was small but very cute and clean. It was all we needed as a comfy place to sleep. The building was traditional for the Keys and so pretty in pink and white, and maintained beautifully. The outside terraces were communal and kept spotlessly clean - great for eating...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lea R
Pompano Beach, Florida
Reviewed September 7, 2016

The Caribbean House was perfect for our 5 days stay. The Room was small but very clean. The only down side was the control of the AC in our room. The temperature control is in the main office and at night it could get a little warm, but once we asked they lowered it and it was okay. You can...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Odalys V
Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewed September 3, 2016

we live on south beach and regularly go down to key west for a weekend getaway, and this is the place we've been going to and coming back to for the past 10 years !! we know the owners by name and every time we go there it feels like seeing family !! centrally located and walking distance to duval...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Phil F
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed August 2, 2016

We stayed for two nights. The air-conditioned room was small but lovely and clean. The whole place was very well maintained. Marie and her staff were delightful to speak to and very helpful. We parked right outside the building and was able to walk wherever we wanted to go. Fantastic location, central to everything.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank deniseandmark2016
USA
Reviewed June 16, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights and loved it. My inbound flight lost my bag and Marie, the owner, received it from the airline and delivered it to my room when I was exploring the city. The rooms are small but just fine for a solo traveler. The place includes bath towels and beach towels, rents out bikes, and is only...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank saman007
Trenton, New Jersey
Reviewed June 9, 2016

The room was clean, but it was 10'x10'. It was also $109 per night, a great price. No breakfast, but coffee if you wanted it. No control of the A/C. It was just on the edge of being warm in the room. They failed to clean our room 1 day. (that's a problem). I'm giving it a 4 because my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barry M
MINOU226, Manager at Caribbean House, responded to this review

We apologize if this guest is mad because we did not clean the room one day, but we don't go in the room if there is NO DISTURB sign and the housekeeper finish around 2 o'clock like it is advertised in the rooms Sorry again sir

Coxsackie, New York
Reviewed April 28, 2016

WE had never been to Key West before and didn't know what to expect, but when we arrived at the Caribbean House, we realized we had picked a perfect location. Though the rooms are very small - its fine to stay for a couple of nights. The rooms are well decorated with an island theme, with refrigerators in the rooms....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cheryl E
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

97 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (75)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Angelina Guest House
Angelina Guest House
#24 of 77 in Key West
743 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casablanca at Bogart's
Casablanca at Bogart's
#51 of 77 in Key West
108 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grand Guesthouse
The Grand Guesthouse
#17 of 77 in Key West
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Weatherstation Inn
The Weatherstation Inn
#45 of 77 in Key West
214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Douglas House
Douglas House
#33 of 77 in Key West
707 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coco Plum Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
CARIBBEAN HOUSE IS 2 blocks from Duval Street (the main street), 1 block from HEMINGWAY HOUSE, 3 blocks from the beach (FORT ZACHARY TAYLOR BEACH). Dogs are welcome at NO charge. All the rooms are renovated and have their own bathroom, A/C, Flat screen TV with cable and a fridge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Caribbean House

Address: 226 Petronia St, Key West, FL 33040-7374
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Price Range: $132 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Caribbean House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribbean House Hotel Key West
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Caribbean House staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Trenton, New Jersey
7 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Caribbean House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Upstairs for noise control”
 of 5 bubbles boxtersue, Dec 5, 2015 | Read review
“Request first floor rooms to avoid steep stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles beezus2015, Aug 6, 2015 | Read review
“Second floor rooms feel more secure, but there are plenty of steps.”
 of 5 bubbles FlyguyUK, Jun 20, 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are the same size”
 of 5 bubbles big4buck, Apr 30, 2015 | Read review
“If you don't need a big room - take it !!!”
 of 5 bubbles Hollidaystraveller, Apr 27, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay