We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
21 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Florida Resident Package: Up to 20% off & $25 Daily Resort Credit!
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com$339
Priceline$339
Travelocity$339
Hotels.com$339
Agoda.com$339
eDreams$339
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1518)
360
Panoramas (17)
Videos (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 09/06/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 09/06/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#37 of 53 hotels in Key West
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.0
Value
3.6
Situated within a working cruise ship port just steps from Key West's famous Mallory Square and one block from Duval Street is Opal Key Resort & Marina. This luxurious resort in the heart of the beloved Florida destination has it all, from enticing, globally-inspired waterfront cuisine to a sparkling pool surrounded by lush plant life.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Diving
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Poolside bar
Snorkeling
Fishing
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Room service
Safe
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Radio
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Harbor View
Marina View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Price:Florida Resident Package: Up to 20% off & $25 Daily Resort Credit!
3285Reviews76Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,545
  • 884
  • 408
  • 234
  • 214
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Antarsul wrote a review Aug 10
New Jersey163 contributions145 helpful votes
Hotel location, grounds, breakfast, concierge, all very good. Good attention to detail through other included small perks like free water bottles, expresso machines in the room, etc make the stay more memorable. Some people complained about big cruise ships “parking” right in front of the hotel on a daily basis and blocking the view, I personally found this interesting and entertaining. The hotel is right next to Mallory square, a very nice, festive atmosphere with street vendors and performers. Breakfast was very good, not an extensive menu but quality and well presented plates, and the service was top notch. The one aspect that I did not like is the pool location , right between 2 buildings, it feels cramped and it is somewhat small than what the pictures show. I would still recommend staying in this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Self parking available right next to the lobby, extremely convenient.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Michael S wrote a review Aug 7
1 contribution
We travel frequently, and certainly understand and expect reasonable cancellation and change policies for hotels. The policies for Opal Key Resort are not only unreasonable, but unethical and an affront to industry standards. I would not recommend making any advance bookings with this property. Opal Key Resort charges the full amount of your stay as a ‘deposit’ 7 days before arrival, and no cancellations or modifications to number of days are permitted for any reason after that time. If you must cancel, you do not lose just the first night as is industry standard, but rather the entire amount of the stay. For a property that is routinely fully booked during peak season, this is a very profitable policy allowing them to get paid in full for the cancellation and still re-book a room. We had booked a weekend stay 8 days out, so the entire amount was charged the following day. Unfortunately, just after the charge was taken I tested positive for Covid-19. I contacted the hotel immediately and was told a cancellation would not be permitted regardless of the reason, but they would allow a one-time change of dates because it was Covid-19 related. However, the new dates had to be selected immediately. There were no dates offered that were comparable to the price I had originally booked the room at, so my only option would be to change to a significantly more expensive date. Instead I opted to cancel and incur the loss.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Thomas M wrote a review Aug 7
Port Saint Lucie, Florida12 contributions13 helpful votes
Arrived via the Key West Express from Ft. Myers, only a 15 minute walk from the ferry terminal and was able to check in at 2pm. Room was perfect inside and with a small balcony that looked out to the Marina, arriving cruise ships and the pretty green waters of the Gulf of Mexico. We got the breakfast package and it was terrific each morning. The restaurant is right on the water as the property sits steps away from Mallory Square to dine at great restaurants and watch the gorgeous sunsets. The staff is so nice and very accommodating. Really appreciated the cold water fridges in the lobby, pool and near the elevators to grab and go. Lobby coffee and cold OJ was also another nice perk. Do yourself a favor and book the Opal Key for great time in Key West.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Diane Schmidt, General Manager at Opal Key Resort & Marina
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for the 5 Star review and helpful commentary. We look forward to your next visit. Sincerely,
Read more
wolny2017 wrote a review Aug 5
Orlando, Florida13 contributions4 helpful votes
We had an enjoyable stay in this resort overlooking the Key West Marina, next to Mallory Square. It could not be more conveniently located. Parking garage is a bit of an effort for guests carrying a lot of luggage. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful, particularly Conceirge Marie who excelled in booking multiple adventures, including reservations at a particularly popular restaurant. The pool was comfortable, if a bit crowded. The hotel restaurant was excellent and did a particularly good job blackening Yellow Tail Snapper I caught on a deep sea trip booked by the hotel. The sunset cruise on our last night was just steps away from the hotel. An awesome stay!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Diane Schmidt, General Manager at Opal Key Resort & Marina
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and helpful feedback. I will share your comments with the team and especially Maria. We hope you will visit again soon. Sincerely,
Read more
Littleskatersmom wrote a review Jul 2022
Alexandria, Virginia59 contributions61 helpful votes
Stayed here when it was Margaritaville and it was 100% better back then. Almost makes me sad that I cancelled a stay at the Reach for this. The only thing this resort really has going for it is the location, that can't be beat. This trip we lucked out and the only time we had to deal with a docked cruise ship was the day we checked in, and the day we checked out (lucky us, but obviously not the resorts fault). Spent part of two days at the pool and they were like night and day. The first day the pool attendant was 100% present. Thought the sunglass cleaning sets and lemon towelettes were a nice touch. The second day, the pool attendant was only seen when towels were needed. No sunglass cleaning sets or lemon towelettes. Never saw the complimentary smoothies or popsicles that they say they offer (either day). Housekeeping staff were some of the least pleasant I've encountered. Walked by one and said hello, absolutely no reaction whatsoever. One day, as we were exiting our room, the cart was right outside our door and the employee was banging things around in her cart, as if she was taking frustrations out on it. Every time we walked into the elevator lobby on our floor there was trash (empty pizza boxes, etc). The condition of our room was sad. The sliding door to the toilet/shower was rickety to say the best, it could actually be pushed out as it was broken. There was a shower cap hanging on the towel hook outside the shower and a hole in the ceiling at the light fixture (in the shower). It was like they took this property over from Margaritaville but did absolutely no repairs to it.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Diane Schmidt, General Manager at Opal Key Resort & Marina
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and commentary. it helps to identify where additional training is needed. We are planning a redo of our guest rooms this fall so i hope you will try us again. Please let me know if I can assist with reservations. Sincerely,
Read more
Stephanie W wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Our suite room was perfect for the 6 of us. Perfect location within walking distance to everything. Yara, the pool bartender, was amazing! He took great care of us the entire trip! Will definitely be back the next trip to Key West!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Diane Schmidt, General Manager at Opal Key Resort & Marina
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review! I will share your comments with Yara and the entire team. Sincerely,
Read more
Sassy wrote a review Jul 2022
Ormond Beach, Florida23 contributions7 helpful votes
Stayed here before when it was the Westin and loved the location. So we returned for 4 days for a quick vacation. It is now the Opal Key resort. Check in was fast and simple and love that they have a parking structure to leave your vehicle. Was taken to our marina ocean view room. Beautiful room. Only one cruise ship came in to block our view but we knew that when we booked the room. The pool was packed with people and not many seats available. Was very very disappointed in how hot the pool was! Not refreshing at all! It was very very hot the whole time we were there weather wise so the pool would have been a way to cool off. The lady running the bar was very friendly. Upstairs bar where we wanted to go was closed the whole time we were there for a private party. Closed for 4 days? Was up there before and they view is great. Our air conditioner went out over night so it got warm in our room. They did fix it the next day. Nespresso coffee machine didn’t work properly in the room so we went downstairs everyday for coffee. All in all a great place and easy location but we may have to find another place to stay if we go back to the Keys.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Diane Schmidt, General Manager at Opal Key Resort & Marina
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Than you for your helpful feedback. I will share it with the entire team. We do hope you will choose to return. Please feel free to reach out to me to assist. Sincerely,
Read more
donnaw105 wrote a review Jul 2022
Palmyra, Pennsylvania27 contributions3 helpful votes
We stayed here a few nights before traveling to Islamorada for a wedding. The location is superb. Hotel consists of 3 buildings. We were on the pier side...so happy no cruise ships were allowed to dock because of Covid. That definitely would have obstructed our view. We were in room 324.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Diane Schmidt, General Manager at Opal Key Resort & Marina
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and helpful feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely,
Read more
Vidal-01 wrote a review Jul 2022
Key West, Florida179 contributions37 helpful votes
First if all our waiter was over the top kind & informative! #Ruslan really knows the menu and how to treat the guests with total VIP! We all chose something different, everything was amazing from the crab cakes to the fresh lobster quesedillas! We order two different style fish & the rib eye! All fresh and a true delight for the palate !!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: You must try this restaurant while in Key West ... oh & the creme brulee!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Diane Schmidt, General Manager at Opal Key Resort & Marina
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Vidal, Thank you for the great review and shout outs to Ruslan and the culinary team. I will share with them. Please let me know next time you are here so I can say hello! Sincerely,
Read more
MariM1993 wrote a review Jul 2022
Miami, Florida30 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
Pros: prime location, the best rooms are oceanfront, the friendly service & amenities offered are very good. They offer bottled water & seltzers, Nespresso coffee machine in the room, fruity popsicles & lavender cooling toilettes in the pool area, coffee & juice in the Lobby. My birthday surf & turf dinner at Bistro 245 was excellent and a good portion. Bistro 245’s room service is also very good . We had a daily room credit which we applied towards our meals. Cons: The rooms need a big make-over, but the bathrooms are nice. I had an oceanfront 2nd floor corner room with a side window and a view towards Mallory Square. The room location was excellent, but the balcony was dirty and the rocking chairs were dirty, broken and unkept. The pool is horrible & dirty! The jacuzzi was cleaner. Overall, this is my favorite location and property to stay in while in Key West. The grounds are kept very nice and the marina next door to Mallory Square at night there is ambiance and music. The Truman Museum is in walking distance and many stores. I hope that upon my return the rooms are renovated and much more inviting, it was a great disappointment. I do appreciate the friendly service and attention as a hotel guest.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Diane Schmidt, General Manager at Opal Key Resort & Marina
Responded Jul 7, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for the 5 Star review! We are hopeful all of our regular rooms will be renovated this fall. You look forward to your return! Sincerely,
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$372 - $578 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the westin key west resort & marina hotel key west, the westin key west resort and marina, key west hilton, key west westin
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Westin Key West Resort & Marina
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaFlorida KeysKey West
NUMBER OF ROOMS
178
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Opal Key Resort & Marina
Which popular attractions are close to Opal Key Resort & Marina?
Nearby attractions include Mallory Square (0.10 miles), Key West Room Escape (0.3 miles), and 7 Artists & Friends Key West (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Opal Key Resort & Marina?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Opal Key Resort & Marina?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Opal Key Resort & Marina?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Opal Key Resort & Marina?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Opal Key Resort & Marina?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Breakfast Club, Too, Mattheessen's, and Garbo's Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Opal Key Resort & Marina?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Is Opal Key Resort & Marina located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Key West.
Are any cleaning services offered at Opal Key Resort & Marina?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Opal Key Resort & Marina?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Opal Key Resort & Marina offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.