We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging

Save
Share
622 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040-6826
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Only 1 left at
$484
Booking.com
$484
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
Only 1 left at
$383
Travelocity$484
Hotels.com$484
Priceline$484
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (618)
360
Panoramas (9)
Room & Suite (447)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#23 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.8
Value
4.5
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Silver level
Luxury, Pet-Friendly B&B in the heart of Old Town Key West. The perfect getaway - one block from Duval, 2 blocks from the Historic Seaport - this Bed & Breakfast has 3 pools surrounded by lush gardens and is the ideal place for a relaxing retreat. Daily complimentary breakfast is served poolside.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Paid private parking nearby
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast buffet
Outdoor dining area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Dining area
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Family
Languages Spoken
English
1728Reviews27Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,471
  • 178
  • 49
  • 13
  • 17
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Marty T wrote a review Jan 17
Dewey Beach, Delaware14 contributions22 helpful votes
We stayed at Ambrosia on January 8 for one night (in a house across the street from the main building). Our room was not clean. My feet were dirty from walking barefoot in our room! So glad we were only there one night.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Lisa Zifer, Owner at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent stay. We apologize that you had that experience while staying with us. Without knowing exactly which room you were in, we will definitely look into this and speak to our housekeeping team. Thank you for staying with us and we hope that you enjoyed your evening in Key West.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tom & Donald wrote a review Dec 2022
1 contribution
We spent 5 nights at the Ambrosia to celebrate our 30th anniversary and had an absolutely wonderful time. General Manager Dan and his staff provided excellent service the entire stay, which included Thanksgiving Day. They even surprised us with a bottle of champagne and card on our special day; Maria at the front desk suggested a wonderful restaurant (Lola's) for the occasion. We stayed in "Zeke's Retreat" and appreciated the cleanliness and how roomy it was; with a private fenced-in patio, it was perfect for our two pooches who always travel with us. With lack of green space in Old Town, we were pleased to find a fenced dog friendly "pocket park" just a few blocks away; plus, Higgs Beach Dog Park is just two miles away. This is a great location and place to stay in Key West, especially when you travel with small dogs. They provide a tasty continental breakfast every morning with scrambled eggs, omelets, breakfast meats, fruit and breads, as well as juices and coffee. The entire property is clean and well maintained; just a few blocks from Duval Street, it truly is a perfect location We wholeheartedly recommend the Ambrosia Key West! And, our sincere thanks to Dan & his entire crew for making our special vacation and celebration so special!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dan Bar, General Manager at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Responded Dec 5, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed review on your recent stay. Congratulations on your wedding anniversary, 30 years is a big milestone and we were happy to help make it memorable! It is our pleasure to provide an exceptional experience for our guests, including their fur babies, and appreciate you saying so! We are so glad that you two had a great time at Ambrosia and we look forward to your return. Wishing you a very happy holiday!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Scenic306178 wrote a review Dec 2022
United Kingdom2 helpful votes
I booked this Hotel for 4 nights, however due to unforeseen medical reasons, I had to cancel my booking 2 weeks before my arrival date. When I booked I was aware of the hotel’s policy of charging one nights accommodation in the event of cancellation. Giving them 2 weeks advance notice of my cancellation, and having paid in full for my stay in advance I had hoped they would not enforce this policy. Unfortunately I was wrong and they refused to refund the one night charge. I just think in this is a very shortsighted policy by the hotel. I was intending to re-book for a week in January, however I will now find alternative accommodation in Key West. My advice is to carefully check the booking conditions when making a reservation at this Hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Lisa Zifer, Owner at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Responded Dec 5, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your experience. It is impossible to tell from your Trip Advisor screen name what the actual name on the reservation was. If you booked your stay through a third-party travel website, we were contacted by them and informed of the cancellation but any other pertinent details were not provided to us. This is why we always stress that it is best to book directly through our website or by calling us. With direct bookings, there is more flexibility with a reservation. We are truly sorry that your cancellation did not turn out the way that you had hoped. In addition, we are hopeful that any medical issues you are experiencing will be resolved quickly and you will be back to your normal self very soon. Of course, we would love it if you would consider coming back to see us next year but understand if you choose not to based on this experience. Again, direct bookings are truly the best way to reserve your stay with us so please keep that in mind should you decide to stay with us in the future. Wishing you the very best and a joyful holiday season.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Teresa H wrote a review Nov 2022
Houston, Texas18 contributions13 helpful votes
+1
We loved the Ambrosia environment and vibe, it is quite lovely. However, for the cost, our bungalow was a slum. The bathroom is upstairs off the bedroom and it was a nightmare. The floor tiles were cracked and dirty, the toilet leaked onto the floor when you would flush it. The sink was held in but thick, thick silicone that was painted over, the sink was rusty and felt grimy. Overall, the entire bathroom was dingy, creepy and dirty. We came back the first day and discovered our toothbrushes were dirty!!! Not sure what happened to them while we were gone but we had to go buy new ones and never left them out again! . We were in Key West for our daughters wedding weekend so we did not want to complain, especially since they were booked solid. What bothered me was that management knew about the condition of our bathroom, the overflowing toilet (they had a handy DIY plunger) and still charged us the full rate. When I flush a toilet I shouldn't have to worry about it backing up, overflowing or leaking from the seam onto the floor!!!! The downstairs stayed warm. After the first day we figured out the A/C duct in the bedroom closet on the second floor was disconnected. When we slept with the closet door open our bedroom stayed cool so we slept well. The wrap around porch on the second floor, with a hammock, was wonderful. Except to get there you had to slide sideways through the 12 inch crack between the bed and the door. All the other doors were painted shut. That side of the bed had sand all over the floor but we had never been to the beach. Hmmm, I have to wonder how long it had been there. In a city that is one of the highest cost hotel rooms, the Ambrosia stands out as a star. Too bad our star was burning out. Our friends room was across the street and had a beautiful porch but they had an A/C that ran and ran with no coolness. In October it is still hot in Key West! What a true disappointment. I would have given them a 2 but the grounds are beautiful, all the pools are nice and well tended so if the rooms did not cost such an outrageous amount, it would have been a fun, wonderful experience. Had this been a $100 a night room, I wouldn't complain but when we pay a premium we do not expect to get a slum.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Use the hotel rooms by the pool, I hear they have been updated and are clean. It is a good...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Dan Bar, General Manager at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Responded Nov 22, 2022
I'm sorry that we were not able to meet your standards but to call your room a slum is over the top. I'm not sure when you stayed since I can't trace your info to any reservations but the issues you highlighted have been resolved. A new AC unit and a new bathroom vanity have been installed. We confirmed that all the doors to the porch are operable. In addition we added a beautiful new couch to the living room. Hotel rooms get a great deal of wear and tear, maintenance is constant and furniture needs to be upgraded regularly. We are confident that any future guests will see the room differently then you had.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Keys4meNJ wrote a review Nov 2022
New Jersey135 contributions18 helpful votes
This was our first time staying at Ambrosia and it will not be our last. We stayed 5 nights, celebrating our 38th wedding anniversary, from Oct 17-Oct22 and we loved so much about this place! We were able to get in our room early and they stored our bags after checkout because we had a late flight. The room (Jungle Room) was great with a very comfy bed and a huge shower. We appreciated the fridge, safe and microwave. We spent a day relaxing in and by the beautiful pool at the main house across the street. The area was perfect. A quiet street with easy access to Duval and the Seaport. If it were not for the fact that we thought the scrambled eggs were terrible we would have absolutely nothing bad to say! LOL And even that didn't matter really because there were many other options at breakfast. On a side note, we always get trip insurance when traveling- especially during Hurricane season.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lisa Zifer, Owner at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Responded Nov 22, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for the high rating. We are so glad that you had a nice stay and appreciate your business very much. Please come back and see us again. Happy Holidays!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BeckyP59 wrote a review Oct 2022
Lyndon, Illinois3 contributions6 helpful votes
We were t o come and stay one night on 10/21. due to the hurricane ian, our flight and main stay in ft myers beach was both cancelled. we called ambrosia to see about rescheduling or a refund and was told to bad so bad. per their cancellation policy we needed to cancel as of 9/21. their was no hurricane then, didnt know i needed to contact a foretune teller to tell us a hurricane was coming weeks later. i would have thought they would want to work with us. no one can tell me that they wont rebook our night and basically double dip and make money. this was a 420.75 loss that they wont work with us again not due to us cancelling just because. still believe the customer service is beyond terrible.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Dan Bar, General Manager at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Responded Oct 10, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your reservation with us. We are also in receipt of your Facebook post as we have responded to that as well. It is unfortunate when anyone has to abruptly cancel a reservation for a stay they were looking forward to. Unfortunately, because it is hurricane season, you really are at the mercy of mother nature which is why we strongly recommend travel insurance as well as booking direct through our property. Booking direct offers more flexibility during unforeseen circumstances such as this. We have communicated with you that because you booked through a third-party website, you must contact them directly to cancel your reservation as we are not directly involved with that process. As of this response, booking.com has reached out to us about your reservation but that was not done until yesterday, October 9th which is four days after you left this review. We value our relationships with all of our guests but because of different booking methods/channels, we are not always in a position to remedy every situation that doesn’t turn out as planned. It is always our goal to educate our guests on the power and benefits of booking direct with us either over the phone or via our website and we hope that as a result of this, you are now more prepared for any future trips you will plan as we want you to have the very best experience!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Donnadjd2 wrote a review Aug 2022
Pompano Beach, Florida6 contributions1 helpful vote
What a lovely place. The staff was so sweet and welcomed me with wine for my birthday celebration! The facilities and foliage were beautiful. We loved the jungle room like old Florida with the Miami dade pine for old locals like us. My boyfriend said give great review and we will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Limited parking onsite but everything was so convenient
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lisa Zifer, Owner at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Responded Sep 12, 2022
Thank you so much for your kind review and rating. We are delighted that you both had such a nice stay. Happy belated birthday to you and thank you so much for celebrating with us. Please come back and see us again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brian C wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
We have stayed many places in Key West and Ambrosia is one of the very best. We very much enjoyed our week at Ambrosia. It is quiet, has nice pools and the breakfast on the pool veranda is very nice. Staff is very friendly, rooms are very clean. We look forward to our next stay at Ambrosia!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lisa Zifer, Owner at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Responded Aug 8, 2022
Thank you for the complimentary review and 5-bubble rating. We appreciate your kind words and business very much. Please come back and see us again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Culture781471 wrote a review Jul 2022
Fort Myers, Florida13 contributions
We have Loved every stay at Ambrosia II the last 30 years of going to Keywest. The Cabana pool rooms are our fave, you walk right out to pool deck. They were booked so we took the pricey tree top room.2 flights of stairs and 2 step ups super dangerous at night if you forget the step out of the room,...especially after cocktails. Thet need to paint yellow neon strip up there. It would be a miracle someone has not fell. The sitting room was spacious, but lucky they provide fan in room, it's like a sauna in summer. On the plus side, Melissa, front desk super efficient and nice, she was an angel helping us find our parking right near our room, which is valuable. I booked 6 mnths ahead, I suggest a year.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lisa Zifer, Owner at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Responded Aug 8, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for the 4-bubble rating. First off, we want you to know how much we truly appreciate your loyalty to our property. We are always so humbled by the support we receive and appreciate it so much when guests choose to return year after year. Thank you for raising awareness about the safety concern in the Tree Top room. We are actually taking that room out of service for cleaning in the next week and will be addressing the issue with the staircase at that time. We hope you had a wonderful stay and visit to Key West. Please come back and see us again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lauren F wrote a review Jun 2022
Scottsdale, Arizona9 contributions11 helpful votes
The best location on Key West! Close to downtown, but quiet and safe tucked back from the street in the historic district. We walked everywhere. Our room was well situated and huge, with a perfect balcony for reading and relaxing. Lovely light breakfast every morning sitting around the picturesque pool. Already planning our return trip to the Ambrosia.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lisa Zifer, Owner at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Responded Jun 28, 2022
Thank you for the kind review and 5-bubble rating. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Ambrosia Key West. Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to welcoming you back. Enjoy your summer!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$314 - $594 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ambrosia key west tropical lodging hotel key west
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaFlorida KeysKey West
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

AMBROSIA KEY WEST TROPICAL LODGING - Updated 2023 Prices & B&B Reviews (FL)

Frequently Asked Questions about Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Which popular attractions are close to Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging?
Nearby attractions include Duval Street (0.2 miles), Heroes Bar & Liberty Lounge (0.2 miles), and Key West Room Escape (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging?
Yes, free public parking nearby and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Breakfast Club, Too, Kaya island Eats, and Clemente's Trolley Pizzeria.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Key West.
Are pets allowed at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Curry Mansion Inn (0.2 miles), Harry S. Truman Little White House (0.4 miles), and Key West Garden Club (1.2 miles).
Is Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.