We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Pensione Inn

809 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-6425
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (124)
Room & Suite (7)
Pool & Beach (6)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 09/23/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from La Pensione Inn
Updated 09/23/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#56 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Travelers' Choice
1891 Victorian mansion - Directly in the center of Key West's historic old town.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool / beach towels
Free breakfast
Breakfast buffet
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Seating area
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
See more room details
Good to know
Languages Spoken
294Reviews5Q+A63Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 144
  • 81
  • 36
  • 18
  • 16
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
littlekid58 wrote a review Yesterday
San Juan3 contributions
This was the first time we stayed at a b&b. We love this place. The staff was so awesome. Our room was spacious.and spotless. We knew about the bathroom being small we bought our little camping table fit perfectly for our toilitries. We were three blocks from duval walked everywhere. Will definitely stay here again
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
FabulousTL wrote a review May 2021
Bonita Springs, Florida467 contributions202 helpful votes
Would like to enjoy this property without Covid restrictions. We initially chose this BnB because of the breakfast, wine and cheese and the warmth of a BnB. That was lacking on this trip. I hope they bring it back. Our room was spacious and very clean and opened up to a shared balcony. We were travelling with friends who had a reservation with a balcony room but they were moved two months prior to arrival due to a maintenance issue. That didn't sound legit (a scheduled window replacement for an exact date two months away while renting the room out other days?) but we didn't push the issue. The bed was super comfortable and the air conditioning worked great. Storage in bathroom is zero but adequate storage in bedroom. No elevator or service with your bags. The pool area was nice and clean. The breakfast offered across the street was okay but not in line with the price of the room. Very good location for walking around but definitely loud at night if you are in a front room. The porches upstairs and down were nice to relax and people watch. Housecleaning staff is friendly and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Response from Mey Espinoza, General Manager at La Pensione Inn
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Fabulous TL, thank you for taking the time to post this review. Your feedback is valuable to us. All of us at La Pensione Inn are here to make sure your vacation is pleasant and memorable. We are glad you enjoyed our property overall, our location and friendly staff. We are truly sorry your trip was scheduled during the time we still have COVID-19 restrictions on place. We apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused. We hope this experience did not tarnish any happy memories of your trip and look forward to not only meeting your expectations but surpassing them. We will be happy to welcome you back soon.
Read more
reneeva wrote a review May 2021
Texas608 contributions15 helpful votes
Walking distance to everything, we walked everywhere! Away from the hustle and bustle of Duvall St. We stayed in a room on 2nd floor in the back (facing the pool) It was VERY quiet! The Inn faces Truman st (Hyway 1. )so yes I'm sure the front room can have road noise etc… Ours was quiet. Super comfortable beds! Wish they had a shelf and hooks in the bathroom for toiletries and hand towels. Yes, the breakfast is across the street, dining room closed (like many other hotels) they are upfront about it…it's covid remember? We had Bagels and coffee one morning, but went out to breakfast the others. Pool area is very quiet. The staff is fantastic! they worked with us when we had to cancel March 2020 due to the shut down. This rescheduled trip landed on my birthday and they had a bottle of champagne in the room! Very thoughtful! Room was super clean!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Room Tip: Quiet room are on the backside.
See more room tips
Response from Mey Espinoza, General Manager at La Pensione Inn
Responded 5 weeks ago
Dear reneeva, Thank you for the kind review. We are always thrilled to read about our guests experience during their stay. I am pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service provided by our staff and that you enjoyed our fantastic location of our property in the heart of Old Town. Our goal is to ensure our guests leave with an exceptional experience and we are glad we met your expectations. Enhancing our guests amenities are a top priority and we appreciate all feedback. On behalf of our entire team we thank you for choosing La Pensione Inn and look forward to your next visit.
Read more
John A wrote a review Mar 2021
Naples, Florida12 contributions14 helpful votes
We had a wonderful stay at La Pensione. It has a nice Victorian vibe. Very clean and the staff were all friendly. We had to leave early and management was able to sell our last nights stay giving us a refund. Not many hotels would do that. Would definitely recommend staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Response from Mey Espinoza, General Manager at La Pensione Inn
Responded Mar 16, 2021
Dear JohnnyA9400, thank you for taking the time to review our property, it is always a true pleasure to know our guests enjoyed their stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed our setting, cleanliness and friendly staff. We look forward to welcoming you again at La Pensione Inn.
Read more
notagoodBNB2021 wrote a review Feb 2021
1 contribution
The room is beautiful, balcony , beautiful. Never mentioned on busiest street in and out of Key West! Planes low flying, fire engines constantly passing. Sitting on porch is so noisy that you cannot enjoy. Like sitting on the side of a Highway. Stayed at Garden Inn for four days before this. Would pay double to be there,not at La Pensione. No breakfast but across the street coffee and a bagel ,if you wait in line. sirens constantly blaring! Worst accomodations EVER. no one here, like renting an apartment. not vacation
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: do not stay here unless you want noisy street and no extras. no one at bnb have to go across the...
See more room tips
Response from Mey Espinoza, General Manager at La Pensione Inn
Responded Feb 27, 2021
Dear notagoodBNB2021, thank you for submitting your review following your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed our beautiful rooms. Providing our guests with the best hospitality and service has always been our mission, we apologize if this was not a pleasant stay due to the external noise. We will be addressing your concerns. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Read more
$224 - $460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
la pensione hotel key west
United StatesFloridaFlorida KeysKey West
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about La Pensione Inn
Which popular attractions are close to La Pensione Inn?
Nearby attractions include Saint Mary Star of the Sea (0.07 miles), Key West Firehouse Museum (0.1 miles), and Comedy Key West (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at La Pensione Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at La Pensione Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at La Pensione Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to La Pensione Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Meet Burger USA, Better Than Sex - A Dessert Restaurant Key West, and El Siboney Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at La Pensione Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is La Pensione Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Key West.
Are there any historical sites close to La Pensione Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Curry Mansion Inn (0.7 miles), Harry S. Truman Little White House (0.8 miles), and Key West Garden Club (0.8 miles).