We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Southwinds Motel

Traveler (405)
Room & Suite (122)
Pool & Beach (25)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#26 of 51 hotels in Key West
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Clean affordable motel rooms only 1 block from Duval Street at the Southernmost point of the Island of Key West. Many restaurants and shops within walking distance.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Pool / beach towels
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Free internet
Wifi
Public wifi
Internet
Outdoor pool
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Spanish, Latvian
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
1,346Reviews
35Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 723
  • 435
  • 121
  • 38
  • 32
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Roomy accommodations, especially for the price. Convenient to shopping to pick up some groceries for the kitchenette. Huge room, two beds, one was a king. Super comfortable. Large dressing area. Love the convenience to Southernmost Beach, which is about a block away, and the arrangement is they give you coupons to use at the beach. The Tipsy Rooster right next door, cute little gathering place. Convenient to the Duval Loop Bus as well. Only downside is the small bathroom. Would prefer a roomier bathroom, plenty of space in the closet/dressing area to make that happen. But then the price would go up. LOL. Super friendly staff. Complimentary pastries/muffins/yogurt/fruit in the morning. * Traveled there in April of 2018, but staying there again this August.
Read more
I travel and stay at many hotels. In Key West, I think we found our "go to place" The staffs attentiveness, friendliness were very good. The mattresses were amazingly comfortable and property always has friendly staff buzzing around cleaning or maintaining the property, respecting your privacy and comfortability of course and great place for family stay. We will be back. Thanks Southwinds.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from MHMSKW, Owner at Southwinds Motel
Responded yesterday
Dear Isse C, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this great review of our motel. I was so pleased that your stay with us was so enjoyable and we appreciate your feedback. We have many superstars on our team that are dedicated to providing great guest service. We believe we have some of the best amenities and by far the best staff that makes our motel so special. We look forward to hosting your next trip. All the best, Jim Heineman VP Operations
Read more
This Motel was great from the time we arrived until the time we left. We were there 3 nights. Staff was extremely pleasant and helpful from check in to check out. Breakfast was a basic continental style and delicious. Room was extremely clean and everything worked fine. This motel is within walking to distance to just about everything Key West has to offer. I will definitely be visiting this place again. If you are looking for a five star hotel, this is not your place. If you are looking for clean comfortable, affordable and pleasant staff then this is THE place.
Read more
Response from MHMSKW, Owner at Southwinds Motel
Responded yesterday
Dear Patrick B, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this great review of our motel. I was so pleased that your stay with us was so enjoyable and we appreciate your feedback. We have many superstars on our team that are dedicated to providing great guest service. We believe we have some of the best amenities and by far the best staff that makes our motel so special. We look forward to hosting your next trip. All the best, Jim Heineman VP Operations
Read more
I picked Southwinds based on the reviews and affordability. Thought I had found a hidden gem. It’s not a gen. Room was nice in size and had everything we needed but it really wasn’t very clean. Mostly the bathroom. Broken faucet, still usable but broken on the side, shower had a lot of stains and the floor just grossed us. The toilet leaked at the bases and clearly had been for a while, the cabinetry was rotted away. The a/c unit also needed serviced as made a pretty annoying rattling noise making it difficult to sleep.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from MHMSKW, Owner at Southwinds Motel
Responded 6 days ago
Dear amyg00dwin, Thank you for taking the time to give us your candid feedback. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations by putting you in a room that certainly was not ready for any of our guests. I will speak with my team in Key West to make sure we do not let this occur again. We are planning a renovation next year as our 1960's building is ready for some TLC. All the best, Jim Heineman VP Operations
Read more
We have stayed here several times and always enjoy our time in Key West. The Motel is nice, clean and walking distance to Duval. They provide breakfast, great muffins and coffee. They have 3 pools and a poolside bar.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from MHMSKW, Owner at Southwinds Motel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear atd2013, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this great review of our motel. I was so pleased that your stay with us was so enjoyable and we appreciate your feedback. We have many superstars on our team that are dedicated to providing great guest service. We believe we have some of the best amenities and by far the best staff that makes our motel so special. We look forward to hosting your next trip. All the best, Jim Heineman VP Operations
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$152 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
southwind hotel key west
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaFlorida KeysKey West
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing