We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Island City House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Island City House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

781 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Island City House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 753: English reviews
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed August 12, 2015

My family recently stayed at the Arch House. We chose it for the location and so we would have two bedrooms. The location can't be beat! We could walk to everything we wanted to do. We enjoyed spending the day by the pool, then going out in the evening. The pool was comfortable and never crowded. The grounds are lovely....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cltgirls
Lisa Z, Riley Hotel Group at Island City House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and appreciate your feedback. We just upgraded all our mattress late last year. We have added a full length mirror to that unit, based on your feedback. Look forward to welcoming you back.

Reviewed August 11, 2015 via mobile

A couple blocks from the Historic Seaport, a vety chilled sanctuary in the midst of crazy KW. We love the cigar house - esp the hammock rooms, just spend an evening with a bottle of fizz and a hammock and you'll get this place. Far enough from Duval to avoid chaos, but walking distance (or stumbling depending on your evening....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Paul W
Lisa Z, Riley Hotel Group at Island City House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Due to a change in health regulations, we did stop serving breakfast a few years ago. We have full kitchens in our units, and plenty of great breakfast places near by. We realize the snacks we provide are not a full...

Alexandria, Kentucky
Reviewed August 8, 2015

My wife and I celebrated our 10-year anniversary in Key West last weekend and stayed at the Island House hotel. If we ever make it back, we will definitely stay there again! We stayed in a room in the Arch House and it was fantastic! The room had everything you would need and then some! The location was perfect--we rented...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steve B
ichguestservices, Guest Relations Manager at Island City House Hotel, responded to this review

Happy Anniversary! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we are happy that we were able to be a part of your special celebration! Hope to see you again soon!

Sarasota, Florida
Reviewed August 7, 2015 via mobile

This will make our 6th conservative visit to the city house, so you know we love it here. We come every year at the same time for a festival,and every year we bring more people. This year we brought 12 more. Location is great...get a bike.. the grounds are beautiful. .and the rooms charming with a nice touch...OK. my only...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dsinger35
Lisa Z, Riley Hotel Group at Island City House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay! We have been experimenting with a few different cleaning products over the past month, so your feedback is greatly appreciated. Cleanliness is our top priority. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Reviewed July 30, 2015 via mobile

We just checked out of this great hotel. It honestly felt more like home. The room worked well for us and we had our own private porch. The kids had a blast looking for the resident cats & playing with little lizards. The pool was just the right size & the staff was very friendly. We would definitely come back...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrea N
ichguestservices, Guest Relations Manager at Island City House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words! We love our mini wild life preserve too! It’s wonderful to see families enjoying our gardens as much as we do. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future!

Long Beach, California
Reviewed July 23, 2015

Very relaxing hotel. You feel like your in 1889 but with modern conveniences. Lots of greenery. The bikes to rent are in great condition. Knocks are if your on the upper floors there is no elevator so you have to carry your luggage to the most 3rd floor. They do not have anyone to help you with that. The WiFi...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roger H
Lisa Z, Riley Hotel Group at Island City House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you had a pleasant experience staying with us. If you don't have any luck finding a parking spot, we do offer passes to the city parking garage at a discounted price. We listen to our guests. We are working on increases the coverage of the wifi property wide, and trying to...

Old Chatham, New York
Reviewed July 11, 2015

This was our second stay at Island City House and we've been raving to friends and family to check it out on their next visit. The accomodations are very clean and "homey" - much different from staying in a hotel room. The little extras - like having a keurig in the room as well as water and snacks - really...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jacqui N
Lisa Z, Riley Hotel Group at Island City House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a nice review. It's nice to hear that the little extra touches such as the snacks and water are appreciated. We appreciate our loyal repeat guests very much. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Lisa

Rocky Point, NY
Reviewed July 7, 2015

Hotel room was spacious and quiet. Not a lot of outside noise from other guests, even poolside. Lots of shade and gathering spots to unwind with conversation or a book. Definitely recommended, close to Duvall and the local supermarket for supplies.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LovesNirvana
Brenda W, General Manager at Island City House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments! We are so glad you had a good time with us and we hope you return again soon!

California
Reviewed July 3, 2015

Loved the staff - everyone was SO nice - the grounds - lush and lovely - and the accommodations which were above and beyond what we expected. We were able to book a room with all amenities conducive to making meals en suite and storing snacks and beverages to take to the pool. While this saved a great deal of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HBWillsy
Brenda W, General Manager at Island City House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your stay with us! We love hearing you enjoyed the gardens. We have planted many new plants and flowers this past couple of months and they have just taken off and some are blooming now. Please come back and see how everything has grown. Thanks Again!

Pine Bluff, Arkansas
Reviewed June 23, 2015

Walking distance to Duval, water, and many restaurants. We felt safe coming back to the room at any hour. We were able to sleep in and not be awakened by other guests staying at the hotel. We stayed in the Cigar House and had a beautiful view of the grounds.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank takhop
Brenda W, General Manager at Island City House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of staying with us at Island City House. To feel safe at any hour is such an important part of enjoying and really unwinding when you are on vacation. Just a couple blocks away from Duval you find yourself in a quiet, calm and inviting tropical atmosphere. We are so glad you enjoyed friendships and...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

368 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (363)
Viewed
Room/Suite (102)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (95)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (104)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#7 of 49 in Key West
1,574 reviews
0.8 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#2 of 49 in Key West
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#3 of 49 in Key West
1,596 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#1 of 49 in Key West
953 reviews
1.7 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our Key West suite accommodations at The Island City House Hotel are comprised of three buildings, each with its own style and unique character. The Arch House features six suites furnished in a casual Caribbean Style. The two suites on the first floor are two-bedroom suites. These suites have two separate bedrooms each with one queen-sized bed, a living/dining room with a kitchen, one bathroom, and a small porch. The studio-suites on the second floor of the Arch House have one queen-sized bed in an alcove, a sitting area with a kitchenette, and either a street-side balcony with a porch swing or a garden view balcony with a hammock. The Island City House is the main building on our property housing twelve parlor suites, ten one-bedroom suites, and two two-bedroom suites. These suites are furnished in an island Victorian style with lace curtains and many antique pieces. The two bedroom suites have two separate bedrooms, one with a king bed, the other with a queen bed, a living/dining room with a full kitchen, one bathroom and a large porch. The ten parlor suites have one queen-size bed and a separate sitting area with a kitchen. Many of these suites also have a sleeper sofa (for children or a third adult) or a porch overlooking the gardens. The Cigar House, our poolside building, is the home of our six largest one-bedroom suites. All of these suites are decorated in a tropical plantation style. The first and second floor suites have a king-size bed in the bedroom, a separate living room with a full kitchen, and a hammock on the poolside porch or balcony. The two suites tucked away on the third floor have a queen-size bed in the bedroom, a separate living room with a full kitchen, and an open balcony overlooking the pool and Infrared Sauna. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Island City House Hotel

Address: 411 William St, Key West, FL 33040-6853
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Price Range: $207 - $467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Island City House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Island City House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Island City House Hotel staff and other travelers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Long Beach, CA
27 days ago
Gray, Tennessee
uk
11 days ago
HUDSON
1 month ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Island City House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“no elevator so if you have a problem with stairs pick the 1st floor”
 of 5 bubbles sandrap795, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Stay in the back if traffic noise is a problem.”
  • Porch overlooking Eaton Street
 of 5 bubbles , 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Three floors and no elevator, so if you don't mind the stairs, third floors offer great privacy. The Suites on Williams are the best for us.”
 of 5 bubbles gt93, Nov 2, 2016 | Read review
“Ask whether or not you are near the road.”
 of 5 bubbles V8927RGlauraa, Aug 31, 2016 | Read review
“Arch House was more to our taste, decor-wise, lighter and more airy than the main house.”
  • Porch with swing chair
 of 5 bubbles Smilinglady52, Aug 29, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay