We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel
Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

288 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 208: English reviews
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago

First of all the staff is awesome and very accommodating ! the room is small and older and smelled like fabuloso! it was not dirty at all very clean. I would think that the owner of this motel would take the money he or she has and invest it in updating everything! I would stay here again because of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank YNOSWASHERE
Seashell Motel K, Front Office Manager at Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel, responded to this review

Dear YNOSWASHERE, Thank you for taking the time to write this great review of our motel. We are glad that you enjoyed your recent vacation in Key West. We look forward to hosting your next visit to Key West. Best regards, Sofya

Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I would like to say a big thank you to three girl one Polish one from Kazakhstan and one from Russia they were all very helpful and treated me with so much respect it's a great place to stay and have really enjoyed my stay thanks a lot Sam startin.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank samstartin
Seashell Motel K, Front Office Manager at Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel, responded to this review

Dear Sam, We appreciate you taking time to review your recent stay at Seashell Motel. We are so happy to hear that you had an awesome time at our motel! We hope see you again soon! Best regards, Sofya

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Dirty, small and expensive. They also have some stupid regulations. The toilet facilities is very bad! Key West is a big turist macine. Visit the upper or middle keys instead- much better. Met some great people, but still was not worth it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Merete H
Seashell Motel K, Front Office Manager at Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel, responded to this review

Dear Merete, We are really sorry that you did not enjoy your recent stay at seashell Motel. Best regards, Sofya

Princeville, Hawaii
Reviewed December 9, 2016

or people who are planning a vacation in Florida, Key West is THE PLACE TO BE My advice as a pilot, do not book expensive hotel but, THE sheashell Hostal Here you have dorms and private rooms Dorms means that you are staying with multiple people in one place so no privicy! The private rooms are equipped with: TV -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cptn-JKK
Seashell Motel K, Front Office Manager at Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel, responded to this review

Dear cptnjkkusa, We appreciate you taking time to review your recent stay at Seashell Motel. We are so happy to hear that you had an awesome time at our motel! We hope see you again soon! Best regards, Sofya

North Branch, Minnesota
Reviewed October 18, 2016

Pleasant stay in female dorm that consists of two connected rooms, 6 beds and 4 in the smaller sharing a bathroom. The courtyard is simple with a kitchen including ice in the freezer, no one is allowed after 10pm and no alcohol either(wink). A television is located up in a corner at the table. There is a store nearby but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sonbari
Seashell Motel K, Front Office Manager at Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel, responded to this review

Dear Sonbari, Thank you for taking the time to write this review of our motel. We look forward to hosting your next visit to Key West.

Reviewed October 12, 2016 via mobile

A fantastic stay here in Key West. We stayed in a private room rather than the shared hostel accommodations. Definitely recommend Room 12 if you can get it (despite the narrow path and awkward entrance, you get a spacious bedroom, decent bathroom and a really big kitchen and lounge). This was excellent value for money (compared to the premium prices...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
Seashell Motel K, Front Office Manager at Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel, responded to this review

Dear Kim B, We are so happy to hear that you had an awesome time at our motel! We hope see you again soon!

Reviewed September 20, 2016 via mobile

The social space is nice. The price, considering the hotels near by, is very cheap. But the shared bathrooms are not very clean and it's small. It's well located, near bars, restaurants, the southernmost point, etc.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harumileticia
Seashell Motel K, Front Office Manager at Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel, responded to this review

Dear Harumileticia, Thank you for taking the time to write this review of our motel. We look forward to hosting your next visit to Key West.

Hollywood, Florida
Reviewed September 12, 2016

Unprofessional way to treat your guests! even tho its a motel, you should treat your customers fairly!!!! I am the manger of the INN in Hollywood FL and will never recommend that hotel to any of our guests. The room was small and dirty with plenty of ants in the bathroom. The A/C was right next to my face on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Veronika A
Seashell Motel K, Front Office Manager at Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel, responded to this review

Dear Veronika A, Thank you for your review. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused during your trip to Key West. We want to assure you that we were doing everything we could to try to fix the issues experienced by you. We take our guest feedback very seriously and we hope that you will give us another...

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed August 18, 2016

This place was the worst! First of all there was a foul odor....I have no idea what it was. The room was filthy and the shower was covered in mold. When I woke up the first morning, I looked above me at the ceiling and there were 2 HUGE spiders in their webs. I did not stay in the hostel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ahinrichs
Reviewed August 13, 2016 via mobile

Unfortunately, this is the only hostel in town. So if you don't want to spend much money, you don't have much options. I chose it because it was the cheapest one. The air conditioner in the room was really weak. The furniture is super old and the rooms are not clean. But the location is good, you can do everything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Giovana S
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

270 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (88)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (37)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (170)
Viewed
Amenities (39)
Viewed
One Queen Bed (30)
Viewed
Shared Room (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)
Viewed
Two Double Beds (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
2.4 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#37 of 50 in Key West
2,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Southwinds Motel
Southwinds Motel
#17 of 50 in Key West
543 reviews
0.7 mi away
NYAH Key West
NYAH Key West
#21 of 77 in Key West
1,272 reviews
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel

Address: 718 South St, Key West, FL 33040-4770
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Price Range: $66 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Key West Youth Hostel And Seashell Motel
Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Hotel Key West
Key West Hostel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel staff and other travelers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“very quiet location just a mile from downtown Duval Street I stayed there several times and is highly recommended”
 of 5 bubbles Cptn-JKK, Dec 9, 2016 | Read review
“rooms in the back (where laundry room is) are quiet enough.”
 of 5 bubbles , Aug 8, 2016 | Read review
“As far as I am concerned, its all good..never had a problem.”
 of 5 bubbles Andree1974, Aug 2, 2016 | Read review
“south side as the north side you get the noise from the street”
 of 5 bubbles 635danielat, Jun 3, 2016 | Read review
“Take a private room for the comfort it really doesnt matter where u stay all the rooms are noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles mikedK5011UX, May 17, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay