We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Key West
Post
Inbox
Search

The Duval House

Save
815 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-7405
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$147
View Deal
Hotels.com$147
Expedia.com$147
Travelocity$147
Agoda.com$147
eDreams$147
Hotwire.com$147
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (158)
Room & Suite (33)
Dining (3)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
The Duval House is the heart and soul of old Key West. Our bed and breakfast is the perfect destination for an idyllic getaway. The Duval House is a traditional, caribbean-style bed and breakfast centrally located at the midpoint of Duval Street in the heart of Old Town, Key West. We offer seven buildings overlooking our lush, tropical courtyard and sunny, newly-constructed pool. All of our rooms offer private bathrooms, overhead fans, Wi-Fi, air conditioning, and complimentary, continental breakfast. Reserve your stay at paradise and let us make your getaway dreams a reality at The Duval House.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Internet
Outdoor pool
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Picnic area
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Centrally Located
208Reviews17Q+A35Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 171
  • 27
  • 5
  • 2
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Rented the Cabana room (room 10). Over $600 for 2 nights. CRAZY. Bathroom is super small I that kept banging myself on the wall trying to move around. The room is very small with a queen bed. Facilities are lacking. Lights are too bright. Housekeeping didn't happen even after we were out all day. Will not stay hereagain and will just rent one of the more proper hotel/resort.
Read more
Response from John F, Owner at The Duval House
Responded yesterday
Ms. Iman, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. All of us at the Duval House are disappointed to learn that you did not have an amazing time at our property. It is a matter of pride with all of us to provide our guests with an unparalleled experience. I would like to take a moment to address some of the points in your review: 1) As you mentioned, you stayed in one of our Cabana rooms. We recognize that our Cabanas are on the smaller side, which is why they are ALWAYS AMONG THE LEAST EXPENSIVE ROOMS IN KEY WEST. 2) Key West is a resort market and you stayed with us two weekend nights. Whether you stay with us or at any of the other accommodations on the island, weekend nights always trade at a premium in Key West. 3) You booked your stay with us the same day that you checked-in. While we love and encourage spontaneity, last minute bookings severely limit what we can offer our guests. 4) When you booked the room, you were aware that it contained a queen bed. 5) Our Queen Standard rooms, which are ~50% larger than our Cabanas, usually cost ~$10-30 more per night than our Cabanas. Our King Deluxe Rooms, which are ~100% larger than our Cabanas, usually cost ~$20-$50 more per night than our Cabanas. In the future, perhaps consider booking one of these rooms? 6) We apologize, however we do not understand what you mean when you state, "Facilities are lacking." We are a simple bed and breakfast located on Duval St. Some of the buildings on the property were built around 1906 and many of our guests find charm in the history and authenticity of our property. 7) We apologize, however we do not understand what you mean when you state, "The lights are too bright." Do you mean the lights that are in your room or the lights that illuminate the footpaths in our garden? We would appreciate you sending us a note at the following email address, if and when you have a minute, so that we may investigate: frontdesk@theduvalhouse.com. 8) We apologize if you did not receive service during your stay. Our housekeeping staff is dedicated to upholding the standards that we set as ownership. One of our housekeepers would have been responsible for the cleanliness of your room during your time with us and our housekeeping supervisor would have inspected that staff member's work. We do this to ensure nothing, 'slips through the cracks.' While we recognize that we are not perfect and that mistakes do happen, the only reason we could think that you may not have received service during your stay was if you had placed your DO NOT DISTURB sign outside your door. If you had mentioned something to us during your stay, we would have me more than happy to provide service for you room. Unfortunately, it is too late for that and we apologize for the inconvenience. Again, we apologize that your experience with us did not match your expectations. Sincerely, John
Read more
We spent 2 nights here in a 3 bed cottage and really enjoyed our stay. We were checked in by Eric who was really helpful in getting us sorted out with parking and gave us some good recommendations for places to eat. The cottage itself was large and clean and had everything we needed for our stay. We would absolutely stay here again.
Read more
Response from John F, Owner at The Duval House
Responded 2 days ago
Elizabeth, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review! We are so glad to learn that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward seeing you next time you venture over to this side of the pond! Sincerely, John
Read more
I wish I could give Duval House 6 stars! The experience exceeded expectations from the reservation process to the location to the staff and the entire stay. The property was beautiful and an oasis in the middle of Duval street. The pool and back courtyard were relaxing and gorgeous. The room was big and clean and the bed very comfortable. The staff were the best, from check in to the daily AWESOME breakfast. They greeted us with a choice of cold beverages of which a great beer was an option. They personally walked us around the property to ensure we were familiar with all of their services, and they pointed out all the things to do in key west with some excellent recommendations for happy hours. There were bikes to rent for a very low fee that were tricked out with baskets and bottle holders. We will definitely stay here again when we return!
Read more
Response from John F, Owner at The Duval House
Responded 2 days ago
Wow! Thank you! This is the kind of review that reminds all of us at the Duval House that all the hard work we put into trying to help guests feel welcome is worth it! We are all elated to learn that you had such an amazing time with us and we look forward to your return! Sincerely, John
Read more
Loved it. Recommend and will definitely stay here when I go back to Key West. Diana was so helpful with everything. Always greeted with cold beverages and a smile. Grounds are so pretty and relaxing. Enjoyed a late night swim. The breakfast was SO GOOD. All the people who work there are very nice. Located right in the heart of the action.
Read more
Response from John F, Owner at The Duval House
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review! We believe that Dayana does an amazing job and we are happy to learn that you think so as well! We look forward to having you back next time you return to the Conch Republic! Sincerely, John
Read more
Would I stay here again? Yes! Friendly staff that delivers an ice cold beverage to your door right after checkin, friendly, fun staff. Easy to check in|out. Beautiful property, great pool and common spaces. Bed was clean, firm and large. Was this place perfect, no. My room was very small (but I was warned of that before I booked), and it wasn’t super clean. If you are super picky, this may not be the room for you, if you can relax, enjoy and forgive minor issues, stay here and enjoy.
Read more
Response from John F, Owner at The Duval House
Responded 2 weeks ago
Darren, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I would like to take a moment to address a couple of the topics your raised: 1) If you had mentioned any issues that you were having with the room while you were at the property we would have done everything in our power to rectify the situation. Unfortunately, you did not say anything to our staff while you were at the property, which is unfortunate. We are focused on providing our guests with an unparalleled customer service experience. 2) The room that you stayed in was recently gut renovated. We installed brand new floors and a brand new bathroom. I checked our records and you were only the fourth party to stay in that room since it was reopened. 3) We have an incredibly hardworking housekeeping staff that we feel does an excellent job of maintaining the high standards that we as ownership expect. If our housekeepers miss anything we have a housekeeping supervisor that checks their work before guests are allowed into the room. 4) You stayed in one of our Cabana Queen rooms. We recognize that these rooms are smaller than a typical room at a chain hotel may be. For this reason our Cabana Queen rooms are always among the least expensive in Key West. In the future, please consider one of our Queen Standard rooms, which are 50% larger than our Cabana Queens and ~$10-$30 more per night, or one of our King Deluxe rooms, which are 100% larger than our Cabana Queens and ~$20-$40 more per night. Again, thank you for staying with us. Sincerely, John
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$207 - $467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
duval house hotel key west, duval key west
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaFlorida KeysKey West
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Duval House
Which popular attractions are close to The Duval House?
Nearby attractions include The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum (0.1 miles), Duval Street (0.1 miles), and The Cabaret At La Te Da (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Duval House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at The Duval House?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Duval House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Duval House?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Duval House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Misohappy, Moondog Cafe & Bakery, and Keys Coffee Co..
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Duval House?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is The Duval House located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the center of Key West.
Are there any historical sites close to The Duval House?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Harry S. Truman Little White House (0.5 miles), Curry Mansion (0.5 miles), and Key West Garden Club (1.0 miles).