We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
3824 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-4535
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Up to 20% off
Hotels.com
Booking.com
$178
View deal
Trip.com
$161
View deal
Traveluro
The Gates Hotel$189
Priceline$199
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (934)
Room & Suite (178)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 04/26/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 04/26/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#42 of 53 hotels in Key West
Location
3.8
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.1
Value
3.7
WELCOME TO PARADISE | The Gates Hotel Key West Designed in a modern, minimalist style, this upscale hotel is just off U.S. 1 and is a half-mile from the Key West Tropical Forest & Botanic Garden.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Highchairs available
Paid private parking on-site
Parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Outdoor pool
Plunge pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Yoga classes
Fitness classes
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Snorkeling
Bicycle tours
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Patio
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free shuttle or taxi services
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Price:Up to 20% off
2017Reviews62Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,021
  • 548
  • 203
  • 124
  • 122
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Dave W wrote a review Yesterday
2 contributions
Enjoyed the great team at the Rum Row. Jamie,Scharm and Steve made the stay great. We had a blast with them. El Capitan provided some awesome entertainment while we enjoyed the pool. They were the best!! Housekeeping could have been a bit better. Had to ask each day for new towels. We also had an "early checkin" fee to get our room an hour early. Didn't think that was great. Overall I would recommend
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Enjoyed a terrace room
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Amber R wrote a review Aug 7
1 contribution
We phoned 3 times before arriving to make sure the rooms we booked and already paid for were not given when we were arriving late at night. We turned up and half the rooms had been given away and the other two rooms we needed to drive 3 miles to a different hotel or we'd have not place to sleep. The rooms were low quality and direct entrance to the street where it felt like anyone could walk in. The hotel isn't in a great location, not much at all in walking distance. We cancelled the week booking after the first night and booked somewhere else (Opal Resort).
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Esther P wrote a review Aug 7
3 contributions
We lost an item that was important to us in the relaxation area between the hotels. Which btw is a very pleasant place to hang out at I must say. Honest staff were very helpful in returning our lost item to us. Abosolutely nothing was missing. We are very grateful to them for their honesty and their help.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: The place is damp. I don’t know why but if that bothers you I would advise against it.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
vvtoto v wrote a review Jul 2022
Punta del Este, Uruguay36 contributions25 helpful votes
Never but never go to un upper room. Check before if your reservation is ok and your room also. Waited for 2 hours. Room big not very clean. Pool ok Never have breakfast at truck. Shuttle comes every hour on time. Gates hotel is far from Durval street.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
peytonjordan00 wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
First of all, apparently booking through a third party (American Express) does not cover ALL costs. I was hit with a $348 fee upon arrival for a resort fee, parking fee, and “incidentals”. If I hadn’t already paid $3k for a flight AND room, maybe it would’ve been okay. Also might have been okay if there weren’t SUGAR ANTS ALL OVER MY ROOM. The next morning, housekeeping completely skipped over our room. We called for extra towels around 3PM, 10:30PM comes, still no towels. I had to physically walk down to the lobby (which BTW is in a separate hotel) to request towels AGAIN. Then low and behold when I finally get the towels and get to the bathroom to shower and get ready for bed, there’s SUGAR ANTS CRAWLING UP THE WALL!! I am frustrated and grossed out and cannot check out soon enough. Honestly, if we’d driven we would be gone by now. But our flight is in a couple days and can’t change it so we have to stay. I naturally don’t do well with hotels and am very peculiar about where I stay. Booking through AMEX and reading excellent reviews that were clearly made before I booked my trip made me feel confident this place would be very clean. WRONG. This is an expensive Motel 6. Would probably reconsider before booking.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
lesleyannpittman wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The staff was extremely rude! I’m still in shock. I know people can have a bad day, but the entire staff from the front dest to the bar tenders to the food truck. Wow, customer service isn’t their strong suit. It was a horrible experience. I will never recommend or stay there again. Very disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Baran Ustun, Guest Services / Front Office at The Gates Hotel Key West
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear lesleyannpittman, On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. We hope to see you back in the future and if you need any assistant please feel free to contact me directly. Sincerely, Baran Ustun bustun@thekeyscollection.com
Read more
Pilar M wrote a review Jul 2022
9 contributions10 helpful votes
The hardest part of booking here is how misleading the photos are. I paid $320 a night when i booked in the spring. Upon arriving I knew I had been mislead. The manager was friendly enough and gave me $240 back to my account. However, I should have been further compensated. It still was not enough when the room is now currently listing for $190 a night. The customer service is lacking, the phone in the room leads to nowhere...do not bother using it to actually call anyone. You have to make it to the neighboring hotel to make inquiries. The lobby at the gates was closed during my stay. Our room was clean but dated with some updates needed in the furniture. The bathroom door required great strength to close it. The rooms are cleaned every 3 days...The staff were friendly and helpful. The bar is fine and had all the usual drinks. Friendly bartenders but the food came out slowly, up to 45 minutes on a busy night. Note: There is a $45 daily fee for the pool and an additional fee for parking. Please make sure to keep all these costs in mind. Again, had the room been $199 as it is all it is worth, I would have been a happier customer. However, the place doesn't look quite as the pics, its much smaller. It is just not what I expected for what they bill...
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Baran Ustun, Guest Services / Front Office at The Gates Hotel Key West
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Diana P, On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. We hope to see you back in the future and if you need any assistant please feel free to contact me directly. Sincerely, Baran Ustun bustun@thekeyscollection.com
Read more
Ashley Taylor C wrote a review Jul 2022
3 contributions3 helpful votes
The rooms were clean, and have a beautiful beach look to them. The pool and location was great. However I have never experienced such horrible customer service in my life. Specifically from the bartenders at the outside pools. Bartender called us stupid to our face, criticized our questions, ignored us when we spoke and overall seemed like they hated their lives and took it out on their customers. We watched their behavior with everyone sitting at the bar and they treated everyone the same. With extreme disrespect, which was incredibly rude. It was so bad that we had order food and drinks but could not bare to sit and eat at the bar with the looks and snarky, witty comments coming from the staff. The women working the front desk however were very kind when checking in/out. But most of our interactions were with the staff of the bar, and it ruined our whole stay to be treated with so much disrespect. We opted to buy liquor from a nearby store and serve ourselves to not have to deal with unmannered individuals for the remaining time of our trip. Would not stay here again
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Parking available, and shuttles - need to be reserved Starbucks on site
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Baran Ustun, Guest Services / Front Office at The Gates Hotel Key West
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Ashley Taylor C, On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. We hope to see you back in the future and if you need any assistant please feel free to contact me directly. Sincerely, Baran Ustun bustun@thekeyscollection.com
Read more
Christopher W wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
I recently booked and stayed at the Gates in Key West as a vacation celebration gift for my girl friend. The floors in the room were dirty, the maid service was deplorable, the decore/dresser was old and beat up peeling and the air conditioning unit was a nightmare. The only two pros were: (1) The front desk personnel seem to try hard at being friendly and accommodating (2) We were in KEY WEST. Overall, as a Retired Military Person, I am very disappointed with the Gates experience and wouldn’t recommend any of my Military brothers and sisters stay there, THERE HAS TO BE A BETTER CHOICES FOR THAT KIND OF MONEY.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Baran Ustun, Guest Services / Front Office at The Gates Hotel Key West
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear M3884UOchristopherw, On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. We hope to see you back in the future and if you need any assistant please feel free to contact me directly. Sincerely, Baran Ustun bustun@thekeyscollection.com
Read more
Antonia K wrote a review Jul 2022
Key West, Florida2 contributions
Excellent atmosphere with a mix of locals and tourists. The bar offers cold beverages are served with a smile. There's a food truck offering snacks from breakfast to late afternoons. Ask for Jamie!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Baran Ustun, Guest Services / Front Office at The Gates Hotel Key West
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Antoniak577! Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your experience! I will be sure that the team and Jamie hear your praise. I am sure it will make everyone's day a little more special! As always, we are so very happy to hear your stay was amazing and you enjoyed all that Gates Hotel and Rum Row Bar have to offer. We truly look forward to welcoming you back again soon! 24 North & Gates Hotel Management
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$235 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
quality inn key west hotel key west
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaFlorida KeysKey West
NUMBER OF ROOMS
100
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Gates Hotel Key West
Which popular attractions are close to The Gates Hotel Key West?
Nearby attractions include We Cycle (0.6 miles), Southernmost Escape Key West (0.1 miles), and Key West Tropical Forest and Botanical Garden (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Gates Hotel Key West?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Gates Hotel Key West?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Gates Hotel Key West?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, a poolside bar, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Gates Hotel Key West?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Gates Hotel Key West?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tavern N Town, Hurricane Hole Restaurant & Marina, and Blue Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Gates Hotel Key West?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and fitness classes during their stay.
Are pets allowed at The Gates Hotel Key West?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Gates Hotel Key West?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to The Gates Hotel Key West?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Curry Mansion Inn (3.2 miles), Key West Garden Club (2.5 miles), and Harry S. Truman Little White House (3.5 miles).
Is The Gates Hotel Key West accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.