We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
99446 Overseas Hwy Mile Marker 99.3, Key Largo, FL 33037-2460
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com$178
Travelocity$178
Hotels.com$178
Priceline$200
Trip.com$209
Tripadvisor$178
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (809)
Room & Suite (176)
Pool & Beach (138)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Updated 05/11/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 05/11/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#9 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
3.8
Service
3.9
Value
3.9
All 32 of The Pelican's clean and quiet cottage rooms offer different options for relaxing and enjoying all that the Florida Keys has to offer. From experiencing the unique, laid-back bayfront atmosphere, to trying your hand at world-class sportfishing, diving and snorkeling , you are sure to find an activity that suits your tastes. And if that sounds too active, head to our small bayfront beach, where you can enjoy glorious sunsets, gentle breezes, a nap in a hammock or watch manatees and dolphins play.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Vending machine
Beach
Canoeing
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Snorkeling
Fishing
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Spanish, Ukrainian

Location

Full view
65Somewhat walkable
Grade: 65 out of 100
14Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
2Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
927Reviews11Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 341
  • 287
  • 137
  • 59
  • 103
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Elizabeth Y wrote a review Jul 2
2 contributions1 helpful vote
They gave away a paid in full room and could not offer full compensation back were sold out and the drive was over 3 hours. Rude customer service by the manager. Unprofessional service, no phone call prior to cancelling.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from John Godsey, Owner at The Pelican Key Largo Cottages
Responded yesterday
We must apologize but we seem to be having difficulty in finding any details of your reservation. Please feel free to contact us to further discuss this matter.
Read more
GJtravel_11 wrote a review Jun 2022
Grand Junction, Colorado32 contributions13 helpful votes
Property's Favorite Review
Florida nostalgia without the mildew smell! We stayed in the Dolphin and greatly appreciated the water view and the supper clean room. We’ve been visiting south Florida for 30 years and this place is a great mix of comfort with “years gone by.” If you want a typical hotel experience, go somewhere else. Also, if you want to bicker about a clearly outlined cancellation policy, go somewhere else. If you want personal/on the water, old school Florida, this is it. By example, when we missed our opportunity to take pictures of the sunset, Rick at the front desk sent us some of his professional level photos to remember it by.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from John Godsey, Owner at The Pelican Key Largo Cottages
Responded 3 weeks ago
WOW! Thank you so much for the great review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoy our "old Florida" charm! We hope to welcome you back very soon and as always, thank you for choosing The Pelican!
Read more
Hillbilly V wrote a review Jun 2022
Townsend, Tennessee54 contributions10 helpful votes
These cottages are right on the Florida Bay and perfect for a beautiful sunset over the Gulf. Kayaks are available for use by guests. The "cottage" looked as if it hadn't been updated since the fifties with the exception of the window style air conditioner, microwave, stove with oven, and refrigerator. Unfortunately, if you plan on doing any cooking, there are no pots or pans or oven utensils so forget about it being a fully functional kitchen. The ice machine is $.25 for your small room bucket. For $250 a night in the Keys......I could have done worse but expect no frills here.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from John Godsey, Owner at The Pelican Key Largo Cottages
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for the review and feedback regarding your recent stay. We are a vintage property and try very hard to have an "old Florida" type vibe that harkens back to simpler times. We try to be good stewards of the property and attempt to update without losing the charm. Due to the pandemic, we were forced to scale back on kitchen implements and used more single service type wares. We will be restocking the kitchens very soon and will provide the basics. We do charge a quarter for ice but this is only to discourage the filling of large coolers, a real concern in a community well known for fishing and water activities. We hope to welcome you back very soon and as always, thank you for choosing The Pelican.
Read more
Emma P wrote a review Jun 2022
3 contributions
As a 2 star accommodation we weren’t expecting luxury, but when we arrived we had a huge shock. This was the smallest room I’ve ever stayed in and there was definitely not enough room for 2 people to stay here in any degree of comfort, and when taking into account the price, it felt like daylight robbery. The other major downside was the air conditioning unit which was so loud it prevented much sleep being possible.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from John Godsey, Owner at The Pelican Key Largo Cottages
Responded 1 week ago
We're sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We feel that it is important to point out that The Pelican offers many different lodging options, from small economy type for the budget minded to large spacious multi-room waterfront suites at some of the best prices anywhere in the Florida Keys.
Read more
no name wrote a review Jun 2022
2 contributions
Due to differences between booking agency and Cottages systems, then didn't fully read bed request & didn't make it right. Room was in stages of remodel. Good on-site kayak activity. Odd shower unit. Location good between Miami and the keys.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from John Godsey, Owner at The Pelican Key Largo Cottages
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for the review and feedback regarding your stay. We are a bit confused regarding the nature of your stay. When making a reservation with a 3rd party, you are guaranteed the type of unit that you reserve. We do not provide additional bedding in the form of a cot or rollaway bedding. We would like to hear more details if you would like to contact us at your convenience.
Read more
Rhonda B wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
I booked my stay June 7th of 2021 a whole year in advance to secure my stay for this year. We have an annual meetup for Gheenoe boats. I read the cancelation policy over and over and it clearly states I had until 4 p.m. to cancel my trip. I emailed my cancelation in at 7:37 a.m. and was told I was going to be charged because it was 4 p.m. the previous day. I waited until the last minute that I could hoping not to have to cancel. I had dental surgery and I am still experiencing complications, Vertigo being the most troublesome. This was very disappointing. Last year's stay was ok, I had no real complaints, and I did not require any assistance so perhaps that is why.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from John Godsey, Owner at The Pelican Key Largo Cottages
Responded 4 weeks ago
We're very sorry to hear that you do not agree with our cancellation policy. We do try to be as forgiving and liberal with our cancellation and modification policies as we can.
Read more
Cheryl S wrote a review May 2022
5 contributions
I contracted COVID one week before my planned stay at the Pelican, and like a considerate traveler should, I cancelled my trip. I contacted the management and asked them for a credit- NOT a refund, and I fully expected a fee to change the date. They pretty much told me I was out of luck. After I rescheduled my trip, I called back to speak to the manager about rescheduling. I was told to send an email, which I did. No one ever replied. I have referred several friends to the Pelican because my family loved the staff and grounds when we stayed there. I was very disappointed by the treatment I received. I understand that the Pelican and other resorts have been hurt by COVID, but I am sure they could have rebooked my room with the one week notice, and still have me come back on a different day. Instead, they have an unhappy customer who WILL NOT be referring any further business to the Pelican Key Largo Cottages.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from John Godsey, Owner at The Pelican Key Largo Cottages
Responded May 27, 2022
We're very sorry to hear that you feel this way. However, due to the nature of how you made your NON_REFUNDABLE reservation, it could at no point be modified or cancelled or order to receive a refund. This is what entitled you to the deeply discounted rate when you made your booking.
Read more
MarinaNetto wrote a review May 2022
Weston, Florida19 contributions40 helpful votes
Reserved and paid months in advance for a graduation weekend celebration. Got sick with Covid the week of the trip and contacted the property manager who had no empathy and was unwilling to even provide a credit to change the reservation. Very disappointed and would not recommend this place. Be extra careful with reservations and their customer service.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from John Godsey, Owner at The Pelican Key Largo Cottages
Responded May 21, 2022
Your reservation was booked with a 3rd party and was nom-refundable at the point that you wanted to cancel. Unfortunately there was nothing that we could have done differently.
Read more
Richie L wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
This review is a long time coming. This place was absolutely amazing!!! Booking this place last minute and with no recommendations we were understandably nervous but very pleasantly surprised. Being last minute, the only available room was one of their smaller ones wich made us a little nervous. However, though the room was on the smaller side it was more than comfortable and felt more cozy than cramped. They have a small private beach and several small docks wich proved to be the perfect spot to watch the famous Florida key sunset. The location was perfect. It was a short walking distance from multiple bar/ restaurants, as well as a CVS. The staff was very attentive and accommodating. We had the pleasure of meeting the manager John who was more than helpful in directing us to various points of interest in the area. We have been making yearly trips to the keys for a while and are now making this our regular spot
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from John Godsey, Owner at The Pelican Key Largo Cottages
Responded May 11, 2022
Thank you so much for the review and kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon and as always, thank you for choosing The Pelican!
Read more
126Robert wrote a review May 2022
Park Ridge, New Jersey134 contributions122 helpful votes
Pelican key offers separate cottages and rooms for your stay. Friendly and helpful staff are always available to help. Rooms offer TV and refrigerator. Property offers a beach on the bay, sitting chairs on the beach, covered picnic table and sunset views that are the best in the keys. Next door - Mrs Macs restaurant offers breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from John Godsey, Owner at The Pelican Key Largo Cottages
Responded May 10, 2022
Thank you for the review. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$169 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hungry pelican hotel key largo, hungry pelican key largo
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hungry Pelican Motel
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaFlorida KeysKey Largo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Pelican Key Largo Cottages
Which popular attractions are close to The Pelican Key Largo Cottages?
Nearby attractions include Harry Harris Park (0.2 miles) and Key Largo Community Park (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Pelican Key Largo Cottages?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and barbeque facilities.
Which room amenities are available at The Pelican Key Largo Cottages?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Pelican Key Largo Cottages?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at The Pelican Key Largo Cottages?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Pelican Key Largo Cottages?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mrs. Mac's Kitchen, C&C Wood Fired Eats, and Bayside Grille & Sunset Bar.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Pelican Key Largo Cottages?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Russian, and Ukrainian.
Does The Pelican Key Largo Cottages have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.