We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort

Save
Share
351 East Ocean Drive, Key Colony Beach, FL 33051
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Travelocity$219
Expedia.com$219
Booking.com$219
FindHotel$219
Priceline$219
Orbitz.com$219
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (877)
360
Panoramas (19)
Room & Suite (456)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.5
Value
4.3
Travelers' Choice
Delightful newly renovated beach hotel. We have 8 spacious, and newly decorated 3 bedroom three bath luxury, oceanfront Villa’s. We also have 16 one bedroom oceanfront kitchen suites, and 22 beautiful hotel rooms. Sitting on our 400 foot beach filled with cushioned lounge chairs and beach umbrellas are two pools and one spa. Key Colony Beach is on a small island, nestled on a private sand beach, within easy reach of area attractions such as Conch Air, Island Hoppers Aerial Adventures, Bahia Honda State Park, and Curry Hammock State Park. Area attractions also include Sombrero Beach, Sombrero Reef, The Turtle Hospital, Florida Keys Aquarium Encounters, Dolphin Research Center,The Turtle Hospital, Florida Keys Aquarium Encounters, and much more!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Baggage storage
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Poolside bar
Diving
Snorkeling
Fishing
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Safe
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
1253Reviews22Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 848
  • 253
  • 80
  • 44
  • 28
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
BedfordRich wrote a review Aug 2022
Bedford, United Kingdom30 contributions28 helpful votes
Great hotel with some rooms overlooking the private beach and pool. The free beach with loungers, free towels and sun umbrellas was great. Rooms clean, quiet and staff helpful. Enjoyed the free kayaks, and next door for a beer and a meal. Would stay here again
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
lew a wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Our trip down to the keys started out with a large bump in the road our first stop was your hotel to spend the night on a Friday night after a 10 Hour Dr. we were pre-registered we showed up we were towing a boat the lady at the front desk was very kind and explain that there was no boat parking in the parking lot gave me a number to call at a marina unfortunately they had no space from that point on it became a big threatening hassle come to find out key colony has a storage area at the end of eighth Street they did not share with me at that time the management needs to be retrained housekeeping needs to be addressed the floor was sticky it was mold in the bathroom the toilet paper holder would not hold toilet paper there were no stir sticks for the coffee I was very disappointed price we paid those little details should’ve been addressed I will not stay at your hotel ever again
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Lewis, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Responded Aug 9, 2022
Thank you for the review. We're sorry to hear your trip down to the Keys wasn't a good start. Unfortunately, the Hotels and Resorts located in the City of Key Colony Beach are not allowed trailers of any type to park on property. We and the guest can receive up to a $500 fine if we don't follow the city guidelines. We are partnered with White Marlin Marina who are kind enough to give our guests a discounted rate as long as they have the availability. This is clearly stated on our website and confirmation letter. The trailer storage area on 8th street is for residential use only. For residents it costs $100 per week or $200 for the month. The condition of your shower was unacceptable and for this I take full responsibility. We hope that you will reconsider and someday return on your next visit to the Keys. Call us direct at 305-289-0525 and ask for Heather, I will make sure you are well taken of and 100% satisfied during your stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
frankiecordova wrote a review Jul 2022
3 contributions3 helpful votes
Like many reviewers our family has stayed at the Glunz for over a decade and like many other reviewers we have seen a huge decline in customer service and a degrading property. Many of the long term employees have moved on because of changes and service has suffered. On our last stay we had a horrible experience. What once was a family oriented tranquil hotel and experience has turned into an entitled driven hotel with a feeling of racial profiling. For years we have stayed at the property. We have stayed at their Villas, beach front rooms and Havana suites depending on our needs and occupancy. The Havana suite ( suite 5 ) has always been our choice when we travel with our 2 kids as it accommodates us easily with sofa sleeper and its away from the main hotel and close to the bar and pool. The suite offers 484 square feet of living space which is exactly the same square footage as Oceanfront Beach Level Suites. They are basically the same size a queen bed and sofa sleeper. Before booking our hotel stay we called and spoke to someone that knows us well and we asked specifically for the Havana suite 5 for our stay. We were told, “no problem, see you soon”. Upon checking in we noticed the sofa sleeper did not have bedding and my wife went to the office asking for the bedding as to set up our kids bed. She was immediately met with attitude and look of disgust. The manager in charge began to mention that we could no longer book the Havana suite as it does not accommodate our family and it was considered economy. Economy? What? How doesn’t it not accommodate 4 people when it offers the same pull out sofa and square footage as every other ocean rooms on the ground floor? More in this later. As management, they should know better than to address this during our stay and or even bring this up. The room was booked, we are long standing loyal customers and all she had to do was simply provide the bedding and allow us to enjoy the property. If the hotel policy had changed regarding the room all they had to do was mention this at checkout or send a simple email stating so. The mention of economy and accommodations not meeting our needs was simply an unprofessional and downright offensive. I proceeded to go and speak with the manager on duty and received the same entitled attitude and snark remarks and racial undertones. I told her that we specifically called and spoke to someone that knows us and told them we were coming and there was no mention of that room not accommodating us ( as it has for the past decade ). We have seen a sharp decline in service and profiling during our pasts visits, bartenders and waitresses ignoring us while others were attended to and served, providing us plastic cups for liquor when everyone at the bar were served in glasses, service with attitude and general bad vibes. I even had the bartender bang hard on my sliding window asking me to pay the bar bill. Our charges have always been charged to our room. Apparently this changed and you can no longer charge bar service to your room but it doesn’t excuse the fact that someone actually came and banged on my slider to get paid. There is away to handle things in a professional manner our room is 5 feet from the bar, what am I going to do run for it? This happens because staff feels people such as my family, (hispanic) will automatically leave and not pay. We don’t fit the mold of people that can walk to their room for 10 minutes and are good for charges. They need to make sure that $19 Pina colada gets paid before we jump in our cars and make a run for it. I am blessed to be finically stable and it does not hurt me to stay at the Glunz no matter the room they have to offer, but the mention of being in an economy room was simply unnecessary and used only as a way of suggesting we need to pay more to get better service. This in itself is disgusting and shows the attitude and entitlement this establishment has towards customers they judge based on their look and nationality. It’s obvious that hotel is moving towards catering to a specific subset of customers that eliminates customers that don’t fit their criteria and standards. Covid allowed the Florida Keys to prosper because Florida remained open while many vacation spots were closed, this has led to sky high pricing for any hotel in the Keys and while this is great for business, its bad for potential customers that do not fit the mold of incoming visitors that travel to the Glunz from other states. There is blatant racial undertone that comes across hotel wide and I would hate for others to experience this with their children, especially after making a trip to get there. There is nothing wrong with a hotel changing their policy and making their rooms accommodate fewer people. It’s their business and they are well within their rights to do so. It’s simply is not right when you call first, confirm the room, let them know you coming, and EVEN check in without them saying anything. You wait till we are checked in, eat at the bar, have drinks, and ask for bedding to then state your policy has changed and we are staying in economy? Sprinkle some attitude, entitlement, and racial undertone and you have the perfect lesson on how not to treat customers in the hospitality business. I choose to leave hours after checking in and we were told we had to pay for the day. Money is the root of all evil when it's used to determine the status you play in society. Couple that with the color of your skin and the language of choice and you quickly find that people place you in a hierarchy that falls below the sand on the beach you’re standing on. Do yourself a favor and look to stay in a place that enjoys your visit and implores you to enjoy the property and return as often as possible, even if you are paying for an economy room. Your stay should never be interrupted by conversations with management about policy changes or room rates, you are paying to get away and enjoy the amenities and not be judged by your class or economic status. Life is too short, enjoy life by choosing a location that is not breeding hate and wants your business.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Lewis, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Responded Aug 10, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, Mr. Cordova. I apologize that we did not meet the standard you have received during your previous stays. We appreciate that you and your family have stayed with us for over a decade, and we have always tried to make your stay with us easy going and memorable. Our staff and management team strive to treat our guests with kindness and fairness as we want you to feel like family. When you called to confirm the room, you did not mention the number of guests you had. If it had been two or less like you registered, it would have in fact been no problem. The room you selected for your stay has a maximum occupancy of 2 guests for anyone that chooses to rent it regardless of race, religion, or color. You arrived with 4 guests and two dogs. We try to prevent any misunderstandings by having comprehensive check in paperwork. The check in paperwork completed by your wife at check in did not include the extra guests or we would have never checked you into that room. We apologize for any attitude that your wife felt when she came to ask for bedding. That is never our intention. This is an issue that we had already addressed with your family multiple times on previous stays and we thought you had understood that the room would only be rented for 2 people. For the issues related to the Restaurant, it seems you have misunderstood our standard operating procedure and we apologize for any inconvenience. It has been years since the Restaurant has been able to do room charges for any of our guests in any room. Additionally, it is our regular policy for all patrons that are not seated at the bar to receive their drinks in plastic cups. Any guest ordering a drink to take to their room would receive a plastic cup. It's for the safety of our guests at this beautiful and often barefoot beachfront Resort. It is also the policy for all restaurants to pay your bill before leaving. We are a family-oriented Resort focused on providing top notch customer service to all of guests regardless of which room type they select. We specifically have a wide range of room types in hopes that everyone can find something that fits their needs. The very standard and simple guidelines like maximum room occupancy and wrist bands apply to everyone and are to ensure that all our guests are able to enjoy their stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Roberto wrote a review Jun 2022
123 contributions20 helpful votes
Stayed here on the advice of or server bob from steak and lobster and we had a great time at Havana jacks. Our bartender there Matt was very funny and gave us good local knowledge thanks for the fun dinner. My family thanks you for tipping correctly.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Lewis, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Responded Jun 29, 2022
Thank you for the 5 star review! We are so glad to hear you had a wonderful time during your stay here at the Glunz Resort and Havana Jack's Oceanside. Matt the bartender does have quite the personality when it comes to serving our guests and making them happy. We look forward to your return so call us directly at 305-289-0525 to book your next reservation and receive 10% off plus VIP Perks!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mike P wrote a review Jun 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
The perfect place at a perfect location. Equal distance to southernmost point and Key Largo. The staff is great. The place is amazingly clean. We got up very early one morning to see the sunrise and they had a small army of people cleaning the place inside and out. The pool area is great and so is the little beach they have. There are lounge chairs and umbrella's. Kayaks are available to sign out. Nice BBQ area too. The one negative is that they need to do a better job enforcing the pool rules. There was one night that just about every rule on the list was being ignored, food and drink IN the pool. Glass in the pool area. One kid caught a fish on the beach, brought the fish to the pool area (still on the pole) to show Mom and casted it into the pool! This is a great place and we will stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Lewis, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Responded Aug 9, 2022
Thank you for the 5 star review! We're so glad to hear you had a wonderful time while visiting our little piece of paradise. It fills our hearts with joy knowing that we made your vacation memorable. We apologize that we had some rule breakers on board. We really try and walk the beach and pool area multiple times a day to make sure everyone is enjoying themselves and there is no riff raff taking place, sorry we missed that as we would have definitely stopped it. We look forward to having you back with us in the near future so give us a call direct at 305-289-0525 to book your next reservation and receive 10% off plus VIP Perks!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Leslie P wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
The location was great. The kids had fun in the pool and walking down the beach searching for seashells. It was nice having the restaurant/bar next door so we didn’t have to drive to get food. Our deep fried key lime pie was delicious!! The lady checking us in was very friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and we had a bottle of wine and chocolates awaiting us. Very nice personal touches that made our trip feel extra special.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Lewis, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Responded Jun 20, 2022
Thank you for the 5 star review! We are so glad your family enjoyed their stay at the Glunz Resort. Our little piece of paradise is the perfect setting for all families, there's something for everyone! We look forward to having you back with us in the near future so call us direct at 305-289-0525 to receive your direct booker discount of 10% off plus VIP Perks!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mary W wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
We enjoyed our stay there. Plenty of family things to do, such as kayaking and swimming in pool or beach area. Staff was very pleasant and helpful with our needs. Close to other attractions. Will definitely be staying there again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Lewis, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Responded Jun 20, 2022
Thank you for the awesome review! We are so glad you have a great time during your stay at the Glunz Resort. We appreciate your compliments towards our staff and property and look forward to having you back with us in the near future. Give us a call direct at 305-289-0525 to book your next reservation and receive 10% off plus VIP Perks!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nikkir98 wrote a review Jun 2022
Saint Louis, Missouri228 contributions49 helpful votes
+1
We stayed a week in a beachfront King room (302). The room was clean and nice. We had a small fridge, microwave and a kuerig. Bed was comfortable and plenty of pillows. There was also a table and 2 chairs. We were on the end by Havana Jacks and they do have live music but they stop around 10 pm. We enjoyed sitting outside listening to it. I do wish there was a private balcony. There's a walkway outside of your room with a small table and 2 chairs so people do walk by. There's no housekeeping but you can exchange towels and get k cups in the lobby. They also have beach/pool towels which was great. We did run out of tp on our last night and the office already closed but we made do. The door that closes where the shower and toilet are was a thin sliding door and ours didn't close all the way or latch, so not much privacy! The pool was nice and clean. Havana Jacks had good food and drinks. The beach is nice but very small and there are some rocks when you first get in. They have a lot of very comfortable loungers and chairs outside and on the beach. The staff were all really friendly especially Elizabeth and another young lady whose name I wish I could remember that worked the front desk. The gym is small but adequate. Good location off busy main road. We walked to Sunset park to watch the sunset.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Lewis, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Responded Jun 20, 2022
Thank you for the wonderful 5 star review! We're glad to hear you had a wonderful time during your stay here at The Glunz Resort. We really appreciate your kind words towards our property and staff and look forward t o having you back with us again in the near future. Don't forget to call and book your next reservation direct at 305-289-0525 to receive your 10% discount plus VIP Perks!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dickson Lezama wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Lovely spot! Very calm, beautiful beach. If you want to relax, no noise other than the sound of the waves when you step outside your door/sliding door. We came in end of May. Great for families. Check out the Havana Jacks restaurant for drinks and live music. Cons: At the rooms Wi-Fi disconnects on and off, can not send those relaxing pics and send videos to our contacts lol
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Lewis, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Responded Jun 20, 2022
Thank you for the great 5 star review! We are so happy to hear you loved your stay at the Glunz Resort. We're sorry to hear your Wi-Fi gave you some trouble and we hope that you eventually were able to send out those pic and videos. We look forward to having you back with us so please call us direct at 305-89-0525 to book your next reservation and receive 10% off plus VIP Perks!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robin W wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Location was fantastic! The staff was amzing and so very nice. The facility was great! This place has it all! From relaxing on the ocean beach to swimming in the pool. And Havanna Jack's restraunt and bar was spectacular. Right on the ocean. Great views, food and the staff were so wonderful! This was our second stay here and we will never stay anywhere else!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Havanna Kitchen suites have great location to pool, bar and ocean.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Lewis, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Responded May 25, 2022
Thank you for the 5 star review! We are so glad to hear you had a fantastic time during your stay. We appreciate your comments and compliments towards our property and staff. We always try to go above and beyond in making sure our guests are 100% satisfied during their stay. We look forward to having you back with us so don't forget to call us direct at 305-289-0525 to receive your 10% discount plus VIP Perks!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$241 - $460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ocean beach club hotel key colony beach
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaFlorida KeysKey Colony Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
46
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort?
Nearby attractions include San Pablo Catholic Church (0.8 miles), Sombrero Reef (0.7 miles), and Sunset Park Beach (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Florida Keys Steak and Lobster House, Food for Thought, and Curly's Coffee Company.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Is Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Key Colony Beach.
Does Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.