Holiday Inn Gainesville-University Ctr

Traveler (98)
During the storm
Room & Suite (42)
Dining (19)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Thu, May 2
$246
Fully refundable before Thu, May 2
Get rewarded with One Key
$245
Fully refundable before Tue, Apr 30
$218
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#23 of 54 hotels in Gainesville
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.0
Service
4.3
Value
3.7

Gainesville Hotel Location Directly Across the Street from the University of Florida.

The Holiday Inn Gainesville - University Ctr hotel is surrounded by local shops, restaurants, boutiques and the University of Florida. The hotel sits in the heart of Gainesville, allowing easy access to Downtown Gainesville, Gainesville Regional Airport and is directly across the street from The University of Florida and its athletic facilities. Hotel guests visiting Gainesville for Gators sporting events are happy to find Ben Hill Griffin Stadium (The Swamp) just blocks from the hotel's location. While in Gainesville FL, patrons don't want to miss on-campus highlights like the Harn Museum of Art and Florida Museum of Natural History, either.

The hotel's corporate guests also find the hotel well suited for business. Free Wi-Fi access is offered throughout the facility.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Free airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Rooftop pool
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Vending machine
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English

Location

1250 W University Ave, Gainesville, FL 32601-5118
519Reviews8Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 193
  • 137
  • 105
  • 48
  • 36
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Samantha W wrote a review Feb 2023
Boynton Beach, Florida32 contributions4 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mixed review. You get what you pay for. This is definitely a value hotel in a great location. The rooms and property is tired. Rooms are aged and a remodel is expected summer 2023. Stayed in RM 518 (shower head needs to be replaced) and RM 516 (shower drain needs to be fixed). I appreciated the large mini fridge and microwave. Rooms have k-cup machines. Lighting in bathrooms is awful. All rooms need a deep clean. Three times during my stay my room key was deactivated. Front desk staff very helpful and friendly. Used the gym - basic but fine. This hotel is in a fantastic location. Walking distance (15 minutes) to stadium and O'Connell center. Publix and Starbucks immediately next door.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BigGFtMyers wrote a review Nov 2020
Fort Myers, Florida16 contributions34 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
If you are planning to head to Ben Hill Griffith Stadium to see the Florida Gators play this location is an excellent place to meet. You can stay and park here, and the stadium is a 10-15 minute walk away. No fighting traffic leaving the stadium or time wasted trying to find a spot. The only problem is the hotel itself. It is old and dated. While the rooms are "clean" the bathrooms and showers are not what one would expect from a major hotel. They could use updating and or replacing. The entire hotel seems to be a renovation waiting to happen. It has all the charm of a hotel built in 1968. Although they did renovations in 2012 it is not obvious to me what these renovations were. Perhaps carpets and beds. While I stated although the rooms are clean the place just has a dirty feel. Especially the bathrooms. If not for the location to the Stadium I would not have been happy about staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
johnrG6078IV wrote a review Feb 2020
77 contributions84 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here with family for a sporting event. The GOOD - This property is very close to Ben Hill Griffin and the O'Connell center (< 1 mile), and is on the corner of the two main streets in Gainesville (13th St. and University). It has many restaurants and stores very close by (as in next door). It has a restaurant in the hotel and serves a full breakfast. Our check in was efficient and quick. The BAD - Parking is limited and the exterior is currently under construction. It is an older property and the carpets and furnishings are a tired, but it was clean and we got a fair value for our money.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHGService, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville-University Ctr
Responded Feb 19, 2020
Hello johnrG6078IV, We appreciate you taking the time to provide us your feedback. We are acknowledging the concerns you have raised; we apologize for the experience. We are currently in the process of upgrading the exterior of the property to give our guests a unique and fresh experience of what IHG has to offer. We also would want to thank you for your observations of the amenities inside the property. We are determined to ensure that our hotels provide a combined sense of comfort and happiness with touches of real wonder and making the necessary changes would help us provide a better experience to all our guests in the future. Your observations has been raised with our Management team, so they can look into it more closely. On the other hand, we appreciate it that you found our property to be in a convenient location and that you had an easy time checking in. At the end of the day, it is the smile that we see in our guests and the joy that you share of your stay that we always look forward to. I hope you will give us a chance by booking with us again to show you that your unsatisfactory stay was an exception. In addition to this, we have sent you a Private Message for further details. Again, thank you for sharing your comments. Hector P Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Delgrec wrote a review Feb 2020
44 contributions6 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Currently at this hotel, anxious to switch hotels tomorrow morning. We are here for some UF baseball and softball games and some time in the pool. First, the rooftop pool is under construction. This information was not shared (possibly not known) at time of booking. We weren’t notified prior to coming so were very disappointed to learn this at check in. Room is very worn and not very clean. Hair in the tub that was there upon check in and still there after first cleaning. Remote to tv only works sometimes. Housekeeping didn’t come in to clean our room (we were gone from 9-7) so we went to front desk and they sent someone up while we went to dinner. There was a huge spill in the elevator that we reported to front desk. The hotel did comp us one night stay which was appreciated. Tomorrow we will be switching to a neighboring hotel with a working rooftop pool and clean and modern interior. We aren’t usually complainers but the non working pool/sun deck was what we were most looking forward to so that, combined with all the other issues, we decided to go elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville-University Ctr
Responded Mar 1, 2020
Hi! Delgrec, Your review about our Holiday Inn Gainesville-University Center. is valued. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are all about giving exceptional service to our guests and are committed to comfort in every way. I'm sorry there were a couple of issues you encountered that spoiled your stay. I know how letdown you must have felt towards the cleanliness of the room, it's amenities not working and the disappointment in finding out that our rooftop pool is under construction. I have conveyed your comments to the Housekeeping Manager and Maintenance department for checking. I sent you a private message to discuss your review further and regain your trust in our hotel. We hope you will join us again in the future and impart a better stay. Safe travels, Deborah R. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
REAL R wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The parking lot is not exactly a parking lot! Parking at this hotel is rather questionable and sketchy at best. The building is actually shared with a pizza restaurant.? Yes, you read that correctly. Then there are thousands of college students walking around and driving through the ‘parking lot’ recklessly and taking up what little guest parking there is. Naturally the staff does not do anything (besides giving you the guest something to put on your dashboard) to control this because they themselves appear to be students as well. The lobby is a complete wreck. The check-in was pleasant enough. Although I was slightly offended by being charge a $50 incidental deposit fee per room. I am after all a professional traveling on business and NOT one of these college students, so this unnecessary fee as just an insult. I was even more offended when I got off the elevator on the 5th floor to be welcomed by a horrible odor. Then came the room. I realize upon entering the room that this hotel is in dire need of a complete makeover/remodeling. The view from my window appeared to be a sketchy ally with a broken down crack-house. ALL the furniture was worn, ripped, and stained. The tiny a/c unit (on the floor) was Very Loud. The bathroom is the size of a small closet with a extremely low ceiling. Anyone over 5’10 will most likely experience claustrophobia. The shower turned iced cold then boiling hot then iced cold again. I actually had to use the bathroom of the person I was traveling with, theirs seemed to work. Also the sink did not drain. Don’t know what’s going on with IHG but this experience is totally unacceptable. Does IHG have any quality control? I would be completely embarrassed if I owned this hotel or worked for IHG. Stayed at a Best Western 2 days prior and this horrendous place made that feel like a Ritz Carlton. So the 2 big questions: Would I stay here again… Absolutely Not. Would I recommend this property: Absolutely Not. I can honestly say that I feel as though I deserve a complete refund for this dissatisfaction and disaster.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Stay Away Book Another Property
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Gainesville-University Ctr
Responded Oct 22, 2022
Hello 985realr, Thanks for sharing feedback about your stay with us. We offer a simple and engaging place to rest. However, I am sorry for what happened during your stay. Your review was made known to the team, and I'm confident improvements will be made to deliver complete guest satisfaction. In line with this, do know that I sent a private message to further reach out to you. Despite the setbacks mentioned in your review, I hope you find your way back to us should your travels bring you again to the area for a chance to make your stay better than the last. Best, Ronald R. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DKW wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel is run down. Room needs work. We paid $650.00 per night for 2 nights and was told our rate did no include their breakfast. Paid 1300.00 and they wouldn’t include the 30.00 breakfast. Disappointed
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Gainesville-University Ctr
Responded Sep 20, 2022
Hi danawS2464FS, Thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience. Holiday Inn provides the best lodging experience for every guest, and I'm sorry for the issues during your stay. I will be sharing your feedback with our hotel management for review. I've also sent you a private message to discuss this further. We hope you can give us a chance to regain your trust and confidence in our service. Stay Safe! Carl J. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MrVanes wrote a review Aug 2021
Lake Worth, Florida128 contributions36 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We decided to stay here due to its proximity to UF. But oh man, what a run down place! Very noisy A/C window unit spoiled my night rest. The bathtub wouldn't drain. The 'office' chair had oily hand prints on it and the arm rests were out of skin. The halls, pool area and the reception looked like an era long gone by.
On a positive note, all the employees we very friendly and absolutely willing to help you out with anything you might need. Koodoos to them!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Gainesville-University Ctr
Responded Sep 21, 2021
Dear MrVanes, I appreciate you for sharing your review about your recent stay. I am very sorry that you did not experience an exemplary hotel stay due to our hotel needing updates, the noise from the air conditioning and that the bathtub would not drain. This is certainly below our usual high standard of service. Please be assured that I have noted and forwarded your comments for the management to improve. In the midst of the inconvenience, I am glad to know that the service of our staff was still appreciated. I very much hope that you will grant us the opportunity to prove ourselves again. Best Regards, Ben W. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Heather G wrote a review Sep 2022
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida34 contributions23 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed there this past weekend. We were in town for a UF football game. The location is ideal. However, we paid $600 a night to stay. I understand that hotels can charge whatever they want, especially ones within walking distance of the stadium. With that being said, I have stayed at 4 different hotels in the past 4 months in Gainesville. This was by far the worst one. For $600 per night, I expect to have a working toilet in the room. Also, there was a ton of water damage in our bathroom. The ceiling looked like it was filling with water. I tried to call the front desk multiple times, each day to take care of the toilet. No one ever answered and it would go straight to someone’s voicemail. I finally gave up. The carpet in the hallways was so warn down. A simple carpet change and a little paint could make a huge difference. As for the breakfast, it was good and made to order. However, the smell of mold from all the water damage in the hotel made it hard to eat. There really are no excuses. This hotel is making tons of money. I will never stay there again. I am thankful that when I return next month, I am staying somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Gainesville-University Ctr
Responded Sep 26, 2022
Hello Heather G, Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to leave us feedback. We're determined to make your stay with us pleasant, and I am sorry to learn that some aspects of your visit turned out otherwise. I have alerted the hotel management regarding your comments, and I am certain that the steps that will be taken will improve your next visits with us. I hope to welcome you back! Best regards, Clayton G. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mary & John Janokaitis, Cocoa Beach wrote a review Sep 2020
Cocoa Beach, FL64 contributions33 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Due to coronavirus - and a reduction of crowds at Gator football games, we have not visited our favorite hotel in Gainesville since before the pandemic.
But we cannot wait to return to Holiday Inn University Center thanks to the incredible location (waking distance to everything!), outstanding service and constant upgrades.
We also would like to thank Alex Reyes, Front Desk Manager, who is always so helpful with our reservations.
We certainly miss Holiday Inn University Center and are looking forward to returning!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Patricia I wrote a review Nov 2022
3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff at this hotel go above and beyond to ensure guests have a pleasant stay. Everyone we encountered at the front desk was professional, helpful, and friendly. Shoutout to Shereika and Bryce who worked magic to help me print out a bus ticket when my flight was canceled! Rooms are quiet and clean and the pool area looked fabulous. This is also a great location if you're visiting UF and lots of retail options within walking distance.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
stuartleetv asked a question Feb 2021
26 contributions42 helpful votes
Is guest parking complimentary?
ItsDee9 asked a question Apr 2019
New Jersey51 contributions30 helpful votes
What is the difference between double queen and double queen executive? Just a little bigger?
Answer from Lawrence S
Jupiter85 contributions79 helpful votes
I think, but am not completely sure that the room is larger. I have been placed in larger queen rooms, which I assume were executive. You can call the hotel directly. They are very nice.
hkmf2201 asked a question Mar 2018
Charleston, South Carolina
Are dogs allowed?
Answer from Aksas Alouani
Gainesville, Florida
At this time, our hotel only accepts service animals.
asked a question Jul 2016
Miami, Florida86 contributions66 helpful votes
Mr. Leach what is the name of your italian restaurant.
Answer from Aksas Alouani
Gainesville, Florida
Good evening. The name of our Italian themed restaurant is Piesanos Pints n' Pies. They have two other locations in the city and well respected by many. Thank you for your interest. Hopefully you'll join us soon... Odyssey Leach General Manager
JAXTRAVELLINGMOM wrote a tip Sep 2023
Jacksonville, Florida64 contributions40 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay clear!"
Read full review
Elizabeth N wrote a tip Jul 2023
Herndon, Virginia4 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay elsewhere "
Read full review
48 states + on wrote a tip May 2023
7 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"It's awful on the 6th floor."
Read full review
Wendy B wrote a tip Nov 2022
Williamsburg, Virginia36 contributions9 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get up on the 5th or 6th floor for a great view!"
Read full review
REAL R wrote a tip Sep 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay Away Book Another Property"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Gainesville area.
PRICE RANGE
$128 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn gainesville university hotel gainesville, gainesville holiday inn
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaGainesville
NUMBER OF ROOMS
167
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOLIDAY INN GAINESVILLE-UNIVERSITY CTR $110 ($̶1̶4̶3̶) - Updated 2024 Prices & Hotel Reviews - FL

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Gainesville-University Ctr
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Gainesville-University Ctr?
Nearby attractions include Ben Hill Griffin Stadium (0.7 miles), America's Escape Game Gainesville (0.7 miles), and Florida Fun Bikes (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Gainesville-University Ctr?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Gainesville-University Ctr?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Gainesville-University Ctr?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Gainesville-University Ctr?
Conveniently located restaurants include Piesanos Stone Fired Pizza, Krispy Kreme Doughnuts, and Flacos.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Gainesville-University Ctr?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Holiday Inn Gainesville-University Ctr have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Holiday Inn Gainesville-University Ctr offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Holiday Inn Gainesville-University Ctr have airport transportation?
Yes, Holiday Inn Gainesville-University Ctr offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Holiday Inn Gainesville-University Ctr located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the center of Gainesville.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Gainesville-University Ctr?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Gainesville-University Ctr offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
All Gainesville HotelsGainesville Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in GainesvilleHotels near Holiday Inn Gainesville-University Ctr
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars