We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center

Visit hotel website
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeaders Silver level
The hotel sits in the heart of Gainesville, allowing easy access to downtown Gainesville, Gainesville Regional Airport and sits directly across the street from The University of Florida and its athletic facilities. Our hotel is also less than 1 mile from Ben Hill Griffin Stadium "The Swamp," Gainesville's downtown and several local restaurants and pubs. Enjoy our newly remodeled modern event space and conference center perfect for seminars, workshops, banquets, receptions, meetings and more. Our Gainesville Holiday Inn is also home to Piesanos Stone Fired Pints & Pies offering a family-friendly atmosphere, Gainesville's favorite Italian food and pizza, plus 40+ tap handles featuring a rotating stock of local Florida craft beers. Hotel amenities include our complimentary shuttle available daily 7AM-10PM within 3 miles, 24 hour fitness center, outdoor rooftop pool, Bistro 45 made-to-order breakfast cafe, free Wi-Fi throughout and 24 hour fitness center.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Business Center with Internet Access
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Meeting Rooms
Shuttle Bus Service
Wheelchair access
Airport Transportation
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Self-Serve Laundry
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Room Service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Show more
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Family Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Green
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:Annual Sale
Hotel deals
Location
Full view
83Good for walkers
Grade: 83 out of 100
41Restaurantswithin 0.25 miles
2Attractionswithin 0.25 miles
Reviews & more
454Reviews
125Photos
5Q+A
86Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 168
  • 124
  • 94
  • 37
  • 31
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
Comments about the age of the hotel had me a bit nervous. However, despite the aging building it was overall a great stay. Can’t beat the convenience of the location (walked often to Publix, Target & Starbucks & of course to campus & midtown). Just as stated, the beds & pillows a
Read more
Response from Gene K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center
Responded 1 week ago
Dear dz_1817, Thank you very much for your detailed and candid feedback. It is very helpful to us and, I'm certain, would also be very helpful to others looking for a hotel room in Gaineseville. Rest assured, renovations are coming, but in a mean time, we would love to see you back as our guest. Thank you for your business. Sincerely, Gene K General Manager
Read more
This property has been, and is continuing, renovations to its facility. The location is diagonally across an intersection from the University of Florida campus. The staff is friendly and accommodating. Alex was extremely helpful upon my arrival. There is a pub-like restaurant o
Read more
Response from Gene K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear CaprCreamer, Most importantly, thank you for your business. Your patronage of the Holiday Inn University Center is greatly appreciated. I'm certain that your feedback would be very helpful to others looking for a hotel room in Gainesville near the University of Florida. I will make sure Alex and her team are recognized for their superb customer service. Lastly, thank you for noticing all the changes and upgrades we have made in the last two years. Our exterior renovations will begin shortly, followed by the lobby and rooms. Please come back again soon. Sincerely, Gene K General Manager
Read more
We stayed here for a Gator football game and picked it due to location. The hotel is old but someone has attempted to make it visually appealing. The air conditioning and heating is handled via window A/C units and as such do not do a very good job. The bathroom is tiny and in
Read more
Response from Gene K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center
Responded 3 weeks ago
Timothy, Thank you very much for taking time out of your schedule to share your experience. I'm very sorry we have not met your expectations and standards during this visit. Many of the issues you raise in your review are valid, and I do share in your frustration. Our exterior and lobby will undergo renovations in the very near future. These projects would be closely followed by the interior/ rooms renovations. I'm certain that most of the issues in your review, including the size of the bathrooms, would be addressed. Please allow me to disagree with you about mattresses and pillows. All of our mattresses are indeed Sealy Posturpedic pillow-top. Overall, majority of our guests love them, and, speaking from personal experience, so do I. As to the pillows, all of our pillows are also new, and we offer 2 types - soft and hard pillows in all the rooms, with an option to request a "feather-free" pillow. Once again, I'm sorry my team and I didn't meet your expectations. Hopefully, after we undergo renovations, we will have another chance to earn your business. Thank you for being our guest. Respectfully, Gene K General Manager
Read more
Started my research trip here while working in UF's Smathers Libraries Special Collections. Christian was kind from the moment he picked me up from the airport and was kind throughout the stay as was everyone else. Quiet, clean and very convenient to campus. I hardly knew I was n
Read more
Response from Gene K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center
Responded Nov 6, 2018
Dear Jas0719, Thank you very much for your candid and detailed review. It is great to hear that your recent stay at the Holiday Inn University Center was "excellent". I will make sure our Front Office Manager reads your comments, and acknowledges Christian for providing superb service during your visit. We hope to see you back soon. Once again, thank you for being our guest and for taking time to share your experience. Sincerely, Gene K General Manager
Read more
We stayed there first time but hopefully never again. Room/bathroom both outdated and cramped. Don’t go for free breakfast as we experienced one of the worst service. Definitely not eligible to recommend anyone.
Read more
Response from Gene K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center
Responded Oct 22, 2018
Dear ashahbaz66, I thank you for your feedback. However, I wonder if you meant to post it for a different property. You mention in your review a "free breakfast", which our hotel, being a full-service Holiday Inn, doesn't have. Please write to me at gm@theuniversityhotel.com so we could get to the bottom of your issues and perhaps re-assign your review. Respectfully, Gene K General Manager
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Center & Event Rooms
Photo provided by managementHoliday Inn Gainesville University Center
Guest room
Photo provided by managementHoliday Inn Gainesville University Center
Guest room
Photo provided by managementHoliday Inn Gainesville University Center
Meeting room
Photo provided by managementHoliday Inn Gainesville University Center
Guest room
Photo provided by managementHoliday Inn Gainesville University Center
Meeting room
Previous
1234568
Are dogs allowed?
At this time, our hotel only accepts service animals.
0 votes
Show all answers
Mr. Leach what is the name of your italian restaurant.
Good evening. The name of our Italian themed restaurant is Piesanos Pints n' Pies. They have two other locations in the city and well respected by many. Thank you for your interest. Hopefully you'll join us soon... Odyssey Leach General Manager
1 vote
what do your new rooms look like?
Hello, Just read your question. The new rooms are tastefully decorated and more contemporary.
1 vote
What do your new accomidations look like?
We have a beautiful six story property with a rooftop pool and wonderful Italian themed restaurant. Feel free to view our hotel at theuniversityhotelcom Thank you for your inquiry.
1 vote
Show all answers
Pet friendly?
No pets allowed.
0 votes
"top floor away from elevator"
"Bring bathing suit and tea bags!"
"The third floor was great"
"Windows didn't open but good air conditioning"
"Away from the Street"
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$86 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn gainesville university hotel gainesvillegainesville holiday inn
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaGainesville
NUMBER OF ROOMS
167
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing