We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
5100 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-4006
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (66)
Room & Suite (25)
Pool & Beach (11)

About

#15 of 40 Specialty lodging in Fort Myers Beach
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
3.8
Value
4.1
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Beach
Bicycle rental
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
99Reviews9Q+A24Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 47
  • 28
  • 7
  • 6
  • 11
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Jay D wrote a review Aug 2022
Arlington, Texas4 contributions
The condo was much smaller than it appeared in the photos. The TV in the living room didn’t work. However, the TVs in the bedrooms did. The bathrooms were the smallest I’ve ever seen. The sink was surrounded by a narrow counter and that was all the counter space in the bathroom. The towel rack in the master bath was loose because it hadn’t been installed straight. The bathroom door scrapped the floor in one spot making it hard to open and close. All little details but this wasn’t a cheap condo. The grounds were pretty, very green! The beach was clean and uncrowded. Not bad lodging just needed more attention paid to the details.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Sherill K wrote a review Jan 2022
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina103 contributions23 helpful votes
Ok...there is a pandemic...I called to cancel my reservation and was told to write an email...which I did and cancelled. Omicron is terrible where I live and we were afraid to come. I then called back and was told zero dollars would be refunded...the property manager told me the pandemic was fake news and I should have gotten insurance ( dumb me...I thought since there was a pandemic, I wouldn't need insurance). So I said...well I will just give the condo that week to a friend and she said the moment I wrote the email...I was gone ...even though it was still available on line. no refund, no condo...2500 to them...Poor customer service...Be very afraid.....and then...the property manager said....oh wait...she hung up on me while I was trying to explain we couldn't afford to lose 2500 dollars...she said even people who were dying of cancer and cancelled couldn't have their money back...the board of directors said so.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Smugglers Cove, Guest Services / Front Office at Smuggler's Cove Condo
Responded Jan 19, 2022
We have seen the reviews you left all over the internet but it is important that the readers realize there are 2 sides to every story. You made a reservation in October 2021 - paid the reservation in full in November 2021 - less than 20 days before you were due to arrive you emailed the office - as stated in our terms and conditions , clearly you read that part - and requested to cancel your reservation due to your covid concerns. Your reservation was then canceled immediately - again per your request. You then called to inquire as to when you would be getting your refund stating that you could not afford the trip. You were advised there would be no refund given per our terms and conditions that were explained to you at which time you became very agitated and demanded to speak to the property manager. The part of our terms and conditions that you obviously chose NOT to read states - for any reservation cancelled less than 60 days prior to your arrival NO REFUNDS ARE GIVEN. You choose to not obtain travel insurance because -as you said " Silly Me, I didn't think I would need it " , that is not Smugglers Cove's fault. The state of Florida is open and under no restrictions and Smugglers Cove is operating as such as directed by our Board of Directors. We apologize if you disagree with this policy. It also states in our terms and conditions that you may not sublet your reservation so when you told the property manager that you would give your reservation to someone else you were advised that was not possible either. You keep posting online that the property manager hung up on you. She most certainly did not, she was asking for a print out of your reservation to have in front of her while you two talked and YOU are the one that hung up the phone. It is important that you let everyone know that you stated you did not read the terms and conditions when you made your reservation because if you had you would have known there was no refunds , that you could not sublet, and that travel insurance is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. We have hundreds of guests stay at Smugglers Cove every year and they all seem to be able to grasp these terms and conditions that have been in place for over almost two decades. We are unsure as to how and why you do not understand them.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mary Anne D wrote a review Sep 2021
Apollo Beach, Florida28 contributions20 helpful votes
We would like to share the great feelings we had at the first vacation in 2B5 unit at this location. Owner, Mr. Horton, has the guests interest to enjoy his Unit showing A-Plus cleanliness, heavenly views, "just like home" comfort in this well-appointed Oceanfront 2 BDRM,2 BTH rental. Rental Mgr., Joey, delightful-really helpful most appreciated! Great extras are elevator 2 steps away from unit, wonderful full, modern kitchen, 3 Lg.wall-TVs, Fans everywhere, King Bd/great mattress, private Lanai with comfy furniture, And all we needed was our suitcases and a trip to Publix, for dream vacation! First time ever leaving the beach without any complaints...We really wanted to stay longer!..The Dunham's
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Maria wrote a review Aug 2021
Worldwide2 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed for 1 week. I had to attend a class/ conference. I could not get in using condo’s internet. The condo has DSL internet. It could not manage single user. I had to be on my cell phone all the time. Also they do not clean the beach. And it is not just smugglers cove. It is all fort Myers beach. We had this view all week long. And it was not red tide….By the way, there were no hurricanes.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Dustin wrote a review Jul 2021
Smyrna, Tennessee1 contribution2 helpful votes
Asked for nice room booked early for choices Jody never sent pics after payment! Claimed it would be nice! Arrived and the furniture was dated! Master had nightstands in front nightstands and a desk for clothes! Usable. Kids running around till one am every night beds are hard and TV 32 inch living room master 32 and kids room looked like 12 inch lol Pictures originally viewed are decieving- special anniversary and I was sad and disappointed! If you are used to resorts this is not for you! Rooms are tight! Notes left on thermometer to.stay at 76 at all times and shades are to be closed at 8 pm. Outside beach smelled like fish and maggots everywhere! Turf is very small and ground level is a parking garage! Small pool. We vacation to beach vacations frequently! This place was the very worst! Bad vibes everywhere!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Smugglers Cove, Guest Services / Front Office at Smuggler's Cove Condo
Responded Aug 18, 2021
We have no way to "send pictures" after a payment is made. That is why we recommend looking at the photos online prior to booking your stay. What one person likes may not be your particular preference. The reason there are no units available on ground level is due to hurricanes and storm surge/flooding. Had you asked we could have explained this. Guests are more than welcome to lower their thermostats, they just have to be at 76 when you check out. As far as the blinds - you stayed during turtle nesting season and it is 9 pm and that information was given to you at check in. That is not a Smugglers Cove rule , that is a City of Fort Myers Beach rule. And yes the beach was bad, there was a hurricane ( Elsa ) that came through 3 days before you arrived and they tend to leave a mess. We have no way to clean that up and it is actually illegal to remove it until it can be surveyed for turtle nesting activity.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
eggbee wrote a review Jun 2021
AZ8 contributions
My sister and I spent a week there just last week and we could not be happier. The unit is clean and beautiful, the views were amazing and the staff is friendly and helpful. The beds were comfortable and the kitchen was insanely well stocked with pots, pans and utensils which is important seeing how my sister is an executive chef who loves to cook even when on vacation. We already plan on returning next year but will stay two weeks because one week was just not enough time in such a great place.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
LAtravel1234 wrote a review Nov 2020
Los Angeles, California4 contributions4 helpful votes
I stayed here to get away and have a change of scenery while working from home. I booked a condo that had an office (the second bedroom had a murphy bed and a home office set-up). The condo I rented was clean and well stocked with supplies. The Publix grocery store is a 3 block walk. The beach was clean and very quiet at night. Pro Tip: Book one of the corner units. It allows for more sunlight and fantastic views. I also booked on the 6th floor; the unit was very quiet and I was able to enjoy watching the sunsets each evening while only hearing the sound of the ocean. I would return here again! I read some of the other reviews that indicated some condos have outdated furniture; I didn't have that issue. It is best to look at photos of the individual units before you book.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Corner units are sunny with great views
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Giorgi-rockstars wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The vacation condo is the cleanest and the best we have stayed in. We have been there twice this year and we love this place. The rooms are very accommodating , they have beach chairs and towels for the beach area and the beds are comfortable and have been updated ! If you need anything of the premises Steve the maintenance man and Joey in the office or Nayeli will accommodate you. They made our stay very welcomed ! We were leery about going non vacation during Covid-19 but this place is by far the cleanest and trustworthy ! The sunsets are so beautiful in the area and the beaches are so quiet and beautiful ! ❤🌊🦈🐠🦋
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: You can't get a bad room !
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Kathy F wrote a review Sep 2020
Waverly, Tennessee1 contribution
This was my first time ever to Florida, and I’m so glad we chose Smugglers Cove! The condo was clean and beautifully decorated with a beautiful view of the beautiful private beach. The grounds and pool were very well kept and attractive. The location is awesome, with plenty of privacy, yet close enough to shopping and dining. The staff was awesome and welcoming as well. The lady that gave us our parking passes was super nice and when I told her I was a Florida newbie, she seemed excited for me too! I will definitely be going back to Smugglers Cove!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
OneCraftyBeach wrote a review Sep 2020
22 contributions5 helpful votes
I LOVE everything about Smuggler's Cove ! The staff is so friendly . We had the pleasure of meeting all the office staff - Julie, Joey and Nayeli - they were all funny and helpful. They answered all of my questions from reservations all the way through our stay and departure. We didn't need maintenance because our unit and the grounds were meticulous - but we did meet the maintenance staff, Mike and Steve, and they were really nice and fun to chat with. The views - OMG !! The views of the gulf were perfect! The pool was immaculate and serviced everyday - even over the weekend. The condos are close enough to Time Square , shopping and the restaurants but far enough away so there were no crowds or noise. We loved how close we were to the Publix for groceries - because the condo had everything we needed in it but food ! I would not hesitate to recommend Smuggler's Cove Condos to anyone needing an affordable ,clean , family friendly place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: All the condos face the Gulf of Mexico - you really can't get a bad condo
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$228 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
smuggler`s cove condo hotel fort myers beach
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaSouthwest Gulf CoastFort Myers Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
84
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SMUGGLER'S COVE CONDO - Prices & Condominium Reviews (Fort Myers Beach, FL)

Frequently Asked Questions about Smuggler's Cove Condo
Which popular attractions are close to Smuggler's Cove Condo?
Nearby attractions include Mound House (1.1 miles), Lovers Key State Park (4.1 miles), and Trico Shrimp Co (2.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Smuggler's Cove Condo?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Smuggler's Cove Condo?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Smuggler's Cove Condo?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Smuggler's Cove Condo?
Conveniently located restaurants include Dixie Fish Co., Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Ft. Myers Beach, and Heidi's Island Bistro.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Smuggler's Cove Condo?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Smuggler's Cove Condo?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Sanibel Historical Museum and Village (9.8 miles) and Estero Historical Society (7.2 miles).