Sun Retreats Estero Bay

Sun Retreats Estero Bay

Pool and hot tub area
Traveler (23)
Pool and hot tub
Pool & Beach (6)
Family and Play Areas (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 10 campgrounds in Fort Myers
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
4.6
Value
4.7
Welcome and thank you for choosing Sun Retreats Estero Bay. It has long been called Southwest Florida's friendliest and most beautiful RV resort and is located in Fort Myers, Florida just minutes away from beautiful white sandy beaches and a plethora of area attractions. We were originally established in 1968 with only thirteen acres and has grown to over thirty acres with 300 campsites. One and two bedroom Park Model Rentals are available. These spacious rentals are available to annual guests. They are pet-friendly and come furnished with amenities that include a full private bathroom, air conditioning, flat screen TV, and Wifi access to keep you connected. The kitchen provides full appliances, coffee maker, toaster, cookware and dinnerware. There is also a screened-in lanai area with patio furniture so you can enjoy the Florida weather in comfort, plus a parking area for your convenience. Please call resort for reservations over 21 nights.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Outdoor pool
Hiking
Entertainment staff
Children's playground
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Outdoor furniture
Parking
Wifi
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Fishing
Patio
Picnic area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Private check-in / check-out
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Seating area
Sofa
Private bathrooms
Coffee / tea maker
Dishwasher
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Oven
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Price:20% Off Summer Weekends

Location

19551 S Tamiami Trl, Fort Myers, FL 33908-4829
69Reviews16Q+A6Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 49
  • 10
  • 6
  • 3
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
marc b wrote a review Mar 2023
8 contributions1 helpful vote
Property's Favorite Review
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very nice, and well maintained campground. Management and the entire staff are very friendly, and work hard to keep CG clean. Great location; Fort Myers has plenty of shopping, restaurants, and medical care.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MB SunRVResorts, Owner at Sun Retreats Estero Bay
Responded Mar 2, 2023
Thank you for sharing your review, Marc. So glad you had a great experience. We appreciate hearing from you!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bwest312 wrote a review Sep 2020
Chapel Hill, Tennessee96 contributions26 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I don't recall if I ever reviewed Woodsmoke since we left there at the end of March. Especially, with all the craziness that has taken place since then. My wife and I were lucky enough to land a site here after opting to be put on a waiting list. I think Woodsmoke called us about 3 weeks after doing so. Anyway, this place was beautifully set up and very clean. The roads and sites are paved. They have a nice size pool and hot tub, pavilion with many activities, and there are year round residents on the property too. It is really cool to walk around and look at how these residents have fixed up their modulars/manufactured, or double wide homes. Most are VERY nice. We really liked the home closest to the pool and entrance with all the plants and lighting. This resort was close to everything. Walmart is within walking distance. Restaurants of all flavors close by. Our favorite was the Bahama Breeze, which was only about 10 minutes to the north on 41. Most all the people we met at Woodsmoke were very friendly. The first day we arrived I had barely got my truck in reverse to back into our site when two gentleman appeared from neighboring sites to help me out. That was very appreciated! All in all we had a wonderful time while at Woodsmoke and hope to get back there soon. We highly recommend Woodsmoke Camping Resort. Oh, some of the reviews I read previous to going there mentioned the on site treatment facility and if the wind was just right you could smell the stink. Not an issue!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Woodsmoke Camping Resort, Owner at Sun Retreats Estero Bay
Responded Sep 8, 2020
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We hope you stay with us in the future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
funtimefamily12 wrote a review May 2022
Blakeslee, Pennsylvania888 contributions313 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our first time camping. We rented a pull threw which was very convenient. The staff was friendly. Laundry facility was great. They had a pool and shuffle board which we didn't have time to enjoy. We got a night free because we were staying over a week. My cousin and her husband were right next to us, which was great.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MB SunRVResorts, Owner at Sun Retreats Estero Bay
Responded May 16, 2022
Hello funtimefamily12, We appreciate your positive feedback about your experience. We take pride in serving our guests and hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andrew O wrote a review Mar 2015
60 contributions37 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Like so many people we too escaped the freakish cold that gripped much of the eastern United States these past few winter months. And to do so we chose to call “home” Woodsmoke Camping Resort in Ft. Myers, FL. Billed as “Southwest Florida's friendliest and most beautiful RV resort,” Woodsmoke is just minutes away from amazing white sandy beaches (Lover’s Key State Park, Ft. Myers Beach, Barefoot Beach, etc) and a plethora of area attractions. Established in 1968 with only thirteen acres the resort has grown to over thirty acres with 300 campsites and is run daily by the Wheeler family. From day one I gathered that they took pride in the family environment as well as their customer service and it is because of those and other reasons that I recommend them as a top destination for transient campers, snow birders, and full-timers, alike.

Just off US 41 (or Tamiami Trail) Woodsmoke is just a few miles from every modern convenience and shopping area you could hope for. To the South is Coconut Point, which is a rather large outdoor shopping area that features stores like American Eagle, Apple, Barnes & Noble, Bath and Body Works, Chico’s, GameStop, Lane Bryant, and Trek, as well as eateries like Five Guys, Starbucks, Panera Bread Co., Johnny Rockets, Olive Garden, TCBY, and more! Traveling North on US 41 there are ample gas stations like Valero, Shell, and Circle K, as well as grocery stores in the Publix chain, restaurants like Burger King, McDonalds, Beef O’Brady’s, Taco Viva, and many more. The campground is also just about two miles off I-75 so travel is a breeze to and from.

We first came upon Woodsmoke through a blog post written by a full-time family (6 kids!). They mentioned the location, the nostalgic feel of the park, and the daily temps. It made it a no brainer for us and as we looked online and saw the website were more than convinced it would be the place for our family of 3. We were right too.

With over 300 campsites there is a great mix of both full-time park models (all fairly new with attractive landscaping and clean facades), larger motorhomes/buses, mid-size travel trailers and fifth-wheels, pop-ups, and even a scattering of tents. Almost immediately after entering the park there is a heated, in-ground pool that does not reek of chlorine yet offers a clean environment with plenty of chairs, shower and toilet facilities, and a hot tub. We did find out though that an air of entitlement typically overshadows the pool. Our experience was that older patrons felt they “owned” the chairs and could reserve them all day with just a towel even if they were not at the facility. This was barred in writing by the campground but didn’t seem enforced at all. We also received a few dirty looks when we arrived at the pool as a family (which includes a 3.5 year old). For our tastes we preferred to go to the beach though so the pool was of little concern to us.

The grounds have three areas where you can find multiple washers and dryers ($1.75/wash load and $1.00/dry load), shower stalls (older style tile but with great nozzle head pressure), and private commode stalls (although they were not always as clean as one would hope!) There was never a wait for laundry though and the one time I did leave my clothes in the dyer too long I returned to find them neatly placed on the folding table. This was just one of the examples of kindness and consideration shown by 90% of the campers there.

The sites themselves are a mix of concrete pads and packed shell gravel. We stayed in site 405 which measured at 44’ deep by 38’ wide and off-level only by 3”. The odd thing – if I had to choose one – was that the utility post (30 amp and 50 amp as well as two 110 outlets) and the water spigot were at the front of the site, which made for a stretch to plug in. Not all sites are like this though. You can tell the campground has been added on to through the years and may even have had different planners at the time. The campground does boast a lot of natural landscaping (palms, pines, etc) which really gives a nice breeze throughout the day to offset the deep sun of SW Florida.

The roads in the park, while well-traveled by cars, trucks, bikes, and golf carts alike, are safe and speeds are enforced. We never felt our daughter was in any danger when we were taking walks and bike rides. And because of the size of the park walks are as vigorous as one would like.
For those who rely on the Internet, Woodsmoke is about as good and reliable as you could ask for. With a strong signal coming in and then disbursed throughout by 7 range extending antennas, we were always online and save streaming and severe uploading, were able to function just as we would if we had a private connection. Access is password-protected and passwords are assigned at check-in.

It probably goes without saying that we have already booked for next year. Is Woodsmoke expensive? Yes. Is it more expensive than anywhere else in the area? Absolutely not. Is it worth every penny? We think so!

• GPS Coordinates: Latitude : 26.457089699999997 | Longitude : -81.8239408
• Physical Address: 19551 US HWY 41 South | Fort Myers, FL 33908
• For Reservations: www.woodsmokecampingresort.com/reservations.php
• Phone Number for Information: 1-800-231-5053
• Rate as of April 1, 2015: 30/50-amp full hook-up with cable TV = $54/night.
• Weekly Rate: $354.00 (not including tax)
• Monthly Rate: Call for details
• Military Discounts: No
• Other Discounts: Call for details
• Site Pad Material: Concrete/Gravel
• Water: Yes, included with daily rate
• Electricity: Yes. Charged by KWh
• Sewer: Yes, included with daily rate
• Laundry: Yes
• Cable TV: Yes
• Wi-fi: Yes. PING = 28ms. DOWNLOAD = 17.42 Mbps. UPLOAD = 2.25 Mbps.
• Dump Station: Yes
• Propane: No
• Pull Throughs: Yes
• Back In: Yes
• Big Rig Friendly: Yes
• Pet Friendly: Yes
• Additional Amenities: Shuffleboard, Pool, Casting Lake, Nature Trail, Dog Walk
• Cellular Coverage: Strong Verizon 3G, 4G, LTE, Strong AT&T 3G, 4G, LTE, Low Quality Sprint 3G, 4G
Read more
Date of stay: January 2015
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rockrafter wrote a review Mar 2015
9 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We recently spent six days at Woodsmoke Camping Resort. We have been to the Ft. Myers area a few times before but this was our first time here. Check in staff were very personable and friendly. We had made reservations for a pull through full hook up site and were not disappointed. Our 32 ft travel trailer and tow vehicle fit perfectly on the roomy fully paved site. Everything was clean and well maintained, most especially the heated pool and hot tub. Everyone was nice and friendly and happy to share information on places to eat and area points of interest. I would recommend this campground to anyone visiting the Ft Myers area. If traveling during high season suggest you make reservations in advance.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2015Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jennifer L wrote a review Apr 2018
Lake Ozark, Missouri, United States3 contributions9 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
After seeing the pictures and reading all the reviews we were very excited about making Woodsmoke our winter home and intended to stay 3mos. The Park needs allot of work- when your section is referred to as the Ghetto area, you know there is an issue. In that area very small camping trailers are allowed along with tents etc., many are year around residents, The whole park is a mixture of some very nice park models, huge newer motor homes/5th wheels, mixed in with trailers from the 60s.and run down units. Trailers are jacked up on empty spaces within the park and not made to relocate to their storage area, The lady in charge of activities I do not believe, has any experience with putting together appropriate and ongoing entertainment for visiting guests, Many parks have constant activities to choose from throughout the week, If you don't care for line dancing and shuffleboard you are pretty much out of luck. The park is family owned so from what I was told any input with suggested upgrades or enforcement of rules goes no where, There is a large sewer drainage lake right in the middle of the park by their Tiki hut that you can smell the sewage when out on a walk or dancing in the evening, I can't imagine being assigned a camping site anywhere in that area, Bathrooms are quite dirty and there are not enough washing machines. Finally the park makes a point to stress how friendly everyone is. I would say SOME are and we met a few really nice, fun couples (you know you are) but overall I would say the park is very clicky and most people who have stayed there year after do not much care for the outsiders. We were anxious to get going when we did. The traffic in that area is also crazy, We are beach goers and you are at least 45 on a good day to any beach,
It is a shame as we felt the park was a diamond in the rough, needing better management, upgrading and so much more. We stayed at Sun Coast Emerald Beach Resort in Panama City Beach on the way home and what a difference, Beautiful park with large pads, beautiful manicured landscape, a section only for lovely park models, 2 lakes that were clean and shimmering unlike the ones at Woodsmoke, 2 pools, lovely updated clubhouse and many activities. People were so friendly we were laughing at the comparison. If a trailer resort could be referred to as "classy" that would qualify.
I guess it depends on what you are looking for, we were somewhat embarrassed to have our friends visit us in the park. Could have been allot nicer! Last but not least their so called Poo Prints Program is a joke! Yes they charge you to swab your dogs mouth $40 then if they find dog waste and have it tested and its matches "supposedly" your dog you pay $75.00. A second offense is $150.00. We were victim of this scheme and we talked to several others who were penalized. We were certain about how extremely careful we had been and voiced our complaint. You have no recourse as they say DNA does not lie?? Great extra money maker in my opinion. Even the nicer, upgraded parks do not use that so called system. They must be doing well as there are also an extreme amount of dogs in the park.
Not going back!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carol W, Owner at Sun Retreats Estero Bay
Responded Apr 18, 2018
Jennifer, We are sorry to hear you state that you did not enjoy your time at Woodsmoke. You are right; you were initially very excited to stay with us. In fact, we recall you emailed us a couple times letting us know how eager you were and you commented on our Facebook page saying you looked forward to joining in on our activities and eating our home cooked meals. You seemed to enjoy yourself at the beginning and everyone in the office remembers you fondly. You booked 3 months and received a 3 month rate, which is the most cost effective. You wanted to leave after 2 months which meant you would no longer get the 3 month rate— you would need to pay the 2 month rate. We know you were unhappy with this, but this is a standard policy in just about any organization or business (i.e. incentivizing the purchase of a higher quantity of something or a longer duration of stay). Moreover, more than once we had to pick up your dog poo and you were assessed a fine for these incidents— something we know made you upset. We can’t help but think that your negative review of the camp may actually be based on these issues, as your feedback amounts to a highly inaccurate assessment of the park and its management. However, though we believe that your frustration regarding our rates and fines has affected your judgment, nonetheless we would like to address the issues concerning the park which you have raised. Campsites: The section of the park where you stayed was the first section we built 50 years ago. As such, the sites are often smaller. However, we have 30+ campers who regularly request this area every year. We gave you a great deal on your site because you paid our “small site rate”. You are always welcome to book a larger site and pay a regular rate. However, we try to keep the small RV’s off of our larger sites. If we put a 26’ RV (such as yours) onto a site that accommodates a 45’ RV then we have to turn someone away that has an RV of that size (since they would be unable to fit on a smaller site). Logically, we attempt to book all guests on the most appropriately sized site. Activities: You expressed disappointment regarding the activities offered at the park. This is confusing because we have myriad options available each day/week at the park. In fact, many campers joke that they have to go back up north during the summer in order to rest because they were so busy with our activities. In case you missed our activities calendars or posts on Facebook, here is just a sampling of what we provide: Golf, Movement Therapy Class, Shuffleboard, Painting, Card Games (Euchre, Poker, Cribbage, Pokeno), Line Dancing, Water Aerobics, Ballroom/Swing Dance Class, Breakfast on Wednesdays, Dinner on Fridays, Bingo, Church Services, Bowling, Woodcarving, Bible Study, Choir, Stitching, Ladies’ Luncheon, State Parties, and Movie Nights. On top of that, we have entertainment every weekend (and 1-2 nights per week) as well as themed parties (i.e. Pirate Party, Mardi Gras, Valentines, Super Bowl, etc.). Sewer: We do have our own sewer plant and, being that it’s sewage, sometimes there is an odor. However, all of those sites are booked annually and are even requested year after year by campers that really enjoy that area. We could switch to a sewer system with the county, but this would result in a tremendous cost on our part which would be passed on to campers. Laundry and Restrooms: We have 3 laundry facilities with 11 washers. We feel this is adequate to service the needs of campers. Our bathrooms are regularly and thoroughly cleaned. We have an amazing custodial staff who take a lot of pride in their work. Campers: If you read our reviews on all the various sites, people often mention the friendly staff and campers. You are correct that it’s a common theme. That being said, we do not have people take a personality quiz when they book. If you ran into someone who woke up on the wrong side of the bed, we apologize but sadly that is not something we can prevent. Luckily, we believe such campers belong to a very small minority. We love our guests and we believe that our great relationship with them contributes to their desire to stay with us year after year (as well as the growing number on our waiting list). Traffic: In 2017 Forbes listed Fort Myers as the #1 fastest growing city in the country. We are 12 miles from Fort Myers Beach and Bonita Beach and 20 miles from Sanibel and Captiva Islands. The population in our area triples from summer to winter due to seasonal “snowbirds” which makes traffic back up and dinner reservations take longer. That is just something that goes along with visiting a top destination. Though no one likes traffic, people do love southwest Florida. We would imagine traffic is lighter in less desirable areas of the country. Management: You suggested that “being family owned means enforcement of rules goes no where”, but we find it odd that you also complained that we enforced our dog policy. By way of review, this is our pet policy: There is a one-time $40 dog registration fee, which includes a cheek swab. We are charged $40 by Poo Prints to register each pet. We could charge more in order to profit from it, but we do not. When we first started this service we were only charging $20 per dog which actually meant we were losing money. If poo is found on our property, we send it off to Poo Prints who tests it for DNA and tells us which dog it belongs to. We then fine the owner $75, the precise amount that Poo Prints charges us to run the DNA test. We increase our fine to $150 for the second offense in order to discourage repeat offenders. We don’t take any pleasure in fining campers, but we feel everyone appreciates a clean park. As far as the accuracy of Poo Prints DNA testing, it’s 1 in 60 sextillion that we have identified the correct dog. Here is a link that provides more information on the science behind their testing http://pooprints.com There are 3 companies similar to Poo Prints who are also doing dog DNA. Poo Prints is in 3,000 communities in America and overseas. We have other campgrounds calling us all the time asking about the program. We believe we were very forward-thinking in our adoption of their service and that it will only be a matter of time before virtually every other park utilizes it. We started the program 2 years ago and it’s one of the best things we’ve ever done. We have 300 dogs in the park at the height of season. As you might imagine, before Poo Prints we had far worse issues with dog waste. One alternative parks are considering is not allowing dogs at all, but that’s not something Woodsmoke is interested in. We have chosen this option instead. We love dogs and simply ask their owners to be responsible in cleaning up after them. Nearly all of our campers are very happy with the way we handled the situation and are thankful for such a clean park. Woodsmoke is very proud to be family owned. As you may know we celebrated our 50th anniversary this year! 50 years later and we have a lovely community with a waiting list of 300+ people eager to join us. We believe we must be doing something right. We apologize that you did not have the positive experience that the overwhelming majority of our campers have enjoyed for over 5 decades.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
familyfun05 wrote a review Dec 2014
Lakeland, Florida33 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I stayed here three nights. The staff was so nice. The facilities are well kept. A very quiet park. The pool is clean and warm year round. We would highly recommend this parK to families or seniors. Dogs are also welcome.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bevsway1 wrote a review Sep 2015
Jacksonville, Florida4 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Undoubtedly one of the most peaceful spots we have stayed at. Got a beautiful concrete spot right on the water. Wife had a blast feeding the fish and turtles. Grounds were kept nice, clean and trimmed. Staff was super friendly and accommodating. Spot 500 was 50 ft from bathroom/shower house.. which unfortunately was not air conditioned, but kept clean and stocked. About as pet friendly as they come with nature trails and pet waste receptacles and baggies along the path. Pool and hot tub worked perfectly and was clean well maintained. I would highly recommend this site to anyone that wants to just unwind, and get away for a few days. Full hookups include 20/30/50 amp electric, water, sewer and wi-fi. Check them out if your even in need of a spot south of Fort Myers and North of Naples, FL.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: few water view spots available, but tight access for larger rv's, Pull thru spots are very...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
naysmitj1 wrote a review Mar 2015
Toronto, Canada47 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just wrapping up a week at this great RV park. Very nice friendly park to stay in overnight or for the winter. The staff was exceptionally friendly and all the facilities were kept in good shape. There are lots of activities and everyone staying at the campsite were very friendly.
Highly recommended for a great experience but book early as they tend to fill up fast.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2015Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
tahoe57 wrote a review Nov 2018
Orchard Lake, Michigan2 contributions8 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at Woodsmoke November 2017 and were very disappointed!! We were suppose to stay 2 months and left early! The park needs some serious updating!! There are several very old trailers that are run down and look as if no one has been living in them for quite some time! Some residents take pride in their lots and others it looks as if the tchotchke yard fairy took over!! Not impressed and we will not be returning! Money definitely needs to be spent on updating.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Patrick L asked a question Apr 2020
Ft. Lauderdale3 contributions2 helpful votes
Are campfires allowed?
Answer from Woodsmoke C
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Hello, No, the $40 fee is if you stay 2+ nights, not 1 night. Thanks, Hope
Libby A asked a question Apr 2018
Columbus, Indiana44 contributions29 helpful votes
Is resort dog friendly?
Answer from Carol and Jo Ellen
Fort Myers, Florida6 contributions
Very dog-friendly. You do have to register your dog's DNA but only once. If you stayed at this great campground yearly the way we do, you would appreciate the poop-free grounds. The Poop Patrol became necessary because of the irresponsibility of some campers. Many folks come every year with their pets.
Answer from Karen B
Fort Myers, Florida14 contributions3 helpful votes
I am not the owner of the campground. We stay there in the winters. You would need to call the office. They usually are booked up pretty far out. Would depend on the size of your unit as to whether they might have something
Diane L asked a question Jun 2017
Jacksonville, Florida20 contributions5 helpful votes
Are tents allowed?
Answer from CherylAnnRDN
Panama City Beach, Florida596 contributions150 helpful votes
I am not sure.
binghamcamps . wrote a tip Jul 2017
Asheville, North Carolina10 contributions14 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for pull thru site in middle of park"
Read full review
CherylAnnRDN wrote a tip Mar 2017
Panama City Beach, Florida596 contributions150 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We were assigned to 600 area; please use walk paths to walk the grounds and attend some night time fun and meet your neighbors!!"
Read full review
golf1278 wrote a tip Feb 2017
Eastern Ohio34 contributions42 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Big rigs are provided pull-through sites."
Read full review
Janice Roberts W wrote a tip Dec 2016
Pinehurst, North Carolina104 contributions44 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"These are RV sites, mostly pull thru's so no problems, they have a pool and other facilities I did not have time to use."
Read full review
CowgirlKathi wrote a tip Nov 2016
Arizona79 contributions32 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If traffic noise bothers you, be sure to ask for a site away from Rt. 41."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Fort Myers area.
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Woodsmoke Camping Resort
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaSouthwest Gulf CoastFort Myers
NUMBER OF ROOMS
285
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SUN RETREATS ESTERO BAY

Frequently Asked Questions about Sun Retreats Estero Bay
What are some of the property amenities at Sun Retreats Estero Bay?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and an outdoor pool.
Which room amenities are available at Sun Retreats Estero Bay?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a dishwasher, and an oven.
Is parking available at Sun Retreats Estero Bay?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sun Retreats Estero Bay?
Conveniently located restaurants include FK your Diet, Rusty's Raw Bar and Grill - Estero, and Matt's Red Hots.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sun Retreats Estero Bay?
Yes, guests have access to an outdoor pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Sun Retreats Estero Bay?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Estero Historical Society (2.5 miles).
All Fort Myers HotelsFort Myers Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Fort MyersHotels near Sun Retreats Estero Bay
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars