We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Edison at Midtown

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Edison at Midtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

287 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 264: English reviews
Start your review of Edison at Midtown
 Click to rate
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very disappointed. Hotel Tonight rated this hotel Solid. It was definitely not solid. The rooms were not clean--the first they gave us smelled so strongly of cigarette smoke (despite being a nonsmoking room) we asked to be moved; the second had something disgusting on the bathroom wall and bathtub. Wifi was basically nonfunctioning and the workout room was the size...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Faith M
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was double charged by this hotel after paying through Orbitz. I called the hotel immediately upon noticing my double-charge, which amounts to nearly $200, and I was told that the charges would be reversed. Now, it's over 3 weeks after my stay, and the charges have not been reversed. I have called over 10 times, talked to at least...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Erin S S
Jassas_Mgmt, General Manager at Edison at Midtown, responded to this review

Good afternoon thank you for taking the time out to review the property. I did take a look and it looks as though Mary Jane was able to assist your billing. We do have a $250 smoking fee in place at the property as we are 100% smoking free. Please let me know if you still need further assistance! I...

NORTHPORT
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is pretty clean and decent and has a very friendly staff. The in c lured breakfast was as expected for a free breakfast. There are a number of chain restaurants nearby. We WERE SHOCKED however when our ROOM WAS NOT MADE UP and the manager dared to say it was our responsibility to hang the tag on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BRUCE A
Jassas_Mgmt, General Manager at Edison at Midtown, responded to this review

Thank you Bruce for taking time to review the Edison. Thank you for saying that the hotel and staff were friendly that is what we strive for. We appreciate all feedback to keep improving the property. I will have a talk with our housekeeping service regarding your complaint. We always want to ensure our guests are well taken care of.

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night on business. Rooms are basic with tea/coffee making facilities..microwave oven and fridge too. Beds are queen size and really comfortable. Gym and pool...didnt use pool but looked fine...plenty of people out there. Shower gel and shampoo provided....room was a little tired looking,table a little worn and tv unit too...but clean enough and should not be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MBefc2005
Jassas_Mgmt, General Manager at Edison at Midtown, responded to this review

Thank you Mark for the review on the property, we are constantly working on our property and appreciate your honesty. As we become a Holiday Inn our restaurant will be able to provide more meal options. We hope that you will choose our hotel next time you are in Fort Myers, take care!

Columbus OH
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed one night. Staff was friendly and helpful, room was clean and comfortable. I don't understand the reviews that it's a bad area, it's not, standard area for a hotel that's not right downtown. It's a short drive to Edison Ford estates and downtown riverfront. Breakfast was fine when we were there, bagels, danish, muffins, yogurt, cereal, fruit and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mebohio
Jassas_Mgmt, General Manager at Edison at Midtown, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so happy to hear that our staff was friendly and helpful during your stay. We hope to see you again in your future travels to Fort Myers!

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The room was just average, the a/c unit made some weird noises which made it difficult to sleep. There is no bar/restaurants on site. We did like that we were close to the ford edison winter estates and close to downtown. You're not close enough to walk places so plan on driving or getting an uber

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelingwoman42
Jassas_Mgmt, General Manager at Edison at Midtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, all feedback is great as we continue to improve on our hotel. We will have our restaurant/bar open soon as we transition into a Holiday Inn, we are looking forward to being able to offer more on property! We hope you will return when you travel to Fort Myers.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We got a Groupon Deal on this property. For the price, it was OK. The rooms were clean and beds were fairly comfortable. Fletcher was an EXCELLENT shuttle driver - we were laughing every time we were in the van with him (get that man a shuttle upgrade! The back door didn't open from the inside) Pros: - Close to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
Jassas_Mgmt, General Manager at Edison at Midtown, responded to this review

Thank you Sarah for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. I am happy to hear that Fletcher made sure your shuttle rides were entertaining. He is a vital part of our team! We are working to make our Wi-Fi signal stronger as we install new points of access throughout the hotel. Also, as we transition into...

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed January 19, 2017

This is a former Holiday Inn, Can still see the signs.. Unfortunately I guess with re-branding, breakfast is very poor. I guess, since it is free, I should not complain. However, breakfast was suppose to go till 10 am, but at 9:15 all I could fine was a couple of pieces of white bread and a couple of creamers. Not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nostalgia212
Jassas_Mgmt, Manager at Edison at Midtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel Nostalgia212. We are in a transition to become a Holiday Inn again and we will be growing our breakfast selection as we continue opening with the rebrand. I'm apologize you did not get much for breakfast at the property I know we have had some large groups in house. Perhaps...

Cary, North Carolina
Reviewed January 16, 2017 via mobile

We had mixed feelings about our four nights here. The room was clean and comfortable, with a fridge and microwave. The location is close to the Edison-Ford estates and to the vibrant river district downtown. There is much room for improvement on breakfasts. We had the same eggs and link sausage every day. I like both, but some variety would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
Jassas_Mgmt, Manager at Edison at Midtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to write a review Joe H. We are in a transition phase as we continue to renovate and reopen the hotel. The restaurant and bar should be completely opened in a month or so and we will be able to have a larger selection for our guests. I am happy to hear you enjoyed...

Bonita Springs, Florida
Reviewed January 2, 2017 via mobile

We had a family member in the hospital a block away. This vote has a special rate for immediate family members visiting at the hospital. In addition they are very pet friendly. Best of all, every staff member we encountered was superb and sympathetic to our reason for visiting. Very clean, some construction for improvements go no on at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WolfSoldier
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

73 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Myers
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Fort Myers River District
0.7 mi away
Legacy Harbour Hotel & Suites
Legacy Harbour Hotel & Suites
#27 of 58 in Fort Myers
150 reviews
2.9 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay of Fort Myers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Fort Myers Waterfront
BEST WESTERN Fort Myers Waterfro...
#1 of 4 in North Fort Myers
743 reviews
2.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Fort Myers
Red Roof Inn Fort Myers
#38 of 58 in Fort Myers
158 reviews
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Fort Myers Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to The Edison at Midtown. You will know we are a step above the rest as soon as you walk into our large, recently renovated, contemporary style lobby. Soon you will be greeted by an outstanding front desk agent solely concerned with your satisfaction. After checking in, enjoy our large comfortable rooms. With high-speed wireless Internet access in public areas, meeting space, and guest rooms, you can catch up on work any where you would like even while relaxing by our tropical pool. The Edison at Midtown is located in Historic Fort Myers near the River District and is within walking distance of local businesses, dining, shopping, and entertainment. The Edison at Midtown Fort Myers Hotel is just minutes from I-75 and approximately 20 minutes from the Southwest International Airport (RSW) so you can be to your home away from home in no time! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Edison at Midtown

Address: 2431 Cleveland Ave, Fort Myers, FL 33901-4904 (Formerly Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic)
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Price Range: $108 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Edison at Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Edison at Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic Hotel Fort Myers
Fort Myers Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Fort Myers
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Edison at Midtown staff and other travelers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Edison at Midtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Second floor king room”
 of 5 bubbles soldbyjessica, Dec 21, 2016 | Read review
“I was on the second floor, nice and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles PowDeb, Dec 6, 2016 | Read review
2 of 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question