We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway

Traveler (93)
Room & Suite (258)
Videos (1)


#20 of 60 hotels in Fort Myers
Discover all that Fort Myers and Sanibel Island has to offer at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers-Sanibel Gateway Hotel. The hotel is ideal for relocation apartment style living without the hassles of long term leases. Our condominium style hotel suites offer all of the amenities you will need for a weekend Ft. Myers or Sanibel Island Beach getaway or long-term lease.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Banquet room
Convenience store
Free internet
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Air conditioning
Flatscreen TV
Show more
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:Save More on Your Rate
Hotel deals
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 422
  • 222
  • 70
  • 40
  • 40
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Absolutely not the location I thought or would of liked but the place is kinda good. Wonderful front desk girls, its quiet and is close to everywhere if you have a car. Pool needs more chairs and there are some characters who hang around out there and bbq kinda harmless but maybe they should get rid of them and make it more family friendly.
Read more
Response from GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway
Responded 1 week ago
Dear David, Thank you for your recent visit! Although our location did not quite match your expectations, we're happy that there were a number of positives from your stay. Our friendly front desk team was happy to serve! Thank you for noting several opportunities to improve as well. We are always open to learning, and we look forward to impressing you in the future. Please consider staying with us again!
Read more
Upon check in, the front desk clerk solved a booking problem in order to give us the double room we had prepaid for. The lamp in our room wouldn’t come on, so I took the two bulbs to the front desk to get two new ones. The lady said she would bring bulbs in a few minutes. She came, plugged them in, and nothing happened. Come to find out, the lamp was unplugged! I felt really dumb, but she acted like it was no big deal. Another time, my husband fell in our room due to a Parkinson’s balance problem. I couldn’t help him up alone, so I called the front desk, and the clerk came right away to help. The next day I asked to borrow a wheelchair, but the hotel didn’t have one. So another employee helped me walk my husband to our room. In every case, the hotel’s employees kindly and willingly went out of their way to solve every problem I had, including needing two bandaids. That’s service To Infinity and Beyond in my book!
Read more
Response from GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Jean, We were so happy to help you feel right at home here at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway! Thank you for the wonderful and thoughtful review of our team members. Making a positive difference is what we do best! We will pass along your commendations to the team, and we really look forward to the opportunity to serve you again. Come back soon!
Read more
You get what you pay for. This place is a true dump. A third rate facility. I traveled 40 years, 43 weeks a year and six additional weeks in the Orient. Additionally stayed in hotels all over the world. This place wins the award for the worst dump I ever stayed in. Firstly, it is located somewhere off the beaten path in Fort Myers. Got to the room and it was a disaster. The windows were open and the room had an odor. A drawer was missing from the kitchen cabinet and the pots and pans were on the stove top. The plumbing fixtures in the bathroom were loose from under the sink. There was very little water pressure and it took forever to get hot water. No cups in the bathroom. No soup spoons but only to very small tea spoons. Only one elevator worked. I can keep going on. If there was a zero rating I would rate so. The man manager could care less. When I complained to him he had no reaction. This place should be condemned by the city. I will not ever return and urge people to keep away from this disaster. Rating... terrible.
Read more
Response from GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway
Responded May 16, 2019
We're disheartened to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and we apologize that our team did not appear responsive to your concerns. It is always our goal to help guests have a pleasant experience, and your feedback will help us improve. We know that we can do better and we hope that you will consider giving us another chance to provide you with the exceptional stay that you were expecting and that you deserve.
Read more
We stayed here for 5 days on vacation as we wanted to visit several places in the area. Getting to and from here was very convenient. And it is in a nice quiet area. We even saw 2 bald eagles on light posts at the school next door on occasion! The room was a bit strange though, as it seemed kind of 3/4ths done. The bed was quite uncomfortable, with no dust ruffle and very basic acoutrements. The room itself was a nice size with a full kitchen. But there was just 1 of 3 different types of glasses, and a shortage of other items you'd expect. The front staff were so nice, and very helpful! And the Lending Locker was a very nice touch.
Read more
Response from GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway
Responded Apr 24, 2019
It is fantastic that our location was perfect for your adventures here in Fort Myers! We're so excited that you had the chance to sight some bald eagles! However, we sincerely apologize for any discomfort caused by our bed and for the shortage of amenities in your kitchen. Our team will use your feedback to improve! Thank you so much for your positive and constructive insight, and we look forward to making your next stay even better!
Read more
The room was clean and quiet. The bathroom was clean and organized. The bed was super comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay there again. I've stayed at a lot of hotels and this by far was the most comfortable.
Read more
Response from GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway
Responded Apr 24, 2019
Dear Joe, Offering a clean and quiet getaway is what we do best at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway! We are so happy our room met your needs, and our team will be over the moon to hear that you would stay with us again; this is the greatest compliment you could give us! All the best and we look forward to connecting again soon!
Read more
$68 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
candlewood suites fort myers sanibel / gateway hotel fort myers
United StatesFloridaSouthwest Gulf CoastFort Myers
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing