We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Universal Palms Hotel

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Universal Palms Hotel
Universal Palms Hotel
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,194 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 967: English reviews
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

This hotel is located right near a train crossing. Most of the night the trains whistle by quite often. This obviously is a nuisance to say the least. The decor of the hotel is a weird mix since you have statues at the entrance to the parking lot, a chef's statue at the check in, a cabana style parking lot... More 

Helpful?
Thank Santy C
PPappasGM, General Manager at Universal Palms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip advisor. We are truly sorry to see that your stay at our hotel has not met your expectations. It is not in our habits to offer a room the state that you have described. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences this may have caused you during your stay.... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel is a bad deal. If you book the lowest fare, forget about sleeping. You get woken up the train every 30 minutes in the night. Bed matress are as cheap as they come. Rooms are not very clean and to top it off, my bath tub was clogged and filled with brown water so i could not take... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andres L
PPappasGM, General Manager at Universal Palms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are really disappointed to see that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. To start, it is true that there is a train running behind the hotel. Some of our guests do not mind the noise, others find it more disturbing. We apologize for... More 

Travelers are raving about these Fort Lauderdale hotels

Boston, MA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a 2-star hotel/motel in an area convenient to the highway with a few fast food restaurants and gas stations. Waffle House, a cheap oasis is right in the next parking lot. The lobby is large with a great professional staff. The pool area is just fine with plenty of shade. Tropical birds and water fountains makes the pool... More 

Helpful?
Thank dodib66
PPappasGM, General Manager at Universal Palms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. It pleases us to know that you received a courteous and professional service from our team. Moreover, we are happy to see that you had a great time in our pool area! Thank you for... More 

Bridgetown, Barbados
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The service was excellent, one thing missing was a refrigerator in our room. We sure will recommend this hotel to others. Great place to stay. The view was great. The location has one problem that is the train track with in close proximity. It woke us up too early on mornings. Washing area was perfectly located from our room. surroundings... More 

Helpful?
Thank ione20162016
PPappasGM, General Manager at Universal Palms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your satisfaction about your last stay at our hotel. We are truly happy to see that you fully enjoyed your experience with us! It is true that there is a train running behind the hotel. Some of our guests do not mind the noise, others find it more... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First of all, those beautiful pictures are extremely deceiving!! This hotel is FILTHY and if I could give it a minus 10 I would!!! Inside the rooms and outside the rooms were just filthy!! There was trash alllll over the place outside which remained there throughout our whole stay. The furniture in the room was so dirty it made no... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alisha R
PPappasGM, General Manager at Universal Palms Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to know that our hotel has not met your expectations. We take our customers’ opinions very seriously as they help us identify what we have done right and what we could improve. We truly value our customers’ satisfaction. Therefore, if you have a few minutes, please call me at 954-520-0990 to discuss your experience. We apologize for... More 

New York City, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Last minute trip! I arrived at 3:00am The night front desk staff was very nice (Merice) He gave me a free upgrade and gave me a quiet room maybe because I came alone. The first night My room was humid so I asked for another room which was changed to a cooler room still with the nice upgrade. I paid... More 

Helpful?
Thank YoungSmartBeauty
PPappasGM, General Manager at Universal Palms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We are truly happy to see that you fully enjoyed your stay at our hotel. It also pleases us to know that your second room has met your expectations and to see that our team has done all they could to fix the issue rapidly.... More 

Alliance, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice place to stay. Rooms clean and the staff very friendly. Reasonably priced for the area. The train can be a little annoying but after 1st day became used to it. Would have gave a 5 if refrigerators were available and some kind of continental breakfast. Would definitely stay again if in the area.

Helpful?
1 Thank Faith M
PPappasGM, General Manager at Universal Palms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are truly happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us! It is always great to have positive feedback from our guests! It delights us to know that your room has met your expectation and that you received a courteous and professional service... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is the worst hotel I ever stayed in. Lifts are not working and we have to go to the 4th floor in staircase. Requested houskeeping three time during three days and no one showed up. I had to clean trash and the room. rooms are old and no maintenance at all. DO NOT BOOK IN THIS PLACE

Helpful?
Thank Alif M
PPappasGM, General Manager at Universal Palms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are truly disappointed to see that our hotel did not meet your expectations. It is not in our habits to offer that kind of experience. We apologize for the inconveniences you met during your stay. Let us assure you that we take every customer’s comments very... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First night, room had no cold water, ac unit burnt up during night at 3 am, it smelled like an electrical fire, and the unit got very hot. We were moved to another room by 3:30am. This room (second night) had no hot water, next morning after no sleep, bathroom was flooded. Apparently after maintenance came by they determined it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
PPappasGM, General Manager at Universal Palms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are really disappointed to see that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. First of all, since we truly have our customers’ satisfaction to heart, let us assure you that we take comments really seriously as they help us to know what we do... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had an excellent stay. We checked in around 12:30a and were met by Merice, who was a delight! Very friendly, for it being so late. The AC was super cold, which I love!! And although the beds were creaky, we slept great! The only reason I gave it 4 stars was because our room had no hot water (it's... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mel R
TommyBernier1, General Manager at Universal Palms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and to know that the quality of your bed has met your expectations. We truly apologize for the hot water issue and the play pen. In this situation, do not hesitate to advise the front desk... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

647 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (346)
Viewed
Room/Suite (72)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (49)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (143)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (251)
Viewed
Amenities (22)
Viewed
Executive Suite (46)
Viewed
Pool (36)
Viewed
Pool Side Deluxe Two Room Suite (38)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)
Viewed
Traditional City View Room (29)
Viewed
Traditional Room King Size with Pool View (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
7.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport Port Everglades Cruise Port
Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauder...
#58 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 stars 584 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ramada Fort Lauderdale Oakland Park
Ramada Fort Lauderdale Oakland P...
#59 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 stars 576 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ft. Lauderdale I-95 Inn
BEST WESTERN Ft. Lauderdale I-95...
#73 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Royal Beach Palace
Royal Beach Palace
#64 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 stars 321 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#77 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
4.0 mi away
Clarion Inn Fort Lauderdale
Clarion Inn Fort Lauderdale
#75 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Universal Palms Hotel is one block from Lockhart Stadium in the Cypress Creek business district, 11 miles from Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport, and 4 miles from the beach. Adjacent to Interstate 95, the hotel is four miles east of Florida's Turnpike and Lauderdale-by-the-Sea, nine miles from downtown Fort Lauderdale (Las Olas Boulevard), 10 miles from Port Everglades and Coconut Creek Casino, 13 miles from Sawgrass Mills, and 24 miles from Sawgrass Recreation Park (Everglades). Hotel amenities include the sundeck and pool, garden courtyard and exercise room. The hotel also offers free parking, Wi-Fi access in lobby and pool areas, and one of the largest pools in Ft. Lauderdale. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Universal Palms Hotel

Address: 4900 Powerline Road, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33309
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $60 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Universal Palms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Universal Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Palacio Fort Lauderdale
Hotel El Palacio
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#38 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay