We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Econo Lodge

Hotel website
Hotel deals
553 NE First Ave., Florida City, FL 33034
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Econo Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

100 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 86: English reviews
halifax
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016

When I walked in the front door, the musty smell hit me right away. The carpets were dirty, the hotel was old and run down. Staff were not rude by any means but not overly friendly either. As I was walking up the stairs (no elevator), I kind of tip toed and was afraid of what I might find in... More 

Helpful?
Thank pinky26
MatthewFDM, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback. We are sorry that your stay was not everything you had hoped it would be. The good news is that the experience is not indicative of our property's general reputation. We hope you will give us another opportunity in the future. As always, we will take your concerns into account and... More 

Independence, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2016

We booked this last minute, after discovering the Floridian was gross. Despite it being in the middle of a torrential downpour, the process was smooth and quick. Clean, basic rooms, good breakfast, and a clean little pool were just what we needed. The only downside was the mosquitoes, but I can't blame that on the hotel. All staff we encountered... More 

Helpful?
Thank jessiejeanette
GMMatthew, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again real soon! thank you More 

Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2016

We were very pleased with our two night stay at this hotel. The room was super clean, bed very comfortable and had everything we needed. The wifi was a little touchy, but we were able to use it for what we needed to do. The staff was welcoming and repeatedly stressed to let them know if we had any problems... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ann W
GMMatthew, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share this five star experience with our management, staff, and future guests.Our primary aim is to give you a comfortable and accommodating experience, and we are very pleased to hear of our success in this ambition.We are so glad that your stay was enjoyable and we look forward to seeing you again . More 

Maine
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2016

Accidentally booked a smoking room and they were very helpful in allowing me to change to a non smoking room. Rooms were very clean and didn't smell of smoke. The hallway at times had an odor but not in the room. Breakfast well, not a lot to choose from. But were able to get enough to hold us till lunch.... More 

Helpful?
Thank John K
GMMatthew, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Our primary aim is to give you a comfortable and accommodating experience, and we are very pleased to hear of our success in this ambition.We are so glad that your stay was enjoyable and we look forward to seeing you again More 

Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2016

An average hotel with welcoming staff at front desk.broom was clean and adequately furnished. Beds were fine and a reasonably healthy breakfast was available. The hotel,wax quiet and answered our needs well for a price that was slightly high in our view.

Helpful?
Thank Scarmar
GMMatthew, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how you enjoyed your stay with us! It is heartwarming to hear of how our efforts to impress you with our hospitality, comfort and convenience have been successful. We are excited to share this review with our staff who will be pleased to hear of the outcome of their efforts... More 

District of Columbia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2016

The girl who checked us in was very friendly and told us about all the tourist spots..since we were visiting family, this was great suggestions. The room was clean and next day I saw the cleaning ppl vacuum under furniture...which made me want to sty longer here while my family and i went to check out the places that were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ralph a
GMMatthew, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

It means a lot to us that you've taken the time to share this positive experience at our hotel. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the accommodations and service to be satisfactory. We look forward to serving you again in the future! More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2016 via mobile

This was a last minute stay, the room was in need of many maintenance work! The light in the bathroom wasn't working properly, loose electric plugs e.t.c the only good thing was that the bathroom was pretty clean. I Wouldn't consider staying here again.

Helpful?
Thank John c
GMMatthew, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, as it's always helpful. We strive to make this a great experience for our guests. Our maintenance staff is already in the process of checking all of the fixtures and lights for the property. We hope you consider us again in the future. More 

Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2016

It was dirty on the counters. Like hair and all on the ground and counter stuff. The place reeked of smoke or some weird incense sickly sweet smell which kept me from falling asleep soundly (I think I would've disregarded everything else if it wasn't for the smell). Things fell apart. The staff had a hard time understanding others. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank CriticGalTraveler
GMMatthew, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear that your most recent stay with us did not meet your expectations of quality service, accommodations and hospitality. We sincerely apologize for the problems that you encountered with housekeeping and maintenance. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience... More 

Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2015 via mobile

Looked for a nice place to stay while visiting family. It fit the bill. The hotel was clean..I saw the maids pick up furniture to vacuum! It was safe as there was only one way out through the front lobby. I ended up staying longer because of what you get for the price.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jasper K
GMMatthew, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

I am so happy to learn that you enjoyed our hospitality, service and accommodations. It is wonderful to hear of the great impression we made with our amenities and services. We are all looking forward to your next visit and hope it will be just as enjoyable. More 

Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
194 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

Operated by and Indian family, as are many low priced hotels. Location and price are great for diving off Largo. But every thing is worn, tired, and battered. It is evident that the hotel owner is working with on older property and a minimal budget, but trying hard to make it as best as he can.

Helpful?
Thank Ed B
GMMatthew, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear that your most recent stay with us did not meet your expectations of quality service, accommodations and hospitality. We sincerely apologize for the problems that you encountered during your visit This issue is being addressed with our staff and management. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and to bring this matter to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florida City
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 12 in Florida City
4.5 of 5 stars 636 reviews
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Florida City/Homestead
Super 8 Florida City/Homestead
#6 of 12 in Florida City
4.0 of 5 stars 786 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Florida City
0.4 mi away
Ramada Florida City
Ramada Florida City
#9 of 12 in Florida City
3.0 of 5 stars 692 reviews
1.8 mi away
Floridian Hotel
Floridian Hotel
#3 of 17 in Homestead
3.5 of 5 stars 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This property is conveniently located in Florida City, FL. It offers a tremendous value considering it is only 20 miles from Key Largo and is easily accessible from the interstate. We are the ONLY INDOOR hotel in our segment, locally. The hotel strives to consistently offer a great experience for their guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 553 NE First Ave., Florida City, FL 33034
Location: United States > Florida > Florida City
Price Range: $55 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Choice Hotels so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Florida City
Econolodge Florida City
Econo Lodge Florida City
Florida City Econo Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay