We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Sterling Sands Condominiums

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sterling Sands Condominiums
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

119 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 119: English reviews
Big Stone Gap, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in room 812. Although it wasnt as clean as I had hoped, it was ok for the price. The had a really nice pool and hot tub and the location was great. The bedrooms were very small so I would recommend the deluxe instead of the regular. Overall we were happy with our stay here at Sterling Sands

Helpful?
Thank volsluvr2001
Sonya C, Manager at Sterling Sands Condominiums, responded to this review

We're happy that you enjoyed the property, but sad that we were not aware of your housekeeping concerns so that we could remedy them. Thank you for your review. We do hope you'll be back. Sonya Cronin, GM 850-837-9444 More 

Atlanta, Ga.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We just got back from our stay in unit 310 and it was great! Great location , close to restaurants and go cart track. Good craft beer shop and our new favorite place Panini Petes! Newly decorated with a contemporary ocean/ fish theme this is a great place for a quick get away with a couple of kids. Very clean,... More 

Helpful?
Thank shooz458
Sonya C, General Manager at Sterling Sands Condominiums, responded to this review

We're glad your enjoyed your vacation. Panini Pete's is great and very close to our property-we welcome them. Please come back to see us. Sonya More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2016

They wouldn't allow a canopy on the beach. We have a 7 month old so we brought it to keep her well shaded. They just want to make even more money from the beach chair and umbrella rentals. Wifi connection was horrible, kept disconnecting, useless.

Helpful?
2 Thank 30Lee30
Sonya C, General Manager at Sterling Sands Condominiums, responded to this review

I hope the housekeeping issues were brought to our attention so we could get the team involved to fix it? The wifi is a free service and connectivity has much to do with how many devices are online, service provider of the guest vs. best signal for this location. We've had no wifi issues other than a few folks who... More 

San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016 via mobile

This place was wonderful! Right on the beach, all rooms have ocean views. Clean, fully equipped kitchen, roomy. They offer free DVD rentals for guest. Had a wonderful time. Can't wait to go back next summer!

Helpful?
Thank AmandaG732
Sonya C, General Manager at Sterling Sands Condominiums, responded to this review

Amanda, Thanks so much for your review. The entire staff works very hard for this sort of guest comments. We cannot wait for you to return. Cheers, Sonya Cronin, GM Sterling Sands More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016 via mobile

While the condo 206 was clean we continually had issues with master bath toilet. Each day a maintenance man came to snake it and each day assured it was ok. At one point pulled out a sandwich bag and seemed to accuse us of putting it in there. We were on vacation not a picnic lunch. We had no sandwich... More 

Helpful?
Thank MVarnum
Sonya C, General Manager at Sterling Sands Condominiums, responded to this review

We are truly sorry for your experience. Plumbing can be tricky since all of the lines connect to units above or below. It may have cleared and then later, after use the problem returned. Unfortunately, we do not manage the pool activity so I cannot answer to that. Sorry. Very few owners include the beach service set ups to their... More 

Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2016

I have been going to Destin for more than 40 years and this was our first stay at Sterling Sands where we rented condo #813. The staff at the front desk were friendly and helpful. The property was well maintained, our condo way beautiful with a spectacular view, and the pool was large and well secured. The fitness center was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter T
Sonya C, General Manager at Sterling Sands Condominiums, responded to this review

Wonderful memories made. Thank you for sharing your experience. We appreciate your business, review of our property and surrounding attractions and do hope you'll return soon. Sonya Cronin, GM Sterling Sands More 

Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2016

We have stayed at Sterling Sands for about 16 years. Many of the rooms are outdated but stayed in 805 which is just ok - that is if the elevator works. Sonia at the front desk has been unprofessional and needs an attitude adjustment. She has been there for years but management allows her to stay despite the attitude. Prices... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank LoveDestin2016
Sonya C, General Manager at Sterling Sands Condominiums, responded to this review

Since little information was given, we have less to work from to assist you on this review. Wifi anywhere you access it is suspect to hackers, the condos cannot be responsible for that. We are sad to hear you didn't enjoy this trip but sounds you had 15 years worth of other wonderful visits and memories. We hope you'll come... More 

Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2016 via mobile

This is an oceanfront condo complex with units ranging in size from 1 bed studio to 3 bedroom. Husband & I stayed in room 614a (studio 1 BR 1 BA) last week for our babymoon and Easter & had a really wonderful experience. The room, kitchen area & bath were incredibly remodeled with finishes that were easily as nice as... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tootie C
Sonya C, General Manager at Sterling Sands Condominiums, responded to this review

Tootie, Wow. Thanks so much. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, our location and our little Easter treats. We do hope you'll be back soon. We greatly appreciate the excellent comments. Sonya Cronin,GM Sterling Sands More 

Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2015

This is my family of five second year at the Sands. Last year we waited too late for a three-bedroom; yet the two-bedroom was awesome that provided adequate room for our three sons. This year we were fortunate to get a three-bedroom and it was absolutely breathtaking. The panoramic view got me up every morning at 5:00 am to watch... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank GloryRo
Sonya C, General Manager at Sterling Sands Condominiums, responded to this review

We are so please you enjoyed yourself again. Thank you for making Sands your family destination for vacation. We await your return. Regards, Sonya Cronin, GM Sterling Sands More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2015 via mobile

When searching for vacation destinations I stress & research for months trying to find that perfect condo & location that matches all of our wants/needs. Through the years we have been fortunate to have visited west/east coast, Hawaiian Islands(all) , Caribbean, Mexico, central gulf of Fl,etc. & all those shh secret beaches , we did find one in CA. Summerland... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Sonya C, General Manager at Sterling Sands Condominiums, responded to this review

We are so happy you found the "perfect spot" at Sterling Sands. We appreciate your detailed comments and know that this information will guide others as well. We hope to see you back soon. Sonya Cronin, GM Sterling Sands More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

561 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (20)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (474)
Viewed
Amenities (34)
Viewed
Beach (45)
Viewed
Pool (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (104)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Condo (111)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Deluxe Condo (139)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Destin hotels
6.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
5.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin
2.9 mi away
Village Inn of Destin
Village Inn of Destin
#30 of 39 in Destin
3.5 of 5 stars 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sundestin Beach Resort
Sundestin Beach Resort
#11 of 58 in Destin
4.0 of 5 stars 314 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sterling Shores
Sterling Shores
#9 of 58 in Destin
4.0 of 5 stars 123 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Beach House Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sterling Sands is a modern, beachfront mid-rise conveniently located in the heart of Destin near family activities, popular restaurants, and shopping. Sterling Sands offers 1-, 2- and 3-bedroom fully-equipped condominiums with private balconies in a resort setting that includes a free-form pool and spa, picnic area with grill, and beachside deli. Children's activities, meeting/reception facilities, and free wi-fi in all rental units.2013 Update: Sterling Sands under went all new exterior upgrades. New paint, new tiled walkways, new pool deck, new lighting, new elevators, new vending area, new poolside restrooms and more. Come see us!!! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sterling Sands Condominiums

Address: 1080 Highway 98 E, Destin, FL 32541-2942
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Price Range: $232 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sterling Sands Condominiums 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Vacatia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Sterling Sands Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Sands Condominiums Hotel Destin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay