We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

The Islander

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
The Islander
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

146 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 146: English reviews
Benton, Arkansas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited this resort July 2015. Stayed a week and had a great time. Accommodations are good (average condo set-up). Has a few more things to do than typical time shares since this is a resort. Beach is nice, and we were usually able to get a good spot. It is within walking distance of the jetties ( though the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gregdeb30
Zachary, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My family has come here for ten years, and I must say this year is different. The cleaning and upkeep of the facilities seem to be lower. Resort personelle told me that I was not the first person to say so, and that they were having a hard time finding good workers. Check in times are being pushed way back... More 

Helpful?
Thank Benton F
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have been coming here for 6 years and see this year we were there to checkin at 330pm and check in is for 3pm. The room was not ready and the lady was so rude. I asked if she could give me an estimate of how long before the room is ready and she replied no. We had to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
IslanderDestin, General Manager at The Islander, responded to this review

We are sorry for your experience however our lease agreement clearly states check in is between 3-5pm. To date this year all units have been ready by 5.00 pm and in fact most units are ready by 3.00 pm or earlier . There is no excuse for rudeness, and for this I must apologize. If you arrive prior to 5.00... More 

Hot Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My family and I come to the Islander condos every year,we reserve 3 condos yearly. In the past we have always had a great experience with our condos but this year it was very very frustrating. Our room was filthy,the huge carpet rug was disgusting,there was black build up all over the air return with no filter , the furniture... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Bobby B
IslanderDestin, General Manager at The Islander, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you were unhappy with your unit. Indeed the assistant GM went immediately to the unit to address all your issues. When she had finished you said you were much happier. The following morning the housekeeper that cleaned the unit knocked on the door to make sure everything was ok and she was told it was.... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2016 via mobile

Very clean!! No washers and dryers in the condo it's self however the laundry room is very nice. If you can't get a ocean front view please consider the other side the view is beautiful.. Very clean pools and hot tubs nice covered grilling area and beautiful walkway to the beach.. We were in unit 318 and it was a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Autumn E
IslanderDestin, General Manager at The Islander, responded to this review

Thank you for staying in unit 318 , it is a very nicely upgraded unit. The sunsets are spectacular throughout the year. So thanks once again for the great review, and come back and see us soon ! More 

Friendship, Tennessee
Level Contributor
88 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016

Stayed here for three nights to attend a wedding. Three adults and two children....plenty of room in Unit 302. Nice view of the ocean and the pool. I prefer to be directly on the beach....but we stayed here due to other members of the wedding party being here. When we checked in...we were told that maintenance was supposed to come... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cathy B
IslanderDestin, General Manager at The Islander, responded to this review

These folks booked a unit with an outside rental company that have their own maintenance , so I cannot answer for why they didn't turn up. The in house rental program has its own on site maintenance, and on site linen service so all linens can be exchanged 3 times a week. We also offer free beach service to all... More 

springfield IL.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016 via mobile

Me and my family was in this place from July 1-9. The place was great and just maybe 100 meters from the beach, the service is good specially the front desk they are very helpful. During our stay they have a lot of going on for the children just to keep them busy. They also have 2 swimming pool and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank junsosmena
IslanderDestin, General Manager at The Islander, responded to this review

Glad you had a great stay over the 4th , it is an exciting time for our staff as well as the guests. We hope you come back and see us next year. Thanks a million ! More 

Gadsden, Alabama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016 via mobile

Stayed in condo 413, would highly recommend it. High quality in cleanliness and room amenities. The resort itself was high quality in just about every area, beach access was great and less than a couple minute secured walk to perfect sand and beaches. There are 2 pools which were kept clean along with a great grilling pavilion and lots of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Dan T
IslanderDestin, General Manager at The Islander, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review about unit 413. This new owner will be most pleased. We hope you will come back and see us soon. More 

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2016

We stayed in Unit 308 for 5 nights. It was a great Unit. Very up to date, nice and clean. Loved the "Beach" theme it had. All units are very close to the beach and have 2 great pools. The beach is absolutely gorgeous. Check-In and Check-Out was easy. I would prefer NOT to have to clean up the unit... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank P104BWana
IslanderDestin, General Manager at The Islander, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind review, this new owner has made improvements to his unit and he will be delighted with your response. You do not need to clean up the unit, it just helps us on the busy weekends if you throw the trash out and start the dishwasher. That is all we ask. Thanks once again for a great... More 

New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2016

# 202. Horrible. None of the appliances work. Coffee pot is old and clogged up with coffee. It overflows everywhere. What a mess. Refridgerator is broke. The workmen set the temp. To #9, it now over freezes. Ruins you food. No shelf or drawer liners. YUK! Needs serious UPDATING. MANAGEMENT IS UNPROFESSIONAL.

Helpful?
Thank bachilipepper
IslanderDestin, General Manager at The Islander, responded to this review

This guest booked a unit on the Gulf Side, when she realized all her friends were on the Sunset Side she demanded to be moved ! This was not possible as we had full occupancy. Unit 202 is a bronze unit and is older style, which is why it is a cheaper price, as the guest said it was very... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

141 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (109)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Destin hotels
8.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
1.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
2.4 mi away
SummerPlace Inn
SummerPlace Inn
#12 of 39 in Destin
4.0 of 5 stars 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
0.7 mi away
Inn on Destin Harbor
Inn on Destin Harbor
#21 of 39 in Destin
3.5 of 5 stars 406 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sundestin Beach Resort
Sundestin Beach Resort
#11 of 59 in Destin
4.0 of 5 stars 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Islander condos are 2 bdrm/2 bath and feature a private balcony and a fully equipped kitchen. Amenities include 2 pools, whirlpools, tennis courts, shuffleboard courts, and a gym. Please note you must book through the Islander Rental Company to get the VIP program including FREE beach service. The off site rental companies do not offer our VIP program. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Islander

Address: 502 Gulf Shore Dr, Destin, FL 32541-5076
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Price Range: $104 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Islander 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Islander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Islander Hotel Destin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay