We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

The Islander

Certificate of Excellence
502 Gulfshore Dr., Destin, FL 32541
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
The Islander
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 142: English reviews
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Very clean!! No washers and dryers in the condo it's self however the laundry room is very nice. If you can't get a ocean front view please consider the other side the view is beautiful.. Very clean pools and hot tubs nice covered grilling area and beautiful walkway to the beach.. We were in unit 318 and it was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Autumn E
Friendship, Tennessee
Level Contributor
84 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed here for three nights to attend a wedding. Three adults and two children....plenty of room in Unit 302. Nice view of the ocean and the pool. I prefer to be directly on the beach....but we stayed here due to other members of the wedding party being here. When we checked in...we were told that maintenance was supposed to come... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cathy B
springfield IL.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me and my family was in this place from July 1-9. The place was great and just maybe 100 meters from the beach, the service is good specially the front desk they are very helpful. During our stay they have a lot of going on for the children just to keep them busy. They also have 2 swimming pool and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank junsosmena
Gadsden, Alabama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in condo 413, would highly recommend it. High quality in cleanliness and room amenities. The resort itself was high quality in just about every area, beach access was great and less than a couple minute secured walk to perfect sand and beaches. There are 2 pools which were kept clean along with a great grilling pavilion and lots of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Dan T
IslanderDestin, General Manager at The Islander, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review about unit 413. This new owner will be most pleased. We hope you will come back and see us soon. More 

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in Unit 308 for 5 nights. It was a great Unit. Very up to date, nice and clean. Loved the "Beach" theme it had. All units are very close to the beach and have 2 great pools. The beach is absolutely gorgeous. Check-In and Check-Out was easy. I would prefer NOT to have to clean up the unit... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank P104BWana
IslanderDestin, General Manager at The Islander, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind review, this new owner has made improvements to his unit and he will be delighted with your response. You do not need to clean up the unit, it just helps us on the busy weekends if you throw the trash out and start the dishwasher. That is all we ask. Thanks once again for a great... More 

New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

# 202. Horrible. None of the appliances work. Coffee pot is old and clogged up with coffee. It overflows everywhere. What a mess. Refridgerator is broke. The workmen set the temp. To #9, it now over freezes. Ruins you food. No shelf or drawer liners. YUK! Needs serious UPDATING. MANAGEMENT IS UNPROFESSIONAL.

Helpful?
Thank bachilipepper
IslanderDestin, General Manager at The Islander, responded to this review

This guest booked a unit on the Gulf Side, when she realized all her friends were on the Sunset Side she demanded to be moved ! This was not possible as we had full occupancy. Unit 202 is a bronze unit and is older style, which is why it is a cheaper price, as the guest said it was very... More 

lawrence, kansas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I can't say enough about this place! Our stay in unit 506 was wonderful! We had a balcony view of the ocean, beautiful living space, and a short walk to the beach! The front desk staff were always kind and helpful. Free beach service was an added plus! Please don't forget to tip Allen, the beach service attendant. He is... More 

Helpful?
Thank charrell
IslanderDestin, General Manager at The Islander, responded to this review

Hi Guys, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Unit 506 and hope you to get to visit us again soon. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We rented Condo 714. View was fabulous. Check in was easy and friendly employees. You get 2 chairs and an umbrella with your rental which made it nice to go to the beach. They also give you several discounts to excursions which we used. Location on 502 Gulf Shore Drive, Destin, Florida

Helpful?
Thank Bridgot G
IslanderDestin, General Manager at The Islander, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review, and we hope to see you back at the Islander soon. More 

Carlisle, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016

Great time at the Islander. Great views. Very clean and updated with granite and new furnishings in the living area. Kitchen was well stocked for cooking. Both pool areas have a hot tub and plenty of seating. Grills available. Condo is well located near restaurants and entertainment. Staff was courteous. Unit #312.

Helpful?
Thank BrendaRec
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016 via mobile

Very ran down. Not even close to what you should get for this much money. Very dirty! Asked to have our room cleaned again 10 minutes after checking in is crazy. Wanted to take a nice hot bath but guess what.... stopper is wrong size and is broken. Hair in the kitchen floor. Black footprints from the front door to... More 

Helpful?
Thank cdb21175
IslanderDestin, General Manager at The Islander, responded to this review

This is a very disappointing review. From the management side, yes this unit is older style and that is why the rate charged is our lowest bronze rate. All I can say is that none of these issues were reported to me so that they could be rectified, indeed up to this visit we have had no complaints about this... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

130 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (98)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Destin hotels
8.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
1.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
2.4 mi away
SummerPlace Inn
SummerPlace Inn
#10 of 39 in Destin
4.0 of 5 stars 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Inn on Destin Harbor
Inn on Destin Harbor
#20 of 39 in Destin
3.5 of 5 stars 398 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sundestin Beach Resort
Sundestin Beach Resort
#7 of 59 in Destin
4.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jetty East Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Islander condos are 2 bdrm/2 bath and feature a private balcony and a fully equipped kitchen. Amenities include 2 pools, whirlpools, tennis courts, shuffleboard courts, and a gym. Please note you must book through the Islander Rental Company to get the VIP program including FREE beach service. The off site rental companies do not offer our VIP program. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Islander

Address: 502 Gulfshore Dr., Destin, FL 32541
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Price Range: $104 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Islander 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Islander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Islander Hotel Destin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay