We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

209 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 204: English reviews
Big Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a suite which was quite big. The bathroom smelled like bleach which I thought was a good thing. There was plenty of towels, etc. The beds, and pillows were pretty comfortable. The pool was a decent size compared to some of the others we saw, and was clean. The breakfast was actually pretty good. There was quite a... More 

Helpful?
Thank clcruzers
Brian B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Thank you for letting us know that we need to look at our door seals to see how they can be improved. I will consult with our chief engineer to come up with a plan to combat outside... More 

Knoxville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is close to many attractions, and just a 5 minute walk to the beach. The staff was so friendly, and accommodating. Other hotels in the area, that were this nice, were much more expensive. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Wendy P
Destin, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The air vent above the bed was very disgusting and seemed to be an allergy causing disaster to happen. the housekeeping did not replenish items each day. For a non-refundable room, you would expect better services and cleaner more sanitary rooms.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Susan P
Brian B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our property. While we don't like to see reviews such as yours, they do help us improve our product and service. I can assure you that the issues that you mentioned in your review will be addressed. I am very sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations and I hope that you... More 

Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The location was good with restaurants and shopping close to the hotel and the beach was right down the road. The rooms were clean. There was no safe in the room which was very inconvenient. Staff was okay. The breakfast area is nice, but the layout desperately needs to be rearranged! It was total chaos and took 15 mins to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kdub74
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Sugar Sands is conveniently located to Henderson State Park with a great beach plus public access beaches. My girlfriend and I checked out four different beaches during our couple nights stay. We were amazed at the clearness of the water at Henderson State Park nearby and Dune Allen further up the road. This hotel was a great place to stay.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ezra F
Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Conveniently located in walking distance to food and shopping. 1 mile from the beach. Quiet and clean! Near a highway, but did not hear any noise. Comfortable beds made for a great night sleep. Friendly front desk staff.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Cheri G
Brian B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. I will pass along your kind words to our staff. They love hearing that our guests appreciate what they do! More 

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Biggest issue was hotel not stocking bathroom with toilet paper or towels and having to keep going up front to ask for those items. Hotel was kind of clean, but overall not impressed. Sand from the beach was in the room, which is expected, but staff never vacuumed the sand in the rooms. Check in and out was easy.

Helpful?
2 Thank jenn2335
Brian B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review to let us know how we are doing. I am very sorry that you encountered these issues during your stay. We use reviews such as yours to help us to improve the services that we offer our guests. I will follow up with our housekeeping department to ensure that... More 

Ystad, Sverige
Level Contributor
258 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed 3 nights here. Great location nere shopping At Destin commons (and The movies) and a 10 minute Walk to The beach! Good restaurants nearby. Big Spacious room ( Suite) with 2 rooms ! Great for a family Of four! Small gym but all right! What keeps me from giving IT a 5 is The way too small breakfast Room... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank VeronicaSjogren
Houston, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The condition of this hotel's swimming pool was beyond words. The water was a dark green color. Surprised that the health dept. did not shut the hotel down. Terrible experience. Will not stay at any Best Western ever again.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Falvador H
Brian B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We are extremely sorry that our pool was not open during your stay at our property. I will assure that it was not for the lack of effort on our part to get it up and running because we know how important a pool is in a summertime destination area. During the time of your stay we were unfortunately having... More 

Acworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel was clean. Unfriendly front desk receptionist...only one individual.. Air conditioner only worked one day....did not work 2nd day. I did report it, they apologized and I checked out. Rooms were clean and breakfast was OK.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank sgadst
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Destin hotels
2.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Destin
4.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
4.2 mi away
Inn on Destin Harbor
Inn on Destin Harbor
#20 of 39 in Destin
3.5 of 5 stars 400 reviews
2.3 mi away
Days Inn Destin
Days Inn Destin
#36 of 39 in Destin
3.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The newly remodeled BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites is centrally located in beautiful Destin, Florida. The city styles itself "The World's Luckiest Fishing Village," and has one of the largest fishing vessel fleets in the state of Florida. The convenience of our location offers each guest easy access to local attractions and many outdoor activities. The BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites provides rooms with all of the amenities and superb customer service expected from Best Western. Our Destin, FL hotel is just a 5 minute drive to the sugar sand beaches and emerald waters of the Emerald Coast. Hotel guests will be close to a variety of restaurants - TGI Friday's, Longhorn Steakhouse(R), Bonefish Grill(R), and many more, all within walking distance of the property. Each guest room features free high-speed Internet access and cable television with HBO(R). A microwave and refrigerator are available in all rooms. The hotel offers a complimentary full hot breakfast, and features a heated outdoor pool and spa, exercise room, arcade, and an onsite laundry facility. The BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites is located adjacent to the Shoppes of Paradise Key, just .5 miles from Destin Commons, 5 miles from the Silver Sands Outlet Mall and the Destin Harbor. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites

Address: 4415 Commons Dr E, Destin, FL 32541-3457 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Destin)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Price Range: $115 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Best Western + Iniative so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Destin Hotel Destin
Country Inn And Suites Destin
Country Inn Destin
Destin Country Inn
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay