We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sun Viking Lodge

  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
Offers & Announcements
MAKE SOME WAVES & 20% OFF
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

749 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sun Viking Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 726: English reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in the 2 story bldg. Room was large, large HD flat screen tv, comfy chairs. The kitchen was nicely appointed, Full size frig, 4 burner stove , oven, micro wave, big table with chairs, big closet with wooden hangers, large safe. Bathroom was very clean which is very important to me. Very quiet at night so you can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for sending in your recent review and for rating the Sun Viking Lodge so high in the categories of Rooms, Cleanliness and Service. We are glad to see you found your room, in your words, “very clean” and that you enjoyed having a room with a fully equipped kitchen. Most of our rooms have kitchens and our guests...

Cocoa, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location directly on the beach. Friendly accommodating staff. Every staff member we passed said something pleasant to us. Tons of things for the kids to do. Large rooms. If the rooms were updated, it would be PERFECT. That said, we would stay again if the price is right.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for sending in your recent review and for saying that the Sun Viking Lodge has a “great location directly on the beach” and has a “friendly, accommodating staff” we sincerely appreciate these compliments. We agree with you; our rooms are a bit dated. We are an independently owned small oceanfront hotel, not a luxury...

Evansville, Wisconsin
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location of this property is very nice, right on the beach My room was tiny, faced the parking lot, but couldn't really open the drapes as it was a major walkway from parking lot to other areas of the hotel. The room smelled strongly of disinfectant, but was clean, bed did nothing for my bad back however. There were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank muskie999
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for sending in your review and for saying that the room you were not happy with, was “clean” and you feel that “the location of our property is very nice, right on the beach”. I agree with you, the room you selected is considered a non-view small king room that faces our parking lot....

Brandon, Florida
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I came to this hotel every summer as a child. I learned to swim here. So, naturally, when it was time to bring my son I was so excited. Once we arrived I was so disappointed. The hotel was dirty, outdated, and the indoor pool was not clean. I wish someone would save it because this place should always be...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amanda H
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for sending in your review and for saying the Sun Viking Lodge has a “great pool with slide”. We apologize that we disappointed you during your stay with us last August 2016, 5 months ago. Generally, we get numerous compliments, as you can see in our many reviews, on how clean our rooms and pools are, so I...

Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My family has been coming here for years and years.. back before the buildings were here and the place was individual cottages. Heck, my aunt even married the pool boy 40 years ago next month while he was finishing up at nearby Embry Riddle. Many of the pictures I have at home of my moms family vacations were taken here,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jon C
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to send in your recent review; we sincerely appreciate your kind words when you say the Sun Viking Lodge is a “great place for families” and also for rating us so high in the categories of Value, Sleep Quality and Service. It warms our hearts to read that your family...

Piney Flats, TN
Reviewed January 21, 2017

We stayed in the tower and everything was excellent, could not ask for more. We were on the 7th floor with two elevators so never had to wait to go up or down. Nice indoor heated pool as well as outdoor pool with water slide and a hot tub. Outdoor area was well keep and also very nice. A great...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank William D
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send in your recent review and for rating the Sun Viking Lodge so high in the categories of Location, Rooms and Service – we sincerely appreciate your kind words. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your room on the 7th floor facing the ocean – the views from the oceanfront balconies...

Boston
Reviewed January 19, 2017

If you like retro - and truly retro, not fake, you will like this place. It felt like we were kids traveling with our parents down to the beach. Love that this place is family owned not a corporate high-rise. We had a balcony over-looking the water for a very reasonable rate, even for January. Staff were helpful, room was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bostongirlzee
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to send in your kind review and for rating the Sun Viking Lodge so high in the categories of Sleep Quality, Cleanliness and Service – we sincerely appreciate it. It was certainly nice to read that you felt that we offered you a “really good value” and that you enjoyed...

Ridgetop, Tennessee, United States
Reviewed January 16, 2017 via mobile

I guess this was good in its day, but that was a while back. The furniture is ancient and the entire place could use renovation. The pool was nice and the beach is great. The price was right. I will say I had to leave a day early and without asking they refunded my last day. That was something I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robby F
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review

We agree with you; our rooms are a bit dated. We are an independently owned small oceanfront hotel, not a luxury hotel offering upscale services or affiliated with a hotel chain; we offer casual accommodations in a relaxed beachfront location. We have owned the Sun Viking Lodge for over 46 years and have always put our guest’s needs as our...

Reviewed January 5, 2017

room was clean ,workers very nice ,would stay here again,parking right outside of room,indoor and outdoor pools ,hot tub outside nice and hot .convienientley located close to beach and Daytona speedway for what we were there for in first place

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ronald L
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to send in your recent review and we are happy to read that you found that our “rooms were clean, employees very nice and front desk agents very cooperative” – thank you. We have many great events at the Daytona International Speedway and we are glad you enjoyed your event while in Daytona...

Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Reviewed January 4, 2017 via mobile

We loved the pools, the slide, the beachfront access, the hot tub and the prefect COOLER FL weather in JAN. The breeze off the ocean is tops. We only regret not staying a little longer than one night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tabatha1_13
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for sending in your kind words and for saying that you feel the Sun Viking Lodge is a "Great place" – we sincerely appreciate this compliment. We are glad to read that you enjoyed our heated pools, waterslide, hot tub, beachfront access and as your said, our wonderful Florida weather in January! Thank you again for taking the...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

730 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (300)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (69)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (109)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (414)
Viewed
Amenities (66)
Viewed
Beach (27)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (12)
Viewed
Outdoor Pool (27)
Viewed
Plan #1 (50)
Viewed
Plan #2 (68)
Viewed
Plan #4 (56)
Viewed
Plan #6 (69)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront
1.0 mi away
Bahama House
Bahama House
#13 of 103 in Daytona Beach
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
2.8 mi away
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
#15 of 103 in Daytona Beach
1,302 reviews
5.7 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Daytona Beach Resort and Confere...
#16 of 103 in Daytona Beach
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Sun Viking Lodge, located oceanfront in Daytona Beach and Florida's only winner of the 2012 Trip Advisor "Family Travel Award" for Small Hotels - offers spacious guest rooms, kitchenettes, suites and private cottages. Expect casual accommodations in a relaxed atmosphere with a beachy flip-flop ambiance! Kids love this "Unique Family Resort" featuring a 60-foot waterslide, kiddie pool, beach volleyball, basketball goal, game rooms, playground, poolside bingo and free recreation program providing beachside fun for all ages! Work out in a complimentary fitness room or jog on 23 miles of scenic beach, then relax in a sauna or an oceanfront hut tub. Enjoy indoor and outdoor heated pools, spacious oceanfront sundecks. The Sun Viking Lodge . . . a place where you are always welcome! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sun Viking Lodge

Address: 2411 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Price Range: $93 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sun Viking Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sun Viking Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Viking Hotel Daytona Beach
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Daytona Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Sun Viking Lodge staff and other travelers.
17 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Sun Viking Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“It is a small resort so getting arond is no problem.”
 of 5 bubbles 619lindat, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Go for the 2nd floor in the tower... Close view of the indoor pool to keep an eye on the kiddies.”
 of 5 bubbles tombY1713LU, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“I would say longer stays get the better rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles muskie999, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Great pool with slide”
 of 5 bubbles P4BEamandah, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Stay in the tower if possible”
 of 5 bubbles D5283MGwilliamd, Jan 21, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question