We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sun Viking Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sun Viking Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

665 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 645: English reviews
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had visited this during ThanksGiving. It is a nice hotel on the beach with a small kitchenette in the room. Nice and clean. Best part was that the pool had a slide which kept my kids busy. Also had a Jacuzzi which helped relax at the end of the day

Helpful?
Thank priy
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review

It is nice to read that you enjoyed your visit with us this past Thanksgiving, thank you. We are glad to read that you found your room was “nice and clean” and that your kids had fun on our 60-foot waterslide! You certainly reflect what most of our guests repeatedly say, that our slide keeps their kids busy too! It... More 

Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We read a complaint about Sun Viking Lodge allowing families to play corn hole in the designated corn hole area where the light are. The complaint sounded really bad, it was children with their parents and grandparents enjoying the amenities. This hotel is very family orientated with lots of activities for children and families. We have enjoyed staying here for... More 

Helpful?
Thank muddylife
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review

I would like to thank this repeat guest for sending in such a nice review and for rating us so high in the categories of Value, Location and Service - thank you! It certain is an honor to read your sentiment regarding the Sun Viking Lodge, when you said, in your words, “No place like home!!” What an amazing statement... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Wonderful place to stay. Fun activities for the kids and very family-friendly. We enjoyed our stay and our room with the kitchen was absolutely wonderful and perfect for us. The location on the beach and everything were truly outstanding. The staff was very friendly and very helpful at all times!! This was our first time staying here and now it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tonia B
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for sending you in your very kind review. It certain humbles us when you say that you and your family “Loved Sun Viking Resort!!!” – thank you! What warms our hearts the most is when we hear that a family enjoys spending time together. Think about that . . . spending time TOGETHER –... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Last night a gang of twenty or more played corn-hole outside my room until after 1:00 AM. There is smoking allowed everywhere. What? Who allows smoking in 2016? The rooms are on the verge of being worn out. The air-conditioner sounded like a 747 was taking off in our room each time the compressor cycled.

Helpful?
3 Thank davidmdebs
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to bring these issues to our attention and we apologize to you that other guests disturbed your stay. This was our fault. Our guests really love to play corn-hole, however, after we store the corn-hole platforms at 10:00 PM each evening, apparently these guests brought them out again to play into the early morning... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel was okay. We had rusty appliances in our room. The fold out sofa still had dirty linen on it from the previous guest. The carpets were dirty - our feet turned black from walking on them. The toilet backed up over night and we woke to a flood and someone else's feces on the bathroom bathroom floor. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lorie H
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to send in your review and we are sorry we did not meet your expectations. We do have an ongoing problem with rust spots on our appliances. Actually, all oceanfront hotels have this same problem. Many guests love to open the balcony doors to enjoy the ocean breezes, however, the... More 

Spring, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Staff at Sun Viking was outstanding. The rooms we nice. The Activity for the kids were outstanding. The only thing that would of made the stay better is the shower heads were more powerful(personal preference across all our family) cleaning staff was outstanding. We talk to quest who have been coming there for years, that says a lot when... More 

Helpful?
Thank me4closure
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for sending in your kind review on your recent stay at the Sun Viking Lodge and we are happy that you enjoyed your family reunion! It is nice to read that, in your words, you found “the Staff at Sun Viking was outstanding” – what a nice compliment, thank you! We are glad that you found our “rooms... More 

Lake Wales, Florida
Level Contributor
534 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great alternative to those expensive theme parks in Orlando - we were a family of 12 that gathered family together but prices of were too much for us. We found the Sun Viking as a great alternative - with the beach - pools - water slides - kids activities - rooms were great ! Staff was very helpful - cafe... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Bob S
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for sending in your very kind review. We are happy to read that you and your family found, in your words, “the Sun Viking as a great alternative - with the beach - pools - water-slide and kid’s activities” compared to the expensive theme parks in Orlando. We are glad that you found that... More 

McDonough, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband's family came to Daytona every summer growing up and stayed at the Sun Viking Lodge many times...very pleased then, still pleased now. We initially booked through a third party and called the Sun Viking two days before we were scheduled to arrive and found out our reservation was cancelled. Thankfully we were able to get our same view... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Brianne C
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review

It is ALWAYS a pleasure to read a review by a repeat guest but especially from a guest who stayed with us as a child. It is even more appreciated when we read that your family, in your words, enjoyed “Great Family Fun” and after all the years of staying at the Sun Viking Lodge you are “still pleased now”... More 

Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our first visit to Daytona and we made the right choice with Sun Viking Lodge for our party of two senior citizens, a dad and 10-year-old granddaughter over Memorial Day weekend 2016. We selected it because there seemed to be lots of activities planned for kids led by an activity director, thinking it would keep the young one... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Janet B
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for your review and for rating us so high in the categories of Location, Sleep Quality and Service. We are glad to read that you felt that Daytona Beach and the Sun Viking Lodge was a “Great Choice!” for your family vacation. We can certainly understand your statement when you say that you and... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We are a family of 3, we stayed for 3 nights with a balcony overlooking the ocean. A kitchen that although small we were able to cook all our meals. It was also possible to buy breakfast and lunch in the pool area. Sooo tranquil and wonderful and helpful staff. Lovely pool area and all the amenities anyone could ever... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kia V
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this review

It is certainly nice to read that you and your family felt that your stay at the Sun Viking Lodge was, in your words, “the best stay we had in FL” – thank you! We are glad you enjoyed having a fully equipped kitchen – many of our guests find having a full size refrigerator & ice maker, oven with... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

692 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (261)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (61)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (85)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (414)
Viewed
Amenities (66)
Viewed
Beach (27)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (12)
Viewed
Outdoor Pool (27)
Viewed
Plan #1 (50)
Viewed
Plan #2 (68)
Viewed
Plan #4 (56)
Viewed
Plan #6 (69)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
2.8 mi away
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
#18 of 104 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,131 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront
4.5 mi away
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel
#9 of 104 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Sun Viking Lodge, located oceanfront in Daytona Beach and Florida's only winner of the 2012 Trip Advisor "Family Travel Award" for Small Hotels - offers spacious guest rooms, kitchenettes, suites and private cottages. Expect casual accommodations in a relaxed atmosphere with a beachy flip-flop ambiance! Kids love this "Unique Family Resort" featuring a 60-foot waterslide, kiddie pool, beach volleyball, basketball goal, game rooms, playground, poolside bingo and free recreation program providing beachside fun for all ages! Work out in a complimentary fitness room or jog on 23 miles of scenic beach, then relax in a sauna or an oceanfront hut tub. Enjoy indoor and outdoor heated pools, spacious oceanfront sundecks. The Sun Viking Lodge . . . a place where you are always welcome! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sun Viking Lodge

Address: 2411 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Price Range: $83 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sun Viking Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Regatta Hotels, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sun Viking Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Viking Hotel Daytona Beach
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#8 Best Value Hotel in Daytona Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay