We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sheraton Sand Key Resort

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (1818)
Room & Suite (522)
Videos (4)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Earn points toward free nights.
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#6 of 10 resorts in Clearwater
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.4
Value
3.8
Travelers' Choice
Enjoy a memorable stay at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, a waterfront hotel located on Florida's Gulf Coast in Clearwater Beach, Florida, steps from the nature trails and surf-ready beaches of Sand Key Park. With private beach access, outdoor pools, a fitness center, tennis courts, and numerous dining options featuring the flavors of coastal Florida, there's something for everyone. Host your event or wedding in one of our 14 state-of-the-art meeting spaces, including the Beach Venue, with stunning sunset views, and relax in modern rooms or suites with private balconies or patios and free Wi-Fi.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Boating
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Free wired internet in the business center
Paid wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Vending machine
Poolside bar
Water sport equipment rentals
Patio
Kids pool
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Separate dining area
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Earn points toward free nights.

Location

1160 Gulf Blvd., Clearwater, FL 33767-2703
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
4.0
3,470 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
The Sheraton Sand Key Resort boasts a prime location with direct beach access and waterfront vistas, though there are mentions of it being somewhat overpriced. While the hotel's staff has earned accolades for their warm and attentive service, guests feel that the overall value is diminished by high costs, particularly during ongoing construction that also contributes to the noise level. The ambiance is described as inviting, with a cozy firepit and clean, well-maintained surroundings. However, the resort's rooms receive mixed reviews, with space and views being a plus, but many calling for updates and renovations.
Location
Beachfront
Atmosphere
Welcoming
Rooms
Run-down
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Clean
Noise level
Mixed
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Limited
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
3470Reviews184Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,504
  • 1,236
  • 444
  • 191
  • 95
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Diamond3222 wrote a review Jan 2024
Edmonton, Canada51 contributions
Sheraton Sand Key in Clearwater is one of the best locations on a beach that goes for miles. The staff are friendly, helpful, and efficient - reception, dining, housekeeping. Restaurants and food service are good. Rooms are clean, bright, and well-maintained. It's a winner in every way, for a short or long visit. Particular thanks to Maikel Ibrahim at Reception; April and Connie (?), servers; and Lujliana (? spelling) in Housekeeping.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laurie Salmeron, Guest Services / Front Office at Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Diamond3222, Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are so glad you had great stay with us and that our staff exceeded your expectations. We'll make sure everyone you mentioned gets the recognition they deserve. I hope you come back and visit us again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Patty B wrote a review Jan 2024
Fargo, North Dakota53 contributions
We stayed at the Sheraton Sand Key for a week in January 2024. POSITIVES: Friendly, helpful staff all over from Lauren at the front desk to Sarah at the bar to the pool staff to all of the housekeeping and maintenance staff-Wow!; (Sarah makes a great after dinner Mudslide drink.) Great view of the ocean from our room on the 7th floor; Awesome pool and beach area-easy to find an open lounge chair and the beach area was not busy and so beautiful. We walked the beach every day and there were so many shells!; We loved the location which was away from the busy Clearwater Beach but a quick 5 minute ride on the Jolley Trolley took us to Clearwater Beach and the many restaurants. The Jolley Trolley was free by showing your Sheraton room key card. (The Uber ride from the Tampa Airport was quick and only $43.) THINGS WE WOULD HAVE LIKED: Bathroom was pretty tiny but the newly remodeled room was nice.; The breakfast buffet was the same every day and for $20 we thought it could have been better.; They could use a coffee shop that makes lattes—I did walk over to the Marriott for a vanilla latte. A few more souvenirs in the little gift shop would have been nice. Overall, it was a nice place for a vacation and we certainly lucked out on the weather the week we were there.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: When going into Clearwater Beach on the Jolley Trolley, cross the street and take the Jolley...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Danielle Gillette, Guest Services / Front Office at Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear 681pattyb, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We love hearing from all our guests and are pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful time with us. Our team here at the Sheraton Sand Key Resort is committed to providing high-quality customer service, and we’re thrilled to hear that we made a good impression on you. We can’t wait to welcome you back for your next visit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
avatar-image
Christine D wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
This resort and beach was a place of great joy to me… so special that my boyfriend (now fiancé) chose this resort to stay at for our surprise “engagement” weekend. He emailed the GM about his plans to help to make it amazing and to my shock (I learned about this after our trip) nothing was done to celebrate this occasion and the property was under construction at the time. Thrilled to be engaged but so disappointed with the service I used to love here.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Danielle Gillette, Guest Services / Front Office at Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Responded Jan 12, 2024
Dear I5880LCchristined, Firstly, congratulations on your engagement! Secondly, I’m sorry to hear about your disappointing experience with us. It’s always our intention to provide great customer service and an unforgettable experience for our guests. Please accept our sincerest apologies that we didn’t live up to your expectations on this occasion. I’m thankful that you reached out to share your experience as your valuable feedback helps us to improve and better serve our current and future guests. I hope you choose to stay with us again when your travels bring you back to the area.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Linda G wrote a review Jan 2024
2 contributions
After reading the negative reviews due to construction, I was somewhat concerned about my choice; however, I was not disappointed in this hotel. Room was clean, location was EXCELLENT! Concerns: Doors close very loudly. Luckily, I was a parent of one of the 300 UW Marching Band students staying at the hotel and I understood the times and movement associated with the noise. How might the hotel quiet those doors so they don't slam? Mine slammed too! Location near beach is great. I know some have complained about the walk, but you are in Florida! Walking along the beach shouldn't be much different than walking to it! I liked the distance and natural environment. The beach was beautiful. I also appreciated the short drive to gas, dining, and other sites closer to Pier 60. Using my hotel card, I could have taken the trolley to this area. While I didn't, I thought it was a great amenity! Construction resumed on Tuesday after the New Year, but I really didn't notice it. As I left by 9:30.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Danielle Gillette, Guest Services / Front Office at Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Responded Jan 8, 2024
Dear lindagX2727SB, Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Your observations are most useful in our pursuit of total guest satisfaction and comments from customers such as yourself allow us to make improvements. We hope we can welcome you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
metswin wrote a review Dec 2023
Wethersfield, Connecticut79 contributions
The newly renovated rooms were very nice. We’ve been staying here for many years and is due for an upgrade and they’re doing a fabulous job. There was a little bit of noise with the ongoing construction, but it really didn’t bother us. The beach is great. the pool is nice fire pits great the outdoor bar is nicereasons we come back every year. Very relaxing day.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Book direct with the hotel don’t go through a third-party and you’ll get the room you want. Pay a...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Danielle Gillette, Guest Services / Front Office at Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Responded Jan 2, 2024
Dear metswin, Thank you very much for sharing your review! We love hearing from our loyal guests and we're so happy you had a great stay with us. I hope we can welcome you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ParksPix wrote a review Dec 2023
Puyallup, Washington192 contributions
+1
Top notch! Lovely staff everywhere, not crowded, wonderful food, gorgeous holiday decor and warm and welcoming. We had seen that the hotel was under construction and asked in advance what section they would be working on and booked a room away from that section. Really no noise at all, saw some construction crew but no mess or noise. We travel with ear plugs all of the time because some hotels are very noisy from the guest side or traffic or airplane noise but we didn’t even use our ear plugs this time. I don’t like crowds at all so we especially loved the fact that this hotel is away from the crowded main section of Clearwater Beach but only a quick bike ride or trolley ride if you wanted to join anything crowded like the pier. This resort was so comfortable. If we wanted food we had the choice of room service or go to restaurants on site or the 24 hour snack/grocery store on site or walk across the street to several more choices. We were able to see a gorgeous park from our balcony plus watch the beach and access directly from our hotel, free parking and amazing pool.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Danielle Gillette, Guest Services / Front Office at Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Responded Jan 2, 2024
Dear ParksPix, Thank you so much for sharing this positive review. We are pleased to see that you had such a wonderful time with us! We also appreciate our location here on Clearwater Beach just as much as you do. We hope you’ll stop by again soon when your travels bring you back to the area.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kayla M wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
This hotel never fails to give us the best experience. We come to Clearwater every year and look forward to the hospitality and service we get from this hotel’s seasoned team members. Randy R at the hotel bar is a great guy and gave us a fantastic experience. We always love running into Guy at the concierge. He’s the first person you greet at the front door and the last person you see in the way out and I can’t imagine us staying at a hotel down here that doesn’t have such a hospitable person as him out front. We’ve gotten to know Jeremiah at the pool over the last couple years and really enjoy his company. Overall, it’s the people who make this the outstanding experience it is here. We look forward to staying here every year.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Danielle Gillette, Guest Services / Front Office at Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Responded Dec 29, 2023
Dear kaylamM7004FP We’re so happy to hear you had a great experience at the Sheraton Sand Key Resort. Your review made our day! We’re glad to hear that our team’s performance exceeded your expectations, and we’ll make sure that Randy R, Guy, and Jeremiah receive the recognition they deserve. Thanks again, and we hope to welcome you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
edward wrote a review Dec 2023
Asheville, North Carolina2 contributions
Stayed here before. Love the location. The front desk clerk was top notch and the staff was great. Unfortunately, they are in the middle of a renovation. The noise is literally 10/10. Even at the pool and hammock area on the sand the noise is mind numbing. There is hammering that starts at 8 am 7 days per week. Back up alarms going around the building with forklifts. Screeching grinders and saws sawing metal. Zero peace or rest. Luckily we have a sense of humor and laughed off how amazingly bad experience. It’s so noisy that’s it’s like a Bill Murray comedy. Don’t stay here until renovations are complete
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Don’t stay here until renovations complete
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Danielle Gillette, Guest Services / Front Office at Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Responded Dec 18, 2023
Dear Venture49105679027, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review on your stay. We greatly appreciate the feedback. First and foremost, I would like to apologize for the inconvenience of the ongoing construction, we strive to provide a memorable stay for all of our guests and it appears that we failed to meet that standard while you were here. Our property, having been a hospitality staple for over 40 years in this area is quite due for a little facelift. Unfortunately, because of the competitive nature of our industry, we will have to endure this journey of new beginnings alongside of our beloved guests. Hopefully once we are completed, you might give us another opportunity to provide you with a better guest experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Patricia P wrote a review Dec 2023
2 contributions
I read a review from someone who said "Don't let the negative reviews keep you from booking," and I took their advice. However, I regret it now. The hotel staff are friendly and the building service people are hard-working and kind. The Rusty Bistro staff are also friendly and the food is good, but that's about all the positives I have to say about this place. We booked a remodeled room on the 8th floor which was nice, but we knew about the construction beforehand, so I won't complain about that. However, as Bonvoy members who spend a lot to earn the perks, we expected to be offered a room with a better view away from as much of the noise as possible. No Luck! The mini-fridge freezes everything, and there's no apparent way to lower the temperature. There's also no microwave, which even motels have. We had to pay $40 for 2 chairs and a cabana, which is frustrating, especially considering we're already members and the hotel is undergoing loud construction. The pool is mediocre and quite small. The firepit is nice, though, especially since it's been chilly. Overall, this is the most disappointing "Marriott" hotel I've ever stayed at. Despite the deals, it's still expensive with no perks or breakfast, not even a water cooler in the lobby. The other hotels in the area are much nicer and upgraded, even if they're bayside. It's better to stay there and drive here, park, and go to the beach. You still have to pay the $40 fee for the cabanas and chairs anyway, so you might as well stay at a place with better amenities and silence. There's so much potential here, but it's not worth the cost. I'm disappointed and wish I could say more positive things. I have been looking forward to a relaxing vacation for so long :( I wish I could get my points back and go elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: It's okay, but you have better choices. Even when the construction is done, this hotel is lacking.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Danielle Gillette, Guest Services / Front Office at Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Responded Dec 14, 2023
Dear E3345RXpatriciap, We greatly appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback on your recent stay. I apologize for any inconvenienced you faced while staying with us. We also appreciate your continued loyalty to the Marriott brand. Our property does it's best to upgrade all guests based upon availability of particular views upon check-in but can not guarantee these rooms will be available if not booked as they are of limited inventory. We offer our amenities as an a la carte style, including our third party beach rentals, Wi-Fi, and breakfast options due to the lack of resort or parking fees at our property. Our beach is privately owned and only available for guest usage and I do hope that you will return to us once our construction has ended to enjoy all our property will have to offer.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Melissa P wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution
The hotel is conveniently located right on the beach and close to shopping and restaurants. However if you want any amenities this is not the hotel for you. First, all luggage carts to assist guests are locked. If the bellman is not there you are out of luck. My four small children and I lugged all our stuff to and from the car while the front desk watched and seven luggage carts remained locked. Need to heat up food? Also, nope. There are zero microwaves for guests to use. Need to fluff a beach towel or do a load of laundry? Also, nope. No laundry on site either. Need to workout? Also, no. Workout room has been closed for the last two years we have been here. They do offer beach towels at the pool so that is a plus. The construction wasn’t bad either and will look really pretty once complete. I’m a loyal Marriott customer but very disappointed at the offerings here.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Bring a microwave and pack enough essentials for your trip, as no laundry offered on site.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Danielle Gillette, Guest Services / Front Office at Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Responded Nov 27, 2023
Dear H6331UQmelissap, Thank you kindly for taking the time to provide your feedback. I sincerely apologize for your experience with us. We must have a bellman assist our guests with the luggage carts due to liability reasons. Unfortunately we did have to temporally close our fitness center due to the remodel. The Marriott across the street from our property is allowing our guests to use their gym while we are renovating. Hopefully when we are complete with our renovations we can welcome you back to our property to enjoy all of our amenities.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Clearwater area.
PRICE RANGE
$306 - $588 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sheraton sand key hotel clearwater, sheraton clearwater, sheraton sand key resort, clearwater sheraton
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaClearwater
NUMBER OF ROOMS
390
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SHERATON SAND KEY RESORT - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews (Clearwater, FL)

Frequently Asked Questions about Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Sheraton Sand Key Resort?
Nearby attractions include Sand Key Park (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sheraton Sand Key Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Sheraton Sand Key Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Sheraton Sand Key Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Sheraton Sand Key Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sheraton Sand Key Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Watercolour Grillhouse, Maggie Mae's Sunrise Cafe, and Columbia Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sheraton Sand Key Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sheraton Sand Key Resort?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Sheraton Sand Key Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sheraton Sand Key Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Sheraton Sand Key Resort?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Pinellas County Heritage Village (5.0 miles) and Church of Scientology Information Center (1.9 miles).