We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

226 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 223: English reviews
Ormond Beach
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nicer of the hotels in area. Rooms were clean, but could use an update. Very good nights sleep. Only issue is that the stairs down were not covered and it was pouring when time to leave. No cover to load car.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank James C
Howard J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL, responded to this review

Dear James C, I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, despite the weather. I'm so glad to hear that your overnight sleep was good and that the room was satisfactory. I am sorry that it wasn't "sunny Florida" weather when you were checking out and got stuck in the downpour. Thank you so much for letting us know... More 

Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

While the weather did not cooperate with us this weekend, we did have a very pleasant stay at this hotel. The room was clean and continental breakfast was very good. Great value for the money and the young lady was very helpful in recommending local places to visit.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank Mary H
Howard J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL, responded to this review

Dear Mary H, Thank you for letting us know how your stay was. I'm glad that while the weather was poor, that the service was bright. It's so nice to hear that your stay was pleasant, the staff was helpful, and that your room was satisfactory. I hope we will see you again for future stays! More 

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here on two separate occasions this week for two separate surgical procedures. Not only were the staff and management very friendly, but I was also given the privilege of early check-in to make sure I had my room ready for after my procedures on both dates. Both stays I stayed in a non smoking room with a king... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Howard J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL, responded to this review

NO! Thank you! We value you and will always try to accommodate any special needs of any of our guests. I'm so glad that you called us and that we were able to plan and make sure that we could give you a comfortable room to recover from your procedure. I hope you can come and stay with us when... More 

Live Oak
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2016

This hotel is in a spot that if you miss your turn, you must travel around and around to get back because of US Highway 19. It took two times to get into the right driveway. You cannot see the sign if you are traveling on 19 heading towards St. Pete. The desk clerk was less that cordial. She did... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mary M
Howard J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL, responded to this review

Dear Mary M, I'm so sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay or your room. If anything was amiss, I'm sure we would have been glad to locate a different room for your convenience. I'm also so sorry that the free WiFi was "in and out". I'm not sure if you were here right before the internet provider completed a... More 

Travelers are raving about these Clearwater hotels

Cocoa, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2016

The front desk was rude. room was very musty smelling, towels were thin and rough along with the sheets. sheets were very rough and bed was soft and lumpy

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank gailc464
Howard J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am so sorry that you experienced anything less than a wonderful stay with us. If we had known anything at all was wrong with the room smell or bed quality, we would have gladly tried to change your room for your satisfaction. Thank you... More 

Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2016 via mobile

You get what you pay for. I made this choice because it was $71 a night cheap and I had just spend a LOT of money elsewhere on he day before. It's a 1-2 star hotel/motel. It's as old as they come but it was clean. Beds were ok. Definitely broken in. Brought our own pillows fortunately as they have... More 

Helpful?
Thank mrnaturl1
Shane E, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I'm glad that you found us affordable and clean. The beds and pillows are Howard Johnson standard that we are required to provide to our guests. I'm glad that the beds were satisfactory. I'm sorry that you felt the pillows were too small. Normally, we... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clearwater
9.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Clearwater
4.2 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central
9.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Clearwater Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#63 of 96 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
4.5 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#56 of 96 in Clearwater
3.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Clearwater North/Dunedin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL

Address: 27988 US Highway 19 N, Clearwater, FL 33761-4933
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Price Range: $66 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites Clearwater Hotel Clearwater
Howard Johnson Clearwater
Howard Johnson Hotel Clearwater
Clearwater Howard Johnson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay