We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Shephard's Beach Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Shephard\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"]},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

437 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Shephard's Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 416: English reviews
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

The resort is non-smoking except for their designated smoking area, which is their bar. I was travelling alone, paid extra for room with a balcony knowing their rooms were non-smoking, and was appalled to find out, after I checked in, that there is $500 charge for smoking on balconies. I was harrassed at their bar (only smoking area) by drunk... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank lynnecox
entertainmentresort, Manager at Shephard's Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest, It is unfortunate that you had a bad experience with another patron; please know that if any of our bar staff, security, or management are always there to help if someone is making you feel uncomfortable. As far as the smoking policy; while not the ideal situation for a respectful smoker who is considerate of non-smokers and the... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

It was nearly 7:30 when I walked in to get a room for my family on a last minute whim to come to the beach for one night. New to Clearwater we had been busy on TA the whole drive trying to find a location. I wasn't thrilled with the reviews but we were tired of traveling and wanted to... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank C C
Pittsburgh, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

Loved just about everything at Shepards! Staff was very helpful and friendly. Roomy was very clean..almost New appearance. Our room was right above the night club but was never louder than a very very faint hint of music. Food was excellent especially the buffet. Drinks were ...I thought priced pretty well for a beach area resort. Band and DJ Were... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Michael L
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

LOVED this place! There is so much to do in one location that you don't even need to leave this resort. The outdoor heated pool and hot tub were clean and very well maintained. The outdoor spaces were meticulous with landscaping that made you feel as if you were in a tropical paradise. The beach is small but there is... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank charrie2015
Bismarck, North Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

The rooms were great and even though they are very upfront with you on the entertainment aspect of the hotel on a Saturday it is quite loud on the lower levels. We asked to be moved to a higher floor and the staff was great in accommodating us. The sixth floor was much better and the music was actually not... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Shelly N
West Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

Our room was amazingly clean and new! The hotel has been newly rebuilt/remodeled. Bed was very comfy. Microwave, mini fridge, safe in room. Huge shower large enough for two people. No complaints about the room at all. We had an oceanfront balcony on the second floor for NYE. I wish we would have been a little higher up, as the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank jdah3
entertainmentresort, Manager at Shephard's Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We do apologize for any miscommunication and promise clearer terms in the future. We are flattered at your comments on the rooms; there was much attention paid to detail and dynamics and it is nice that our guests notice and enjoy. It is disconcerting that you did not enjoy the dinner buffet as it is one of our... More 

Louisville KY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

We stayed here about a week ago and while the hotel itself is very nice it is not geared towards families. This was a last minute trip for us, so we had very limited choices, and booked here even with the reviews that at night it was very loud. Well very loud is an understatment. When we arrived about 15... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank Hawaiifan
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

Pros: Rooms are large, have a mini-fridge and microwave and seem to be new and/or updated. Large pool. Restaurants and bar on site. Jet ski rentals on site. We had a gulf view room and the view was nice...but...(see below) Cons: gulf view rooms also face the bar/restaurant/stage and it was loud until midnight when the band stopped playing, not... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank Amanda F
entertainmentresort, Manager at Shephard's Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Amanda, It is unfortunate that all parts of the resort were not to your liking; I would recommend that you try our beautiful new island rooms if you come out again as they are not subject to the music on the Tiki Deck or in the night club. We will certainly share this review with our staff for training... More 

Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014 via mobile

Facilities are fantastic. The on site restaurant seafood buffet was excellent. Our waiter was excellent. That's where the excellence ends. Be very careful, if your looking for a nice upscale beach stay, run away from here. The "beach" is an absolute joke. You're actually facing an inlet. The beach is maybe 2000 square feet. The staff at the front desk... More 

Helpful?
11 Thank David F
entertainmentresort, Manager at Shephard's Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest, We are disappointed receive this review. While our beach on the property is not extremely large- it is also not advertised as such and we are just a block from the expanse of the award winning Clearwater Beach giving our guests the option of enjoying either to their taste. We do make no secret of the fact that... More 

Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Shephard's for 2 night 12/24 - 12/25, despite reading all the reviews that it was/is a party hotel, that it was noisy we did not find that to be true. Maybe it was because it was Christmas Eve/Day. The room was nice, it had a mini kitchen, full size refrigerator. Small balcony. Nice bathroom.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Sallie M
entertainmentresort, Manager at Shephard's Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sallie, We are flattered that you decided to spend such a special holiday with us and hope that it is one of many. It's unfortunate that whoever checked you in was not conveying the holiday spirit, but we are delighted to hear that our super star Valerie made up for it. Thanks for ending 2014 with us, Management More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

500 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (225)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
3:55
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (135)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (233)
Viewed
Amenities (36)
Viewed
Beach (17)
Viewed
Double Queen Studio with Terrace and Gulf View (39)
Viewed
King Studio with Balcony and Gulf View (38)
Viewed
Pool (15)
Viewed
Dining (57)
Viewed
The Hotel (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.6 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#8 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 stars 1,027 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach
0.2 mi away
DreamView Beachfront Hotel & Resort
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
#10 of 96 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 stars 2,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hip new luxury rooms with modern amenities and stunning views, amazing new pool with 7,000 square ft. Tropical pool deck featuring SOAK bar and VIP cabanas, SALT Tequila Bar and Tap Room with craft beer and beer and featured tequilas and Ocean Flame; an inspired ocean front interactive dining experience. 11,000 Square ft. Tiki Beach Bar and concert stage with a tranquil stretch of white sand beach on the glimmering Gulf of Mexico. Enjoy everything from relaxing reggae to national acts and concerts while indulging in cool cocktails and Florida favorites. Add the only dual level state of the art Gulf-front in-door/out/door night club and you can say- we truly are Florida's premier entertainment resort! Destination weddings take place on the beach at sunset and we also have parties, meetings, and corporate events! With award-winning dining, personalized service, and over 12,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor venues right on the water, your event of 10 to 2,000 attendees will be handled with style and expertise. So soak up the sun, Jet Ski, parasail, adventure or relax and indulge! It's all at Shephard's! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shephard's Beach Resort

Address: 619 S Gulfview Blvd, Clearwater, FL 33767-2643
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Price Range: $173 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shephard's Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Shephard's Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shephard`s Beach Hotel Clearwater
Shephards Beach Clearwater
Shephards Beach Hotel
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#32 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay