We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Carrabelle Hotel

Visit hotel website
Traveler (70)
Room & Suite (19)
Video (1)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeaders Gold level
The Old Carrabelle Hotel in Carrabelle, Florida is a "Key West style inn on The Forgotten Coast". Once the end-of-the-line railroad hotel, now you may enjoy all the modern comforts in an Old Florida casual atmosphere. There is just something about the experience of a 1900-ish inn at the coast (or a coastal cottage at the coast) that no newer motel-hotel can equal. And we are a very different B&B operation - free beach restaurant breakfasts for Hotel guests, and self check-in -- just for starters. Make your own reservation online, and receive back a confirmation with all the info you may need. Don't Expect: traffic lights, lots of people, McHamburgers, bungee jumps or late-night noise. Do expect: the best seafood, eco-activity opportunities in every direction, cultural/historical activities and a lot of peace and quiet time on the property, in the forest or on the beach or water!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Room features
Air conditioning
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Offers & Announcements:$10 off room rate
204Reviews
107Photos
5Q+A
48Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 146
  • 36
  • 10
  • 8
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We just spent the night there and enjoyed meeting Skip, one of the owners. Very friendly and helpful guy. This is a great place to stay for people who are not expecting a five star hotel. It was advertised correctly and we stayed in a small but adequate room, very clean and
Read more
Property's Favorite Review
Thanks for a great time in this place. As previous comments indicated it was a very funny experience to come along and find all instructions in writing. Our Captains Room was really nice with its seperat bathroom, fridge etc. There is also a living room for a chat with other
Read more
Response from Skip_and_Kathy, Owner at The Old Carrabelle Hotel
Responded Jan 21, 2019
Many thanks to Switzerland! We have always found that our European visitors are extra-appreciative of our work to preserve the "old" although it's only from 1900! And we hope you will come this way again. Skip and Kathy
Read more
I was actually in town on business and a friend recommended the Old Carrabelle Hotel. It I was my first time staying in a B&B and I must say it did not disappoint what I felt was a fabulous experience! You felt like you walked in to your own home. You were not constantly
Read more
Response from Skip_and_Kathy, Owner at The Old Carrabelle Hotel
Responded Feb 1, 2019
Mishelle, we couldn't have said it better! Your description is exactly what our goal has been for 17 years. And we hope to see you again soon! Skip and Kathy
Read more
This bed and breakfast had several bedrooms and a joint sitting room. The owner was not present and you checked yourself in. The breakfast was a $7 coupon to a breakfast off premises (none of which were open at 7:30 on Sunday a.m.when we were leaving. We chose it because it had
Read more
Response from Skip_and_Kathy, Owner at The Old Carrabelle Hotel
Responded Jan 2, 2019
We all have bad days, and we sympathize. You are in an extreme minority of our 200-or-so reviews, with your negative take, and the first to use the words "musty" or "unclean". Fresh and Clean are the ones you'll see here most often. Balance yours with our hundreds of positive comments, and we must chalk it up to the kind of day you were having. Good luck in your future travels! Skip and Kathy
Read more
I came to Carrabelle to go fishing and my guide suggested I stay at the Old Carrabelle Hotel. Very comfortable room with a huge bathroom. Place is quiet, clean, and a true hidden gem. I spent 3 nights here and plan to come back in the future. I recommend this place for
Read more
Response from Skip_and_Kathy, Owner at The Old Carrabelle Hotel
Responded Nov 1, 2018
And, you caught some! For those who don't know, when we renovated in 2001, every other room became a bathroom so that everyone would get a private bath. Yes, they are quite large! (And we do allow dogs, with a pet fee. Dogs that stay on the floor.) Come again soon! Skip and Kathy
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Family and Play Areas
Harbor
ONE OF THE GREAT GUEST ROOMS
lovely corner bedroom with view
Old Carrabelle Hotel
One of the rooms at the Old Carrabelle Hotel
PreviousNext
1234
Are there any golf courses nearby?
Hi Ocala Duo-- Do we have a golf course! St. James Bay, built and opened about 14 years ago, is close to us right on coastal Hwy 98. It is PGA and Audobon-certified, and is beautifully maintained. Fees are low, and it is a public course. In their words: "St. James Bay Golf Resort offers an eco-friendly layout, the area’s only Audubon Signature Sanctuary, meticulously groomed and maintained, with GPS equipped golf carts, two practice putting greens, full size driving range and 15 beautiful lakes." Lots of awards. Now, for more casual folks, there are a couple of small local courses, one west and one east of Carrabelle. The communities are Port St. Joe and Medart. And of course, don't miss The Old Carrabelle Hotel! Skip and Kathy
0 votes
Show all answers
Sorry, that should be drink coffee.....
Hi Pitty-- There is a coffee service just outside the rooms in the hall. Depending upon the Jammies, they are allowed in the hall. Also, with us you have unlimited coffee at the restaurant of your choice for breakfast! Skip and Kathy
0 votes
Show all answers
If a reviewer noted that most restaurants are closed on Mondays, how about those breakfast vouchers?
Ah, Grasshopper....but not all!
0 votes
Rates for 2 adults & one very well groomed sweet 10# yorkie
As far as rates, I'd go to their website for current rates. When I visited, it was during the 'off' season, and they had a special deal of ' stay two nights, get the third night free', and as I remember the rate was about $ 70 to $ 75 per night. Well worth it though! Give them a call!
1 vote
Show all answers
"try not to stay when they are fully booked as it might be noisy sleeping at night due to thin walls"
"They were all unique. I would suggest you go online and look at them"
"4 guest rooms. Magnolia and Hemingway have quick access to the upper porch."
"All the rooms were on the second floor, and each had a different theme. Some road noise."
"just look at the website and pick one, they are all excellent"
PreviousNext
12345610
PRICE RANGE
$128 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaFlorida PanhandleCarrabelle
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing