We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blue Hen Bed & Breakfast

Traveler (31)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (4)
Overview
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Suites
Pets Allowed
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveler rating
60
7
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
60
7
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 67 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2018

We had an enjoyable stay during a winter trip to Newark. It was really cold outside but the room was warm and toasty and the bed was very comfy. Loved the cute dogs and friendly cat Monty. I'd stay here again and I'd recommend it...More

Date of stay: January 2018
Thank Elizabeth T
Reviewed October 2, 2017

Our first time here and really looking forward to going back. Our son attends the Univ. of Delaware so we've experienced three of the hotels in the area already. This was like being at a family member's home (even better). Very clean. Smelled like homemade...More

Date of stay: October 2017
Thank jdenick623
Reviewed May 22, 2017

My wife and I did an art class led by Don for our anniversary. It was such a great experience, especially if you're a fan of Bob Ross and have always wanted to give his painting technique a try. The class was very self paced...More

Date of stay: May 2017
1  Thank pbaiocco313
Reviewed April 24, 2017

As lodging for a business trip to Newark DE, the Blue Hen provided all the comfort, charm, value and delicious food necessary to keep us going through our busy weekend - with plenty of modern amenities as well. We also enjoyed peace and quiet, as...More

Date of stay: April 2017
Thank watkinsmartinez
Reviewed March 10, 2017

My wife and I stayed on a Saturday night and we had a roomy, comfortable room and a fantastic breakfast. The couple who manage this bed and breakfast are very friendly and try hard to please their customers. This is a very nice place to...More

Date of stay: November 2016
Thank dplumsteadmarshall
View more reviews
About
Description
The Blue Hen Bed and Breakfast is located in Newark, Delaware on Route 273 approximately 1.7 miles west of downtown Newark in an area historically known as “The Wedge”. It’s easily accessible to the University of More Delaware as well as the neighboring states of New Jersey, Pennsylvania and Maryland.Originally built in 1692, this pet friendly B&B is situated on the remaining 2 acres of land that was once part of a 255 acre farm. The Blue Hen offers 3 main guestrooms, all with private baths. Accommodations include breakfast, lavish queen sized beds, free WIFI, beverages and snacks. This is a lovely and historic venue for your intimate wedding, shower, photo shoot or wedding party dressing event. A gazebo with landscaping graces the back yard. A honeymoon suite with kitchenette and private screened in porch overlooks the patio and back yard. Less
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Business Center with Internet Access
Meeting Rooms
Microwave
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Refrigerator in room
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair access
Pool
Beachfront
Room Service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Suites, Accessible rooms
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Suites, Accessible rooms
Number of rooms
3
Price range
$100 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
United States > Delaware > Newark
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Suites, Accessible rooms
Number of rooms
3
Price range
$100 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
United States > Delaware > Newark
Photos
Traveler (31)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (4)
Family and Play Areas (3)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 25 nearby hotels
Courtyard by Marriott Newark-University of Delaware
269 reviews
1.48 miles away
Super 8 by Wyndham Newark de
148 reviews
2.41 miles away
Springhill Suites by Marriott Newark Downtown
22 reviews
2.74 miles away
Baymont by Wyndham Newark at University of Delaware
396 reviews
2.96 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 409 nearby restaurants
Blue Crab Grill
213 reviews
1.90 miles away
Deer Park Tavern
160 reviews
1.77 miles away
Amalfi Pizza & Italian Eatery
29 reviews
1.89 miles away
Vita Nova - University of Delaware
38 reviews
1.88 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 54 nearby attractions
White Clay Creek State Park
147 reviews
1.43 miles away
Milburn Orchards
194 reviews
2.16 miles away
Glasgow Park
231 reviews
1.75 miles away
Borderland Vineyard & Tasting Room
8 reviews
3.44 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Bombae
January 30, 2016|
Answer
Response from Bombae |
No answer after a week. Oh well, on to the next bed and breakfast. Disappointing response
0
Votes
Scarlett0714
September 29, 2014|
Answer
Response from Amy E | Property representative |
We only have one room available that weekend and just for Friday night if you are still interested.
0
Votes
Scarlett0714
September 29, 2014|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Amy E | Property representative |
Hi - I've been trying to respond to your request and I had sent you one last week indicating that we didn't have availability so I hope your received it. I keep getting notifications that I haven't answered you. Hope you... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Quiet location"
elizabethtS2737GH
Jan 9, 2018
Read review
"If you're unable to do steps, request a room on the 1st floor. No TV or fridge in our room, but there..."
jdenick623
Oct 2, 2017
Read review
"We saw them all and they were all appointed beautifully."
P3055UBcarolr
Dec 17, 2016
Read review
"they have a suite which is HC accessible, other rooms are upstairs"
jofannie
Oct 5, 2016
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing