We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Dover Downtown

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Dover Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

126 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 126: English reviews
rickman23
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I researched a few reviews before staying in Dover, and this was toward the top of the list. We stay at Holiday Inns from time to time, and I generally consider them to be an above average brand. I would put the lobby, location and appearance of the restaurant toward the higher end of the spectrum, but the guest rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank rickman23
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My sweetheart and I went recently, the place didn't look that bad, the staff tried to accommodate us, according to the pictures and the person you book from, you think that there is a mini fridge in the room, there is not unless you get lucky. The beds were hard, we tried to keep our stuff cold so we had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roll C
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2016

The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. The best part for me was the in house bar with the bartenders named Bridget and Bonnie. That were great and truly made my stay a memorable experience. The front desk was friendly also. Joseph and Kerry were always on top of their games. Everything I requested was there for me... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brandon P
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2016

At the last minute my husband and I decided to go to the casino in Dover, we pulled in to the Holiday Inn Dover downtown and were greeted with the most wonderful people. Joseph and Bonnie got us checked in and made sure we had everything we needed. Both days there were great!!

Helpful?
Thank Patty A
NewCastle, DE
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2016

My boyfriend and I were attending my sister's wedding and booked two nights at this hotel. We had dinner the night of our first stay so we didn't actually make it to the room until around 10:30pm. We relaxed, walked around the hotel then I climbed in bed. With in 2 minutes I felt something crawling on me! DISGUSTED I... More 

Helpful?
Thank angelflygirl
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dover Downtown, responded to this review

Dear angelflygirl, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. It is truly regrettable that you did not fully enjoy your recent stay with us. Allow me to apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. Let me follow-up on your concerns and have the opportunity to address your them accordingly. I have sent you... More 

Travelers are raving about these Dover hotels

The Great New York State
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2016

I had a bad check in experience, and was not happy with the way it was handled. Long story short, it took the desk clerk over 90 minutes to figure out how to check in a person who makes a reservation after midnight for that same night. He blamed the 800# person, and she blamed the desk clerk. I was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Suezzyq
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dover Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Suezzyq, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class experience, however, it appears we fell short of our goal on your visit. We would like to apologize for the less than satisfactory experience you had at check-in and for falling short... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2016 via mobile

What an experience. The team at the holiday inn Dover is absolutely incredible. From the bar tender, Bridgette, to the night manager, Deb L. Easy check in, great benefits for members, great food, plenty of parking. If you plan on traveling to Dover, this is the place to stay.

Helpful?
1 Thank NoWayJo
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2016

This is my go to Hotel when I am traveling to Dover on Business. They treat me very well as an IHG rewards member and always remember we on my return. The hotel is very clean and the rooms are spotless. I have never had a bad nights sleep here and the breakfast in the morning (was complimentary for the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
Deborah O, Manager at Holiday Inn Dover Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Robert B, Thank you so much for your kind words! We are thrilled to hear you enjoy the cleanliness of our sleeping rooms and the food at our full service restaurant. Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at the Holiday Inn Dover Downtown and for being an IHG Rewards Club Member!! We look forward to... More 

Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016

The room was very accommodating, clean, smartly furnished. The bathroom was spotless, adequate linens and towels provided, along with accoutrements such as coffee, tea, condiments, ice bucket, hot/cold cups. The breakfast plan which was offered as part of the lodging fee was a really good value ... I couldn't believe the servings that came with this offer, and the service... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robert M
Deborah O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dover Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Robert M, Thank you for such a great review! It's so nice to hear you enjoyed our location, breakfast, amenities, and cleanliness of our guest rooms. We at the Holiday Inn Dover Downtown look forward to welcoming you back! Thank you again!! More 

Robbinsville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016

Over all clean. No above and beyond for a 5 star. But the staff gets the front desk staff gets the five stars. Great suggestions for dinner and a couple of other suggestions to make our stay enjoyable. Dec 31 stay, 6 PM check in.

Helpful?
Thank simple-life-man
Deborah O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dover Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Simple-life-man, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay! I will be sure to pass your kind review to the front desk. They will be thrilled to know that their "5 star" service helped make your stay that much more enjoyable. Thank you!! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

94 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (76)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dover hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dover
2.3 mi away
Mainstay Suites Dover
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Dover Downs Hotel & Casino
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dover
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The contemporary Holiday Inn Dover - Downtown hotel places you near the area's best attractions and most prominent businesses. This hotel is located near Dover Downs International Speedway/Casino and Dover Air Force Base. We are proud to offer military and government travelers their own special rate. Our hotel's business travelers appreciate our modern facilities, which boast an on-site business center with print, copy and fax services. We also have meeting rooms that total more than 2800 square feet of event space. If you're looking for a hotel in Dover, Delaware near businesses search no more, since these businesses are just a short drive from our property. If you prefer the outdoors, visit Bombay Hook National Wildlife Refuge or the beach at Cape Henlopen State Park. If you are searching for a hotel in Dover, Delaware with great amenities, you'll be pleased to note that we offer free high-speed Internet access in each room. And, you're sure to enjoy a delicious meal at our on-site eatery, or a relaxing drink in the lounge. We also have an outdoor seasonal pool and a fitness center, so you can unwind after a long day. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dover Downtown

Address: 561 N Dupont Hwy, Dover, DE 19901-3960
Location: United States > Delaware > Dover
Price Range: $97 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Dover Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Dover Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Dover Downtown Hotel Dover
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Dover
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay