We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House
Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

107 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 107: English reviews
Pine Grove, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On the positive side - great location in regard to being oceanfront. Pool was open til 9:30 or 10pm which was great. Room was somewhat outdated but clean. Negative points: NO ELEVATOR, NO BALCONY. We also had to park down the block from hotel. Not sure who is permitted to park in parking area under hotel because even though we... More 

Helpful?
Thank kathyschaeffer
Brook H, General Manager at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback, Kathy. We're disappointed to hear you aren't completely satisfied with our accommodations. We truly value providing our guests with everything they could need to have a great stay. Please know this will be addressed with the appropriate members of our team so we may improve for the future. With this said, we're pleased to... More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

So we booked this last minute as a spur of the moment family vacation. The location is right in the beach which is nice and it has a decent pool, close free parking. Overall convenient! The room... Ohh the room. When we got here it was interesting to say the least but for the price and last minute we figured... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica C
Brook H, General Manager at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing with us, Jessica. We're sorry to hear of the disruption you experienced in the middle of the night as a result of the guests in the room next to you. We do our best to create a peaceful and family-friendly environment to ensure that our guests feel comfortable throughout their stay. We apologize for any inconvenience... More 

Travelers are raving about these Dewey Beach hotels

Rockville, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night and, for the most part, everything was okay. We were surprised to find that the double bed was actually a murphy bed that folded up into the wall. There was an initial mix-up when I arrived and was told that I owed them $22 dollars. I had paid the whole amount when I booked... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barb R
Brook H, General Manager at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House, responded to this review

Dear Barb, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are disappointed to see that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. Please know that your concerns have been passed on to our management team so they can be properly addressed. With that being said, we are happy to see that you appreciated our great location. We... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016

The bed sheets were dirty and smelled bad. The drawers had hair. The bathroom was dirty. The pool was dirty and did not smell like chlorine. The room did not look like it had been cleaned between guests. They simply put soap and towels in the bathroom. The sofa was dirty. They should have steam cleaned it. The place looked... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Carmela R
Brook H, General Manager at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us, Carmela. We're very disappointed to hear that you were unhappy with the condition of your room. We can assure you that cleanliness is something we take very seriously, and our staff works hard to present our guests with spotless rooms. It's unfortunate to hear that you did not receive the exceptional service... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2016

We love coming to the Surf Club when it is not warm enough to sit on the beach. We get a large oceanfront which is well equipped with a 2-burner stove, a sink, microwave, and small refrigerator. The units have a large sofa bed with a chaise for watching TV. We love the Murphy Bed which is easy to fold... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pamela P
Brook H, General Manager at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review with us, Pamela! We are thrilled to know you love visiting us in the off-season. It does tend to be a bit calmer this time of year and is perfect for enjoying a quiet escape from the everyday! We're glad you were comfortable and appreciated your beautiful oceanfront view! Thank you again, Pamela! We're... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2016

A nice surprise hidden at the back of Read Street. Room was more like an efficiency apartment with a stovetop and microwave. Dishes and pans and silverware were provided. There was a nice sofa, TV and DVD player and a lovely sitting area with a nice view of the water. The murphy bed was clever, making the space more open... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 270AmyP66
Brook H, General Manager at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your kind review with us! We're happy to hear you were comfortable in your room and enjoyed the beautiful view of the water from your room. Hopefully, you get a chance to stay with us little longer next time! We'd love the opportunity to host you again! Thank you once more. We truly appreciate the time... More 

Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2016

Fantastic little apartments right on the beach with floor to ceiling sea view windows. It's a big block of apartments - no lifts. Very limited parking and signs everywhere about needing permits, but it wasn't a problem in late April. The apartment had a big bathroom with bath and a lovely shower, a comfy Murphy bed, big couch, TV, hob... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kathy D
Brook H, General Manager at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House, responded to this review

Kathy, thank you for taking the time out of your day to share this wonderful review with us! We're happy to learn what a nice stay you had here at The Surf Club. The off-season is a great time to enjoy a little quiet relaxation before the summer crowds come in. It's great to hear how much you loved the... More 

Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2016 via mobile

It's a unique beachfront hotel or rather motel. The rooms are small but very practical and clean. The bed is a pull down Murphy bed which was rather comfortable. I just wish it was a queen or king size bed. There is a queen size bed in the room but it's a sofa bed and I'd rather not sleep on... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank digitalingrid
Brook H, General Manager at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for sharing your review of The Surf Club Hotel with the TripAdvisor community! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! It's great to see that you appreciated our clean, comfortable rooms, and beautiful ocean views. We love hearing that you took note of our wonderful, friendly staff! Thank you again... More 

Dewey Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2016

We will be going back here every Easter and getting an ocean view room. There's a great little window seat and table and chairs, and a window that opens. It is not an upscale hotel by any means - so if that's your bag, don't stay here, but the view is what I booked it for and I wasn't disappointed.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kelynamandacassidy
Brook H, General Manager at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us! We're glad you enjoyed your couple's getaway at The Surf Club. Nothing beats waking up to a beautiful view and enjoying the fresh ocean breeze with friends! We're looking forward to seeing you again next year for your Easter Break! Thank you again; we appreciate the 5-star review and recommendation. More 

Port Jervis, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2016 via mobile

Loved it. A bit dated, but clean and nicely decorated. Much more space than the traditional hotel room. We had a great view from our room. Would have liked to have a deck though. The only negative was the little 70s bathtub.

Helpful?
Thank Lisa T
Brook H, General Manager at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us, Lisa. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your time and the beautiful beach views at The Surf Club! We appreciate you sharing your feedback as we are always looking to build a bigger and better experience. Thank you again, Lisa. We hope to have the opportunity to host... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

208 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (14)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (165)
Viewed
Beach (16)
Viewed
Direct Ocean Front (34)
Viewed
Large Ocean View (40)
Viewed
Pool (19)
Viewed
Standard Ocean View (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dewey Beach
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
#2 of 12 in Dewey Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 531 reviews
1.9 mi away
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
#5 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 676 reviews
3.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#14 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#20 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 515 reviews
2.0 mi away
Henlopen Hotel
Henlopen Hotel
#18 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 251 reviews
1.7 mi away
Avenue Inn & Spa
Avenue Inn & Spa
#2 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Surf Club is an Ocean Front hotel with 48 kitchenette efficiencies. A few steps away from the hotel is our 3-bedroom beach house. Each hotel unit accommodates (4) four guests. We have the best of both worlds: the Town of Dewey is located between the Atlantic Ocean and Rehoboth Bay. Both the hotel and beach house are open all year. We look forward to having you as our guest, so come and visit us in this beautful part of Delaware ... more   less 

Additional Information about Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House

Address: 1 Read Avenue, Dewey Beach, DE (Formerly The Surf Club)
Location: United States > Delaware > Dewey Beach
Price Range: $94 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf Club Hotel Dewey Beach
Surf Hotel Dewey Beach
The Surf Hotel
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Dewey Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay