We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House
Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

110 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 110: English reviews
Bear, Delaware
Level Contributor
266 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was very pleased with my stay. You can not beat the location. It is right on the beach and the rooms are clean and comfy. Perfect for a weekend getaway. Its higher priced then some of the area hotels but you get what you pay for

Helpful?
Thank valeriecolleen
Brook H, General Manager at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the 5 out of 5 review. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. It's lovely to see how you enjoyed our perfect location right on the beach. Come back and visit us again soon! We hope you have a beautiful day! More 

Hockessin, Delaware
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked a last minute reservation as a spontaneous get away. We were excited to stay at Surf Club as we have stayed in Dewey Beach many times. Also, this hotel was recommended by friends. I will start with the positive - great location and onsite parking. As for the room, it was dirty. Two days of ice cold showers.... More 

Helpful?
Thank TheBonks
Brook H, General Manager at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We're very disappointed to hear of your recent experience at The Surf Club Hotel. We can assure you that cleanliness is something we take very seriously at our establishment. Our staff is dedicated to refreshing our guestrooms each day and keeping our facilities in top condition. We apologize that you had such a negative experience and we can... More 

Travelers are raving about these Dewey Beach hotels

Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Before you plan a trip to the DE beaches, you need to understand some are quieter (Bethany), more family-oriented (Rehoboth), for the more mature traveler (Lewes), and well Dewey... it's a party area. Full of college and shortly-thereafter-aged folks. So you aren't going to Dewey expecting it to be quiet. Second, many/most of the hotels are out of date, primarily... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Hiking_the_NPs
Brook H, General Manager at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We're glad that we were able to accommodate you during your most recent trip to Dewey Beach. We're pleased to hear that you especially appreciated our convenient location and that it met all of your needs during your husband's participation in the Bike to Beach event. It's great to hear that you enjoyed... More 

Pine Grove, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2016

On the positive side - great location in regard to being oceanfront. Pool was open til 9:30 or 10pm which was great. Room was somewhat outdated but clean. Negative points: NO ELEVATOR, NO BALCONY. We also had to park down the block from hotel. Not sure who is permitted to park in parking area under hotel because even though we... More 

Helpful?
Thank kathyschaeffer
Brook H, General Manager at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback, Kathy. We're disappointed to hear you aren't completely satisfied with our accommodations. We truly value providing our guests with everything they could need to have a great stay. Please know this will be addressed with the appropriate members of our team so we may improve for the future. With this said, we're pleased to... More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016 via mobile

So we booked this last minute as a spur of the moment family vacation. The location is right in the beach which is nice and it has a decent pool, close free parking. Overall convenient! The room... Ohh the room. When we got here it was interesting to say the least but for the price and last minute we figured... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica C
Brook H, General Manager at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing with us, Jessica. We're sorry to hear of the disruption you experienced in the middle of the night as a result of the guests in the room next to you. We do our best to create a peaceful and family-friendly environment to ensure that our guests feel comfortable throughout their stay. We apologize for any inconvenience... More 

Rockville, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2016

We stayed here for one night and, for the most part, everything was okay. We were surprised to find that the double bed was actually a murphy bed that folded up into the wall. There was an initial mix-up when I arrived and was told that I owed them $22 dollars. I had paid the whole amount when I booked... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barb R
Brook H, General Manager at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House, responded to this review

Dear Barb, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are disappointed to see that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. Please know that your concerns have been passed on to our management team so they can be properly addressed. With that being said, we are happy to see that you appreciated our great location. We... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016

The bed sheets were dirty and smelled bad. The drawers had hair. The bathroom was dirty. The pool was dirty and did not smell like chlorine. The room did not look like it had been cleaned between guests. They simply put soap and towels in the bathroom. The sofa was dirty. They should have steam cleaned it. The place looked... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Carmela R
Brook H, General Manager at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us, Carmela. We're very disappointed to hear that you were unhappy with the condition of your room. We can assure you that cleanliness is something we take very seriously, and our staff works hard to present our guests with spotless rooms. It's unfortunate to hear that you did not receive the exceptional service... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2016

We love coming to the Surf Club when it is not warm enough to sit on the beach. We get a large oceanfront which is well equipped with a 2-burner stove, a sink, microwave, and small refrigerator. The units have a large sofa bed with a chaise for watching TV. We love the Murphy Bed which is easy to fold... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pamela P
Brook H, General Manager at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review with us, Pamela! We are thrilled to know you love visiting us in the off-season. It does tend to be a bit calmer this time of year and is perfect for enjoying a quiet escape from the everyday! We're glad you were comfortable and appreciated your beautiful oceanfront view! Thank you again, Pamela! We're... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2016

A nice surprise hidden at the back of Read Street. Room was more like an efficiency apartment with a stovetop and microwave. Dishes and pans and silverware were provided. There was a nice sofa, TV and DVD player and a lovely sitting area with a nice view of the water. The murphy bed was clever, making the space more open... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 270AmyP66
Brook H, General Manager at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your kind review with us! We're happy to hear you were comfortable in your room and enjoyed the beautiful view of the water from your room. Hopefully, you get a chance to stay with us little longer next time! We'd love the opportunity to host you again! Thank you once more. We truly appreciate the time... More 

Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2016

Fantastic little apartments right on the beach with floor to ceiling sea view windows. It's a big block of apartments - no lifts. Very limited parking and signs everywhere about needing permits, but it wasn't a problem in late April. The apartment had a big bathroom with bath and a lovely shower, a comfy Murphy bed, big couch, TV, hob... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kathy D
Brook H, General Manager at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House, responded to this review

Kathy, thank you for taking the time out of your day to share this wonderful review with us! We're happy to learn what a nice stay you had here at The Surf Club. The off-season is a great time to enjoy a little quiet relaxation before the summer crowds come in. It's great to hear how much you loved the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

208 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (14)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (165)
Viewed
Beach (16)
Viewed
Direct Ocean Front (34)
Viewed
Large Ocean View (40)
Viewed
Pool (19)
Viewed
Standard Ocean View (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dewey Beach
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
#3 of 12 in Dewey Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 574 reviews
1.9 mi away
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
#5 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 688 reviews
3.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#15 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#19 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 523 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gold Leaf
BEST WESTERN Gold Leaf
#17 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 317 reviews
1.7 mi away
Avenue Inn & Spa
Avenue Inn & Spa
#2 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Surf Club is an Ocean Front hotel with 48 kitchenette efficiencies. A few steps away from the hotel is our 3-bedroom beach house. Each hotel unit accommodates (4) four guests. We have the best of both worlds: the Town of Dewey is located between the Atlantic Ocean and Rehoboth Bay. Both the hotel and beach house are open all year. We look forward to having you as our guest, so come and visit us in this beautful part of Delaware ... more   less 

Additional Information about Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House

Address: 1 Read Ave, Dewey Beach, DE 19971-2311 (Formerly The Surf Club)
Location: United States > Delaware > Dewey Beach
Price Range: $85 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf Club Hotel Dewey Beach
Surf Hotel Dewey Beach
The Surf Hotel
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Dewey Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay