We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House
Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

120 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 120: English reviews
Hawthorne, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked this hotel for its proximity to the beach. We arrived at 10:50pm just in time before the office closed. When walking into the room the moldy smell that hits you is absolutely horrid! The rug and the couch were stained and filthy. It was the worst hotel room I'v ever seen. I slept in my clothes on top... More 

Helpful?
Thank rs1003
Brook H, General Manager at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House, responded to this review

We appreciate the time you've taken to share your feedback. Although we're happy to hear you enjoyed our location, It's very disappointing to hear the service and rooms you received during your stay weren't up to par. Providing our guests with excellent service and a comfortable environment is something we take seriously. Please know your feedback will be addressed with... More 

Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I just needed a break so we decided to stay here for one night (thank god only 1) due to it's oceanfront location. There was something off-putting about the outside of the building and it took me awhile to realize that there were no balconies. What oceanfront hotel doesn't have balconies? This was an omen of things... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank flamingored
Brook H, General Manager at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House, responded to this review

We're deeply disappointed to see you and your husband were not pleased with your experience. We always strive to provide our guests with a fun and stress-free experience. It's unfortunate to hear your stay was not up to par with the high standard we're accustomed to sharing with your guests. We will address your review and cleanliness concerns with our... More 

Travelers are raving about these Dewey Beach hotels

Rabun Gap
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Let me start with the truth that I spent summers at Dewey Beach one block fro this hotel and remember when it was built. The last time I was there was 25 years ago and the hotel at that time was starting to run down. Web site was very accurate, did not mislead us at all in descriptions or photos.... More 

Helpful?
Thank sylvanlinda
Brook H, General Manager at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House, responded to this review

​Thanks for sharing this lovely review, Linda! We're thrilled to see you enjoyed your stay with us. It's our pleasure to accommodate you to the fullest extent, but we appreciate the praise. Your kind words let us know we're doing a great job! We're happy to hear we could show you the many improvements we've made since the last time... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location but old and dirty. We picked this Hotel due to its location on beach and the kitchenette's. What threw us off at the very start of our vacation was dirty stained sheets on the bed sheets, stains on the couch and the bench. The rug was so dirty I didnt want to walk in there without shoes on.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
Brook H, General Manager at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House, responded to this review

We're deeply disappointed to see you weren't pleased with your stay, Jeff. We always strive to provide a relaxing and welcoming experience for our guests. Your comfort and happiness are two of our top priorities. It's unfortunate to hear your stay was not up to par with the standard we're accustomed to providing our guests with here. We will address... More 

Delaware
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Surf Club is located oceanfront in Dewey Beach. Fabulous location, with all of Dewey Beach's restaurants and bars within walking distance. The room was very clean, but the Murphy beds are old and uncomfortable. VERY dated décor. The front desk was very friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating. Nice to have a swimming pool to jump into after the beach, as... More 

Helpful?
Thank GingergirlDelaware
Brook H, General Manager at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We're happy to see you enjoyed your stay and loved the location. We're right there by Dewey Beach. We also appreciate the praise for our team, however, it's our pleasure to accommodate you! With this said, it's unfortunate to see you weren't completely satisfied with your experience. We... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband, myself, and our 4 children checked in on Saturday evening. The rooms have touch entry which is nice, but upon opening the door I wasn't sure if I was walking into a hotel room or out of a time machine. To say the room was out of date would be a gross understatement. Ancient stained couch, Murphy bed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
Brook H, General Manager at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House, responded to this review

We appreciate your time in sharing your review with us, Elizabeth. We're disappointed to see you and your family did not fully enjoy your stay with us. We always strive to go above and beyond for our guests. We will discuss your discomfort with our team so that we may improve for the future. Your happiness and satisfaction are our... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was a very laid back place to stay. The rooms were spacious and the kitchen was clean and equipped with may supplies. The furniture and rugs definitely need to be updated but not a big deal if you plan on spending most of your time on the beach, which was very accessible.

Helpful?
Thank Alissa D
Brook H, General Manager at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House, responded to this review

We appreciate your time in sharing your review with us, Alissa. We're happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us. It's a joy to see you enjoyed our location too. We love being so close to the beach; we're just a stone's throw away. With this said, we will take your concerns into account and address them with our... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for the weekend and while it was a great beachfront location, it was so dirty that I cringe at even the thought of the place. The sheets / pillowcases were dirty and covered in hair and makeup from the last people who stayed in the room. No one cleaned our room or emptied our trash during our two... More 

Helpful?
Thank missy80999
Brook H, General Manager at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House, responded to this review

We're disappointed to see you were displeased with your experience, Missy. We take your happiness and satisfaction very seriously. The cleanliness of our hotel is a huge factor in ensuring your enjoyment of our hotel, and we're deeply upset. We will address your review with the appropriate team members and make any adjustments we see fit to grow for the... More 

Luray, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

great place to stay with Defender Co. as managing. But !!! things changed no tub sorry. new management took it out! maybe they'll bring it back. Sauna was good too. beach view wonderful too. i'll miss this place this year.

Helpful?
1 Thank pl b
Brook H, General Manager at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for the great rating! We're glad to hear you liked the wonderful view we have here at The Surf Club Hotel! We truly value your feedback and we'll take it into consideration as we move forward to improve for the future. We look forward to sharing an even better experience with you next time​ you're in... More 

phoenixville, pa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

staying at this hotel was a wonderful vacation! we stayed on the 3rd floor and it was so quiet and relaxing. I loved the murphy bed and waking up every morning to the ocean. the pool was open late every night and there is even a bathroom next to the pool area so you don't have to run back to... More 

Helpful?
Thank jibberjabber2013
Brook H, General Manager at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for the 5 out of 5 rating! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed staying at our hotel during your vacation! It's fantastic to hear you liked our comfortable rooms and wonderful pool area. We're delighted to know our staff provided you with great service. We truly value your feedback and we'll take it into consideration as... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

208 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (14)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (165)
Viewed
Beach (16)
Viewed
Direct Ocean Front (34)
Viewed
Large Ocean View (40)
Viewed
Pool (19)
Viewed
Standard Ocean View (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dewey Beach
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
#3 of 12 in Dewey Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 632 reviews
1.9 mi away
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
#5 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 712 reviews
3.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#16 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#7 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 525 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gold Leaf
BEST WESTERN Gold Leaf
#17 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 332 reviews
1.8 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#20 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Surf Club is an Ocean Front hotel with 48 kitchenette efficiencies. A few steps away from the hotel is our 3-bedroom beach house. Each hotel unit accommodates (4) four guests. We have the best of both worlds: the Town of Dewey is located between the Atlantic Ocean and Rehoboth Bay. Both the hotel and beach house are open all year. We look forward to having you as our guest, so come and visit us in this beautful part of Delaware ... more   less 

Additional Information about Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House

Address: 1 Read Ave, Dewey Beach, DE 19971-2311 (Formerly The Surf Club)
Location: United States > Delaware > Dewey Beach
Price Range: $84 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf Club Hotel Dewey Beach
Surf Hotel Dewey Beach
The Surf Hotel
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Dewey Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay