Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House

Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House

Table to eat at.
Traveler (87)
Panorama at the Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House
360
Panoramas (7)
Room & Suite (38)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#5 of 13 hotels in Dewey Beach
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.0
Service
4.2
Value
4.0
The Surf Club is an Ocean Front hotel with 48 kitchenette efficiencies. A few steps away from the hotel is our 3-bedroom beach house. Each hotel unit accommodates (4) four guests. We have the best of both worlds: the Town of Dewey is located between the Atlantic Ocean and Rehoboth Bay. Both the hotel and beach house are open all year. We look forward to having you as our guest, so come and visit us in this beautful part of Delaware
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Vending machine
Beach
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
Self-serve laundry
Paid public parking nearby
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Room features
Air conditioning
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Family

Location

1 Read Ave, Dewey Beach, DE 19971-2311
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 80 out of 100
80
Wicomico County Airport
34.1 mi
See all flights
Philadelphia Intl Airport
82.1 mi
See all flights
136Reviews6Q+A45Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 65
  • 42
  • 17
  • 7
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Just_Me_Bernie wrote a review Jul 2020
Bowie, Maryland762 contributions186 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice oceanfront hotel just steps away from the beach, close to the main strip (shops, food, transportation, bars), helpful staff. Large room (no frills), comfortable bed and pillows.
Bring your own cleaning supplies, toiletries, cooking supplies, paper products (plates, paper towels, cutlery, etc). Nothing is supplied in the room. Bring ice if you need it, the ice machine is broken along with the elevator.
3rd floor has the best view (if you can walk up 3 flights of steps)
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Bring your own cleaning supplies, paper products (plates, paper towels, spoons, forks, etc). 3rd...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Corinne H, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House
Responded Jul 23, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share this lovely review, Bernie! We're so glad to know you had such an enjoyable experience with us at The Surf Club Hotel. We're also thrilled you enjoyed our central location and proximity to so many of the city's best attractions. That's what we like to see! We'd love to host you again so we can share yet another unforgettable experience with you! Have a wonderful day! Corinne Harrington Front Office Manager Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tinacaro wrote a review Jun 2020
United States82 contributions111 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our third year and even with COVID, it was a great stay.

The hotel is beach front which is a huge benefit. The trolley stop is at the end of the block. The trolley is still running.

There were some changes but these were well communicated via email prior to our stay.

-no housekeeping: We asked for more towels. They were delivered quickly. Dirty linens were left in a bag outside Th e door and replaced with fresh linens.

-no plates/utensils: still had the toaster oven. Disposable dishes were available upon request but we brought our own

-Pool was limited to 10 people, but never had a problem with this

We had a great stay and will be back next year!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Corinne H, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House
Responded Jun 28, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to leave this fantastic review, Tina! We're happy to hear you had yet another wonderful experience with us at The Surf Club Hotel and that you appreciated our prime location. That's what we like to see! We hope to host you again so we can share yet another unforgettable visit with you. Have a fabulous day! Corinne Harrington Front Office Manager Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
vkbrennan wrote a review Jun 2021
Arlington, Virginia333 contributions121 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
There were many pluses about this hotel, where I stayed for 2 nights. Certainly the price was right. I also found it very quiet - I heard nothing from the street or another room. My room was nicely renovated and I liked that they had soap dispensers (eco) not individual shampoos. Loved having a kitchenette with real dishes. I had a side ocean view, which was lovely to look at. The only real downside is that my room was not terribly clean - the floor needed a good vacuum or scrub and there was visible dirt on the floorboards and ceiling fans.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Corinne H, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House
Responded Jun 4, 2021
Thank you for the fantastic review, Brennan! It's outstanding you had such a wonderful experience at The Surf Club Hotel! We're delighted you enjoyed our excellent location with its stunning and breathtaking views. That's what we like to see! We can't wait to see you again soon so we can share those beautiful scenes with you once more! Have a fantastic day! Corinne Harrington Front Office Manager Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rachel Evans wrote a review Jun 2020
Cambridge, United Kingdom514 contributions204 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is located right on the beach! Very nice location to the town area of Dewey. Shops and restaurants within walking distance. The room was large, with complete kitchen, table and chairs, sofa, king sized bed and good sized closet. The bathroom is very tiny, but functional. I think some things were changed due to Covid-19. All the kitchen accessories such as plates, cups, cutlery were put away and there was no housekeeping service during our 3 night stay. I think I would have liked to have known this so I could have brought more cleaning supplies and kitchen supplies with me. I kept putting the trash outside of the door. I guess I could have asked for more towels if needed. The only complaint I have is that the A/c does not work well. I was given new batteries for the remote, but still did not get it to work. It was never under 80 degrees in the room. I have a difficult time sleeping in the hot, so was exhausted by the time we left.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Corinne H, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House
Responded Jun 28, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us, Rachel. We're glad to hear you had such a great experience with us. We care about the satisfaction of our guests so we appreciate you letting us know what we can do to make your stay perfect. We'll make sure to communicate your feedback to our team. We're looking forward to sharing an even more pleasant experience with you soon. Thank you again and have a wonderful day! Corinne Harrington Front Office Manager Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dewybeach wrote a review Jul 2021
Dover, Delaware42 contributions22 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here with my family from 7/12 - 18 in the direct oceanfront room, 1st floor. I'm giving this hotel 4 stars because it could have been cleaner, the rooms need to be updated, especially the decor, and the facilities (laundry room, restroom) need major repairs and cleaning. Other than that, staff were very friendly and very attentive. The view of the ocean was amazing!!! I like that I could get up early, put my stuff on the beach and no-one messed with it when I returned hours later. The pool is small but it was clean and maintained well. The 2 burner stove worked well but it only works with flat metal pots and pans; if there is any texture to the bottom, or it's not metal, it won't work. I found out the hard way but staff provided extra pots/pans and I had a few of mine that did work. I was able to make a huge spaghetti dinner for 6 of us and it turned out yummy! Overall, we had a GREAT time and look forward to returning next Summer!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Corinne H, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House
Responded Jul 24, 2021
Thanks for the nice rating, dewybeach! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We're happy that you loved our friendly staff. We strive to provide our guests with warm hospitality, efficient service, and clean rooms. Regarding your concerns with our accommodations, we will bring those to the attention of our team as we continue to improve for the future. We'd love to share a more positive experience with you next time. Have a beautiful day! Corinne Harrington Front Office Manager Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kara wrote a review Mar 2021
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My go to hotel for escaping to the beach. Staff is always friendly. They go above and beyond to make your experience better. The rooms are always clean and they’re updated looking as well. Whatever way your room is facing, you have a nice big window to look out of. Of course its 10000% worth getting an ocean view! Prior to my stay, the hotel had sent me an informative email on what I should expect upon arrival. Expectations such as kitchenware being removed, and other covid friendly pre cautions. They even offer a contactless check in as well. This place never disappoints and I look forward to my next stay. Thanks again for the great experience!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Corinne H, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House
Responded Mar 9, 2021
Thank you for the outstanding review, Kara! We're delighted your experience at The Surf Club Hotel was so wonderful! We strive to make all of our guests feel welcome and relaxed during their time with us. It's fantastic our team could accommodate your needs and assist you in any way possible. We aim to please and your praise lets us know we're doing our job! We look forward to sharing another amazing experience with you soon! Have a lovely day! Corinne Harrington Front Office Manager Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Missy P wrote a review Feb 2022
Tucson, Arizona8 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The location and ease of no contact checking in make this a great place to stay. The price is also very reasonable and you can just roll out of bed and roll to the beach. The oceanfront rooms have a fantastic view and so do the other rooms. It's not fancy but its clean and very comfortable. Love this place!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Oceanfront is best!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alex K, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House
Responded Mar 10, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave this wonderful review, Missy! We're thrilled to know you enjoyed your stay at The Surf Club Hotel so much! We strive for excellence so we're pleased to hear you appreciated not only our location and property's value but also our great views and clean, comfortable rooms! Your praise lets us know we're succeeding! We can't wait to host you again for yet another unforgettable visit! Have a lovely day! Traci Haslam Assistant Manager Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ItaliaClive wrote a review Oct 2021
Clive, IA7 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Room 115 was very dusty. Dust on the wall opposite the ceiling fan. Dust on ceilings and ceiling fan. Easy fix would be to wipe down the fan and periodically. Close to the beach. Room was well equipped if you chose to cook. Staff at check in were friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Corinne H, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House
Responded Oct 14, 2021
We appreciate the feedback. It's unfortunate your time with us was less than ideal. We care about the satisfaction and happiness of our guests. We regret that your room wasn't refreshed properly. It's important to us that we offer our guests a quality experience so we'll address your concerns with the appropriate members of our team moving forward. We hope you give us another opportunity to share a more positive experience with you soon. Corinne Harrington Front Office Manager Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
laurap_ny wrote a review Feb 2020
Long Island, New York11 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for two nights in the off season and the room was great! We had an amazing view of the beach from our third floor room, with floor to ceiling windows. Room looked just like the photos w a small table at one end, couch at the other. Having a sink and fridge was great for snacks and adult beverages. King bed was comfy and could barely tell when my beau got up. Dumb waiter worked on the way out (user error on the way in) which was helpful for all out stuff.
My only minor complaints are that the heat/a/c unit is at the far end of the room so the bathroom was quite cold (was only about 25 degrees outside). The heat lamp helped marginally. Stairways are narrow and theres no elevator. (Trekking up 3 flights after a night out was interesting. Guess that's the trade off for the view!)
Overall a great location and beautiful view. Would stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Corinne H, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House
Responded Feb 24, 2020
Thank you for the wonderful review, laurap_ny. We're thrilled to hear you had a lovely stay at The Surf Club Hotel! We love providing a comfortable stay with gorgeous, relaxing views, and you're praise lets us know we're doing our job! We care deeply about the happiness and satisfaction of our guests so we'll be sure to address your comments regarding heating with our team. We can't wait to host you again soon for another excellent vacation! Have a wonderful day. Corinne Harrington Front Office Manager Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kellie L wrote a review Sep 2021
4 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is located steps from Dewey Beach. They have a nice ( small) pool which was very refreshing after being on the beach. There is free parking under the hotel but not enough for everyone however there are additional spots a short walk away. Excellent location as it is close to the beach and many restaurants in Dewey. Each room has a kitchenette which is great for light breakfast or heating up leftovers. There is also a small dining table. I found the room fairly spacious for 2 people , however the bathroom is tiny. There was a king size bed and a pull out sofa with queen size bed. The office staff were very helpful and friendly. My only complaints would be that the room could have been cleaner and since the floors don’t have carpeting, if you are on the first or second floor you will hear the people walking above you .
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Corinne H, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House
Responded Sep 13, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave this fantastic review! We're happy to hear you had such a wonderful experience with us at The Surf Club Hotel and that you appreciated our prime location steps away from Dewey Beach. We're also glad that you found your accommodations so comfortable and convenient. That's what we like to see! We hope to host you again so we can share yet another unforgettable visit with you. Have a fabulous day! Corinne Harrington Front Office Manager Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Toshia E asked a question Jun 2020
Washington DC, District of Columbia12 contributions
How much were the discounted beach umbrellas and loungers?
DCChiq asked a question Jun 2020
Washington DC, District of Columbia58 contributions28 helpful votes
Is the pool open and is there WiFi good enough to do work and a zoom meeting every now and then?
Answer from Carlos A
Lancaster, Pennsylvania4 contributions
Yes the pool is open and the wifi is excellent. This hotel has the best ocean front view. Get a room that faces the ocean trust me you won't regret it
cliffbuck asked a question Apr 2019
Poughkeepsie, New York24 contributions5 helpful votes
When does the pool open?
Answer from Jim F
Newark, Delaware23 contributions7 helpful votes
I think the middle of May but not sure. Probably best if they call the Surf Club and ask. I just looked up the number. 3022277059
Philip C asked a question Jan 2019
Saint Marys, Pennsylvania
How many floors and does this hotel have elevators?
Answer from Jim F
Newark, Delaware23 contributions7 helpful votes
There are 3 floors with ground parking so there is 1 set of stairs to the first floor of rooms. There is a luggage elevator to send up your luggage but you'll need to walk up.
Philip C asked a question Jan 2019
Saint Marys, Pennsylvania
How many floors and does this hotel have elevators?
Answer from PittsburghGuy
Pittsburgh14 contributions5 helpful votes
4 floors. No elevators. The first floor with rooms is the 2nd floor.
John Mr K wrote a tip Aug 2023
Ellicott City4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be prepared for an awesome time!"
Read full review
Bina410 wrote a tip Aug 2023
Port Chester, New York12 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Dumbwaiter very helpful - no elevator."
Read full review
EJGirl wrote a tip Jul 2023
3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Leave your beach towels at home. They provide them. Keurig k cup machines in the room too!"
Read full review
mapleleafjim wrote a tip Nov 2022
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"301, the best!"
Read full review
N MARIE K wrote a tip Sep 2022
9 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking can be a challenge."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Dewey Beach area.
PRICE RANGE
$122 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the surf club hotel dewey beach, surf hotel dewey beach, the surf hotel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Surf Club
LOCATION
United StatesDelawareDewey Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
48
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SURF CLUB OCEANFRONT HOTEL & BEACH HOUSE

Frequently Asked Questions about Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House
Which popular attractions are close to Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House?
Nearby attractions include Dewey Beach (0.04 miles), Woody's Dewey Beach (0.2 miles), and Bottle & Cork (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House?
Yes, free parking and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Woody’s Dewey Beach Bar & Grill, Nalu Hawaiian Surf Bar & Grille, and The Starboard.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Dewey Beach.
Are there any historical sites close to Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Lewes Life-Saving Station & Museum (4.0 miles) and Anna Hazzard Museum (1.7 miles).
Does Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Dewey Beach HotelsDewey Beach Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Dewey BeachHotels near Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars