We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bay Resort Waterfront Hotel

Save
Share
126 Bellevue Street, Dewey Beach, DE 19971
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$199
Travelocity$199
Hotels.com$199
Priceline$199
Trip.com$269
Agoda.com$199
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (204)
Room & Suite (65)
Pool & Beach (14)

About

#2 of 13 hotels in Dewey Beach
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.8
Value
4.6
FREE SUNSETS! Bay Resort is the perfect destination for a relaxing getaway. Spend your days lounging by the pool or take a short walk down to the beach. In the evening watch the sunset over the Rehoboth Bay from our private pier or head just a few steps up the street to dance the night away at Bottle and Cork. Plus, we've got tons of other great amenities. Lounge by the pool, rent a kayak or paddleboard to explore Rehoboth Bay, make s'mores around our fire pits or have a cookout at our outdoor grill. After a day of fun at the beach relax in one of our comfortable guest rooms. Take your pick of standard, poolside, or waterfront rooms. No matter how you stay, you'll love our well-appointed rooms complete with kitchenettes. In addition to amazing amenities and welcoming guest rooms, Bay Resort has an incredible location. Drink in the view on our secluded cove while still being just steps from the beach, dining, nightlife, and shopping. Bay Resort has everything guests could want for a getaway in Dewey Beach.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Outdoor dining area
Casino and Gambling
Mini golf
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Vending machine
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Private balcony
Seating area
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
847Reviews16Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 618
  • 179
  • 30
  • 7
  • 13
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Anthony D wrote a review Aug 3
1 contribution
+1
We checked in and couldn’t believe our eyes. The room was absolutely disgusting and when we went downstairs to complain we were told by the manager we would get a refund and they would charge us for one night but we would get a call the next day and talk about that being refunded as well. Zero response from the manager and finally after 10 days she responded to an e-mail. Here’s here response. Because you were unsatisfied with the room, I made the exception for you. The building is old, and we are due for a renovation that is scheduled for this year. While I understand the pictures showed below, are less then flattering, they are results of an old building or details that we take care of when we do deep cleaning before and after we open. Please see the pictures below. My son was hurt 2 minutes into being in the room because of the metal bar sticking out of the bed.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Bill Lyman wrote a review Aug 2
1 contribution
+1
So I surprised my girlfriend and took her down to Dewey Beach for the weekend for her birthday. After researching places to stay I thought the Bay Resort, according to there pictures and past. “Reviews” seemed like a great place, boy was I wrong! The place was a complete dump - the Bay Beach area was overgrown with 3 feet of grass and the water was dirty, there were no kayaks or boats of any kind offered, the palm trees were cut down rotted blackened stumps and the Gazeebo was old rotted wood and unsafe! Our room TV didn’t work the entire stay and we were told maintenance don’t stay on the grounds and not available. I was told they would reimburse me $100 for not having a TV that worked, but then accidentally gave it to the wrong room and said they could not get it back sorry, so I never got the reimbursement and they didn’t care. There was a leak of some gross liquid coming from under the kitchenette sink but I couldn’t see where it was coming from because they had the cabinet doors screwed shut! Again no maintenance on the property. We went in the pool and within two minutes realized how filthy it was with many floating particles in it, my girlfriend swam into a nasty floating hairnet! We got out immediately. When I spoke to “management” to explain all the issues and false advertising I was told to fight it through my bank, like a challenge… they didn’t care at all… see attached pics and tell me if that looks like what they are advertising. On the flip side we loved Dewey Beach area and vibe and will be back but would never stay at the Bay Resort again!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Wendy Ann wrote a review Jul 2022
New Hartford, New York34 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
Stayed just one night on our way to visit family. The motel is tucked along the bay side of Dewey Beach. Just a short walk to the ocean but the bay is worth admiring as well. Room was very clean with attention to detail. Love the “ cosmetic” wash cloth - genius! Ask for a 2nd or 3rd floor bay view. The porch is roomy and the view is superb! Bonus if you get a corner room as we did! Within short walking distance to ice cream, bars, gift shops. Staff was friendly. I read other reviews complaining the name is misleading. No, it is not a resort… but the attention to detail, family appeal, location and amenities really make this a great motel. If you want resort head to the Caribbean! We will gladly take your room here!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Ask for second or third floor corner room!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Andrea wrote a review Jul 2022
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania128 contributions28 helpful votes
+1
Not to get all sentimental, but this vacation was special to us in more ways than one and I'm so happy I decided to book the Bay Resort Waterfront Hotel for our first vacation in three years since before the pandemic. We had a really nice relaxing vacation and our stay the Bay made it that much better. Let me preface by saying this is not a hotel or a resort, but essentially a beachy motel with some amenities that elevate it past a Super 8, but not quite to the level of a Hampton Inn or the like. Regardless, it's charming, it's simple, it's rustic beach chic. You know what you're getting so don't go into this with high expectations and you'll be set. You need a place to lay your head after a too much wine at dinner, a shower after a day at the beach, and coffee in the morning to do it all over again. The Bay offers all of that, and more. Let me get the cons out of the way: that bed is as hard as a rock. I couldn't wait to return home just to get back to my own mattress. The room is also pretty outdated in its finishings and kitchen appliances, which is evident by the coil burner electric stove, the rusted metal shelving in the mini fridge, the scratched up/worn pots, pans and tableware, the older microwave model, the sconce on the patio that didn't work for us during our stay. It's clean, but in a "I'm cognizant of the wadded up tissue shoved into a random drop ceiling tile in the bathroom and I just won't look at it" way. Plus, there were like 10 resident flies in our room the whole time, most likely cause the sliding door to the patio is not screened so those suckers zoom into the room from the bay real fast whenever you open it. Additionally, we needed wheelchair access. Their website boasted an "ADA King" but didn't offer much detail or photos to help me gauge exactly what "ADA accessible" meant (I promise you, every establishment is loose with this definition). So after booking, I called thrice well in advance of our check-in date and spoke to 3 different staff members at the front desk to inquire about the shower/toilet situation and to ensure the room definitely had zero steps. None of them were able to answer my bathroom questions, except only to say "It is ADA complaint so it should be wheelchair accessible." I wasn't thrilled with that response but decided to risk it and check in a month later sight unseen. Thankfully, I see now they've updated their website to include some details about the shower (the accessible rooms either have a roll-in shower or grab bars in the tub. We had the latter). I included photos of the ADA Bayside King room for reference, as they would have been tremendously helpful to me. All this is to say it didn't make or break the vacation, but it's worth noting, especially since it was close to $800 for a three-night stay during peak Fourth of July season (we checked in after the holiday on the 5th). Regardless, we had zero setbacks with the wheelchair and it ended up being very comfortable and accessible-ish, as promised. We were on the first floor, there was plenty of space to navigate within the room, the bathroom had a roll-under sink, and the bathtub, towel racks, and mirrors were also lower. The grab bars behind the toilet (as opposed to on the sides) and the non roll-in shower came with some difficulty, but that's also on us for not wanting pack our commode/shower chairs. I am sure we could have asked to see if they had any of this, so that's on us. Just an FYI if you're considering what to pack. (Also, a lot of the kitchen equipment and cutlery was in the higher cabinets, so not super accessible either, and the threshold from the room to the patio was definitely a huge bump, so not a great transition in a chair.) Now onto the good stuff. The check-in process was smooth and I was even able to check in an hour and half earlier. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The coffee in the main reception area was a nice touch. The resort is central to anything and everything Dewey, with a liquor store and plenty of restaurants within walking distance. The view is unbeatable, we were right in the beautiful bay with a well-kept dock and grounds, plenty of adirondack and lounge chairs in a nice turquoise/orange color scheme. We spent so much time on that patio soaking in the sunlight and moonlight, drinking our coffee or wine. There's a sandy beach area, a gazebo with swings, and the option of kayaking and paddle boarding with a third party company. Plus, the pool area was very well kept and a nice relief when I didn't want to be on the grass with the many children running around (only problem with the first floor: no privacy from the adjacent guests). Our last day there, a Friday, seemed to be when the staff does major cleaning and rearranging the furniture for the new week of guests to arrive. Up until then, it does get pretty littery (I spotted some cigarette butts, soda cans, and general trash in the sand area but that's more of a problem guest issue than the hotel's). Overall, the sunsets and sea breeze and gentle waves of the bay made our stay worthwhile and its central location is unbeatable.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Amanda wrote a review Jul 2022
Altoona, Pennsylvania2 contributions
I needed a hotel for my family at (quite literally) last minute notice, as the one we had booked’s pool was under renovation. I called and they got me in, no problem whatsoever! Then on top of that gave us, in our opinion, one of the best rooms there!! We were so pleasantly surprised with the beautiful view, the big refrigerator, the stove, the little sitting area on the private beach, just everything!! The room and bed sheets smelled so clean and fresh. They have their own pier with two chairs at the end that you can sit at, and comfortable swings and chairs around a fire pit, AND your own private balcony on the bay side. There are also washers and dryers that you can use. The staff was so friendly and kind. The coffee was delicious, I can’t complain about literally anything except if I HAD to find something, it would’ve been nice to have an elevator. It was a little bit more of a walk to the beach than the other hotel we used stay at but we didn’t mind, everything else made up for that. This will be our new “go to” place to stay when we visit Dewey for sure!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
lctravels wrote a review Jun 2022
Pittsburgh87 contributions26 helpful votes
+1
Everything was great! i wasn’t so sure when I first saw the exterior, as, like so many in the area, it is a bit dated, but I was impressed by the size of my room, full stove/oven, mini fridge and balcony. The view is wonderful especially for sunsets. My bed was super comfy and everything was pristine clean. All of the staff were very helpful and welcoming. The coffee in the lobby hit the spot in the morning. The location is ideal! I’d definitely return and highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Eliza T wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
This was our third year staying at the Bay Resort. The first two years we had a good experience, but this year, not so much. The rooms were filthy. Walking across the room gave us black feet. The stove was also disgusting. It was evident that the rooms are not cleaned thoroughly as there were spit marks in the mirror and unknown substances on the bathroom walls and ceiling. Unfortunately, the only excuse we got was that they are remodeling soon. This has led us to look other places to stay next year closer to Rehoboth.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Citrusgirl21 wrote a review Jun 2022
Baltimore, Maryland130 contributions65 helpful votes
Great location, great value for 1 night. It was exactly what I expected - nothing fancy, but served its purpose! Beds were comfortable. the AC was cold, but the comforter was very warm, so I had trouble getting comfortable with a temperature. Fridge was larger than I expected, which was a nice surprise. great view from bayside rooms. Parking available. They couldn’t initially find our reservation, which we had made via third party, but eventually we got it sorted out & they upgraded our room for scaring us! The checkin staff was an absolute delight & I give kudos to the girl who was working on Thurs 6/16 at 3p in the afternoon!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
deweymom wrote a review Dec 2021
delaware34 contributions15 helpful votes
This little motel is fabulous. Just wanted to get away before the holidays. Booked over the phone and arrived 3 days later. Location is great and right on the bay. Could watch sunset from our bed. This was there last weekend open until March. The room was spotless, smelled fresh and every attention to detail was met. Then you open the curtains and it is pure heaven.Our room was 108 perfect. Close to free ice....soda and snack machine. The front desk was very kind and friendly. Cannot wait to book The Bay Resort in Dewey Beach De again and again. Thanks for the memories.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
butterflybush wrote a review Sep 2021
Cleveland, Ohio377 contributions15 helpful votes
It was just what we needed. Gorgeous view from our third floor room. (Warning no elevator). It overlooked the bay, ocean beach was a 5 minute walk. Unfortunately the surf was very rough, so only waded in the ocean and walked on the beach. Was able to swim in the pool. Small but long enough to do short laps, goes from 3-6 feet. Room was clean, bed and bedding were comfortable. Staff was friendly. As is typical in these times, rooms were cleaned on request only. (We did not ask, as did not need). Any supplies and towels were replaced as soon as requested. This is a motel style, with exterior corridors. Our room had a small stove, frig and microwave which we used for breakfast and some lunches. We got delicious take out from nearby restaurants and also from restaurants in Rehoboth. Loved sitting on the balcony eating dinner, followed by a beautiful sunset. There is no smoking in the rooms, I wish they would also prohibit it on the balconies or become a smoke free property.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Select a bay view room. We liked the third floor, but there is no elevator.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$163 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the bay hotel dewey beach, bay resort dewey beach, bay hotel dewey beach, the bay resort
LOCATION
United StatesDelawareDewey Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
67
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Bay Resort Waterfront Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Bay Resort Waterfront Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Woody's Dewey Beach (0.1 miles), John Waples Memorial Playground (0.2 miles), and Mama Maria's (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Bay Resort Waterfront Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at The Bay Resort Waterfront Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Bay Resort Waterfront Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at The Bay Resort Waterfront Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Bay Resort Waterfront Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Woody’s Dewey Beach Bar & Grill, Dewey Beer Company, and The Starboard.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Bay Resort Waterfront Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is The Bay Resort Waterfront Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Dewey Beach.
Are there any historical sites close to The Bay Resort Waterfront Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Lewes Life-Saving Station & Museum (4.2 miles) and Anna Hazzard Museum (1.5 miles).
Does The Bay Resort Waterfront Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.
Is The Bay Resort Waterfront Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.