We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowne Plaza Wilmington North

Save
Share
630 Naamans Rd, Claymont, DE 19703-2310
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
CrownePlaza.com
$113
View Deal
Free cancellation until 12/14/20
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
$113
View Deal
Free cancellation until 12/14/20
Reserve now, pay at stay
ZenHotels.com
$116
$109
View Deal
SAVE $7
Agoda.com$113
Priceline$113
lovevacations$116
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (81)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (4)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 10/27/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Crowne Plaza Wilmington North
Updated 10/27/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 3 hotels in Claymont
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Boasting spacious rooms with deluxe bedding and free Wi-Fi, plus full-service amenities including a restaurant and lounge, the Crowne Plaza Wilmington North provides guests with the complete package.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
Convenience store
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Spanish
258Reviews3Q+A47Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 67
  • 73
  • 67
  • 27
  • 24
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Supapam wrote a review Mar 2020
Delaware151 contributions17 helpful votes
Stayed here for one night. The lobby was super hot for some reason. The poor clerk was sweating behind the desk. The room itself was ok, the beds were fine. Not hard to get on the highway from here. There was an empty shampoo bottle in the shower, yet there was a full bottle at the sink. I do not use hotel shampoo so it was from the previous guest. Housekeeping just replaced it but didnt see the empty one (or didnt bother to look in the shower). Extra tissues were just jammed into the top of the holder in the bathroom. This makes me wonder how thorough of a cleaning the staff really does in these rooms. Not good. The clock was not adjusted for daylight savings time, which if you are depending on this to get somewhere, that could be a real drag. Didn't bother with the breakfast since it costs $$. I wouldn't recommend this place. It's the small details that really make a hotel worthwhile; there are no shortages of hotels in this area so it makes sense to pay attention to these things.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North
Responded Mar 28, 2020
Hi Supapam, We're all business mostly and our goal has always been to provide our guests with the best hospitality service. I am sorry that your overnight stay at our Crowne Plaza Wilmington North property was not as stellar as expected. I am sorry that you find our housekeeping services lacking and our restaurant services pricey. Your comments will not go unnoticed as I have shared them with our management team. We always challenge ourselves to be better and feedback like yours will serve as a constant reminder to enhance our Service Hospitality. Pleasure once again to be your host. I hope you will give us another chance to restore your confidence in the future. Warm Regards, Alice P Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Nicolle D wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I was very thankful for the incredibly staff that helped me during my cross country move. When I needed help the most, three staff members helped me and my fur babies find a great place to stay. So a huge thank you to Bobbie, Joannah and Ashley. Your kindness was truly appreciated. Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from AlexandraCPW, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North
Responded Feb 19, 2020
Dear 15nicolled, Thank you so much for taking time to share your kind comments regarding my team. I am thrilled to know that my team was able to take care of you during such a stressful time. I will share your feedback with Bonnie, Johannah and Ashley. They will be very happy to see it. Best regards,
Read more
David M wrote a review Feb 2020
Tampa, Florida4,366 contributions387 helpful votes
+1
Nice hotel with large rooms. In a convenient location. Rooms had plenty of electrical outlets. Breakfast was a $13.95 buffet. As far as buffers go, was a bit lean but the price was lower than most hotel buffers.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from AlexandraCPW, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North
Responded Feb 3, 2020
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay and taking time out of your busy schedule to leave valuable input. We greatly appreciate your favorable comments and constructive feedback about breakfast. We have shared this review with appropriate department in effort to better our guests' experience. Please feel free to reach out to me directly if you need any further assistance. Best regards,
Read more
CincyGuy1 wrote a review Nov 2019
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania5 contributions
I got an internet "deal" for about $75 a night which I thought was a good value. That being said, you get what you pay for. THE GOOD: My room and bath were clean and well serviced each morning. The staff is really friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet is reasonably priced at $13.95 and there was a good variety of hot, tasty food. I never left hungry. And, they use real china and glassware not paper plates and styrofoam cups. The bed was really comfortable and I slept well. The hotel is very conveniently located neat I-95. THE NOT SO GOOD: At one time, this was probably an upper end, mid-range hotel. Regrettably, they have not maintained the property. Everything is banged up and scuffed up. In the common areas, the carpeting is worn down to the padding in some places. A seam in the chair in my room had burst open and the stuffing was coming out. The elevators are grimey and made creaking noises to the point where I dashed out as soon as the door opened. The paint is peeling everywhere on the outside of the building and the wall and ceiling paint are dingy on the inside. The "gym" consists of some treadmills, a bench and some hand weights. That was disappointing and they don't have any agreements with any local gyms in the area where guests can get a more complete workout. Even the two palms on either side of the outside entrance are half dead. Even though I like the price and slept well, I think I will try someplace else next time.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North
Responded Dec 15, 2019
Hi CincyGuy1, Thank you for your stay and for sharing your candid feedback. We aim to help our guests recharged. While I am glad that you're pleased with the tidiness of room allocated, service provided by our staff, and with the breakfast options, I am sorry to learn we missed the mark with the condition of the carpet in the common areas, lift, furnishings and with the gym. Trust that your comments have been forwarded with our hotel management as a reference in the future enhancement of our facilities. I hope you give us another try should you get to visit the area again! Best regards, Jonathan A Case Manager IHGService
Read more
471hollya wrote a review Oct 2019
Plainville, Connecticut3 contributions
Nice hotel. Check-in was friendly and prompt. Confirmed at check in that breakfast was included (paid an extra $10 on Expedia to have it included) and was told “yes” and that breakfast was until 11:00am the next morning. Went down at 9:55 and the whole buffet was broken down and cleaned (looked like it had been broken down for awhile). The women working on breaking down the last of the buffet informed me that it closed at 10 during the week. We let her know that we were told 11 and she just replied with it’s 10. Would have been nice if we were at least offered a bagel from the kitchen as we were there under the 10 close too. Was hoping all the complaints about breakfast would have been worked out but it happened to me too. They should really get this fixed as everything else was fine. Rooms were clean, check in pleasant, etc.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North
Responded Nov 7, 2019
Hello 471hollya, Thanks for staying with us and taking the time to share your thoughts. I'm sorry you weren't impressed with your stay due to breakfast experience. Our team has been looped of your review and I'm confident this will be improved to deliver complete guest satisfaction. Your feedback is taken seriously as it has always been our goal to exceed our guests' expectations. Though your stay was not outstanding, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your future travels. Best, Ronald R. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$83 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn select wilmington - brandywine hotel claymont, holiday inn claymont, claymont holiday inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Holiday Inn Select Wilmington - Brandywine
LOCATION
United StatesDelawareClaymont
NUMBER OF ROOMS
189
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Crowne Plaza Wilmington North
What are some of the property amenities at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Crowne Plaza Wilmington North?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Reef, Aurea's Mexican Retaurant, and Duffer's Mill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Crowne Plaza Wilmington North offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Russian.
Are there any historical sites close to Crowne Plaza Wilmington North?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Rockwood Museum (4.4 miles).
Is Crowne Plaza Wilmington North accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.