We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Bethany Beach
Post
Inbox
Search

Meris Gardens Bed & Breakfast

Save
33309 Kent Ave Next to Sea Colony, Bethany Beach, DE 19930-3730
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (18)
Room & Suite (22)
Dining (13)

About

#3 of 3 hotels in Bethany Beach
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Meris Gardens Bed & Breakfast is located in Bethany Beach, Delaware. Hailed as Bethany Beach’s “Best Kept Secret”, families have made Meris Gardens a yearly tradition. Stop by year-round to see exactly why you’ll want to make Meris Gardens your new home away from home. After a day on the beach and boardwalk, please enjoy a complementary late afternoon break with us on the veranda. We will provide snacks as well as cold drinks, while you are welcome to bring your own adult beverages. We offer discounts for military personnel as well as those seeking an extended stay. Our staff all share the mantra, “Our home is your home.” During your stay, it is our priority to have you feel as “at home” as we can – we truly treat ourselves as a family and would love to have you stay with us. Meris Gardens is Bethany Beach’s only Bed & Breakfast that features both privacy and accessibility. Nestled in the woods, there is a real sense of peace; coupled with it being just a stone’s throw from Bethany’s beach, boardwalk, shops, and restaurants, it is an ideal spot to getaway. Dogs are more than welcome ($20/day) in our special pet friendly rooms. All 14 of our private rooms include: Full ensuite bathroom Complementary breakfast Complementary mocktail & hors d’oeuvre hour Refrigerator Coffee maker Hotel amenities Hairdryer Complementary Wi-Fi Flat screen HDTV Daily housekeeping Complementary guest parking Complementary bicycles for guest use Pet friendly rooms Extended stays are also more than welcome
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycles available
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
BBQ facilities
Concierge
Free internet
Wifi
Public wifi
Internet
Special diet menus
Newspaper
Private check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14

Location

Full view
55Somewhat walkable
Grade: 55 out of 100
33Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
1Attractionwithin 0.75 miles
134Reviews1Q+A28Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 72
  • 32
  • 13
  • 4
  • 13
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I can see why the reviews are mixed for this motel. Pros: Good location Friendly staff Breakfast included Beautiful gardens Dog friendly Easy parking Cons: Does not allow cats, but website just says pet friendly for a fee Dogs cant sleep on the beds (we had a dog and didn't know that restriction until we arrived) Our room had visible water damage and wallpaper had moisture issues in the bathroom Most times, there was no hot water Old keys for doors that you had to remember if your room had been locked Accidentally walked into someone room thinking it was was the breakfast room entrance and there door was unlocked Poor lighting a night Bathroom was tiny and very basic Small dehumidifier that was loud and filled up after just a few hours
Read more
Response from JenniferSev, Manager at Meris Gardens Bed & Breakfast
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hello, Thank you for your detailed review. We would like to first apologize for the misunderstanding about the specifications of being pet-friendly and guidelines, we will make the appropriate adjustments on being more clear on this matter in the future. Also, apologies for any inconvenience on the room, we are not aware of any issues of water damage or severe moisture, we hoped that we could have better complimented your stay had we known about the issues. We take all feedback seriously and always in consideration for our future guests. We appreciate your pros list as we continue to work hard to best care for our guests during their stay. We are grateful for your positive feedback on our gardens, staff, location and breakfast! We truly hope you come back and try us again in the future as we are always putting forth to making Meris Gardens better and better each year as we execute each suggestion & comment from our guests. Thank you for your time
Read more
My husband and I wanted to explore Bethany Beach and also play tennis seven at sea colony tennis center. We found this B&B located across the street from sea colony. So close that we could walk to our tennis clinic. I'm so close to the downtown sowe could stroll and enjoy the stores and restaurants. Sue the manager and Mike, her support person were informative and friendly. When I told Sue that my brother and his wife were going to visit us to see the B&B before we went out to dinner, she offered us glasses and plates to use for our pre-dinner drinks. Breakfast was satisfying and plentiful. Our room was immaculately clean. The only reason for a four star review instead of five was that the air conditioner, dehumidifier and bathroom fan were very loud.
Read more
Response from JenniferSev, Manager at Meris Gardens Bed & Breakfast
Responded Oct 4, 2019
Hello Rosemary, Thank you for your fantastic review! We are grateful that you had a great experience recently at our B&B. We appreciate your wonderful compliments to our staff as we try to exceed all of our guests' expectations! We are very glad that our location was convenient for you and your husband. We apologize about the noise in the room, next time we'll try to place you in a more quieter space, and we will consider that in the future as part of our winter renovations. Thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you again very soon!
Read more
We did book late as we were to meet friends there so I am hoping this was the last room available in this 1950's motel tucked away in a residential community. Maybe (and I do mean maybe) it was updated in the 60's but only certain parts. Our room was tiny, hard as a rock mattress and sheets were NOT changed and laundered daily and the guess is if you didn't put the towels in the hamper they would not be changed. Smelled musty and OLD window air in bathroom so it was freezing and room was very warm. Old falling apart furniture but it did have a tiny microwave and fridge albeit on its last legs. OMG the tub. I showered (literally) at the beach shower as even bath fitter could not fix that tub. In dire need of renovation for the cost. The light breakfast is just that LIGHT. Small bowls of fruit and one day 2 bananas and the next day we got there at 8 on the tick and there were 3. We think the same hard boiled eggs were sitting there for the duration. The coffee cake the first day was very good but the pancakes - well there is a knack to making them so thin I guess. The owners are quite personable and that made the stay bearable.. All in all if we ever go back to Bethany Beach (doubtful) we will stay at an Air B&B or one of the boardwalk hotels.
Read more
Response from JenniferSev, Manager at Meris Gardens Bed & Breakfast
Responded Oct 4, 2019
Thank you for your response, and we apologize that you were not pleased with your stay. I believe you are referring to Room 3, and we do apologize about the tub. It seems as though the contractors and our schedules were not matching to take care of this matter, however it is first on our list for winter renovations. Other than our acknowledgment about the tub, We have never gotten prior complaints about Room 3 before, and normally we receive compliments about the room, and the photos on our website of the room is how it looks. We do not claim to be modern or luxurious as stated in our history page on our website, the structure of our B&B is historical as it was built in the late 60's, however we continue to update it it every winter as it is a working progress to better modernize and suit our guest's needs. We apologize for the cleanliness and breakfast, we usually receive daily compliments about both, so we are sorry that they could not meet your expectations at this time. The bananas are usually bought in a bunch of 5, some may have turned by the time we were ready to serve, so we did not place those on the table for our guests to eat. We guarantee that our eggs are boiled fresh everyday, we never serve the same eggs daily. We appreciate your compliments about our customer service, and we hoped that we could have better complimented your stay had we known about the issues. We take all feedback seriously and always in consideration for our future guests. Thank you for your time
Read more
I had a reservation for this hotel and had to cancel 6 days in advance because my daughter was in an accident. I called the hotel after having been charged $293.00 (for a 2 day reservation) for cancelling. They were unwilling to make the exception and were rude in doing so. They are within their legal right to do so, but morally I wish that they had done the right thing. If their customer service is in line with this philosophy, I would look elsewhere.
Read more
Response from JenniferSev, Manager at Meris Gardens Bed & Breakfast
Responded Jul 2, 2019
Hello Ms. Ferreira, We are sorry to hear from you that your daughter's car was totaled. Unfortunately, as explained earlier over the phone, the $293.76 was the deposit for your reservation, and we have a 30 day cancellation policy and your reservation is within the 30 day cancellation guideline as you were supposed to check in on July 6, which is 4 days from your cancellation date. However, we have refunded $146.88 (half of the amount of the deposit) to best accommodate you at this time. We are truly sorry about this unfortunate time and we truly hope that all goes well for your daughter
Read more
My husband and I and our yellow lab Hank stayed at Meris this past weekend. It is a great place to stay. The owners are very welcoming and gave great tips on places to take Hank swimming. We will be back!
Read more
Response from JenniferSev, Manager at Meris Gardens Bed & Breakfast
Responded Jun 25, 2019
Thank you for your excellent review! We are grateful that you had a great experience at our recently upgraded B&B. We appreciate your compliments to our staff, and we are so glad that you were able to find local places to welcome Hank as well! Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to seeing you three, again!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$143 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
westward pines hotel bethany beach
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Westward Pines
LOCATION
United StatesDelawareBethany Beach
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Meris Gardens Bed & Breakfast
Which popular attractions are close to Meris Gardens Bed & Breakfast?
Nearby attractions include Shore Fun Family Fun Center (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Meris Gardens Bed & Breakfast?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Meris Gardens Bed & Breakfast?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Meris Gardens Bed & Breakfast?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Meris Gardens Bed & Breakfast?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Meris Gardens Bed & Breakfast?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sunshine Crepes, Fishers Popcorn, and Cottage Cafe.
Is Meris Gardens Bed & Breakfast located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Bethany Beach.
Are pets allowed at Meris Gardens Bed & Breakfast?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Meris Gardens Bed & Breakfast?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Transpeninsular Marker (5.3 miles) and Lewes Life-Saving Station & Museum (7.3 miles).
Is Meris Gardens Bed & Breakfast accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.