We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hampton Inn & Suites New Haven - South - West Haven

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hampton Inn & Suites New Haven - South - West Haven
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

483 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 474: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The staff was totally Awesome! The maintenance, housekeeping and front desk was great they helped me with terminally ill 75 year old mother. Some staff even delivered her breakfast to her room. For two different days without me asking. They just noticed what I was doing every morning struggling to get her food and me and granddaughter. The staff remembers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carrie R
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Had a stay here in November 2016 during a competition at Yale. Very average hotel. Has a McDonald's and Walmart across the road. Has a bus station next to it which is great. The staff seems not inspired at all, there was only one employee who actually smiled and offered us cookies. The hotel has a pool which I didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fadil U
Management response:

Dear Fadil U, I am sorry that our staff did not make you feel as welcomed as we would have liked. I will be passing you comments on to the other managers. I hope that you will give us another try and let us show you how much Hamptonality we really have! Best, Ruby K.

Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff could not have been nicer and so professional. I was there all week on business and they were more than accomodating. Good location close to route 95. I always stay at Hilton properties mostly Hampton Inns and 90% always satisfied.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank A6495JIdeborahr
Management response:

Dear A6495JIdeborahr, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites! We look forward to serving you again soon! Best, Ruby K.

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Other than a great location, the rooms were just mediocre. Pillows are too soft, flat and very uncomfortable. Double queen beds; one was lower to the floor than the other. Dirty socks were left in the closet and under the curtain. Bathroom baseboard was dusty and dirty.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sunny-mikedc
Management response:

Dear Sunny-mikedc, I am so sorry for the experience you had at our hotel. I will be passing your concerns on to our housekeeping manager. I hope that if you are in the area you will give us another try. Best, Ruby K.

Arnold, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

came up for family funeral and the hotel staff was fantastic, rooms were great, clean and comfy! Had a king suit and great space. added roll away with sleep sofa. still room! cant say enough good things!

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
Management response:

Dear Karen K, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites West Haven! We hope to see you again soon! Best, Ruby K.

New York City, New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was a pleasure to stay at this hotel and I have already scheduled another stay. Had very bad experiences with other hotels in the area so I was overjoyed with this hotel. Bringing my bathing suit next visit as the pool looked so clean and inviting. Breakfast area clean and the staff were wonderful.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank bonnie b
Management response:

Dear bonnie b, I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites West Haven! I am so happy you enjoyed our breakfast so much! We hope to see you again soon! Best, Ruby K.

New Jersey
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed one night because we were attending a concert in New Haven and this was a more affordable option than staying downtown. It was clean and comfortable and they had a decent breakfast in the morning. They also granted us a late checkout because we were running late. Location is right off the highway so it's an inexpensive uber...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly H
Management response:

Dear Kelly H, I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites West Haven! I'm happy that our staff was able to grant you a later check out. We hope to see you again soon! Best, Ruby K.

Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had to stop at a hotel because of bad weather. Am a Hilton Honor Member. Like the consistency of hotel amenities that they offer. This hotel the staff was good. The breakfast wasn't up to their usual quality. Would stay again if in area. Nice variety of restaurants on and near hotel.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank X4462OTsusanf
Management response:

Dear X4462OTsusanf, I'm glad we could be a safe haven for you during the snowstorm! I am sorry that you didn't enjoy breakfast as much as we would have liked. I hope you will stop by again and give us another chance. Have a happy and healthy New Year! Best, Ruby K.

Willingboro, New Jersey
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location, poor leadership. The professionalism of the staff was not up to the standard of other Hampton Inn that we stayed at. The staff isn't well trained in terms of interacting with customers. The breakfast mealter has been reduced. No meat or potatoes was at the buffet. I have never been to and Hampton Inn where they didn't have...

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 444walterr
Management response:

Dear 444walterr, I am sorry for the experience you had at our property. I assure that we train our staff to act with the upmost professionalism, it disappoints me that they did not. I will be speaking with the agents regarding your concerns. I am sorry you did not enjoy our breakfast. I will be speaking with the attendants about...

Williamstown, New Jersey, United States
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room was clean odor free but dusty. The white bedspreads were dingy and the dust ruffle a tacky green material. The check in staff were polite but I didn't get the bottled water I should have gotten in my rewards category, even though I saw two men on the elevator with their bag of water. The location was convenient...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marianne B
Management response:

Dear Marianne B, I am sorry for the experiences you had at our property. I assure you that we value all of our Hilton Honors members very much. I will address your concerns with my front desk agents. I will also pass along your comments to my housekeeping director. I do hope that you will give us another chance. Best,...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Haven
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Executive Hotel of New Haven-West Haven
2.8 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
376 reviews
3.5 mi away
New Haven Hotel
New Haven Hotel
#3 of 12 in New Haven
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
3.8 mi away
Courtyard New Haven at Yale
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Milford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy the coastline of Connecticut during your stay in West Haven. Our property is located 10 minutes from New Haven, the home of Yale University and is close to many area attractions like Bradley Point Park and Yale Peabody Museum. Enjoy free WiFi and a hot free breakfast, as you relax in our clean & fresh Hampton beds. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites New Haven - South - West Haven

Address: 510 Saw Mill Road, West Haven, CT 06516
Location: United States > Connecticut > West Haven
Price Range: $103 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites New Haven - South - West Haven 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites New Haven - South - West Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites New Haven-South-West Haven Hotel West Haven
Hampton Inn And Suites New Haven-South-West Haven
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hampton Inn & Suites New Haven - South - West Haven staff and other travelers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Amityville
San Francisco, California
3 months ago
Chicago, Illinois
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Hampton Inn & Suites New Haven - South - West Haven staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The best room was the handicapped rooms The suites are good with new coach beds.”
 of 5 bubbles 654carrier, yesterday | Read review
“Try facing the other side of the freeway for less noise.”
 of 5 bubbles walkerr_13, Sep 11, 2016 | Read review
“Be sure to ask for a King.”
 of 5 bubbles Dittmarschen, Aug 31, 2016 | Read review
“Find a room in a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Whedrick, Aug 25, 2016 | Read review
“The higher floors would be safer and quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles edwardp206, Aug 22, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay