We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Dunloe

Travelers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Dunloe
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

706 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 671: English reviews
Start your review of The Dunloe
 Click to rate
New Forest National Park Hampshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

A bit late but I thought I really must review. My son got married here as his lovely wife is Irish and being from England it was an exciting opportunity for us all to visit this beautiful place. The wedding was excellent, food stunning and every ingredient was first class. Will visit this hotel again one day. Don't hesitate just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sue2005
HDCManager_11, Manager at The Dunloe, responded to this review

Dear Sue2005, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to read that you all enjoyed this very special occasion. The Team at The Dunloe take great pride in making our weddings unique. I will happily pass on your kind compliments to the rest of the team and we hope that we will...

Hoboken, New Jersey
Reviewed January 19, 2017

This review is coming a little later than usual. However, our stay at this hotel was absolutely great! The grounds were just immaculate. I only wish I could have sat on our balcony with a cup of coffee and taken in the scenery more but there is too much to see in Kerry. From check in to check out the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Safe_Harbours
HDCManager_11, Manager at The Dunloe, responded to this review

Dear Safe_Harbours, Thank you for leaving a review on Tripadvisor, I'm glad you still have taken good memories away from The Dunloe. We are very fortunate to be located in such a beautiful area and all the room therefore having panoramic vistas. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are currently close to undergo...

Hannington, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 11, 2017

This hotel is fortunate to be based in a stunning location and perhaps relies on this feature alittle too much. Our whole stay was quite disappointing. The decor and set up felt old and outdated. Our room smelt of sick and the carpet had a damp patch that obviously was their attempt to clean after a previous guest. Unfortunately the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Boardie73
HDCManager_11, Manager at The Dunloe, responded to this review

Dear Boardie73, Thank you for leaving a review on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to read that you were not satisfied with your stay. I remember meeting you during your stay and calling to your room to investigate the smell. We had just varnished some timber in this room and we agreed that this was the strong odour and it was...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed January 5, 2017

We held our wedding in the Dunloe Hotel in October 2016 and cannot recommend it highly enough. The venue is spectacular, set on beautiful grounds overlooking the stunning Gap of Dunloe. Jason, Veerpal, Duncan and the hotel staff were extremely professional and helpful and couldn't do enough to ensure that our day ran smoothly and that everyone was catered for....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre O
HDCManager_11, Manager at The Dunloe, responded to this review

Dear Deirdre & John, Hope you are both well. Thank you for leaving such a wonderful review of your wedding experience at The Dunloe. I am delighted to read that you and your guests enjoyed your special day. It was a pleasure dealing with you both during the previous months and on the run up to the wedding day. I...

Tampa, Florida
Reviewed January 3, 2017

I saw this hotel on tripadvisor and decided to book and I was happy I did. The property was so beautiful and it is a perfect branching off point to do to the Ring of Kerry My only regret is that we didn't have more time to spend there exploring the area. Great value!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TampaTina
HDCManager_11, Manager at The Dunloe, responded to this review

Dear Cristina C, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we reached all your expectations. I hope that on your next stay you will have more time with us to enjoy the hotel facilities and the beautiful surrounding areas. We look forward...

Sydney
Reviewed November 18, 2016

The hotel is located in a rural setting, lush and green, avenues of trees and rolling plains, beautiful. Then it gets better. The rooms were great, large beautifully appointed and of course wonderful views. The best by a long way during our trip around Ireland There were several dining options but we stayed with the more kid friendly option. No...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CORSydney
HDCManager_11, Manager at The Dunloe, responded to this review

Dear CORSydney, Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to leave a review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very fortunate to be located in such a beautiful part of Ireland. We say that God was in good form when he made Killarney! I am glad that...

Ireland
Reviewed October 24, 2016

We selected the Dunloe as our wedding venue because we primarily wanted somewhere picturesque for the ceremony. The hotel has a variety of options for hosting the civil ceremony that are so perfect, it’s almost impossible to choose. We were immediately excited with the idea of a perfectly sunny day and getting married outdoors in the garden, followed by drinks...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank John L
HDCManager_11, Manager at The Dunloe, responded to this review

Dear Agnieszka and John, Hope you are both well. Thank you for writing such an extensive review of your wedding day. I am delighted that you all enjoyed it. We are very fortunate to be located in such a beautiful part of the country and have such panoramic views from our Civil Ceremony Suits. As you mentioned in your review...

kerry
Reviewed October 21, 2016

This hotel is the BEST place to have your wedding, or just even use any excuse to stay here but you should definitely stay here if you are in Killarney. We stayed here for my sisters wedding and from when we arrived until we left it was sheer bliss, the ambience - the staff - the food, the fantastic family...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tradmusicfan
HDCManager_11, Manager at The Dunloe, responded to this review

Dear tradmusicfan, Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your stay. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay during your sisters wedding. Thank you for your kind compliments of the food and service, I will happily pass this onto the rest of the team. Such compliments bode well and reassure us...

Reviewed October 15, 2016

The hotel is great, service is awesome but the best part are the grounds. It was amazing to us that we never saw another person having a walk around this amazing location. The restaurants are great, the pub is very nice and the service was amazing. The rooms are very spacious and well appointed. Unfortunately it will be closed until...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey F
HDCManager_11, Manager at The Dunloe, responded to this review

Dear Jeffrey F, Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad to read that you enjoyed our 20 acres of Sub-Tropical Garden. The grounds are a superb part of The Dunloe and well maintained by our Team of Gardeners for our guests enjoyment and of course we have...

Foxwarren
Reviewed October 15, 2016

We have been fortunate enough to have stayed in many 5star hotels around the world, but have not found one better than the Dunloe. The setting is magnificent, the service exceptional, and the accommodation first class. We had a suite on the top floor overlooking the lovely green pasture filled with sheep and horses and couldn't have awoken to a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edward F
HDCManager_11, Manager at The Dunloe, responded to this review

Dear Edward F, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time at The Dunloe. Thank you for your kind words regarding the service, setting and accommodation. I am glad you enjoyed your room and the views can certainly be breath taking in the morning, but what...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

310 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (282)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (95)
Viewed
View from Room (35)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (110)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaufort
2.4 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
5.2 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
1,298 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Loch Lein Country House
5.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 39 in Killarney
1,924 reviews
3.3 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Dunloe is a beautiful 5* hotel, overlooking the famous Gap of Dunloe, set on its own 64 acre estate leading to the ruins of the 12th century castle and River Laune. The dog-friendly The Dunloe is one of the finest luxury hotels Ireland has, boasting magnificent 5 star hotel accommodation in Kerry, only 5 miles from Killarney town. Enjoy a range of complimentary onsite leisure activities including swimming, sauna, steam room, fitness room, fishing, horse riding, and indoor tennis. A kids club and movie night programme runs for children throughout the summer months. Golf, tours, walks can also be arranged locally ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Dunloe

Address: Beaufort, Beaufort, Killarney, Ireland (Formerly Hotel Dunloe Castle)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Beaufort
Price Range: $126 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dunloe 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Dunloe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunloe Castle Hotel
Hotel Dunloe Castle
Dunloe Castle Killarney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Dunloe staff and other travelers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Dunloe staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Suite overlooking the mountains”
 of 5 bubbles sue2005, 5 weeks ago | Read review
“I would think all rooms are lovely but the view from the top floor over the pasture is stunning !!”
 of 5 bubbles Tedandrosefalloon, Oct 15, 2016 | Read review
“As for a room with a mountain view - can't be beat first thing in the morning.”
 of 5 bubbles Weary Travellery, Oct 14, 2016 | Read review
“Request a room with a garden view”
 of 5 bubbles jssc4, Oct 8, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a garden view.”
 of 5 bubbles timrF9478BE, Sep 30, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question