The Residence Maldives Falhumaafushi

The Residence Maldives Falhumaafushi

Traveler (3221)
Typical twin room
Room & Suite (453)
Falhumaa deck
Dining (247)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Sun, May 26
Get rewarded with One Key
$555
Breakfast included
$478
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

5.0
#1 of 1 resort in Falhumaafushi
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.9
Value
4.6
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Nestled on the unspoilt island of Falhumaafushi in Gaafu Alifu atoll, one of the largest and deepest atolls in the world, this 94 beach-front and over-water villa resort is an intimate retreat. The beauty of the island’s house reef and its resident sharks and turtles is accessible right from the over-water villa deck. Designed to complement its tropical surroundings and provide a sense of place, the villas have been created using natural materials and are decorated with local artefacts. The Spa by Clarins on both Falhumaafushi and sister resort on adjacent Dhigurah island is exclusive to The Residence in the Maldives and offers a range of treatments created exclusively for the resort – an ideal place to escape as it sits directly on the lagoon. The resort boasts three restaurants and four bars, water sports, a fitness centre, kids club and excursions to nearby islands. The romantic Falhumaa restaurant is located at the end of a 230m jetty, right on the reef facing the Indian Ocean. The diving surrounding the hotel is exceptional and the hotel’s PADI 5* Dive Centre offers all level of snorkellers and scuba-divers the opportunity to discover the un-spoilt coral reefs and rich marine life.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Bicycles available
Canoeing
Diving
Snorkeling
Entertainment staff
Fishing
Kids club
Airport transportation
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Private beach
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Languages Spoken
Arabic, Chinese

Location

Falhumaafushi 20888
Getting there
Kooddoo Airport
Kaadedhdhoo Airport
33.1 mi
See all flights
1 Restaurant
within 5 miles
5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles1,759 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Residence Maldives Falhumaafushi is widely celebrated for its enchanting atmosphere and stunning location, offering views of vibrant marine life from the overwater accommodations. Guests often highlight the spacious, well-appointed rooms and commend the staff for their attentive and professional service, contributing to a memorable stay. While the resort's cleanliness and amenities, including diverse dining options and luxurious overwater villas, receive high marks, some visitors express dissatisfaction with unexpected payments and limitations associated with all-inclusive packages.
Location
Picturesque
Atmosphere
Enchanting
Rooms
Spacious
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Attentive
Amenities
Outstanding

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
1,759Review223Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,497
  • 178
  • 64
  • 16
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Letizia R wrote a review May 2021
Dubai, United Arab Emirates6 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have spent 7 nights in this paradise, from the 7th to the 14th of May with our kids (6 and 8 years). There are not enough superlatives to describe this place! I would give 6 stars instead of five. The location is stunning, you can ride your bicycle on the white paths in the middle of a luxurious tropical greenery perfectly maintained (bicycles are provided free of charge and they have all sizes to cater for family with kids), the reef is about 100 meters away from your villa (we stayed in one sunset beach villa) and offers an inimaginable snorkeling experience: there are many turtles, baby sharks, colorful fish of every kind!! The service at this hotel is absolutely fantastic, I don't want to mention anybody in particualr because each and every person we had interfaced with was competent, friendly and genuinely kind (it's the first time I regret not taking more cash for tips). The food is simply exceptional, special mention to the Falhumaa restaurant which I would rate a 3 star Michelin. We hope to be able to visit this astonishing hotel very soon. Thank you to all the staff for this unforgettable stay
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: I recommend the sunset side, the reef side faces the internal part of the atoll and it is safer...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sundaram Meenakshi, General Manager at The Residence Maldives Falhumaafushi
Responded Jul 24, 2021
Dear Letizia R, Warm greetings and thank you for taking the time to share with us your stay review on TripAdvisor. We are most delighted to learn that you had a great time with your family in our resort, from riding bikes, snorkelling at the house reef and enjoyed the warmth and hospitality from the team who endeavored to ensure you had a wonderful and comfortable stay with us. We thank you once again for your review and hope to welcome you and your family back again soon. Kind regards, M Sundaram General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Manvi M wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This place is completly magical. We chose to stay in beach villa with pool for one night and water villa with pool for other two nights. We went for our first wedding anniversary. Rooms were really big, beautiful, neat and well decorated for us.

We got a free upgrade to family suite water villa that containes one of the biggest pools. It was so serene and we saw one of the best sunrises of our life.

The staff and crew was amazingly sweet and courteous. Special mention for Laura at the reception, thanks for being so patient with us. Thanks to Ujjwal, bartender at beach club in dhigura, amazing gentleman. Rest everyone out there was really friendly.

Dhigura is bigger and better then Falhumaafushi since it is the newer one. But overall experience was amazing.
We took an all inclusive package and the best part of this package was we could have meals in all the restaurants of both the islands. There was no limitation to specific restaurants. We could either chose from a fixed set menu consisting of 3 course meal or some credits in dollars for our meals. Also, they have great collection of liquer and cocktails. Must try.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sundaram Meenakshi, General Manager at The Residence Maldives Falhumaafushi
Responded Mar 20, 2020
Dear Manvi, Warm greetings from The Residence Maldives at Falhumaafushi and thank you for taking the time to share with us your review on TripAdvisor. It warms our hearts to know that you chose to spend your first wedding anniversary with us. We are delighted that you had enjoyed the spectacular sunrises from the comfort of your bedroom. We are humbled to learn that you appreciated the hospitality extended by our staff. Your compliments to Laura and Ujjwal have been extended to them for their attentive service. Our sister resort, The Residence Maldives at Dhigurah is the newest addition to The Residence by Cenizaro's collection of hotels and it is connected by the longest private bridge in the Maldives to The Residence Maldives at Falhumaafushi. Our guests are able to use the facilities of both islands and we are glad that you enjoyed dining across both resorts. We hope that you came back from your vacation with a lot of cherished memories. On behalf of the team, we look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon again. Warm regards, M Sundaram General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveler reviews.
allyalice00 wrote a review Apr 2020
Western Australia, Australia70 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We went to the Maldives for our honeymoon and absolutely loved it. We stayed 7 nights in an over water sunset villa with pool. We filled our days with cycling, snorkelling and running, and not to mention eating all the scrumptious meals - I think I gained 4kgs after that week! Such a great idea to offer all the residence bicycles. The house reef was amazing, beautiful fish and coral only meters out from our villa. Snorkelling gear was free to use, which you were able to keep until your checkout day. If you venture out a little further into the ocean there is the huge drop into the deeper waters, teeming with marine life, alive with so many types of fish, even black tip reef sharks which I’m told are completely harmless, though I didn’t stick around to find out!
We hired movies to watch at night, dined at the sister resort, which is also 5 star accomodation and opened less than 12 months ago and with the all inclusive food and drinks, you could eat at all their restaurants too. Riding over the 1.1km connecting bridge in itself was a highlight. We also paid extra and went on the jet skis for a 3hour guided ride, which included snorkelling and a visit to a sand island. We would have seen 3 pods of dolphins, totalling about 40 dolphins altogether!
The staff were all super friendly. Definitely recommend this place!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sundaram Meenakshi, General Manager at The Residence Maldives Falhumaafushi
Responded Jun 24, 2020
Dear Allyalice00, Thank you for taking the time to share with us your review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to learn that you loved your stay in our island paradise and that your days were filled with relaxing and fun activities. It brings us immense pleasure to know that you particularly loved the food and snorkelling around our house reef teeming with a rich marine life. We are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed The Jet Ski Safari and were able to spot pods of dolphins. We are pleased to learn that you adored cycling on our 1 km bridge, the longest private bridge in the Maldives connected to our sister resort, The Residence Maldives at Dhigurah. . It warms our heart that you were appreciative of the hospitality of our staff, a hallmark of The Residence by Cenizaro. We thank you again for your positive review. On behalf of the team, we look forward to have the pleasure to welcome you soon again. Warm regards, M Sundaram General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ruchika S wrote a review Dec 2021
New Delhi, India18 contributions16 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
It requires a domestic connection to reach the resort and the resort books your domestic connection atleast after 4 hours of your arrival time. Plus the flight get delayed atleast by 1.5 hours. There is no one at the Male airport from this resort who helps you with your chekcin. You have to ask several people and figure out on your own. Depsite communicating our arrival time well in advance to the resort, no one showed up and we had to manage everything ourselves despite our domestic transfers being included in the price that the resort charged us. It is a very tiring connecting flight.
At the time of check-in, a staff member Elena recited a well rehearsed speech on the resort and had no clue about any of the questions we asked her about the cost of the full board meal or half board. What was surprising is that she didn't even offer to check and come back to us. She didn't even tell us the basics about the resort like where we can find Indian food. We figured it ourselves after 2 days of our stay.
The bugghee service here is miserable to say the least. The minimum waiting time is 45-50 mins every time you call for one!!
The location of the water villa is amazing with clear uninterrupted views .
The staff is friendly and polite
The housekeeping service is exceptional, with the rooms cleaned every time you step out. Joynal, a housekeeping staff member did his job so well that every time you returned to your villa, you would be surprised to see an amazingly clean room.
The spa service is very very average . Have had much better massages at luxury resorts at half the price !!
The restaurant management is also quite bad. We tried to make a reservation on the day we arrived at the French restaurant and were told that it booked for the next 7 days!!! And the surprising part is if you walk to the restaurant, it would be 30% empty but the staff would refuse to give you a table without reservation.

Overall had a very compromised holiday, not quite like what you expect from a luxury resort.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Trying looking for hotels which are reachable by speed boat transfers. Domestic flights are very...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sundaram Meenakshi, General Manager at The Residence Maldives Falhumaafushi
Responded Dec 24, 2021
Dear ruchikas2014, Thank you for taking the time to share with us your review on TripAdvisor with us. We regret that you had an underwhelming stay experience with us. The Residence Maldives is reached by a domestic flight followed by a speedboat ride. Unfortunately on the day you arrived, there was congestion at Male International Airport due to Air Travel Control which resulted in many delayed domestic flights arriving and departing from the airport. The team had met with you on arrival and escorted you to the domestic lounge and assisted with the check-in to the domestic flight. We are working with the local domestic flight carrier who in turn are working with the Maldives Airport Authorities on the issues. Understanding that our guests had a long journey due to the flight delays, the team had done a brief check-in to allow our guests to return to their villas to rest, and information would be shared the next day instead. We regret the long wait times with the buggies due to the inclement weather conditions. The fine-dining restaurants require a reservation and have tiered seating times in order to provide the experience. To accommodate more guests, we also are opening the restaurants at lunch hours as well. Thank you once again for your feedback and we will look into areas where we can improve our services and offerings. Kind regards, M Sundaram General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Haider K wrote a review Feb 2021
Dubai, United Arab Emirates19 contributions20 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The resort as a whole was nice, and the ability to explore both islands was great. However, it is was disappointing that all the facilities at Falhumaafushi (where we were staying) were all closed; something that wasn't mentioned when booking.

Dhigurah appears to be catered more to families, which was evident with the children running around during Breakfast and Dinner. We were surprised that Dhigurah had opened in 2019 as the resort, and in particular The Dining Room, looked very old.

It was also disappointing that the sunrise and sunset yoga held at the spa had no view of the sunset or sunrise. Seems like an obvious and missed opportunity for the hotel.

We stayed in a deluxe sunset water villa with pool on the sunset. The views were great but the room was underwhelming and in need of a serious renovation.

The food was TERRIBLE. It was shocking to see the quality of food being served and that the Chefs and GM accepted that level of quality to leave the kitchen and be served to guests. We ate at The Dining Room, Falhumaa and in-villa dining. We only enjoyed the food when we asked the Chef to prepare something specific as we were fed up with the food. The food was a complete let down and an embarrassment.

Some aspects of the resort were tacky and not expected from a 5* resort, for example the coloured flashing lights throughout the resort at night which completely ruined the ambience. It felt like a seedy nightclub. Again, shocking that the GM is happy with that whilst walking around the resort.

Most staff were very nice, with some exceptions (Namely, Javier at the dive centre, who was rude, did not engage, did not smile, unbothered, and we had to drag information out of him).

Overall the resort was very nice and loved the bridge between the two islands and the castaway island in between. We were able to spot different types of fish, sharks, rays, and turtles. The bridge and the castaway island was the favourite part. However, what should have only been a 4 hour flight to Male became an arduous trip because of the internal flight we had to take which stopped in Kadhdhoo and then Kooddoo. Whilst we understand the timing of the flight is not determined by the hotel, the effort to get there outweighed the experience at the resort and we would not recommend the resort to friends.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sundaram Meenakshi, General Manager at The Residence Maldives Falhumaafushi
Responded Feb 18, 2021
Dear Haider K, Warm greetings from The Residence Maldives and thank you for sharing with us your stay review. We note the feedback that you have shared in your review and regret that you had an underwhelming stay with us. As the world still continues to battle the health pandemic, the hospitality and tourism industry continues to face unprecedented challenges in returning to pre-pandemic levels with on-going safety measures and restrictions from the local authorities hence the complete Falhumaafushi dining experience was impacted as not all restaurants on the island was opened during the stay. As such, all our guests were given the option to relocate and reassign within a similar room category on the same meal plan to our sister island, The Residence Maldives at Dhigurah. The chefs and F&B team are working on revising the menu as well as relooking our supply chain for ingredient sourcing. We also regret the experience you had at the Dive Centre and we will be counselling the staff concerned. We thank you once again for your feedback as we look to improve our services and amenities during this challenging time. Kind regards, M Sundaram General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
D Wilson wrote a review Apr 2022
14 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We absolutely loved our week here! We stayed in villa 329 with a pool and that side of the villas has the best view of the sunset and the best snorkeling on the island—the house reef. I would recommend a pool since it was quite hot and having the pool right outside of your back door was a very nice way to cool off. Snorkeling was fantastic! I found the best time was in the morning when the tide is lower so you can walk out rather than swim—just don’t step on the coral.

The resort was great about greeting us at the Male airport and helping us transfer to the local flight and then to the boat ride to the island. The whole process of coming and going from the male airport and back was seamless . The resort also did a great job of taking care of the COVID tests and the timing to get us back to the USA. It was $150 for me and my wife.

I would recommend the all inclusive standard meal plan. I prebooked it before we arrived along with the other restaurant reservations that were necessary and the spa. I’m glad I did this since we were tired when we arrived and didn’t want to have to make a bunch of decisions at check in. I have no idea if we saved money with the dining plan or not but the ala carte prices are expensive and it was nice not having to worry about it every time we ate.

The staff were all excellent especially our house keeper (forgot his name-sorry). He did some special things for us to make our stay even better. We really appreciated it!

The highlight of the week was the private fire dinner. It is held on a isolated beach with just you, a server, and the cook. It was a memory we will have for a life time!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Get a pool since it is quite hot and humid! Pre-book your reservations and spa and meal plan. Be...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sundaram Meenakshi, General Manager at The Residence Maldives Falhumaafushi
Responded May 6, 2022
Dear goducks3, Many thanks for the fantastic review of your most memorable experience with us on TripAdvisor. We would like to thank you for choosing our resort. We are pleased to note that you had enjoyed your stay with us on our island paradise. We take pride in customizing the experiences for our guests and are most delighted to learn that you and your wife enjoyed your holiday very much - especially the private beach dinner experience. Our island is located in one of the world’s largest and deepest atolls where plenty of untouched and unspoiled reefs filled with colourful corals and marine life await to be discovered. We are humbled by your compliments in your review and would be delighted to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards,   M Sundaram General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steph R wrote a review Nov 2021
13 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is an amazing resort! We stayed in an overwater pool villa in fulhummafushi and loved it!
Staff were amazing, food was great (go to the dinning room at Dhigura over Fulhummafushi if you want more variety).
The room was impeccable but if you are a light sleeper, make sure you check the wind forecast as the winds can be aggressive at night- granted, we had bad weather though so this might not be a problem for you.
The spa was a dream and the Tina (or matina) gave us one of the best massages we've ever received.
One thing to also mention as an FYI, the resort depends on you taking a domestic flight which for us- added 6 hours to our journey after landing in Male. The staff were very friendly in taking care of us during these 6 hours but it was unexpected and I wish we had known this before.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rayan wrote a review Jan 2023
Sydney, Australia4 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A high end luxury resort with the friendliest staff.
They know you by name and immediately know what your room number is once you enter a restaurant.
Despite the high turnover of guests they have, they welcome you like you are the first ever guest they’ve had.

I was lucky enough to celebrate my birthday there and I was blown away by all the birthday surprises that kept coming my way from morning all throughout the evening.
I was in awe of how this information of it being my birthday was relayed amongst the staff so early on, that as soon as I walked into the breakfast buffet restaurant, they knew.
I received a happy birthday plate of pancakes at breakfast, followed by a personalised intricate bed decoration with my name on it, followed by a delivery of cake and non alcoholic champagne to the villa.

The restaurants Falhumaa and Long Island on the Dhigura island are exceptional. The custom tradition of washing the hands with rose water prior to eating at the Falhumaa restaurant, is certainly a special experience.
If you are into mocktails, the lemongrass one at Long Island is so tasty and refreshing, probably the best we’ve had.
The staff Nadia, Afzal, Rayanne, and Hassan from Long Island restaurant are to be praised for making our stay that little bit extra memorable.

We booked an overwater deluxe villa on the sunset side. The only negative I would point out is the lack of privacy on the decks and pools with all the overwater villas.
Being a Muslim who requires the utmost privacy when swimming in the pool and lounging on the deck, found this to be an issue as the design of the overwater villas are all exposed to one another. You are able to see your neighbour sunbaking and having a swim.
Our previous trip to the Maldives we stayed at another resort and all overwater villas had a fence going along the edge of the pool and deck area.
The only 2 overwater villas that have the most privacy in our opinion would have to be villa number 114 on the sunrise side, and the 2 bedroom villa on the sunset side number 332.

We definitely recommend a massage at the spa by clarins.
Also the movie night in the evening on the beach was pretty cool.
The complimentary photo shoot was also an added bonus.

Upon departure the staff at the lobby presented us with a bag of food and drinks to take with us to enjoy later on, which was a really thoughtful gesture.

Overall an exceptional resort, beautiful and mesmerising.

From Abdul and Rayan.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sundaram Meenakshi, General Manager at The Residence Maldives Falhumaafushi
Responded Jan 14, 2023
Dear RayanAAT, Thank you for taking the time to share with us your review on TripAdvisor and it was a pleasure reading it. It was a delight to have read your review and to know that our guests had enjoyed our services and amenities thoroughly. We note also your feedback in your review and we will be evaluating the feasibility together with the team to improve the privacy in the Water Villas. We thank you for taking the time to share with us your island memories and would be delighted to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards,   M Sundaram General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Curiosity668879 wrote a review Sep 2022
13 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Where do I start? From the moment we arrived on the island, we were treated so well. The people on the island are so lovely and welcoming, in particular our cleaner was so lovely and did a fantastic job in keeping our room tidy.

A massive shout out to Luxman, who literally went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and looked after. He is so kind, and the nicest, and an absolute tribute to the Residence complex. Him, and his staff were always so lovely, and we can’t thank him enough, as he was a huge part of the reason we loved our stay here, and if we were to travel back, again, we hope to see him, and we will miss seeing him every day.

The food is brilliant, we had an all inclusive which is recommended, as the cocktails, choice of drinks and food is huge. The cocktails in particular were our favourites. The only downside we would say was the Sauvignon blanc wasn’t great, but the cocktails certainly made up for this.

We stayed in room 329, which was very windy on the days where there was a storm (2 days) however we pushed through, as we saw turtles, stingrays and reef baby sharks on a daily basis - we even got to swim with them all! The sunset is also from this room; so an all rounder great place to be (especially when speaking to other couples who struggled to even see turtles!).

If we could afford to come back every year, we would. Everywhere is beautiful, and it really is like you’ve landed in paradise!

My suggestion is, to take a direct flight to Male, which I think is only
Possible in high seasons, we travelled 24 hours and took 3 planes, which was a very long journey!

Thank you, to everyone at the residence. You’ve looked after us so well, and we are so grateful for the wonderful time we’ve experienced on our honeymoon.

Montana & Jack xx
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sundaram Meenakshi, General Manager at The Residence Maldives Falhumaafushi
Responded Sep 13, 2022
Dear Montana & Jack, Warmest greetings from The Residence Maldives and it was a delight reading your review and the memories made on our island paradise. It is a pleasure to know how much you had enjoyed your stay on our island paradise, in particular, the excellent services rendered by Laxman is in line with the brand vision of “The Residence by Cenizaro” to create memorable experiences for our guests at the resort. We are humbled by your compliments with the improvements to the service quality as it is an integral aspect and a hallmark of the brand. Many thanks for the fantastic review of your most memorable experience with us on trip advisor. We would like to thank you for choosing our resort. Kind regards, M Sundaram General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alexandra Drysdale wrote a review Sep 2022
17 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We are not long back from our honeymoon at the Residence, Falhumaafushi. What. A. Dream. From the minute we arrived we were treated like royals. We received a very warm welcome when we arrived on the island with a refreshing drink & cold towel - after a long journey of approx 20 hours, it was needed!

We were then taken to our room in a buggy which was a short distance from the lobby. We stayed in room 109 which overlooked the bridge connecting us to the other island and had a pool. The villa was clean and well equipped with amenities. The villa was really spacious and I just loved opening the doors out to the pool overlooking the ocean every morning. It never got old. The air con worked well in the room keeping us cool each night and even during the day.

The food was AMAZING. We tried all restaurants and they were all faultless. There is a French restaurant and an Italian restaurant and then the dining room (a la carte). The menus had loads to choose from and we didn’t have one bad meal. Same with the drinks, there were loads to chose from (we were premium AI).

We used the spa and got a couples massage for 60 minutes. It was so relaxing that my husband fell asleep and started snoring half way through!! Really worth going for a massage if you can fit it in your budget. They had a good offer on when we were there for 3 x 60 min sessions for $200.

We didn’t need to spend a lot of money as all was paid for except for tipping the amazing staff. They all go out their way to make your trip so special. The thing I really loved was that they put their hand over their heart whenever they walked past - I thought it was a really special touch.

It was our honeymoon & also my birthday so they made sure to make it very special for us!

Overall, a fantastic experience. I don’t think anything will top this holiday. The only down side was leaving! Unfortunately I got a sickness bug on my way home so I was very sick on the plane and once we were in Dubai. My husband then got it when we arrived home. We didn’t let that put a dampener on our honeymoon though! We actually recommended the residence to friends who have booked to stay in November.

A massive thank you to all the staff that made our trip so so special!!

Xx
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sundaram Meenakshi, General Manager at The Residence Maldives Falhumaafushi
Responded Sep 10, 2022
Dear alexandrasS5936EL, Thank you for sharing with us your honeymoon memories on TripAdvisor and we are most delighted that you had a very enjoyable time taking in the turquoise views of the Indian Ocean from your water villa. We are pleased to learn that you had a great stay with us and had an enjoyable time discovering our island resort, from exploring the various food offerings to discovering our sister property on the island of Dhigurah that is connected by a 1-km long bridge. We are also delighted to note that you really appreciate the service of our staff. The team is an asset to the resort in helping to create wonderful memories of your time on the island. We thank you for choosing to stay with us and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the resort. Kind regards,   M Sundaram General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tammyxcross asked a question Feb 2024
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom2 contributions3 helpful votes
Hi do men have to wear lon trousers for the al a carte restaurants or can they wear smart shorts an shirt ??
Answer from Claire M
Uckfield, United Kingdom64 contributions75 helpful votes
The restaurant is buffet style. It also has a live cooking station . The choice is good and if you don’t want their choice of desserts ( which is good) they will happily prepare you a plate of fruit.
Sandra W asked a question Feb 2024
Wymondham, United Kingdom100 contributions12 helpful votes
Can you tell me which night the beach bbq is and at which resort. Many thanks
Answer from Shivani R
2 contributions9 helpful votes
I believe it was on Monday and at the Falhumaafushi swimming pool
paulyboy333 asked a question Jan 2024
England, United Kingdom5 contributions
Can anyone send me some set menus for the restaurants. Thank you
Eugen T wrote a tip Apr 2024
40 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you know which resort you book (they are both great but the Dhigura is newer and much larger). Use the bikes. Wear sunscreen Go to the library bar"
Read full review
Laurène R wrote a tip Apr 2024
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go snorkeling at the Reef before noon ! "
Read full review
ADokkie wrote a tip Apr 2024
Wallington, United Kingdom28 contributions11 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The sauna and steam weren’t working on our stay they tried to fix it but had continual problems, "
Read full review
Susan M wrote a tip Apr 2024
United Kingdom13 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Restaurant bookings can be tricky - all have to be done via reception - would be helpful to have an app to log bookings so easy to remember"
Read full review
Advbiker wrote a tip Mar 2024
Wraysbury, United Kingdom195 contributions71 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The shop by reception is a tad expensive"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Falhumaafushi area.
PRICE RANGE
$690 - $1,522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MaldivesNorth Huvadhu (Gaafa Alifu) AtollFalhumaafushi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
94
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE RESIDENCE MALDIVES FALHUMAAFUSHI - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about The Residence Maldives Falhumaafushi
What are some of the property amenities at The Residence Maldives Falhumaafushi?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at The Residence Maldives Falhumaafushi?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Residence Maldives Falhumaafushi?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does The Residence Maldives Falhumaafushi have airport transportation?
Yes, The Residence Maldives Falhumaafushi offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Residence Maldives Falhumaafushi?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Residence Maldives Falhumaafushi?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including Chinese and Arabic.
Does The Residence Maldives Falhumaafushi have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is The Residence Maldives Falhumaafushi accessible?
Yes, it offers facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars