We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Residence Maldives

Save
Share
Falhumaafushi 2088
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!VOUCHERS THAT LET YOU SAVE MORE
$515
$349
View Deal
SAVE $166
Free cancellation until 05/02/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com$515
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (2319)
Room & Suite (466)
Videos (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 08/03/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Residence Maldives
Updated 08/03/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
The Residence Maldives at Falhumaafushi is a world away from reality. This private island resort is anchored in one of the planet’s widest and deepest atolls, its sugary white sands lapped by sapphire blue waters, its pristine reefs the exclusive playground of its privileged guests. All 94 luxury villas lie on the beach or over the water, their traditional Maldivian architecture enhanced by anything from dedicated butlers to private pools. Dining is an international affair overlooking the Indian Ocean, The Spa by Clarins the only one you’ll find in the entire Maldives archipelago...
Read more
Room & Suite (466)466
Full view
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Infinity pool
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Canoeing
Diving
Snorkeling
Kids club
Free airport transportation
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Head massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Special Offer:VOUCHERS THAT LET YOU SAVE MORE

Location

Full view
Contact
Falhumaafushi 2088
Getting there
Kooddoo Airport4 miSee all flights
Kaadedhdhoo Island Airport33 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
1,391Reviews162Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,180
  • 151
  • 46
  • 11
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Haider K wrote a review Feb 16
Dubai, United Arab Emirates14 contributions17 helpful votes
The resort as a whole was nice, and the ability to explore both islands was great. However, it is was disappointing that all the facilities at Falhumaafushi (where we were staying) were all closed; something that wasn't mentioned when booking. Dhigurah appears to be catered more to families, which was evident with the children running around during Breakfast and Dinner. We were surprised that Dhigurah had opened in 2019 as the resort, and in particular The Dining Room, looked very old. It was also disappointing that the sunrise and sunset yoga held at the spa had no view of the sunset or sunrise. Seems like an obvious and missed opportunity for the hotel. We stayed in a deluxe sunset water villa with pool on the sunset. The views were great but the room was underwhelming and in need of a serious renovation. The food was TERRIBLE. It was shocking to see the quality of food being served and that the Chefs and GM accepted that level of quality to leave the kitchen and be served to guests. We ate at The Dining Room, Falhumaa and in-villa dining. We only enjoyed the food when we asked the Chef to prepare something specific as we were fed up with the food. The food was a complete let down and an embarrassment. Some aspects of the resort were tacky and not expected from a 5* resort, for example the coloured flashing lights throughout the resort at night which completely ruined the ambience. It felt like a seedy nightclub. Again, shocking that the GM is happy with that whilst walking around the resort. Most staff were very nice, with some exceptions (Namely, Javier at the dive centre, who was rude, did not engage, did not smile, unbothered, and we had to drag information out of him). Overall the resort was very nice and loved the bridge between the two islands and the castaway island in between. We were able to spot different types of fish, sharks, rays, and turtles. The bridge and the castaway island was the favourite part. However, what should have only been a 4 hour flight to Male became an arduous trip because of the internal flight we had to take which stopped in Kadhdhoo and then Kooddoo. Whilst we understand the timing of the flight is not determined by the hotel, the effort to get there outweighed the experience at the resort and we would not recommend the resort to friends.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Sundaram Meenakshi, General Manager at The Residence Maldives
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Haider K, Warm greetings from The Residence Maldives and thank you for sharing with us your stay review. We note the feedback that you have shared in your review and regret that you had an underwhelming stay with us. As the world still continues to battle the health pandemic, the hospitality and tourism industry continues to face unprecedented challenges in returning to pre-pandemic levels with on-going safety measures and restrictions from the local authorities hence the complete Falhumaafushi dining experience was impacted as not all restaurants on the island was opened during the stay. As such, all our guests were given the option to relocate and reassign within a similar room category on the same meal plan to our sister island, The Residence Maldives at Dhigurah. The chefs and F&B team are working on revising the menu as well as relooking our supply chain for ingredient sourcing. We also regret the experience you had at the Dive Centre and we will be counselling the staff concerned. We thank you once again for your feedback as we look to improve our services and amenities during this challenging time. Kind regards, M Sundaram General Manager
Read more
JaishreeLakho wrote a review Feb 15
Jaipur, India113 contributions34 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favorite
It is quite a long journey to reach there but once you are welcomed by very hospitable ever smiling and friendly crew we have forgot the long journey. The Residence staff were incredibly friendly, kind and attentive to giving guest a relaxed and memorable time. Chaiti, Chef balram, Hafiz and few others. We had sun rise water villas with pool in each room. From our bed we could see the sun rise and ocean together. The rooms were clean and big compared to other hotels. The sea was clean we saw baby shark, stingray and many more fishes from our room jetty. The food was a good spread they made good vegetation food also wen we asked for it. The massage in the spa was the icing on the cake of the trip. I can't recommend this resort enough. THE RESIDENCE fulfilled all of our expectations and more.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sundaram Meenakshi, General Manager at The Residence Maldives
Responded 1 week ago
Dear JaishreeLakho, Warm greetings and thank you for choosing to stay at The Residence Maldives at Falhumaafushi. We are delighted to learn that you had a wonderful stay on our island paradise and had enjoyed the various services and amenities we had to offer. In particular the spacious large rooms as well as the spa treatments at the only Spa by Clarins in the Maldives. Your compliments to Chaiti, Chef Balram and Hafiz for their outstanding service has been shared with them for their outstanding service. We thank you once again for your review and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. Warm regards, M Sundaram General Manager
Read more
Manuel D wrote a review Feb 10
27 contributions52 helpful votes
Our stay was memorable. Well, almost ... We had some problems with the manager of the diving centre. He did not have the right attitude and mislead us to the point of making us miss an excursion we had previously booked to snorkel in the neighbouring islands. Pity, it was on our last day at the Resort. Other than that , the staff at the Residence is adorable. Hospitality at its best. Great food in each and every restaurant in the island, fantastic cocktails, pristine waters, immaculate room service, people smiling and greeting you constantly, the villas are just perfect and dreamlike, the management , always ready to treat you like a King... Hence my 5/5 rating....despite that negative experience with one particular individual working at the diving centre
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sundaram Meenakshi, General Manager at The Residence Maldives
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Manuel, Thank you for taking the time to share with us your stay review following your stay on our island paradise. We are pleased to learn that you had a great stay with us and had enjoyed the hospitality from the team, services and amenities we had to offer. We regret the experience that you had at the Dive Centre with regards to a specific individual and the poor communication regarding your activity booking . We had also received your feedback and have counselled the concerned staff. Thank you once again for sharing your review with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Read more
Zig Ziggiesden wrote a review Aug 2020
3 contributions5 helpful votes
I was really lucky, how many times did you remind me of that Ahmed? Spent 10 glorious days here - I think our numbers swelled to 12 at one point! Staff were great, food & drink were great. Diving - well Ahmed and myself had all the reefs to ourselves - brilliant diving! Sorry to see you are closed until next year - hope to see you guys then. Gary from ScotRail!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Get a Water Villa
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Sundaram Meenakshi, General Manager at The Residence Maldives
Responded Sep 5, 2020
Dear 283zigz, Warm greetings from The Residence Maldives! We were absolutely delighted to have welcomed you to our sister resort - The Residence Maldives at Dhigurah where you had spent 10 glorious days indulging in the services and amenities we had to offer. While our resort on Falhumaafushi remains closed during this period, our sister resort is open and welcoming visitors such as yourself for a relaxing time in the sun and under the sea. Your compliments to Ahmed for guiding the dives have been shared with him. As the world slowly reopens for travel again, we thank you for choosing to stay with The Residence Maldives at Dhigurah and hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, M Sundaram General Manager
Read more
Steve_G_1510 wrote a review Apr 2020
Sydney, Australia61 contributions139 helpful votes
My wife and I stayed at The Residence Maldives Falhumaafushi in early March 2020. This was our 7th trip to the Maldives (yes we obviously love the place) but our first to this particular resort and let me tell you now, it definitely won't be our last. We stayed in an overwater pool villa (302) and absolutely loved it. The staff were wonderful and the food was great with lots of choice as to where and what to eat. We were on an all inclusive package which we booked through Kogan Travel (provided by Delightful Travel I believe). Having stayed at several resorts throughout the Maldives I can assure you that this was the best value holiday package we have come across for the Maldives. The accommodation was exceptional. In fact everything about this place was exceptional. Can't wait to get back there as soon as the Covid-19 pandemic has passed.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Sundaram Meenakshi, General Manager at The Residence Maldives
Responded Jun 24, 2020
Dear Steve, Warm greetings from The Residence Maldives and thank you for taking the time to share with us your review on TripAdvisor. It brings us immense pleasure to learn that you loved your stay in our island paradise. We are delighted that you enjoyed the spacious comforts of your Water Pool Villa. It warms our heart that you were appreciative of the hospitality and service provided by our staff, a hallmark of The Residence by Cenizaro. We look forward to have the pleasure to welcome you soon after this pandemic has passed. Warm regards, M Sundaram General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$503 - $1,907 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MaldivesNorth Huvadhu (Gaafa Alifu) AtollFalhumaafushi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
94
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Residence Maldives
What are some of the property amenities at The Residence Maldives?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at The Residence Maldives?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Residence Maldives?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does The Residence Maldives have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Residence Maldives offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Residence Maldives?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Residence Maldives have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is The Residence Maldives accessible?
Yes, it offers facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.