We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Spa at Norwich Inn

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (177)
Room & Suite (121)
Dining (32)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 spa in Norwich
Location
4.2
Cleanliness
4.1
Service
4.1
Value
3.7
The Spa at Norwich Inn is located on 42 country acres filled with perennial gardens and ponds. Oak trees, a reflecting pool and oversized deck compliment the atmosphere of the spa and promote ultimate relaxation. World class spa treatments are available from a wide assortment of services such a massages, body wraps and polishes, facials and much more.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Aerobics
Evening entertainment
Airport transportation
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Adult pool
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Outdoor dining area
Vending machine
Patio
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
ATM on site
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
789Reviews15Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 387
  • 157
  • 108
  • 80
  • 57
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Connecticut Shoreline wrote a review Mar 2024
4 contributions
We stayed overnight. First off I want to send a big thank you to Andrew the bellman. He was wonderful, and kind to us. Helped the clients out in many ways. Andrew is so professional and loves what he does. A few drawbacks to the spa.... there is no coffee nor hot water or fruit before 8 am for guests. Andrew the bellman was the one who served us coffee and others in the AM lobby . He would run back and forth getting and making fresh coffee in the kitchen for us and others. Sad the kitchen staff doesn't come in and start serving until 8 am. So again KUDOS to Andrew for ALL he does for this spa. Maintenance staff was great as well, cleaning and so professional . Another drawback... there is nothing to snack on at all in the lobby for guests spending the night and spending a good amount of money on rooms and treatments . The only thing you can find is oranges and water in the locker rooms. They really should consider fresh fruit and danish's / muffins in the lobby for guest overnight . Also maybe other snacks and treats through out the day. We headed on down to breakfast once it opens at z8 am and was told from the hostess/ management at the hostess Station we needed a reservation for breakfast.... she was short with us ! but they let us in and we sat in the back and had breakfast... mind you the restaurant was completely EMPTY for a Friday and as we left at 9am it was still empty. Some staff not so friendly throughout the hotel. The driver to the casino was also very prompt and friendly .. kudos to him as well and the staff in the locker rooms hard working and professional. Another downfall... smoothie bar closes till 11am on fri's. The pub was ok for lunch. We were a party of 4 ordered a great app on the menu ... it was served to us , one item on the plate ! Lol We asked the waiter why he didn't tell us it only served one person as we ordered it for the table .... he didn't say much . Spa service was good . We would come back again but not overnight.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
anne m wrote a review Jan 2024
3 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
Amazing experience from Start to finish. I went with a friend for her birthday, it was the first time there for both of us. We stayed in a villa in building 3, the room Was very clean and we loved the fireplace and our very comfortable beds. The spa services were great. We ate at both restaurants, the food was excellent and our servers and bartender could not have been nicer. We can not wait to go back.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura R, Guest Services / Front Office at The Spa at Norwich Inn
Responded Jan 31, 2024
Dear annemX3503XL, Thank you for choosing The Spa at Norwich Inn to celebrate your friend's birthday, and for taking the time to share your wonderful experience. We're delighted to hear that your first visit exceeded your expectations! We truly appreciate your kind words, and we can't wait to welcome you back for another memorable stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kristen C wrote a review Jan 2024
Needham, Massachusetts49 contributions43 helpful votes
I wish I had read the reviews. I'm smart enough to know that dated places get reviews that note their cost does not align with experience. Suffice to say, ours did not. Staff was fine, even lovely, but the overall experience was circa 1992.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura R, Guest Services / Front Office at The Spa at Norwich Inn
Responded Jan 31, 2024
Dear needhamcollins, We apologize that your visit left you disappointed. If there are any specifics that you could share with our team, it would be most valuable. Please feel free to call 860-425-3500 and ask for a manager. They would welcome the opportunity to discuss your recent experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ann S wrote a review Jan 2024
Waterford, Connecticut265 contributions121 helpful votes
I went for the day with my adult daughters. Overall Norwich spa is our go-to place when we have the means to spend hundreds of dollars on a day of luxury. I got a deep tissue massage from Richard and it was excellent. Every staff member I interacted with the great. The fresh paint and decor is nice. The juice bar seemed a bit pricey but the quantities are generous- more meal-sized than snack-sized- so the prices are actually fine. Yes, I wish there were not so many extra fees, but I understand since you get a lovely experience there. I don't really miss the afternoon tea and scones, but I wish it was replaced by some other perk. I haven't been for a while and I noticed some changes. The gym is smaller now because the put infrared treatment beds in the middle of it. I was surprised to see that a large dumpster is placed directly outside the window that aerobic equipment faces making the view much less enjoyable. It seems the relaxation room has fewer beds now. I was there 7 hours and never able to have a chance to sit in there because it was always full. The new lockers are a drag because instead of the keypad for your lock code there are manual gears to turn. I can't see the numbers without my glasses, so I could never lock my glasses in the locker. I was disappointed that I had been removed from the birthday club promo. I used to be in it but I guess since I didn't go to the spa for a while the purged me? I signed up again, but our visit didn't count towards it. My biggest wish is that phones would be banned. I realize this is probably super difficult to enforce since many people use their phones for relaxing. But for me it is not really comfortable to be in the locker room changing out of a swimsuit or in the spa area in nothing but a robe while surrounded by strangers holding cameras.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Plan to arrive a couple of hours before your service so you have time to get into the spa vibe.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura R, Guest Services / Front Office at The Spa at Norwich Inn
Responded Jan 31, 2024
Dear AnnS445, Thank you for your review and valuable feedback. We're thrilled to hear that the Spa at Norwich Inn is your go-to place for indulgent experiences. Your feedback on the gym, the view from the aerobic equipment area, and the adjustments to the relaxation room and lockers is valuable and noted. Regarding cell phones, we understand the sensitivity of this issue and acknowledge your perspective. We will continue to explore ways to enhance the overall guest experience, taking into consideration varying preferences and comfort levels. Thank you for your continued patronage, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. If there's anything specific you'd like us to address or if you have further suggestions, please don't hesitate to reach out.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
JEM wrote a review Jan 2024
Aiea2 contributions
This is probably my 5th time staying at the Inn and using the Spa (we live in CT). They keep getting better. It is an historic hotel, so ignore the reviews about it being dated unless you are someone who is so pampered you can’t handle that. We think it is charming. This is the first time we dined at the hotel and the service was fantastic. Actually, the service across the board has been fantastic. We were a little late to the coffee bar this morning and the attendant went out of her way to get my husband fresh coffee. Ascot’s Pub is a delight. It’s been a minute since I’ve been to a restaurant that has an after dinner menu with that selection of digestives and Port. We only got dessert, but well done! The spa is wonderful. We didn’t get any treatments this visit. We just used the steam room and sauna, and read books in the lounge in front of the fire. I used about 20 towels and drank 6 cups of elderflower water and the attendants never made me feel unwelcome. It is just a delightful place. Overall, my husband and I have felt the staff are genuinely cheerful and helpful, and seem well trained in the art of service.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura R, Guest Services / Front Office at The Spa at Norwich Inn
Responded Jan 31, 2024
Dear I3067MIjoannem, Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback! We are delighted to hear that you have made us your go-to destination. It warms our hearts to know that you found the service fantastic across the board. Knowing that you felt our team was genuinely cheerful, helpful, and well-trained in the art of service is truly rewarding. We look forward to welcoming you and your husband back for another delightful experience. If there's anything specific you'd like to try on your next visit, please feel free to let us know. Thank you again for your continued support and for making The Spa at Norwich Inn your preferred destination.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mary R wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution2 helpful votes
A few friends and I used to meet up here a few times a year, because it was a nice midway point between us all. Our last visit must've been between May and August, either around Mother's Day or one our birthdays. We were really disappointed with a lot of the changes that have taken place since COVID, like taking away fan favorite offerings like the tea and scones. The treatments are also really hard to book because they seem to be seriously understaffed, especially compared to previous years. We also got quite the impression that the staff in almost every department are seriously overworked and mistreated. During our dining service, we could hear the staff being screamed at in the kitchen. We then saw some of the staff were visibly emotional, running around like crazy with clearly too much on their plate. It really made me consider filing some kind of report somewhere. And this is supposed to be a fine dining establishment with a great reputation? We just felt so awful for the workers because they obviously try so hard, and pretty much all of them had wonderful personalities and were very helpful. We were just trying to relax and catch up like always, but instead we felt so uncomfortable. You can tell there's something not quite right here. We'll be taking our seasonal spa days elsewhere because not only has this place lost its luster, but we observed one too many instances of staff bullying/overworking. And we have all at some point worked in hospitality, and some of us work in management and corporate positions. There's just no excusing this energy in a SPA of all places. It ruined our experience to see how awful the workers were treated, even though a few of them tried to brush it off. There are much nicer spas around, with better food too that doesn't make their workers blatantly miserable in front of guests. I hoped to keep coming to the Spa for years to come, but I'd strongly reconsider giving them your business.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura R, Guest Services / Front Office at The Spa at Norwich Inn
Responded Nov 9, 2023
Dear maryrC229XH, Thank you for your feedback. Your comfort and satisfaction as our guest are paramount to us, and we regret that we did not meet your expectations during your recent visit. It's disheartening to hear that the changes implemented since COVID left you and your friends feeling disappointed. We would like to mention that we have an array of complimentary activities available on our guest activity schedule, which we hope you had the opportunity to explore. Your genuine concern for our team's well-being is deeply appreciated, and we take this matter very seriously. We are firmly committed to fostering a positive and supportive work environment for our employees. Your observation of staff being mistreated in the dining area is deeply concerning and we want to assure you that such behavior is not a reflection of our values or the standards we uphold. We have taken immediate steps to investigate this incident. If your time allows our Executive Chef, Lee Masten would welcome the opportunity to discuss your experience with you personally. At your convenience, please feel free to call him directly at 860.425.3608 or by email, lmasten@thespaatnorwichinn.com. We appreciate your understanding and hope to have a chance to provide you with an improved experience in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Michele wrote a review Aug 2023
2 contributions4 helpful votes
The spa really needs to do away with all the fees. Beware, if you are going to the spa you need to pay an additional $20 plus tax to use the facilities per person. Like the spa treatments don't cost enough??
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura R, Guest Services / Front Office at The Spa at Norwich Inn
Responded Nov 6, 2023
Dear Michelewags, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We appreciate your perspective, and we'd like to provide some insight into our fee structure. Our facility fee helps maintain and enhance the overall spa experience, including our amenities, relaxation areas, and access to complementary services such as our indoor pool, steam room, sauna, and more. This fee enables us to provide a truly unique environment for our guests to enjoy before or after their treatments, unlike any other spa in our area. We hope you'll consider visiting us again, as we are dedicated to providing an exceptional spa experience and your satisfaction is our priority.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Cyn D wrote a review Jul 2023
Danbury, Connecticut1 contribution
It was sad that my trip was cut short due to a family emergency; however, the time I was there for my birthday - was so relaxing and a wonderful experience. It was my 2nd time here and I will be back in two weeks!! I highly recommend a facial with Sabine!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Be on time for spa services and make use of an itinerary online to organize your day of relaxation!!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura R, Guest Services / Front Office at The Spa at Norwich Inn
Responded Jul 24, 2023
Dear 217cynd, Thank you so much for your kind words and for choosing our resort to celebrate your birthday! We're sorry to hear about the family emergency that cut your trip short, and we hope everything is well now. We're delighted to know that during your time here, you had a relaxing and wonderful experience. We can't wait to welcome you back in two weeks for your next visit! We truly appreciate your recommendation for a facial with Sabine, and we assure you that she'll be thrilled to hear your praise. Thank you again for your support, and we look forward to providing you with another exceptional experience soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Travelingirl2010 wrote a review Jun 2023
New York City, New York96 contributions90 helpful votes
Years ago this was my favorite spa on the planet. Pre covid and covid changed that. They now cater to day trippers not overnight guests. Appointment times are absurd - 8 am or 5 pm. My recent visit spa services were sub par. And the entire property is just dated, old and musty. Kensington restaurant used to be top notch. Now past it’s prime. Recently I spent 48 hours at a NY spa and the difference was night and day. Amazing property, spa services and meals. Sadly Norwich will now be a distant memory. This me to move on though. I don’t want my new spa overrun. But anyone wants a recommendation feel free to DM me.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura R, Guest Services / Front Office at The Spa at Norwich Inn
Responded Jul 5, 2023
Dear Travelingirl2010, Thank you for your patronage and for sharing your feedback with us. We appreciate your perspective, although we apologize for not being able to address any specific issues due to limited information from your screen name. We would like to mention that we offer appointment times throughout the day, although popular slots tend to be booked well in advance. We understand that this may have caused inconvenience for you. We also want to highlight that our property has undergone multiple renovations over the past three years, including Kensington's Restaurant, the spa common areas, locker room, pool, gym, and relaxation room. We are committed to enhancing the overall experience for our guests and are excited to announce upcoming renovations for all guest rooms in the Inn. Regarding your comments about the subpar spa services and meals, we hope while you were here you were able to speak to a manager at both Kensington's and the spa to discuss your concerns. We value your feedback and strive to address any areas where we may have fallen short of your expectations immediately. While we understand your decision to explore other options, we sincerely hope that you would consider visiting us again in the future. We would love the opportunity to provide you with an improved experience that exceeds your expectations!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Eataroundwoburn wrote a review Jun 2023
Litchfield, New Hampshire642 contributions317 helpful votes
We obtained a special price for the room through TravelZoo. The room we had was nothing spectacular, it was very clean and the bed was comfortable. What is nice is that the tips are included. Everyone of the employees that we interacted with were very, very helpful. The grounds are nice well maintained. Also, it is a 5 minute drive to Mohegan Sun.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: There is plenty of parking
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura R, Guest Services / Front Office at The Spa at Norwich Inn
Responded Jun 16, 2023
Dear Eataroundwoburn, Thank you for your five-star review. We're thrilled that our employees made a positive impression on you. We believe that exceptional customer service is key to creating memorable experiences, and we'll be sure to share your kind words with our team. We hope to welcome you back for another great stay in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Norwich area.
PRICE RANGE
$178 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the spa at norwich hotel norwich, spa norwich
LOCATION
United StatesConnecticutMystic CountryNorwich
NUMBER OF ROOMS
90
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE SPA AT NORWICH INN $161 ($̶2̶0̶0̶) - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews - CT

Frequently Asked Questions about The Spa at Norwich Inn
Which popular attractions are close to The Spa at Norwich Inn?
Nearby attractions include Mohegan Sun Arena (0.7 miles), Mohegan Sun (0.7 miles), and Vista Lounge At Wombi Rock (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Spa at Norwich Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Spa at Norwich Inn?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Spa at Norwich Inn?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Spa at Norwich Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Spa at Norwich Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include TAO Asian Bistro & Lounge at Mohegan Sun, Bobby's Burger Palace, and Ballo Italian Kitchen & Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Spa at Norwich Inn?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does The Spa at Norwich Inn have airport transportation?
Yes, The Spa at Norwich Inn offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does The Spa at Norwich Inn offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Spa at Norwich Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Old Town Mill (9.5 miles), Avery-Copp House (9.9 miles), and Ashbel Woodward House Museum (8.0 miles).
Is The Spa at Norwich Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.