We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Spa at Norwich Inn

Save
Share
607 W Thames St, Norwich, CT 06360-7139
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
$235
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/02/22
Trip.com
$212
View deal
Booking.com$234
Travelocity$235
Hurb$250
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (173)
Room & Suite (112)
Dining (29)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#2 of 6 in Norwich
Location
4.2
Cleanliness
4.1
Service
4.1
Value
3.7
Travelers' Choice
The Spa at Norwich Inn is located on 42 country acres filled with perennial gardens and ponds. Oak trees, a reflecting pool and oversized deck compliment the atmosphere of the spa and promote ultimate relaxation. World class spa treatments are available from a wide assortment of services such a massages, body wraps and polishes, facials and much more.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Aerobics
Evening entertainment
Airport transportation
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Adult pool
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Outdoor dining area
Vending machine
Patio
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
ATM on site
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
768Reviews14Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 380
  • 155
  • 105
  • 75
  • 53
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Christy K wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
The spa has reduced its services, hours and quality. After waiting months for an opening we were finally were able to go and it just wasn't the same. It used to be a day of pampering with extras like tea and scones, an exercise class, and wine tasting but those aren't offered anymore. We ate at Ascots, drinks were fine but the food choices were limited - we each bought a meal but ordered appetizers to share but the portions were small and not commensurate with the price charged. Most of the staff were nice but some were not. We asked about some of the specials they used to have and the women in the boutique were kinda rude and said they don't do the day spa packages anymore. Overall a nice time but, not the experience it used to be. We will be finding other places to go in future.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura R, Guest Services / Front Office at The Spa at Norwich Inn
Responded May 12, 2022
Thank you, 895christyk, for your feedback. We have changed a few things we have done in the past but are looking forward to a spring and summer filled with NEW activities and entertainment throughout the property. We hope you had a chance to try our homemade granola when you entered the spa, a NEW treat for all our spa guests! We also have virtual fitness classes running all day in the yoga studio, plus live Yoga on Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday and Saturday. We have recently introduced Movie Night Tuesdays on the Garden Patio, Trivia Nights at Ascot’s every Wednesday, live acoustic guitar entertainment at Ascot’s every Thursday and piano entertainment in the lobby on Friday’s – all complimentary to our guests. Based on your feedback, it looks like we will need to look into better ways to communicate all of these new activities to our guests. We apologize for your experience with some of our staff as this is not the level of service we strive to provide and will make sure the management team is aware of your comments. To clarify what they should have, although we no longer offer day spa packages, we do offer Graduated Discounts allowing guests to custom build their spa day and save when booking multiple services. We hope this will allow our guest more flexibility and choice when planning their day.
Read more
Kathleen J wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
Today was my fist time at a spa . I can’t say enough good things about this place. I had a 50 minute relief massage and it was incredible!!! Wendy was amazing!! From a fantastic lunch to the pool and sauna just great!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura R, Guest Services / Front Office at The Spa at Norwich Inn
Responded Apr 11, 2022
Kathleen, thank you for your wonderful review! We are thrilled to learn you have chosen The Spa at Norwich Inn for your first spa experience. We will pass along your comments to Wendy. Hope to see you for another relaxing spa day soon!
Read more
Cindy R wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
My mom, sister and I went there last weekend to surprise my other sister for her 60th birthday! I can't tell you how disappointed we were. The first villa they put us in was totally disgusting! I wouldn't let my dog stay there. The furniture looked like it just came out of the dumpster, the rugs were dirty and dingy and didn't look like they had been vacuumed in a very long time. The kitchen appliances were sooo outdated. There was a dead bug on the couch. We complained and they put us in another villa. This one was a TINY bit better, but still the rugs were not clean. Somene (who I assume was the manager) said he would sent housekeeping to vacuum, but when we returned from the Spa, they had not been cleaned. We asked to be moved to a regular room and not a villa, but unfortunately, the weekend was sold out. For the amount of money they charge you, I expected MUCH more. I guess I should have ready the reviews. The spa itself was just ok. The furniture around the pool area also needed to be replaced. Many of the pieces were worn right through. The "nap" room furniture has also seen brighter days! We had dinner reservations at Kensington's restaurant on Saturday night. The food was just terrible (and I am not a picky eater) . I got the filet. I absolutely hate seafood and unfortunately, I think my filet was cooked on the same grill that seafood was. I could smell fish and it just turned my stomach. The potatoes and vegetables were luke warm. My mother and other sister got the tuna, which they said was grey. I am surprised we didn't get sick! This weekend was supposed to be a memorable one to celebrate my sisters 60th birthday. My mother, sister and I felt so bad that it was such a disappointment all around. Again, for the money they charge you, we were expecting MUCH BETTER!!! TOTAL AND COMPLETE RIP OFF!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura R, Guest Services / Front Office at The Spa at Norwich Inn
Responded Mar 15, 2022
cindyrN1058OP, I am sorry to hear we did not exceed your expectations at the time of your visit. We always aim to deliver a great experience and understand your concerns. Our Director of Hotel Operations, Tim Kenyon is aware of your concerns and would like to talk with you personally. At your convenience, please feel free to call him directly anytime at 860.425.3651 or by email, tkenyon@thespaatnorwichinn.com.
Read more
Avijl wrote a review Feb 2022
5 contributions
This could've been an amazing stay but unfortunately too many elements made it rather mediocre. The villa itself was nice and sweet however they never came to clean it which was rather odd given we stayed multiple nights. The first night we ate at Kensingtons out of convenience. Some items were decent like the fresh bread, shrimp appetizer. But most dishes were very poor. The short rib was over cooked, dry, and overly salty. The filet was subpar. But the apple tart was delicious. Next day we went to the spa. Robes and slippers were lovely but the spa was very crowded with 10 women trying to fit into the hot tub. We had booked detox pedicures but the pedicure was not at all pampering with barely any foot massage. But the final day we ate at Ascots for lunch which is driving this two star rating. We waited 20 minutes to place an order and another hour to receive it. When it arrived my meal was wrong. Even though they said they'd fix the order it never came, and yet the final bill included it and I needed to argue with manager to have it comped given it wasn't what I ordered! Left feeling this facility didn't have any appreciation for client servicing. It's a shame as it could've been a lovely stay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura R, Guest Services / Front Office at The Spa at Norwich Inn
Responded Feb 25, 2022
Avijl, thank you for your time in leaving this detailed review. We truly appreciate feedback from our guests as it allows us to constantly monitor the service excellence we strive for. We are happy to hear that you found your villa to be nice, but please note, during these times we do provide daily housekeeping service upon request only. We communicate this upon check-in and will follow up with our front desk staff to see why this step was overlooked during your stay. Kensington’s Restaurant and Ascot’s Pub are great additions to our destination, allowing guests to eat conveniently and comfortably on property. We are disappointed to hear your dining experiences were subpar and always encourage all our guests to bring any issues to our attention while they are dining with us so we can work on correcting them immediately. We will make sure to pass all of your comments on to our Culinary Team and well as F&B Management.
Read more
OnAir486183 wrote a review Feb 2022
Bridgeport, Connecticut1 contribution
We arrived for a girls night at the Spa and from the moment we checked in the service was exceptional. We had a wonderful day at the Spa and even though they were completely full, it did not feel over crowded by any means (which was my initial worry). The spa was relaxing, clean, and felt safe. Our serves (as always) were wonderful. We had drinks at the juice bar, lunch at Ascots, and dinner/breakfast at Kensington's. All the meals were DELICIOUS! Our server at dinner was top notch and although we were the last table to leave, never felt rushed. We were fortunate enough to stay in the Villa, which was wonderful and we had the gentleman who drove us to and from the Inn to light our fireplace for us that evening. The only complaint I have is that their online website/reservation system does not seem to be working. I tried two separate email address and called. I believe this is why the wait time on phone calls is so long. BUTTT once you do get someone on the phone they are always so amazing, so it makes it all ok! Would highly recommended fir a girls trip!! We are already planning next years trip!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Reserve a package! So much less work, everything is taking care of for you! ALSO, if you stay the...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura R, Guest Services / Front Office at The Spa at Norwich Inn
Responded Feb 11, 2022
Thank you for this amazing feedback, Kayleigh! We pride ourselves in the ability to provide a relaxing and refreshing environment for the ultimate comfort. It is great to hear you and your friends were able to visit all three of our restaurants and found them all to be enjoyable. We do want to apologize for the initial troubles you’ve had with reserving your time with us. We can’t wait to see you all again next year!
Read more
Alet vB wrote a review Dec 2021
Canonsburg, Pennsylvania2 contributions
Took 3 hours on the phone and had 19 confirmation/cancellation emails to book 3 spa apps. Called to confirm the day before. Showed up and apps were cancelled. Now stranded with friends and ruined plans! Have been coming here for years but this is/was my last visit. So horribly disappointed on day we were looking forward to some girls fun. You cannot plan or depend on any info/messages from them; just be ready to be disappointed. 👎👎👎 (The 1 star is an overrating but had to add it to be able to write a review)
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura R, Guest Services / Front Office at The Spa at Norwich Inn
Responded Jan 14, 2022
Dear AletvanBeek, First, we would like to sincerely apologize for any for inconvenience in booking your spa day. Our new booking system, implemented at the beginning of December, has been design to make our customers’ overall experience better, but it did take us a few days to work out some of the specifics of the booking process. That being said, we were able to speak with everyone involved in your actual visit and are unfortunately disappointed to read the second half of your review. It seems as though your specific itinerary was canceled by mistake instead of your travel partner’s itinerary when they called to cancel. Although not the day you intended, our Spa Director tried to make up for our error and was able to make sure to get a massage in for you that day at no charge and for your inconvenience, also treated you to lunch. She checked in with you at your departure and you seemed happy and enjoyed your day. Hopefully based on your past experience, you might reconsider this review and another visit.
Read more
Sarah d wrote a review Oct 2021
Buffalo, New York79 contributions31 helpful votes
I had a standard room in the inn. I will start with what was well. The restaurants has amazing food and drinks. There is a bar outside which has a great view, and a bar /restaurant inside when the outside is reserved. Rooms do not have fridge or coffee maker.(coffee is provided by the restaurant). Don't even get me started with the lack of air conditioning. The staff seemed overwhelmed. I understand staffing shortages, however check in is at 4 , I couldn't get into my room till 6. Room was modest, bed , tv ect. Bathroom setup was strange, as expected in an older converted home. Realistically, this was not my choice. If I had to re-do this trip I would have stayed somewhere else, and paid the resort fee to hang out.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Vasseur Rush, Guest Services / Front Office at The Spa at Norwich Inn
Responded Oct 29, 2021
Dear SDomsdelux, Thank you for the kind words about Kensington's and Ascot's, but are discouraged to hear you did not like your accommodations. As a Historic Inn, our décor and room design sometimes is not for everyone. We do apologize for any inconvenience at check-in. It seems as though the day you arrived was one of our busier days and we are working on having enough staff to support those times.
Read more
m232 wrote a review Oct 2021
19 contributions10 helpful votes
SHEY did my pedicure she was so friendly, attentive, and gave a great massage. I highly recommend to anyone looking to have their nails done. I will definitely come back just for her!! Thank you 😊As for the spa, it seems like they have cut down a lot. The tea was different was not a fan, and they don’t do the wine tasting or tea and scones anymore I was a bit disappointed. The juice bar- I looked at the protein offered and it is “nestle” brand whey protein, a plant based protein on the menu would be great! If there was “unsweetened”almond milk or oat milk as an option that would be nice, because the smoothies itself are already sweet.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Vasseur Rush, Guest Services / Front Office at The Spa at Norwich Inn
Responded Oct 18, 2021
Dear marieeeeeo, Thank you very much for your five-star review! We will definitely pass your feedback about Shey on to the Spa Director and the protein suggestion on to our Chef. We understand the tea and scones and the wine tasting were a guest favorite, and as soon as we feel we can do it safely, we will bring them back!
Read more
MoxieFive wrote a review Sep 2021
Longmeadow, Massachusetts49 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
My friend and I had a wonderful mid-week overnight getaway! The facial and body blend massage were top notch. We appreciated the small details that made the stay even more enjoyable such as the ice cold cloths for use after the steam room or whirlpool, the swimsuit wringer, and all the amenities in the locker area. The meals were outstanding, and Ed was very accommodating as our server, bringing my friend a blanket on the dining deck after the sun went down. Kyle was sweet, also. We enjoyed the delicious lunch at the juice bar, along with the yummy smoothies. Overall, it was a great experience and we were impressed. The only reason for the 4 stars is a few comments for the suggestion box: Firstly, while we were resting in the “Relaxation Room” (and nearly asleep as were several others), we were suddenly interrupted by an attendant loudly calling out for a person’s name. This didn’t seem consistent with the “sshh” signs and “keep your voice low” signs throughout the spa. Second, before we were seated for dinner, the hostess asked whether we’d like indoor or outdoor; it was a nice evening but starting to get cool but the hostess assured us that there were several outdoor heaters if we became chilly. Well, we found out an hour later that none of the heaters had been working. Should be better communication between staff. Lastly, and very minor, but the lids on the metal creamers were malfunctioning and the cream was a mess spilling all over each time we poured. When we asked the sever for a replacement, she told us they were all like that. Maybe time to order new ones. We will definitely return, as the inn and spa overall experience outweighed the minor issues.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Savanah Macdonald, Marketing at The Spa at Norwich Inn
Responded Sep 24, 2021
Dear MoxieFive, We’re glad you enjoyed your facials, our facilities amenities, and your food and service at Kensington’s. We appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention and apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced. We will be sure to pass on your suggestions to management and look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Read more
Maryssa R wrote a review Sep 2021
Hebron, Connecticut13 contributions7 helpful votes
We have been to Norwich Inn many many times and had numerous services. Today I had the best massage by Michelle. She was amazing in her technique and attention to my comfort. I enjoyed every minute. She was professional and made me feel very comfortable and appreciated. 5 stars ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Savanah Macdonald, Marketing at The Spa at Norwich Inn
Responded Sep 17, 2021
Dear Maryssar2016, We appreciate the five-star review and are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your massage! We will be sure to pass on your kind regards to Michelle, and we hope to see you again soon.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$194 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the spa at norwich hotel norwich, spa norwich
LOCATION
United StatesConnecticutMystic CountryNorwich
NUMBER OF ROOMS
90
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Spa at Norwich Inn
Which popular attractions are close to The Spa at Norwich Inn?
Nearby attractions include Mohegan Sun Arena (0.7 miles) and Mohegan Sun (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Spa at Norwich Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Spa at Norwich Inn?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Spa at Norwich Inn?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Spa at Norwich Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Spa at Norwich Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bobby's Burger Palace, Ballo Italian Restaurant, and Seasons Buffet.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Spa at Norwich Inn?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does The Spa at Norwich Inn have airport transportation?
Yes, The Spa at Norwich Inn offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does The Spa at Norwich Inn offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Spa at Norwich Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Old Town Mill (9.5 miles), Avery-Copp House (9.9 miles), and Crystal Chapel (8.4 miles).
Is The Spa at Norwich Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.