We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Courtyard New Haven at Yale

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Courtyard New Haven at Yale
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

140 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 127: English reviews
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Despite a positive checkin in with the Marriott App for a 1:30 pm arrival, room was not ready at that time. 20 min later it was. Luckily we were on the back of hotel and 7th floor which was quiet. Other levels had ongoing renovations with crews. Room was recently renovated and comfortable. Bathroom is small: one person at a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Axel8807
Steve M, General Manager at Courtyard New Haven at Yale, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am very sorry to read about your experience. Please know this is not typical of the Courtyard Marriott New Haven. We are hoping that you would be willing to give us another try if your travels may return you to our area. Please do not hesitate to contact my...

Reviewed 1 week ago

spent evening last night and was appalled at how old and dirty and out of date the facility was. over priced and over rated! it is so far from as depicted! is it a hotel or is it a dorm? much confusion and not worth consideration! DISGRACEFUL!!! parking overpriced as well!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arthur S
Steve M, General Manager at Courtyard New Haven at Yale, responded to this review

Dear Arthur S., Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us via TripAdvisor. I want to apologize for any dissatisfaction you felt during your stay with us. As I noted in a direct message to you, I look forward to speaking with you further via email or by phone to discuss your concerns in further detail....

NYC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a really good stay here. Checked in early and was upgraded to a big room. Easy parking. Good fitness center and internet. Bistro food is good. Very nice service. Free hot chocolate in the lobby for the holidays. Renovation is underway. Not a big deal though.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nycfamilyt2013
Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewed November 10, 2016

Pros: Convenient location, great staff, clean & comfortable room, everything in good working order Cons: Parking- $20 per night in a cramped garage or outside parking lot Neutral: A lot of street noise, but there were ear plugs provided Walking distance to Yale and numerous restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mike_ILM2
New York City, New York
Reviewed November 1, 2016 via mobile

We had two rooms for two nights from October 13 to October 15. We had stayed here on several occasions and had liked the hotel. We have relatives who study at Yale and the Courtyard had always been our first choice. On this occasion when we arrived they could not find our reservation made through Booking.com. They gave us the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Himelda
Steve M, General Manager at Courtyard New Haven at Yale, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to communicate the billing concern that you had experienced. As per our recent email exchange, this matter will be resolved and I apologize for any misunderstandings of your reservation made through bookings.com. We appreciate the loyalty that you have shown us and we hope to see you again with any future travels to New...

Needham, Massachusetts
Reviewed November 1, 2016

Room, mattress, and shower were top of the line in comfort and convenience. Location for any Yale related activities is good depending on what part of the campus you are visiting. Parking your car is an additional $20 per night but no additional charge for in and out during each 24 hr. period.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jdferrone
Reviewed October 25, 2016 via mobile

My husband and I we're so impressed whit the quality and service of the hotel that we have to mentioning I'm this rewiev. The hotel was renovated recently which is great, is walking distance and have delicious restaurants around,a little noice ,but is okay . We stay to visit our daughters in Yale university. Michelle like always a delight, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lissa ann K
Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewed October 24, 2016 via mobile

I stayed at the Courtyard for a visit to Yale. The rooms were clean, had a room with two beds and they were very comfortable. Bathroom is very small. Staff was friendly and helpful. The Bistro they have on site is a bit pricey and was not open all day, but there are plenty of food options nearby. There is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shelly613
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed October 19, 2016

Very small room and bathroom. Had two queen beds but was very small. Bathroom couldn't have been much smaller. Was clean though and beds were comfortable. Ear plugs were provided. Was a little loud but not horrible.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kellyatlanta2015
Steve M, Manager at Courtyard New Haven at Yale, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us and for staying with us. We are certainly pleased to hear of your positive experience with our beds and room cleanliness. Sorry to hear you were not pleased with the size of our bathroom. Thank you for understanding and we hope to see you back again soon. Steve...

Hillsborough, New Jersey
Reviewed October 17, 2016

We came into town for two nights to attend a wedding - the bride's parents had room blocks in three downtown hotels and we chose the Courtyard. From the moment we walked through the doors until check out we were greeted with a big smile and friendly, accommodating hotel personnel. Our room on the third floor was tastefully decorated and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Cindy S
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (22)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Haven hotels
0.6 mi away
New Haven Hotel
New Haven Hotel
#3 of 12 in New Haven
552 reviews
0.6 mi away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
1.7 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven
0.3 mi away
The Study at Yale
The Study at Yale
#1 of 12 in New Haven
709 reviews
0.3 mi away
Duncan Hotel
Duncan Hotel
#6 of 12 in New Haven
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Courtyard New Haven at Yale

Address: 30 Whalley Ave, New Haven, CT 06511-3219
Location: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Price Range: $147 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard New Haven at Yale 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard New Haven at Yale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New Haven At Yale Hotel New Haven
New Haven Courtyard
New Haven Marriott
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Courtyard New Haven at Yale staff and other travelers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Courtyard New Haven at Yale staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“High floor and better not where renovation is ongoing”
 of 5 bubbles Axel8807, 1 week ago | Read review
“avoid totally!!!”
 of 5 bubbles arthurs853, 1 week ago | Read review
“Higher floors are quieter and have better views,”
 of 5 bubbles jdferrone, Nov 1, 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors have less A/C unit noise”
 of 5 bubbles H1907LQlaurap, Aug 17, 2016 | Read review
“New Haven can be noisy--probably should ask for an inside room”
 of 5 bubbles mayville10, Aug 7, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay